Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE SEAFORTH HIGHLANDERS OF CANADA

The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Colonel-in-Chief: His Royal Highness The Prince Philip Duke of Edinburgh KG KT OM GBE AC QSO GCL CD ADC

BADGE

Description

A stag's head caboshed proper the antlers encircling a Letter "L" Or ensigned by the coronet of a younger son of the Sovereign proper all above a scroll Gules edged and inscribed CUIDICH'N RIGH in letters Or.

Symbolism

The badge is modelled on that of the Seaforth Highlanders of the British Army. The cypher is that of Leopold, Duke of Albany (1853-1884), fourth son of Queen Victoria, ensigned by his coronet.

Top of Page

MOTTO

CUIDICH'N RIGH (Help the King)

MARCH

"The Piobaireachd of Donald Dhu"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

Top of Page

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; SOMME, 1916; Ancre Heights; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; VALENCIENNES; SAMBRE; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915-18.

The Second World War

LANDING IN SICILY; Agira; ADRANO; Troina Valley; SICILY, 1943; Monte San Marco; Baranello; The Moro; San Leonardo; The Gully; Ortona; LIRI VALLEY; Hitler Line; GOTHIC LINE; Pozzo Alto Ridge; RIMINI LINE; San Martino-San Lorenzo; San Fortunato; Savio Bridgehead; Naviglio Canal; Fosso Munio; Granarolo; ITALY, 1943-1945; Apeldoorn; NORTH-WEST EUROPE, 1945.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated in Vancouver, British Columbia on 24 November 1910, when the '72nd Highlanders of Canada' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '72nd Seaforth Highlanders of Canada' on 15 April 1912;2 '72nd Regiment "Seaforth Highlanders of Canada"' on 16 December 1912;3 'The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada' on 12 March 1920;4 '2nd Battalion, The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada' on 7 November 1940;5 and 'The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada' on 1 November 1945.6>

Notes:
Upon redesignation as The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada on 12 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (72nd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and a 2nd Battalion (231st Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 15 September 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

On 4 May 1951, the regiment mobilized two temporary Active Force companies designated "E" and "F" Company (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51; and SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 May 1951). "E" Company was reduced to nil strength upon its personnel being incorporated into the '1st Canadian Highland Battalion' for service in Germany with the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 November 1951). It was disbanded on 29 July 1953 ( CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). "F" Company was initially used as a reinforcement pool for "E" Company. On 15 May 1952, it was reduced to nil strength, upon its personnel being absorbed by the newly formed '2nd Canadian Highland Battalion' for service in Korea with the United Nations (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 April 1952; and CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). "F" Company was disbanded on 29 July 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpetuations

'72nd' and '231st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Vancouver, British Columbia

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

The 72nd Battalion, which was authorized on 10 July 1915 as the '72nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',7 embarked for Britain on 23 April 1916.8 It disembarked in France on 13 August 1916, where it fought as part of the 12th Infantry Brigade, 4th Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.9 The battalion was disbanded on 30 August 1920.10

The 231st Battalion, which was authorized on 15 July 1916 as the '231st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',11 embarked for Britain on 11 April 1917.12 On 22 April 1917, its personnel were absorbed by the '24th Reserve Battalion, CEF' to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.13 The battalion was disbanded on 11 April 1918.14

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.15 It was redesignated '1st Battalion, The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, CASF' on 7 November 1940.16 It embarked for Britain on 20 December 1939.17 The battalion landed in Sicily on 10 July 1943 and in Italy on 4 September 1943 as part of the 2nd Brigade, 1st Canadian Infantry Division.18 On 14 March 1945, it moved with the 1st Canadian Corps to North-West Europe, where it fought until the end of the war.19 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 31 October 1945.20

On 1 June 1945, a second Active Force component of the regiment was mobilized for service in the Pacific theatre of operations, under the designation '2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion (The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada), CASF'.21 The battalion was disbanded on 1 November 1945.22

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada

CAMP FLAG

The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada


1. GO 18/11.

2. GO 74/12.

3. GO 229/12; and/et GO 62/14.

4. MO 61/20.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45; and/et GO 425/45.

7. GO 103a/15.

8. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

9. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 72nd Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4942, File/dossier 450; and/et Bernard McEvoy and/et Captain A. H. Finlay, 72nd Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, (Vancouver, 1920), passim.

10. GO 149/20.

11. GO 69/16.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. XI.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 231st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 231.

14. GO 82/18.

15. GO 135/39.

16. GO 42/41.

17. Reginald H. Roy, The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada 1919/1965, (Vancouver, 1969), pp. 61-62.

18. Ibid, pp. 157-409.

19. Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

20. GO 85/46.

21. GO 241/45. The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army. The unit was part of the '2nd Canadian Infantry Regiment' / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine. Le bataillon servit en tant que composante du « 2nd Canadian Infantry Regiment ».

22. GO 425/45.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE SEAFORTH HIGHLANDERS OF CANADA

Insigne de The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Colonel-en-chef : Son Altesse Royale le Prince Philip le Duc d'Édimbourg KG KT OM GBE AC QSO GCL CD ADC

INGIGNE

Description

L'insigne est inspiré de celui du Seaforth Highlanders de l'armée britannique. Le monogramme est celui de Léopold, Duc d'Albanie (1853-1884), quatrième fils de la reine Victoria; la couronne le sommant est celle que le duc portait en tant qu'enfant cadet de la souveraine.

Symbolisme

L'insigne est inspiré de celui du Seaforth Highlanders de l'armée britannique. Le monogramme est celui de Léopold, Duc d'Albanie (1853-1884), quatrième fils de la reine Victoria; la couronne le sommant est celle que le duc portait en tant qu'enfant cadet de la souveraine.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

CUIDICH'N RIGH (Aide le roi)

MARCHE

« The Piobaireachd of Donald Dhu »

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Royal Regiment of Scotland

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; SOMME, 1916; Crête d'Ancre; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; VALENCIENNES; SAMBRE; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915-18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

DÉBARQUEMENT EN SICILE; Agira; ADRANO; Vallée de Troina; SICILE, 1943; Monte San-Marco; Baranello; Le Moro; San- Leonardo; Le Ravin; Ortona; VALLÉE DU LIRI; Ligne Hitler; LIGNE GOTHIQUE; Crête de Pozzo Alto; LIGNE RIMINI; San-Martino-San- Lorenzo; San-Fortunato; Tête de pont du Savio; Canal Naviglio; Fosso Munio; Granarolo; ITALIE, 1943-1945; Apeldoorn; NORD- OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1945.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour à Vancouver, en Colombie-Britannique, le 24 novembre 1910, lorsque le « 72nd Highlanders of Canada » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 72nd Seaforth Highlanders of Canada » le 15 avril 1912;2 « 72nd Regiment "Seaforth Highlanders of Canada" » le 16 décembre 1912;3 « The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada » le 12 mars 1920;4 « 2nd Battalion, The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada » le 7 novembre 1940;5 et « The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada » le 1er novembre 1940.6

Notes :
Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (72nd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (231st Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 15 septembre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le 4 mai 1951, le régiment mobilisa deux compagnies temporaires dans la Force active, baptisées « E » et « F » (CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 245/51 et SD 1 Letter No. 4237, 5 mai 1951). La compagnie « E » fut réduite à des effectifs nuls lorsque son personnel passa au « 1st Canadian Highland Battalion » pour le service en Allemagne avec l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (SD 1 Letter No. 4365, 12 novembre 1951). Elle fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53). Initialement, la compagnie « F » servit comme réservoir de renforts pour la compagnie « E ». Le 15 mai 1952, elle fut réduite à des effectifs nuls, lorsque son personnel passa au « 2nd Canadian Highland Battalion » pour le service en Corée avec les Nations Unies (SD 1 Letter No. 4452, 22 avril 1952 et CAO 110-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 283/52). La compagnie « F » fut dissoute le 29 juillet 1953 (CAO 78-2, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 352/53).

Perpétuations

« 72nd » et « 231st "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »»

Site du quartier général

Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 72nd Battalion », autorisé le 10 juillet 1915 sous l'appellation de « 72nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,7 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 23 avril 1916.8 Il débarqua en France le 13 août 1916, où il combattit en tant que composante de la 12e brigade d'infanterie, de la 4e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.9 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.10

Le « 231st Battalion », autorisé le 15 juillet 1916 sous l'appellation de « 231st "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,11 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 11 avril 1917.12 Son personnel passa au « 24th Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 22 avril 1917, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.13 Le bataillon fut dissous le 11 avril 1918.14

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.15 Il fut rebaptisé le « 1st Battalion, The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940.16 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande- Bretagne le 20 décembre 1939.17 Le bataillon débarqua en Sicile le 10 juillet 1943 et en Italie le 4 septembre 1943 en tant qu'élément de la 2e brigade, de la 1re division d'infanterie canadienne.18 Le 14 mars 1945, il se rendit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe avec le 1er corps canadien, où il combattit jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.19 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 31 octobre 1945.20

Le 1er juin 1945, une seconde composante de la Force Active du régiment fut mobilisée, sous l'appellation de « 2nd Canadian Infantry Battalion (The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada), CASF », pour le service dans le théâtre de guerre du Pacifique.21 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er novembre 1945.22

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ RÉGIMENTAIRE

The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada


1. GO 18/11.

2. GO 74/12.

3. GO 229/12; and/et GO 62/14.

4. MO 61/20.

5. GO 42/41.

6. GO 400/45; and/et GO 425/45.

7. GO 103a/15.

8. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

9. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 72nd Canadian Infantry Battalion, LAC/BAC, RG/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4942, File/dossier 450; and/et Bernard McEvoy and/et Captain A. H. Finlay, 72nd Seaforth Highlanders of Canada, (Vancouver, 1920), passim.

10. GO 149/20.

11. GO 69/16.

12. CEF Sailing List, vol. XI.

13. Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 231st Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 231.

14. GO 82/18.

15. GO 135/39.

16. GO 42/41.

17. Reginald H. Roy, The Seaforth Highlanders of Canada 1919/1965, (Vancouver, 1969), pp. 61-62.

18. Ibid, pp. 157-409.

19. Colonel C.P. Stacey, The Victory Campaign: The Operations in North-West Europe 1944-1945, (Ottawa, 1966), passim.

20. GO 85/46.

21. GO 241/45.The Canadian units formed for the Pacific theatre of operations were organized and equipped the same as the American army. The battalion was part of the '2nd Canadian Infantry Regiment' / Les unités canadiennes du théâtre des opérations du Pacifique furent organisées et équipées de la même façon que l'Armée américaine. Le bataillon servit en tant que composante du « 2nd Canadian Infantry Regiment ».

22. GO 425/45.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.