Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE ROYAL REGINA RIFLES

The Royal Regina Rifles (Regiment) Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Colonel-in-Chief: Her Royal Highness The Princess Anne The Princess Royal LG LT GCVO QSO GCL CD FRS

BADGE

Description

Gules an escutcheon Vert charged in chief with a bison statant on a mount and in base with a garb Or, all within an annulus Vert edged and inscribed THE ROYAL REGINA RIFLES in letters Or, the whole surmounting a Maltese cross ensigned with a plaque Argent inscribed CANADA and supporting the Royal Crown proper, the limbs of the cross inscribed in chief MOUNT SORREL / FLERS-COURCELETTE / VIMY, 1917, in base NORMANDY LANDING / BRETTEVILLE-L'ORGUEUILLEUSE / THE ORNE, to the dexter FALAISE / LEOPOLD CANAL / MOYLAND WOOD, and to the sinister PASSCHENDAELE / AMIENS / CAMBRAI, 1918.

Symbolism

The word "CANADA" represents service to Canada, and the Crown, service to the Sovereign. The Maltese cross, which is based on the insignia of the Royal Guelphic Order, is common among badges of rifle regiments. The shield is based on the arms of the city of Regina, where the regiment is based and from where its name is derived. The inscriptions on the cross are selected regimental battle honours. "THE ROYAL REGINA RIFLES" is the regimental title.

Top of Page

MOTTO

None

MARCH

Quick Marches

Lutzow's Wild Hunt

Double Past

Keel Row

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Rifles

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916, '18; Flers-Courcelette; Thiepval; Ancre Heights; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Scarpe, 1917, '18; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; Cambrai, 1918; PURSUIT TO MONS; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-'18.

The Second World War

NORMANDY LANDING; Bretteville-l'Orgeuilleuse; CAEN; The Orne; BOURGUÉBUS RIDGE; Faubourg de Vaucelles; FALAISE; The Laison; The Seine, 1944; Calais, 1944; THE SCHELDT; Leopold Canal; Breskens Pocket; THE RHINELAND; Waal Flats; Moyland Wood; THE RHINE; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Deventer; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1944 45.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 3 July 1905 and incorporates the following regiments and machine gun battalion.

The Royal Regina Rifles originated in Regina, Saskatchewan on 3 July 1905, when a "regiment of infantry in the districts of Assiniboia and Saskatchewan" was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated the '95th Regiment' on 2 April 1907,2 and it became a rifle regiment on 1 May 1908.3 It was redesignated the '95th Saskatchewan Rifles' on 1 June 1909.4 On 1 April 1912, the regiment was reorganized as two separate regiments, designated the '105th Regiment' (now 'The North Saskatchewan Regiment') and the '95th Regiment'.5 It was redesignated '95th "Saskatchewan Rifles" on 16 September 1913.6 On 15 March 1920, it was amalgamated with the 60th Rifles of Canada (see below) and redesignated 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment'.7 On 15 May 1924, The South Saskatchewan Regiment was reorganized into five separate regiments, designated: 'The Weyburn Regiment' (now 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment'); 'The Saskatchewan Border Regiment' (now 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment'); 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment' (now 'The Saskatchewan Dragoons'); 'The Assiniboia Regiment' (now the '10th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA); and 'The Regina Rifle Regiment'.8 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with the 'Headquarters' and 'A Company' of the '12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' (see below), retaining the same designation.9 It was redesignated: '2nd Battalion, The Regina Rifle Regiment' on 7 November 1940;10 'The Regina Rifle Regiment' on 4 April 1946;11 'The Royal Regina Rifle Regiment' on 5 July 1982;12 and 'The Royal Regina Rifles' on 24 October 1984.13

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The South Saskatchewan Regiment on 15 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a five battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (28th Battalion, CEF) and 2nd Battalion (46th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 3rd Battalion (68th Battalion, CEF), 4th Battalion (128th Battalion, CEF), and 5th Battalion (195th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle.

On 1 October 1920, it was reorganized as a ten battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (28th Battalion, CEF), 2nd Battalion (46th Battalion, CEF), 3rd Battalion (no CEF designation), 4th Battalion (no CEF designation), and 5th Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 6th Battalion (68th Battalion, CEF), 7th Battalion (128th Battalion, CEF), 8th Battalion (195th Battalion, CEF), 9th Battalion (no CEF designation) and 10th Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle (GO 160/20).

The South Saskatchewan Regiment was disbanded for the purpose reorganization on 1 October 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Upon reorganization as The Regina Rifle Regiment on 15 May 1924 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (28th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (68th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

On 15 January 1930, The Regina Rifle Regiment was authorized an additional battalion, designated the 3rd (Reserve) Battalion (195th Battalion, CEF) (GO 10/30). The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Regina Rifle Regiment was disbanded for the purpose amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 194/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 4 May 1951, the regiment mobilized two temporary Active Force companies designated "E" and "F" Company (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; and SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 1951). "E" Company was reduced to nil strength upon its personnel being incorporated into the '1st Canadian Rifle Battalion' for service in Germany with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 November 1951). It was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). "F" Company was initially used as a reinforcement pool for "E" Company. On 15 May 1952, it was reduced to nil strength, upon its personnel being absorbed by the newly formed '2nd Canadian Rifle Battalion' for service in Korea with the United Nations (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 April 1952; and CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). "F" Company was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

The 60th Rifles of Canada originated in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan on 2 January 1913, when the '60th Rifles of Canada' were authorized to be formed.14 On 15 March 1920, it was amalgamated with the '95th Saskatchewan Rifles', as above.

The '12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' originated in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan on 1 June 1919, when the '12th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC' was authorized to be formed.15 It was redesignated the '12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' on 15 September 1924.16 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with 'The Regina Rifle Regiment', as above.

Notes:

The 12th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC was authorized a Reserve order of battle counterpart on 1 June 1919 (GO 104/20). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The 12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC was disbanded for the purpose amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 194/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the battalion.

The perpetuation of the 12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC (1919-1936) was assigned to The Regina Rifle Regiment (GO 149/37).

Perpetuations

'28th', '68th' and '195th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF.

Headquarters Location

Regina, Saskatchewan

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the 95th "Saskatchewan Rifles" were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protective duty.17

The 28th Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '28th Battalion, CEF',18 embarked for Britain on 29 May 1915.19 It disembarked in France on 18 September 1915, where it fought as part of the 6th Infantry Brigade, 2nd Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.20 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.21

The 68th Battalion, which was authorized on 20 April 1915 as the '68th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',22 embarked for Britain on 28 April 1916.23 It provided reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field until 6 July 1916, when its personnel were absorbed by the '32nd Reserve Battalion, CEF'.24 The battalion was disbanded on 21 May 1917.25

The 195th Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '195th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',26 embarked for Britain on 31 October 1916.27 Its personnel were absorbed by the '32nd Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 12 November 1916, to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.28 The battalion was disbanded on 27 July 1918.29

The Second World War

Details from the regiment were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation 'The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.30 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.31 The regiment mobilized 'The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF' for active service on 24 May 1940.32 It was redesignated the '1st Battalion, The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF' on 7 November 1940.33 It embarked for Britain on 24 August 1941.34 On D-Day, 6 June 1944, it landed in Normandy, France as part of the 7th Infantry Brigade, 3rd Canadian Infantry Division, and it continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.35 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 January 1946.36

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '3rd Battalion, The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF' for active service on 12 May 1942.37 It was redesignated the '2nd Airfield Defence Battalion (The Regina Rifle Regiment), CASF' on 19 July 1943.38 The battalion served in Canada in a home defence role as part of Pacific Command.39 It was disbanded on 15 November 1943.40

On 1 June 1945, a third Active Force component of the regiment, designated '4th Battalion, The Regina Rifle Regiment, CIC, CAOF', was mobilized for service with the Canadian Army Occupation Force in Germany.41 The battalion was disbanded on 4 April 1946.42

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Rifle regiments do not carry Colours. They may emblazon their battle honours on unit appointments such as cap badges or shoulder pouch belt plates.

CAMP FLAG

The Royal Regina Rifles (Regiment)


1. GO 155/05. The localization of the headquarters was not authorized until 1 April 1908, at Regina, Saskatchewan (GO 63/08) / L'emplacement du Quartier général ne fut pas autorisé avant le 1ersup> avril 1908, à Regina, en Saskatchewan (GO 63/08).

2. GO 67/07.

3. GO 81/08.

4. GO 75/09.

5. GO 60/12.

6. Although no actual order redesignates the 95th Regiment, this is officially considered an administrative oversight as after 16 September 1913 (GO 151/13) all subsequent orders dealing with the regiment use the title / Même si aucun ordre ne rebaptisé le « 95th Regimentsp », ceci est officiellement considéré une erreur administrative puisque les ordres subséquents à 16 septembre 1913 (GO 151/13) utilisent ce titre.

7. GO 72/20.

8. GO 67/24.

9. GO 194/36.

10. GO 42/41.

11. GO 400/45; and/et GO 162/46.

12. Letter, Administrative Secretary to the Governor General to Minister of National Defence of 5 July 1982; NDHQ Message, CDS 7 July 1982; and/et NDHQ Message DMCO 363 061806Z Aug 82.

13. NDHQ Message, DMCO 263 261515Z Oct 84.

14. GO 5/13.

15. GO 47/19; and/et GO 1/20.

16. GO 117/24.

17. GO 142/14.

18. GO 36/15.

19. CEF Sailing List, vol. II.

20. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 28th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4935, File/dossier 425; Major D.G. Scott Calder, The History of the 28th (Northwest) Battalion, CEF (October 1914 - June 1919), (n.p., 1961), passim; and/et G.E. Hewitt, The Story of the Twenty-Eighth (North-West) Battalion 1914-1917, (London, 1918), passim.

21. GO 149/20.

22. GO 103a/15.

23. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV. The battalion also sent a reinforcement draft to England on 25 September 1915 / Le bataillon envoya également un contingent de renforts en Angleterre le 25 septembre 1915.

24. 24. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 68th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 68; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 68th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4942, File/dossier 449 .

25. GO 63/17.

26. GO 69/16.

27. CEF Sailing List, vol. IX.

28. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 195th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 195.

29. GO 101/18.

30. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

31. GO 44/41.

32. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

33. GO 42/41.

34. Stewart A.G. Mein, Up the Johns: The Story of the Royal Regina Rifles, (North Battleford, 1992), p. 98.

35. Gordon Brown and Terry Copp, Look to your Front ... Regina Rifles: A Regiment at War, 1944-45, (Wilfred Laurier University, 2001), passim; and/et Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-45) The Regina Rifle Regiment, Box/boîte 37, Folder/chemise 9.

36. GO 85/46.

37. GO 309/42.

38. GO 436/43.

39. Stewart A.G. Mein, Up the Johns: The Story of the Royal Regina Rifles, (North Battleford, 1992), pp. 101-102.; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 539.

40. GO 498/43.

41. GO 319/45; and/et Stewart A.G. Mein, Up the Johns: The Story of the Royal Regina Rifles, (North Battleford, 1992), pp. 143-144.

42. GO 162/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE ROYAL REGINA RIFLES

Insigne de The Royal Regina Rifles (Regiment)

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Colonel-en-chef: Son Altesse Royale la Princesse Anne la Princesse Royale LG LT GCVO QSO GCL CD FRS

INSIGNE

Description

De gueules à un écusson de sinople chargé en chef d'un bison arrêté sur une terrasse et en pointe d'une gerbe de blé, le tout d'or, entouré d'un anneau de sinople liséré d'or inscrit THE ROYAL REGINA RIFLES en lettres du même, brochant sur une croix de Malte d'argent sommée d'une plaque du même inscrite CANADA elle-même sommée de la couronne royale au naturel, les branches de la croix inscrites en chef MOUNT SORREL / FLERS-COURCELETTE / VIMY, 1917, en pointe NORMANDY LANDING / BRETTEVILLE-L'ORGUEUILLEUSE / THE ORNE, à dextre FALAISE / LEOPOLD CANAL / MOYLAND WOOD, et à senestre PASSCHENDAELE / AMIENS / CAMBRAI, 1918.

Symbolisme

Le mot « CANADA » représente le service au Canada et la couronne, le service au souverain. La croix de Malte, reprise de l'insigne du Royal Guelphic Order, fait souvent partie des insignes des régiments de voltigeurs. L'écu est inspiré des armoiries de la ville de Regina, où est basé le régiment et du nom duquel son nom est dérivé. Les inscriptions des branches de la croix sont une sélection des honneurs de bataille du régiment. « THE ROYAL REGINA RIFLES » est le nom du régiment.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

Aucune

Haut de la page

MARCHES

Marche au pas cadencé

Lutzow's Wild Hunt

Marche au pas de gymnastique

Keel Row

Haut de la page

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Rifles

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916, '18; Flers-Courcelette; Thiepval; Crête d'Ancre; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Scarpe, 1917, '18; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; Cambrai, 1918; POURSUITE VERS MONS; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915-'18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

DÉBARQUEMENT EN NORMANDIE; Bretteville-l'Orgeuilleuse; CAEN; L'Orne; CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; Faubourg de Vaucelles; FALAISE; La Laison; La Seine, 1944; Calais, 1944; L'ESCAUT; Canal Léopold; Poche de Breskens; LA RHÉNANIE; Plaines du Waal; Bois de Moyland; LE RHIN; Emmerich-Hoch Elten; Deventer; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1944-45.

LIGNEE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 3 juillet 1905 et regroupe les régiments et bataillon de mitrailleuse.

Le « The Royal Regina Rifles » vit le jour à Regina, en Saskatchewan, le 3 juillet 1905, lorsqu'un « régiment d'infanterie dans les districts de Assiniboia et Saskatchewan » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé le « 95th Regiment » le 2 avril 1907;2 et devint un régiment des voltigeurs le 1er mai 1908.3 Il fut rebaptisé le « 95th Saskatchewan Rifles » le 1er juin 1909.4 Le 1er avril 1912, le régiment fut réorganisé en deux régiments distinctifs, baptisés le « 105th Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The North Saskatchewan Regiment ») et le « 95th Regiment ».5 Il fut rebaptisé « 95th "Saskatchewan Rifles" » le 16 septembre 1913.6 Le 15 mars 1920, le régiment se fusionna avec le « 60th Rifles of Canada » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé « The South Saskatchewan Regiment ».7 Le 15 mai 1924, « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » fut réorganisé en cinq régiments distinctifs, baptisés : « The Weyburn Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment »); « The Saskatchewan Border Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment »); « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The Saskatchewan Dragoons ); « The Assiniboia Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « 10e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC »); et « The Regina Rifle Regiment ».8 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec le quartier général et la compagnie « A » du « 12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC », sous la même désignation.9 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd Battalion, The Regina Rifles » le 7 novembre 1940;10 « The Regina Rifles » le 4 avril 1946;11 « The Royal Regina Rifle Regiment » le 5 juillet 1982;12 et « The Royal Regina Rifles » le 24 octobre 1984.13

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment », le 15 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à cinq bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (28th Battalion, CEF) et le 2e Bataillon (46th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 3e Bataillon (68th Battalion, CEF), le 4e Bataillon (128th Battalion, CEF), et le 5e Bataillon (195th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le 1er octobre 1920, il fut réorganisé en tant que régiment à dix bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (28th Battalion, CEF) et le 2e Bataillon (46th Battalion, CEF), le 3e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF), le 4e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF), et le 5e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 6e Bataillon (68th Battalion, CEF), le 7e Bataillon (128th Battalion, CEF), le 8e Bataillon (195th Battalion, CEF), le 9e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) et le 10e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve (GO 160/20).

Le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er octobre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Regina Rifle Regiment », le 15 mai 1924 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (28th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (68th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le 15 janvier 1930, le « The Regina Rifle Regiment » fut autorisé un bataillon additionnel, baptisé le 3e (Réserve) Bataillon, (195th Battalion, CEF) (GO 10/30). Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Regina Rifle Regiment » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 194/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment

Le 4 mai 1951, le régiment mobilisa deux compagnies temporaires dans la Force active, baptisées compagnies « E » et « F » (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; et SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 mai 1951). La compagnie « E » fut réduite à des effectifs nuls lorsque son personnel passa au « 1st Canadian Rifle Battalion » pour le service en Allemagne avec l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 novembre 1951). Elle fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). Initialement, la compagnie « F » servit comme réservoir de renforts pour la compagnie « E ». Le 15 mai 1952, elle fut réduite à des effectifs nuls, lorsque son personnel passa au « 2nd Canadian Rifle Battalion » pour le service en Corée avec les Nations Unies (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 avril 1952; et CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). La compagnie « F » fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Le « 60th Rifles of Canada » vit le jour à Moose Jaw, en Saskatchewan, le 2 janvier 1913, lorsque le « 60th Rifles of Canada » fut autorisé.14 Le 15 mars 1920, il se fusionna avec le « 95th Saskatchewan Rifles », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Le « 12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » vit le jour à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan, le 1er juin 1919, lorsque la « 12th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC » fut autorisée.15 Elle fut rebaptisée le « 12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » le 24 septembre 1924.16 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec le « The Regina Rifle Regiment », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes :

La « 12th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC » fit partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve à compter du 1er juin 1919 (GO 104/20). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « 12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 194/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du bataillon.

La perpétuation du « 12th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » (1919-1936) fut assigné au « The Regina Rifle Regiment » (GO 149/37).

Perpétuations

« 28th », « 68th » et « 195th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Regina, Saskatchewan

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 95th "Saskatchewan Rifles" » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.17

Le « 28th Battalion », autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 28th Battalion, CEF »,18 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 29 mai 1915.19 Il débarqua en France le 18 septembre 1915, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 6e brigade d'infanterie, de la 2e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.20 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.21

Le « 68th Battalion », autorisé le 20 avril 1915 sous l'appellation de « 68th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,22 s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 28 avril 1918.23 Il fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 6 juillet 1916, lorsque son personnel passa au « 32nd Reserve Battalion, CEF ».24 Le bataillon fut dissous le 21 mai 1917.25

Le « 195th Battalion », autorisé le 15 juillet 1916 sous l'appellation de « 195th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,26 s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 31 octobre 1916.27 Son personnel fut incorporé au sein du « 32nd Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 12 novembre 1916, afin de fournir des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.28 Le bataillon fut dissous le 27 juillet 1918.29

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.30 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.31 Le régiment mobilisa le « The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 24 mai 1940.32 Il fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.33 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 24 août 1941.34 Lors du Jour « J », le 6 juin 1944, il débarqua en Normandie, en France, en tant qu'élément de la 7e brigade d'infanterie, de la 3e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.35 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 janvier 1946.36

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa « 3rd Battalion, The Regina Rifle Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 12 mai 1942.37 Il fut rebaptisé « 2nd Airfield Defence Battalion (The Regina Rifle Regiment), CASF » le 19 juillet 1943.38 Le bataillon servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la Région du Pacifique.39 Il fut dissous le 15 novembre 1943.40

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

Les régiments de voltigeurs n'ont pas de drapeaux consacrés. Ils peuvent blasonner leurs honneurs de bataille sur les articles propres d'unité telles que les insignes de coiffure ou les plaques de baudriers.

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Royal Regina Rifles (Regiment)


1. GO 155/05. The localization of the headquarters was not authorized until 1 April 1908, at Regina, Saskatchewan (GO 63/08) / L'emplacement du Quartier général ne fut pas autorisé avant le 1er avril 1908, à Regina, en Saskatchewan (GO 63/08).

2. GO 67/07.

3. GO 81/08.

4. GO 75/09.

5. GO 60/12.

6. Although no actual order redesignates the 95th Regiment, this is officially considered an administrative oversight as after 16 September 1913 (GO 151/13) all subsequent orders dealing with the regiment use the title / Même si aucun ordre ne rebaptisé le « 95th Regiment », ceci est officiellement considéré une erreur administrative puisque les ordres subséquents à 16 septembre 1913 (GO 151/13) utilisent ce titre.

7. GO 72/20.

8. GO 67/24.

9. GO 194/36.

10. GO 42/41.

11. GO 400/45; and/et GO 162/46.

12. Letter, Administrative Secretary to the Governor General to Minister of National Defence of 5 July 1982; NDHQ Message, CDS 7 July 1982; and/et NDHQ Message DMCO 363 061806Z Aug 82.

13. NDHQ Message, DMCO 263 261515Z Oct 84.

14. GO 5/13.

15. GO 47/19; and/et GO 1/20.

16. GO 117/24.

17. GO 142/14.

18. GO 36/15.

19. CEF Sailing List, vol. II.

20. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 28th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4935, File/dossier 425; Major D.G. Scott Calder, The History of the 28th (Northwest) Battalion, CEF (October 1914 - June 1919), (n.p., 1961), passim; and/et G.E. Hewitt, The Story of the Twenty-Eighth (North-West) Battalion 1914-1917, (London, 1918), passim.

21. GO 149/20.

22. GO 103a/15.

23. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV. The battalion also sent a reinforcement draft to England on 25 September 1915 / Le bataillon envoya également un contingent de renforts en Angleterre le 25 septembre 1915.

24. 24. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 68th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 68; and/et War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 68th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4942, File/dossier 449 .

25. GO 63/17.

26. GO 69/16.

27. CEF Sailing List, vol. IX.

28. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 195th Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 195.

29. GO 101/18.

30. GO 124/39; and/et GO 135/39.

31. GO 44/41.

32. GO 184/40; and/et GO 50/41.

33. GO 42/41.

34. Stewart A.G. Mein, Up the Johns: The Story of the Royal Regina Rifles, (North Battleford, 1992), p. 98.

35. Gordon Brown and Terry Copp, Look to your Front ... Regina Rifles: A Regiment at War, 1944-45, (Wilfred Laurier University, 2001), passim; and/et Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-45) The Regina Rifle Regiment, Box/boîte 37, Folder/chemise 9.

36. GO 85/46.

37. GO 309/42.

38. GO 436/43.

39. Stewart A.G. Mein, Up the Johns: The Story of the Royal Regina Rifles, (North Battleford, 1992), pp. 101-102.; and/et Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1, Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 539.

40. GO 498/43.

41. GO 319/45; and/et Stewart A.G. Mein, Up the Johns: The Story of the Royal Regina Rifles, (North Battleford, 1992), pp. 143-144.

42. GO 162/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.