Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE SOUTH SASKATCHEWAN REGIMENT

The South Saskatchewan Regiment Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

On an eight-pointed star Or a Maltese Cross Argent each point pommelled Gules ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and surmounted by a torteau charged with a pronghorn antelope trippant on a wreath Or within an annulus Gules edged and inscribed SOUTH SASKATCHEWAN REGIMENT in letters Or.

Symbolism

The Crown represents service to the Sovereign. The badge is based, in part, on the badges of two British Army regiments to which it was formerly allied. An antelope was bestowed upon The Royal Warwickshire Regiment (now, through amalgamation, The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers) in recognition of their capture in 1701 of a Moorish regiment's Standard, which featured the ancient royal badge of the antelope. Here, the antelope has been replaced by a pronghorn, which is of a different species and native only to North America. The Maltese cross on the eight-pointed star are component parts of The Border Regiment's badge (now, through amalgamation, the Duke of Lancaster's Regiment). "SOUTH SASKATCHEWAN REGIMENT" is a form of the regimental title.

Top of Page

MOTTO

None

MARCH

"Warwickshire Lads"

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

ARRAS, 1917; HILL 70.

The Second World War

Dieppe; BOURGUEBUS RIDGE; St. André sur Orne; FALAISE; Falaise Road; The Laison; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkirk, 1944; Antwerp-Turnhout Canal; THE SCHELDT; Woensdrecht; South Beveland; THE RHINELAND; The Hochwald; Xanten; THE RHINE; Groningen; Oldenburg; NORTH-WEST EUROPE 1942, 1944 45.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 3 July 1905 and incorporates the following regiments.

The South Saskatchewan Regiment originated in Regina, Saskatchewan on 3 July 1905, when a 'regiment of infantry' was authorized to be formed in the districts of Assiniboia and Saskatchewan.1 It was redesignated: '95th Regiment' on 2 April 1907;2 and '95th Saskatchewan Rifles' on 1 June 1909.3 On 1 April 1912, the regiment was reorganized as two separate regiments, designated the '105th Regiment' (now 'The North Saskatchewan Regiment') and the '95th Saskatchewan Rifles'.4 On 15 March 1920, it was amalgamated with the '60th Rifles of Canada' (see below) and redesignated 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment'.5 On 15 May 1924, The South Saskatchewan Regiment was reorganized into five separate regiments, designated: 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment' (now 'The Saskatchewan Dragoons'); 'The Assiniboia Regiment' (now the '10th Field Artillery Regiment, RCA); 'The Regina Rifle Regiment' (now 'The Royal Regina Rifles'); 'The Weyburn Regiment' and 'The Saskatchewan Border Regiment'.6 On 15 December 1936, The Weyburn Regiment and The Saskatchewan Border Regiment were amalgamated and redesignated 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment'.7 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The South Saskatchewan Regiment' on 7 November 1941;8 and 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment' on 15 December 1945.9 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 1 September 1968.10

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The South Saskatchewan Regiment on 15 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a five battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (28th Battalion, CEF) and 2nd Battalion (46th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 3rd Battalion (68th Battalion, CEF), 4th Battalion (128th Battalion, CEF), and 5th Battalion (195th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle.

On 1 October 1920, it was reorganized as a ten battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (28th Battalion, CEF), 2nd Battalion (46th Battalion, CEF), 3rd Battalion (no CEF designation), 4th Battalion (no CEF designation), and 5th Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 6th Battalion (68th Battalion, CEF), 7th Battalion (128th Battalion, CEF), 8th Battalion (195th Battalion, CEF), 9th Battalion (no CEF designation) and 10th Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle (GO 160/20).

The South Saskatchewan Regiment was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 October 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Upon reorganization on 15 May 1924 (see above), The Weyburn Regiment was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (217th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Upon reorganization on 15 May 1924 (see above), The Saskatchewan Border Regiment was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (152nd Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Weyburn Regiment and The Saskatchewan Border Regiment were disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 1 December 1936 (see above) and reorganized the next day (GO 166/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The 60th Rifles of Canada originated in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan on 2 January 1913, when the '60th Rifles of Canada' were authorized to be formed.11 On 15 March 1920, it was amalgamated with the '95th Saskatchewan Rifles', as above.

Perpetuations

'152nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Estevan, Saskatchewan

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details of the 60th Rifles of Canada were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protective duty.12

Details of the 95th Saskatchewan Rifles were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protective duty.13

The 152nd Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '152nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',14 embarked for Great Britain on 3 October 1916.15 Its personnel were absorbed by the '32nd Reserve Battalion, CEF' on 21 October 1916 to provide reinforcements for the Canadian Corps in the field.16 The battalion was disbanded on 21 May 1917.17

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The South Saskatchewan Regiment, CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.18 It was redesignated '1st Battalion, The South Saskatchewan Regiment, CASF' on 7 November 1940,19 and on 15 December 1940 it embarked for Great Britain.20 The battalion took part in the raid on Dieppe on 19 August 1942.21 It landed again in France on 8 July 1944, as a part of the 6th Infantry Brigade, 2nd Canadian Infantry Division, and it continued to fight in North-West Europe until the end of the war.22 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 15 December 1945.23

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The South Saskatchewan Regiment

CAMP FLAG

No camp flag recorded.


1. GO 155/05. The localization of the headquarters was not authorized until 1 April 1908, at Regina, Saskatchewan (GO 63/08) / L'emplacement du Quartier général ne fut pas autorisé avant le 1er avril 1908, à Regina, Saskatchewan (GO 63/08).

2. GO 67/07. It was authorized to be a rifle regiment on 1 May 1908 / Il fut autorisé d'être un régiment des voltigeurs le 1er mai 1908.

3. GO 75/09.

4. GO 60/12. Actual order does not include 'Saskatchewan Rifles' in nomenclature, however, this is officially considered an administrative oversight as subsequent orders dealing with the regiment use the title / L'ordre en soi n'inclue pas « Saskatchewan Rifles » dans sa nomenclature, par contre, ceci est officiellement considéré une erreur administrative puisque les ordres subséquentes utilisent ce titre.

5. GO 72/20.

6. GO 67/24.

7. GO 166/36.

8. GO 42/41.

9. GO 400/45.

10. CFOO 68/35.

11. GO 5/13.

12. GO 142/14.

13. Ibid.

14. GO 151/15.

15. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

16. CTDO 5977/16; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 152nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 152.

17. GO 63/17.

18. GO 135/39.

19. GO 42/41.

20. Lieutenant-Colonel G. B. Buchanan, The March of the Prairie Men: The History of The South Saskatchewan Regiment, (n.d., 1957), p. 7.

21. Ibid, passim; and/et Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-57), The South Saskatchewan Regiment, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 2.

22. Ibid.

23. GO 85/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE SOUTH SASKATCHEWAN REGIMENT

Insigne du South Saskatchewan Regiment

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Une étoile à huit rais d'or chargée d'une croix de Malte d'argent, ses pointes pommetées de gueules, sommée de la couronne royale au naturel, au tourteau de gueules brochant chargé d'une antilope à cornes fourchues passant sur une torque, le tout d'or, cerclé d'un anneau de gueules liséré d'or et inscrit SOUTH SASKATCHEWAN REGIMENT en lettres du même.

Symbolisme

La Couronne représente le service au souverain. L'insigne est fondé en partie sur les insignes de deux régiments de l'armée britannique auxquels The South Saskatchewan Regiment était auparavant allié. Une antilope a été attribuée au Royal Warwickshire Regiment (désormais The Royal Regiment of Fusiliers, issue d'une fusion) en reconnaissance de leur prise, en 1701, de l'étendard d'un régiment mauresque qui arborait l'ancien insigne royal de l'antilope. Ici, l'antilope est remplacée par une antilope d'Amérique, une espèce que l'on retrouve seulement en Amérique du Nord. La croix de Malte et l'étoile à huit pointes sont des éléments de l'insigne du Border Regiment (désormais le Duke of Lancaster's Regiment, issue d'une fusion). « SOUTH SASKATCHEWAN REGIMENT » est une variante du nom du régiment.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

Aucune

MARCHE

« Warwickshire Lads »

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

ARRAS, 1917; CÔTE 70.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Dieppe; CRÊTE DE BOURGUÉBUS; St. André-sur Orne; FALAISE; Route de la Falaise; La Laison; Forêt de la Londe; Dunkerque, 1944; Canal d'Anvers-Turnhout; L'ESCAUT; Woensdrecht; Beveland-Sud; LA RHÉNANIE; La Hochwald; Xanten; LE RHIN; Groningue; Oldenbourg; NORD-OUEST DE L'EUROPE, 1942, 1944 45.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 3 juillet 1905 et regroupe les régiments suivants.

Le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » vit le jour à Regina, en Saskatchewan, le 3 juillet 1905, lorsqu'un « régiment d'infanterie » fut autorisé à être formé dans les districts de l'Assiniboia et de la Saskatchewan.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 95th Regiment » le 2 avril 1907;2 et « 95th Saskatchewan Rifles » le 1er juin 1909.3 Le 1er avril 1912, le régiment fut réorganisé en deux régiments distinctifs, baptisés le « 105th Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The North Saskatchewan Regiment ») et le « 95th [Saskatchewan] Regiment ».4 Le 15 mars 1920, le régiment se fusionna avec le « 60th Rifles of Canada » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé « The South Saskatchewan Regiment ».5 Le 15 mai 1924, « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » fut réorganisé en cinq régiments distinctifs, baptisés le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The Saskatchewan Dragoons ), le « The Assiniboia Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « 10e Régiment d'artillerie de campagne, ARC »), le « The Regina Rifle Regiment » (aujourd'hui, le « The Royal Regina Rifles »), le « The Weyburn Regiment » et le « The Saskatchewan Border Regiment ».6 Le 15 décembre 1936, le « The Weyburn Regiment » et le « The Saskatchewan Border Regiment » se fusionnèrent et furent rebaptisés « The South Saskatchewan Regiment ».7 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The South Saskatchewan Regiment » le 7 novembre 1941;8,/ et « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » le 15 décembre 1945.9 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 1er septembre 1968.10

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment », le 15 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à cinq bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (28th Battalion, CEF) et le 2e Bataillon (46th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 3e Bataillon (68th Battalion, CEF), le 4e Bataillon (128th Battalion, CEF), et le 5e Bataillon (195th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le 1er octobre 1920, il fut réorganisé en tant que régiment à dix bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (28th Battalion, CEF), le 2e Bataillon (46th Battalion, CEF), le 3e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF), le 4e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF), et le 5e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 6e Bataillon (68th Battalion, CEF), le 7e Bataillon (128th Battalion, CEF), le 8e Bataillon (195th Battalion, CEF), le 9e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) et le 10e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve (GO 160/20).

Le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er octobre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Lorsque le régiment fut réorganisé le 15 mai 1924 (voir ci-dessous), le « The Weyburn Regiment » fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (217th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Lorsque le régiment fut réorganisé le 15 mai 1924 (voir ci-dessous), le « The Saskatchewan Border Regiment » fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (152nd Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « Weyburn Regiment » et le « The Saskatchewan Border Regiment » furent dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er décembre 1936 (voir ci-dessous) et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 166/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « 60th Rifles of Canada » vit le jour à Moose Jaw, en Saskatchewan, le 2 janvier 1913, lorsque le « 60th Rifles of Canada » fut autorisé.11 Le 15 mars 1920, il se fusionna avec le « 95th Saskatchewan Rifles » et fut rebaptisé « The South Saskatchewan Regiment », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Perpétuations

« 152nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Estevan, Saskatchewan

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 60th Rifles of Canada » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.12

Des détachements du « 95th Saskatchewan Rifles » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.13

Le « 152nd Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 152nd "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,14 s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 3 octobre 1916.15 Son personnel passa au « 32nd Reserve Battalion, CEF » le 21 octobre 1916, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.16 Le bataillon fut dissous le 21 mai 1917.17

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le « The South Saskatchewan Regiment, CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.18 Il fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, The South Saskatchewan Regiment, CASF » le 7 novembre 1940,19 et le 15 décembre 1940, il s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne.20 Le bataillon prit part au raid de Dieppe le 19 août 1942.21 Il débarqua encore une fois en France le 8 juillet 1944, en tant qu'élément de la 6e brigade d'infanterie, de la 2e division d'infanterie canadienne, et combattit dans le Nord-Ouest de l'Europe jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.22 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 15 décembre 1945.23

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

The South Saskatchewan Regiment

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Aucun drapeau de camp autorisé.


1. GO 155/05. The localization of the headquarters was not authorized until 1 April 1908, at Regina, Saskatchewan (GO 63/08) / L'emplacement du Quartier général ne fut pas autorisé avant le 1er avril 1908, à Regina, Saskatchewan (GO 63/08).

2. GO 67/07. It was authorized to be a rifle regiment on 1 May 1908 / Il fut autorisé d'être un régiment des voltigeurs le 1er mai 1908.

3. GO 75/09.

4. GO 60/12. Actual order does not include 'Saskatchewan Rifles' in nomenclature, however, this is officially considered an administrative oversight as subsequent orders dealing with the regiment use the title / L'ordre en soi n'inclue pas « Saskatchewan Rifles » dans sa nomenclature, par contre, ceci est officiellement considéré une erreur administrative puisque les ordres subséquentes utilisent ce titre.

5. GO 72/20.

6. GO 67/24.

7. GO 166/36.

8. GO 42/41.

9. GO 400/45.

10. CFOO 68/35.

11. GO 5/13.

12. GO 142/14.

13. Ibid.

14. GO 151/15.

15. CEF Sailing List, vol. VIII.

16. CTDO 5977/16; and/et Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 152nd Battalion, Document Collection/Collection de documents 74/672, Series/séries IV, Box/boîte 13, Folder/chemise 152.

17. GO 63/17.

18. GO 135/39.

19. GO 42/41.

20. Lieutenant-Colonel G. B. Buchanan, The March of the Prairie Men: The History of The South Saskatchewan Regiment, (n.d., 1957), p. 7.

21. Ibid, passim; and/et Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-57), The South Saskatchewan Regiment, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 2.

22. Ibid.

23. GO 85/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.