Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

LE RÉGIMENT DU SAGUENAY

Le Régiment du Saguenay Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

On a shield Argent three fir trees Vert issuant from a base barry wavy Azure and Argent, the shield ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and supported by two dolphins naiant affronty Argent finned and queued Gules, set on two scrolls Or inscribed with the Motto and LE REGIMENT DU SAGUENAY.

Symbolism

The Crown represents service to the Sovereign. The shield and the dolphins denote the region of the Saguenay. "LE REGIMENT DU SAGUENAY" is the regimental title and "DIEU ET PATRIE" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

DIEU ET PATRIE (God and country)

MARCH

"Le Régiment du Saguenay"

BATTLE HONOURS

None

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Chicoutimi, Quebec on 1 February 1900, when the '18th "Saguenay" Battalion of Infantry' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '18th Saguenay Regiment' on 8 May 1900;2 '18th Regiment, Francs-tireurs du Saguenay' on 1 October 1909;3 'Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay' on 29 March 1920;4 'Le Régiment du Saguenay' on 15 May 1937;5 'Le Régiment du Saguenay (Mitrailleuses)' on 1 September 1954;6 and 'Le Régiment du Saguenay' on 11 April 1958.7

Notes:

The 18th Regiment "Francs-tireurs du Saguenay" was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 31 December 1913 and reorganized the next day (GO 42/14). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Upon redesignation as Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (57th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle.

On 15 June 1920, the 1st Battalion (57th Battalion, CEF) was redesignated the 1st Battalion (no CEF designation) (GO 95/20). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 May 1921 and reorganized the same day (GO 227/21). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay were disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 14 May 1937 and reorganized the next day (GO 108/37). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

None

Headquarters Location

Ville de Saguenay, Quebec

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

None

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

Le Régiment du Saguenay

CAMP FLAG

Le Régiment du Saguenay


1. GO 12/1900; GO 33/1900; et/and GO 51/1900. Formé d'une compagnie indépendante, et de sept nouvellement autorisées, d'infanterie :« No. 1 Company » à Saint-Félicien; « No. 2 Company » à Roberval; « No. 3 Company » à Saint-Jérôme de Métabetchouan; « No. 4 Company » à Hébertville; « No. 5 Company » à Sante-Anne; « No. 6 Company » à Chicoutimi (transférée du « 61st "Montmagny and L'Islet Battalion of Infantry »; « No. 7 Company » à Chicoutimi; et « No. 8 Company » à Baie des Ha-Ha / Formed from one independent and seven newly authorized companies: 'No. 1 Company' at Saint-Félicien; 'No. 2 Company' at Roberval; 'No. 3 Company' at Saint-Jérôme de Métabetchouan; 'No. 4 Company' at Hébertville; 'No. 5 Company' at Sainte-Anne; 'No. 6 Company' at Chicoutimi (transferred from the '61st "Montmagny and L'Islet Battalion of Infantry'); 'No. 7 Company' at Chicoutimi; and 'No. 8 Company' at Ha-Ha Bay.

2. MO 105/1900. Cette ordre stipulé que « il est notifié à titre d'information que le corps de l'infanterie, mis à part les compagnies indépendantes, seront désormais connues en tant que régiments plutôt que les bataillons » / This Order states, "It is notified for information that Infantry Corps, Independent Companies excepted, will hereafter be known as Regiments instead of Battalions".

3. GO 111/09.

4. MO 96/20.

5. GO 108/37.

6. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

LE RÉGIMENT DU SAGUENAY

Insigne du Régiment du Saguenay

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Un écu d'argent chargé de trois sapins de sinople soutenus d'une champagne burelée-ondée d'azur et d'argent, l'écu sommé de la couronne royale au naturel et accosté de deux dauphins d'argent nageant de front, lorés et peautrés de gueules, le tout soutenu de deux listels d'or, le premier portant la devise, le second inscrit LE REGIMENT DU SAGUENAY.

Symbolisme

La couronne représente le service au souverain. L'écu et les dauphins rappellent la région du Saguenay. « LE REGIMENT DU SAGUENAY » est le nom du régiment, et « DIEU ET PATRIE » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

DIEU ET PATRIE

MARCHE

« Le Régiment du Saguenay »

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Aucune

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Chicoutimi, au Québec, le 1er février 1900, lorsque le « 18th "Saguenay" Battalion of Infantry » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 18th Saguenay Regiment » le 8 mai 1900;2 « 18th Regiment, Francs-tireurs du Saguenay » le 1er octobre 1909;3 « Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay » le 29 mars 1920;4 « Le Régiment du Saguenay » le 15 mai 1937;5 « Le Régiment du Saguenay (Mitrailleuses) » le 1er septembre 1954;6 et « Le Régiment du Saguenay » le 11 avril 1958.7

Notes:

Le « 18th Regiment "Francs-tireurs du Saguenay" » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 31 décembre 1913 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 42/14). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay, le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (57th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le 15 juin 1920, le 1er Bataillon (57th Battalion, CEF) fut rebaptisé 1er Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) (GO 95/20). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay furent dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er mai 1921 et réorganisés la même journée (GO 227/21). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Les Francs-tireurs du Saguenay furent dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 mai 1937 et réorganisés le lendemain (GO 108/37). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Perpétuations

Aucune

Site du Quartier général

Ville de Saguenay, Québec

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Aucun

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

Le Régiment du Saguenay

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Le Régiment du Saguenay


1. GO 12/1900; GO 33/1900; et/and GO 51/1900. Formé d'une compagnie indépendante, et de sept nouvellement autorisées, d'infanterie : « No. 1 Company » à Saint-Félicien; « No. 2 Company » à Roberval; « No. 3 Company » à Saint-Jérôme de Métabetchouan; « No. 4 Company » à Hébertville; « No. 5 Company » à Sante-Anne; « No. 6 Company » à Chicoutimi (transférée du « 61st "Montmagny and L'Islet Battalion of Infantry »; « No. 7 Company » à Chicoutimi; et « No. 8 Company » à Baie des Ha-Ha / Formed from one independent and seven newly authorized companies: 'No. 1 Company' at Saint-Félicien; 'No. 2 Company' at Roberval; 'No. 3 Company' at Saint-Jérôme de Métabetchouan; 'No. 4 Company' at Hébertville; 'No. 5 Company' at Sainte-Anne; 'No. 6 Company' at Chicoutimi (transferred from the '61st "Montmagny and L'Islet Battalion of Infantry'); 'No. 7 Company' at Chicoutimi; and 'No. 8 Company' at Ha-Ha Bay.

2. MO 105/1900. Cette ordre stipulé que « il est notifié à titre d'information que le corps de l'infanterie, mis à part les compagnies indépendantes, seront désormais connues en tant que régiments plutôt que les bataillons » / This Order states, "It is notified for information that Infantry Corps, Independent Companies excepted, will hereafter be known as Regiments instead of Battalions".

3. GO 111/09.

4. MO 96/20.

5. GO 108/37.

6. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

7. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.