Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE ROYAL WESTMINSTER REGIMENT

The Royal Westminster Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Colonel-in-Chief: The Duke of Westminster KG OBE TD CD DL

BADGE

Description

A demi-sun in splendour Or overall a maple leaf Gules charged with a beaver couchant on a log between the Royal crown proper and a scroll Or inscribed with the Motto, all above a scroll Sable fimbriated and inscribed THE ROYAL WESTMINSTER REGIMENT in letters Or.

Symbolism

The maple leaf and beaver represent service to Canada, and the crown, service to the Sovereign. The demi-sun is from the Arms of the Province of British Columbia where the regiment is based. "THE ROYAL WESTMINSTER REGIMENT" is the regimental title and "PRO REGE ET PATRIA" is the motto of the regiment.

Top of Page

MOTTO

PRO REGE ET PATRIA (For king and country)

Top of Page

MARCH

The Maple Leaf Forever

Top of Page

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Ancre Heights; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; VALENCIENNES; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1916-18.

The Second World War

LIRI VALLEY; Melfa Crossing; GOTHIC LINE; CORIANO; LAMONE CROSSING; Misano Ridge; Casale; Naviglio Canal; ITALY, 1944-1945; Ijsselmeer; Delfzijl Pocket; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in New Westminster, British Columbia on 1 April 1910, when the '104th Regiment' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated the '104th Regiment Westminster Fusiliers of Canada' on 15 December 1913.2 On 12 March 1920, it was amalgamated with the '6th Regiment "The Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles"' to form the '1st British Columbia Regiment'.3 It was redesignated the '1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own)' on 1 November 1920.4 On 15 May 1924, it was reorganized into three separate regiments, designated: '1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own)' (now the British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own); 'The Vancouver Regiment' (now 'The British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own)'; and 'The Westminster Regiment'.5 On 15 December 1936, it was amalgamated with 'C Company' of the '11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' and redesignated 'The Westminster Regiment (Machine Gun)'.6 It was redesignated: 'The Westminster Regiment (Motor)' on 1 April 1941;7 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Westminster Regiment (Motor)' on 7 November 1941;8 'The Westminster Regiment (Motor)' on 31 January 1946;9 'The Westminster Regiment' on 6 October 1954;10 and 'The Royal Westminster Regiment' on 9 December 1966.11

Notes:

Upon redesignation as the 1st British Columbia Regiment on 12 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a six battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (7th Battalion, CEF), 2nd Battalion (29th Battalion, CEF) and 3rd Battalion (47th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 4th Battalion (62nd Battalion, CEF), 5th Battalion (131st Battalion, CEF), and 6th Battalion (158th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The designation of the 5th Battalion was changed to '5th Battalion (158th Battalion, CEF)' and the 6th Battalion to '6th Battalion (131st Battalion, CEF)' on 1 September 1921 (GO 246/21).

Upon reorganization as The Westminster Regiment on 15 May 1924 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (47th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (131st Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The 1st British Columbia Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 September 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Westminster Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 14 December 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 178/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC (1919-1936) was not perpetuated (GO 76/37).

Perpetuations

'47th' and '131st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

New Westminster, British Columbia

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

The 104th Regiment Westminster Fusiliers of Canada was placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.12

The 47th Battalion, which was authorized on 7 November 1914 as the '47th Battalion, CEF',13 embarked for Britain on 13 November 1915.14 It disembarked in France on 11 August 1916, where it fought as part of the 10th Infantry Brigade, 4th Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.15 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.16

The 131st Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '131st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',17 embarked for Britain on 31 October 1916.18 Its personnel were absorbed by the '30th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF' on 14 November 1916, to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.19 The battalion was disbanded on 17 July 1917.20

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Westminster Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.21 It was redesignated: '1st Battalion, The Westminster Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF' on 7 November 1940;22 and '1st Battalion, The Westminster Regiment (Motor), CASF' on 25 November 1940.23 It embarked for Britain on 13 November 1941.24 On 1 December 1943, the battalion landed in Italy as part of the 5th Armoured Brigade, 5th Canadian Armoured Division.25 It moved to North-West Europe on 28 February 1945, where it fought until the end of the war.26 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 31 January 1946.27

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Royal Westminster Regiment

CAMP FLAG

The Royal Westminster Regiment


1. GO 38/10. Formed from two rifle companies from the 6th Regiment, "Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles", authorized on the following dates: 'A Company' (Seymour Battery of Garrison Artillery, 10 July 1874), 'B Company' (B Company, 6th Battalion Rifles, 1 July 1899), and two newly authorized infantry companies / Formé de deux compagnies de voltigeurs du 6th Regiment, "Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles", autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « A Company » (Seymour Battery of Garrison Artillery, 10 juillet 1874), « B Company » (B Company, 6th Battalion Rifles, 1er juillet 1899), et deux compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées.

2. GO 198/13.

3. MO 61/20.

4. GO 189/20.

5. GO 66/24.

6. GO 178/36.

7. GO 122/41.

8. GO 42/41.

9. GO 400/45.

10. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 415/54.

11. CFOO 67/6.

12. GO 130/14.

13. GO 86/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The battalion also sent three reinforcement drafts to England; on 17 June, 24 June and 1 October 1915 / Le bataillon envoya également trois contingents de renforts en Angleterre les 17 juin, 24 juin et 1er octobre 1915.

15. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 47th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4940, File/dossier 438; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919, (Ottawa, 1962), passim.

16. GO 149/20.

17. GO 151/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. III.

19. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 131st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 131.

20. GO 82/18.

21. GO 135/39.

22. GO 42/41.

23. GO 62/41.

24. John Noble, The Royal Westminster Regiment, (n.p., 1988), p. 43.

25. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-62) The Westminster Regiment (MG), Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 7; and/et Major J.E. Oldfield, The Westminster's War Diary, (New Westminster, 1964), passim.. In August 1944, the unit formed part of the newly-organized 12th Infantry Brigade / En août 1944, l'unité forma une partie de la 12e brigade d'infanterie nouvellement mise sur pied.

26. Ibid.

27. GO 111/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE ROYAL WESTMINSTER REGIMENT

Insigne du Royal Westminster Regiment

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Colonel-en-chef: : Le Duc de Westminster KG OBE TD CD DL

INSIGNE

Description

Un demi-soleil d'or à une feuille d'érable de gueules brochante soutenue d'un listel de sable liséré d'or et inscrit THE ROYAL WESTMINSTER REGIMENT en lettres du même, chargée d'un castor or couchant au naturel reposant sur un rondin du même soutenu d'un listel d'or inscrit de la devise en lettres du même et sommé de la couronne royale au naturel.

Symbolisme

La feuille d'érable et le castor représentent le service au Canada, et la couronne, le service au Souverain. Le demi-soleil est repris des armoiries de la province de Colombie-Britannique, où est basé le régiment. « THE ROYAL WESTMINSTER REGIMENT » est le nom du régiment et « PRO REGE ET PATRIA » en est la devise.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

PRO REGE ET PATRIA (Pour le roi et la patrie)

Haut de la page

MARCHE

The Maple Leaf Forever

Haut de la page

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Crête d'Ancre; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; VALENCIENNES; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1916-18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

VALLÉE DU LIRI; Traversée de la Melfa; LIGNE GOTHIQUE; CORIANO; PASSAGE DU LAMONE; Crête de Misano; Casale; Canal Naviglio; ITALIE, 1944-1945; Ijsselmeer; Poche de Delfzijl; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1945.

LIGNEE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à New Westminster, en Colombie-Britannique, le 1er avril 1910, lorsque le « 104th Regiment » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 104th Regiment Westminster Fusiliers of Canada » le 15 décembre 1913.2 Le 12 mars 1920, il se fusionna avec le « 6th Regiment "The Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles" » et fut baptisé le « 1st British Columbia Regiment ».3 Il fut rebaptisé le « 1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) » le 1er novembre 1920.4 Le 15 mai 1924, il fut réorganisé en trois régiments distincts, baptisés : « 1st British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) » (aujourd'hui, le « British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own »); « The Vancouver Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The British Columbia Regiment (Duke of Connaught's Own) »; et « The Westminster Regiment ».5 Le 15 décembre 1936, il se fusionna avec la Compagnie « C » du « 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC ».6 Il fut rebaptisé : « The Westminster Regiment (Motor) » le 1er avril 1941;7 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Westminster Regiment (Motor) » le 7 novembre 1941;8 « The Westminster Regiment (Motor) le 31 janvier 1946;9 « The Westminster Regiment » le 6 octobre 1954;10 et « The Royal Westminster Regiment » le 9 décembre 1966.11

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « 1st British Columbia Regiment », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à six bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (7th Battalion, CEF), le 2e Bataillon (29th Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (4th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 4e Bataillon (62nd Battalion, CEF), le 5e Bataillon (131st Battalion, CEF) et le 6e Bataillon (158th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Le 5e Bataillon fut rebaptisé le « 5th Battalion (158th Bataillon, CEF) » et le 6e Bataillon fut rebaptisé le « 6th Battalion (131st Battalion, CEF) » le 1er septembre 1921 (GO 246/21).

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Westminster Regiment », le 15 mai 1924 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (47th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (131st Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « 1st British Columbia Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 septembre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Westminster Regiment » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 14 décembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 178/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régime

Le « 11th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » (1919-1936) ne fut pas perpétué (GO 76/37).

Perpétuations

« 47th » et « 131st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

New Westminster, Colombie-Britannique

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 104th Regiment Westminster Fusiliers of Canada » fut mobilisé pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.12

Le « 47th Battalion » fut autorisé le 7 novembre 1914 sous l'appellation de « 47th Battalion, CEF »,13 et s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 13 novembre 1915.14 Il débarqua en France le 11 août 1916, où il combattit en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre, en tant que composante de la 10e brigade d'infanterie, de la 4e division canadienne.15 Le bataillon fut dissous le 30 août 1920.16

Le « 131st Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 131st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,17 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 31 octobre 1916.18 Son personnel fut incorporé au sein du « 30th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF » le 14 novembre 1916, afin de fournir des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.19 Le bataillon fut dissous le 17 juillet 1917.20

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « 48th Highlanders of Canada, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.21 Il fut rebaptisé le « 1st Battalion, 48th Highlanders of Canada, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.22 L'unité s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 16 décembre 1939, et le 13 juin 1940, il se rendit en France en tant que composante de la « Second British Expeditionary Force ». Il avait atteint Sablé-sur-Sarthe lorsqu'il fut rappelé.23 Il se rendit en Sicile le 10 juillet 1943 et en Italie le 3 septembre 1943, en tant qu'élément de la 1er brigade d'infanterie, de la 1er division d'infanterie canadienne.24 En mars 1945, le régiment se rendit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe avec le 1er corps canadien, où il combattit jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.25 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 31 décembre 1945.26

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Westminster Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.21 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st Battalion, The Westminster Regiment (Machine Gun), CASF » le 7 novembre 1940;22 et « 1st Battalion, The Westminster Regiment (Motor), CASF » le 25 novembre 1940.23 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 13 novembre 1941.24 Le 1er décembre 1943, le bataillon débarqua en Italie en tant qu'élément de la 5e brigade blindée, de la 5e division blindée canadienne.25 Le 28 février 1945, il se rendit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe avec le 1er corps canadien, où il combattit jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.26 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous 31 janvier 1946.27

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

The Royal Westminster Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Royal Westminster Regiment Camp Flag


1. GO 38/10. Formed from two rifle companies from the 6th Regiment, "Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles", authorized on the following dates: 'A Company' (Seymour Battery of Garrison Artillery, 10 July 1874), 'B Company' (B Company, 6th Battalion Rifles, 1 July 1899), and two newly authorized infantry companies / Formé de deux compagnies de voltigeurs du 6th Regiment, "Duke of Connaught's Own Rifles", autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « A Company » (Seymour Battery of Garrison Artillery, 10 juillet 1874), « B Company » (B Company, 6th Battalion Rifles, 1er juillet 1899), et deux compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées.

2. GO 198/13.

3. MO 61/20.

4. GO 189/20.

5. GO 66/24.

6. GO 178/36.

7. GO 122/41.

8. GO 42/41.

9. GO 400/45.

10. CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 415/54.

11. CFOO 67/6.

12. GO 130/14.

13. GO 86/15.

14. CEF Sailing List, vol. III. The battalion also sent three reinforcement drafts to England; on 17 June, 24 June and 1 October 1915 / Le bataillon envoya également trois contingents de renforts en Angleterre les 17 juin, 24 juin et 1er octobre 1915.

15. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 47th Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4940, File/dossier 438; and/et G.W.L. Nicholson, Official History of the Canadian Army in the First World War, Canadian Expeditionary Force 1914-1919, (Ottawa, 1962), passim.

16. GO 149/20.

17. GO 151/15.

18. CEF Sailing List, vol. III.

19. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 131st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 12, Folder/chemise 131.

20. GO 82/18.

21. GO 135/39.

22. GO 42/41.

23. GO 62/41.

24. John Noble, The Royal Westminster Regiment, (n.p., 1988), p. 43.

25. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-62) The Westminster Regiment (MG), Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 7; and/et Major J.E. Oldfield, The Westminster's War Diary, (New Westminster, 1964), passim.. In August 1944, the unit formed part of the newly-organized 12th Infantry Brigade / En août 1944, l'unité forma une partie de la 12e brigade d'infanterie nouvellement mise sur pied.

26. Ibid.

27. GO 111/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.