Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

VOLTIGEURS DE QUEBEC

Les Voltigeurs de Québec Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

The arms of Salaberry (Per pale dexter per fess in chief Or a lion rampant Gules, in base Or two cows passant in pale Gules armed collared and belled Azure, sinister Gules a cross bottony Or, a bordure Azure charged with eight saltires couped Or) within an annulus Vert fimbriated and inscribed VOLTIGEURS DE QUEBEC in letters Argent, all surmounting the cross of the Order of St. Louis Argent, the whole ensigned by the Royal Crown proper and above a scroll Argent inscribed with the Motto in letters Gules

Symbolism

The Crown represents service to the Sovereign. The Voltigeurs Canadiens (1812-1815), who were organized as a temporary British Army regular unit and commanded by Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry for service during the War of 1812, had the reputation of repeatedly repulsing superior American forces. His son, Lieutenant-Colonel Charles René-Léonidas de Salaberry, was the first commanding officer of the regiment when it was formed in 1862. The badge, incorporating the arms and motto "FORCE À SUPERBE MERCY À FOIBLE"" of the family of d'Irumberry de Salaberry, was adopted in 1892 in recognition of this family's services to the military of Canada and the regiment. The Order of St. Louis, instituted by King Louis XIV of France in 1693, was a notable honour in New France. "VOLTIGEURS DE QUEBEC" is a form of the regimental title.

Top of Page

MOTTO

FORCE À SUPERBE MERCY À FOIBLE (Violence to the strong, mercy to the weak)

MARCH

"Les Voltigeurs de Québec"

ALLIANCE

British Army

The Yorkshire Regiment

Affiliation

HMCS Ville de Québec

BATTLE HONOURS

The War of 1812

DEFENCE OF CANADA – 1812-1815 – DÉFENSE DU CANADA; CHÂTEAUGUAY; CRYSLER’S FARM

Honorary Distinction

The non-emblazonable honorary distinction DEFENCE OF CANADA – 1812-1815 – DÉFENSE DU CANADA

North West Rebellion

NORTH WEST CANADA, 1885.

First World War

MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917; HILL 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS.

Honorary Distinction

The Second World War badge of the Royal 22e Régiment for significantly reinforcing the regiment during the Italian campaign.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 7 March 1862 and incorporates the following regiments.

Les Voltigeurs de Québec originated in Quebec City, Quebec on 7 March 1862, when 'The 9th Battalion Volunteer Militia Rifles, Canada (or "Voltigeurs of Quebec") were authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '9th Regiment "Voltigeurs de Québec"' on 8 May 1900;2 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec' on 29 March 1920;3 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Les Voltigeurs de Québec' on 10 May 1941;4 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Reserve)' on 15 September 1944;5 and 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Motor)' on 1 April 1946.6 On 1 September 1954, it was amalgamated with 'Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses)' (see below) and redesignated 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Mitrailleuses)'.7 It was redesignated 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec' on 11 April 1958.8 On 22 February 1965, it was amalgamated with 'The Royal Rifles of Canada'.9 The two regiments ceased to be amalgamated on 1 November 1966.10

Notes:

Upon redesignation as Les Voltigeurs de Québec on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (41st Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion (no CEF designation) on the Reserve order of battle

On 15 June 1920, the 1st Battalion was redesignated the 1st Battalion (57th Battalion, CEF) (GO 95/20). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Voltigeurs de Québec were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 October 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses) originated in St. Ambroise, Quebec on 9 April 1869, when 'The Provisional Battalion of "Quebec"' was authorized to be formed.11 It was redesignated: '87th "Quebec" Battalion of Infantry' on 27 May 1881;12 '87th Quebec Regiment' on 8 May 1900;13 'Le Régiment de Québec' on 29 March 1920;14 'Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses)' on 15 December 1936;15 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses)' on 18 March 1942;16 and 'Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses)' on 22 December 1945.17 On 1 September 1954, it was amalgamated with 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Motor)', as above.

Notes:

Upon redesignation as Le Régiment de Québec on 29 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a two battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle, and the 2nd Battalion on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le Régiment de Québec was disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 1 October 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 232/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

Perpetuations

‘6th Battalion, Select Embodied Militia’, ‘Provincial Corps of Light Infantry (Canadian Voltigeurs)’, ‘1st and 2nd Battalions (City of Quebec) (1812-15)’, ‘Beauport Division (1812-15)’, '57th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF'

Headquarters Location

Quebec City, Quebec

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

Fenian Raids

The Voltigeurs of Quebec were called out on active service on 8 March 1866. The battalion was removed from active service on 31 March 1866.18

North West Rebellion

Les Voltigeurs de Québec, which were mobilized for active service on 10 April 1885,19 served in the Alberta Column of the North West Field Force.20 The battalion was removed from active service on 24 July 1885.21

The First World War

The 9th Regiment "Voltigeurs de Québec" were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.22

Details of the 87th Quebec Regiment were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.23

The 57th Battalion, which was authorized on 20 April 1915 as the '57th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',24 embarked for Britain on 2 June 1916.25 On 8 June 1916, its personnel were absorbed by the '69th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF' to provide reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field.26 The battalion was disbanded on 11 April 1918.27

The Second World War

Details of Les Voltigeurs de Québec were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec, CASF (Details)' for local protection duties.28 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.29 Details of the regiment were again called out on service on 1 January 1941, under the designation 'Details of 1st (Reserve) Battalion, 'Les Voltigeurs de Québec'.30 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 5 April 1941.31

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '1st Battalion, Les Voltigeurs de Québec, CASF' for active service on 10 May 1941.32 It was converted to armour and redesignated the '24th Army Tank Battalion (Les Voltigeurs de Québec), CAC, CASF' on 26 January 1942.33 It was redesignated: '24th Reconnaissance Battalion (Les Voltigeurs de Québec), CAC, CASF' on 22 May 1942;34 and '24th Reconnaissance Regiment (Les Voltigeurs de Québec), CAC, CASF' on 8 June 1942.35 On 16 January 1943, it was reconverted to infantry and redesignated the '1st Battalion, Les Voltigeurs de Québec, CASF'.36 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the 17th Infantry Brigade, 7th Canadian Division.37 It embarked for Britain on 23 July 1943,38 where it provided reinforcements to units of the Canadian Corps in the field.39 The overseas battalion was disbanded on 1 November 1943.40

Details of Le Régiment de Québec were called out on service on 26 August 1939 and then placed on active service on 1 September 1939, under the designation 'Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses), CASF (Details)', for local protection duties.41 The details called out on active service were disbanded on 31 December 1940.42

The regiment subsequently mobilized the '1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Québec, CASF' for active service on 18 March 1942.43 This unit served in Canada and in a home defence role as part of the 15th Infantry Brigade, 7th Canadian Division and in Newfoundland on garrison duty.44 The battalion was disbanded on 22 December 1945.45

Top of Page

COLOURS

Rifle regiments do not carry Colours. They may emblazon their battle honours on unit appointments such as cap badges or shoulder pouch belt plates.

CAMP FLAG

Les Voltigeurs de Québec


1. MGO 7 Mar 62. Formé de six compagnies indépendantes de voltigeurs autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (The 3rd Volunteer Rifle Company of Quebec, 6 décembre 1861); « No. 2 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 13 février 1862); « No. 3 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 22 janvier 1862); « No. 4 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 28 février 1862); « No. 5 Company » (The Highland Volunteer Rifle Company of Quebec, 7 mars 1862); et « No. 6 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 7 mars 1862) /Formed from six independent rifle companies authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (The 3rd Volunteer Rifle Company of Quebec, 6 December 1861); 'No. 2 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 13 February 1862); 'No. 3 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 22 January 1862); 'No. 4 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 28 February 1862); 'No. 5 Company' (The Highland Volunteer Militia Rifle Company of Quebec, 7 March 1862); and 'No. 6 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 7 March 1862).

2 MO 105/1900.

3 MO 96/20.

4 GO 42/41; et/and GO 155/41.

5 GO 402/44.

6 GO 115/46.

7 CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

8 CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

9 SD 1 Letter No. 64/66; et/and Message, QUECOM G 3564, 221800Z SEP 65. OGC du Commandement du Québec voulait recommander un titre d'unité au QGFC / GOC Quebec Command was to recommend a unit title, to CFHQ.

10 CFOO/OOFC 66/13.

11 MGO 9 Apr 69. Formé de quatre compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (Infantry Company at Charlesbourg, 18 décembre 1868); « No. 2 Company » (Infantry Company at Ancienne Lorette, 8 janvier 1868); « No. 3 Company » (Infantry Company at St. Ambroise, 6 février 1869); and « No. 4 Company » (Infantry Company at Ste. Foye, 6 février 1869) /Formed from four independent infantry companies authorized on the following dates: « No. 1 Company » (Infantry Company at Charlesbourg, 18 December 1868); « No. 2 Company » (Infantry Company at Ancienne Lorette, 8 January 1868); « No. 3 Company » (Infantry Company at St. Ambroise, 6 February 1869); and « No. 4 Company » (Infantry Company at Ste. Foye, 6 February 1869).

12 MGO 12/81.

13 MO 105/1900.

14 MO 96/20.

15 GO 204/36.

16 GO 42/41; et/and GO 147/42.

17 GO 92/46; et/and GO 400/45.

18 MGO 1 June 66; et/and MGO 22 June 66.

19 MGO 8/85.

20 General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 42.

21 MGO 16/85.

22 GO 142/14.

23 GO 163/14.

24 GO 103a/15.

25 CEF Sailing List, vol. III. L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 21 juillet 1915 /The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 21 July 1915.

26 Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 57th Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 12, chemise/Folder 57.

27 GO 82/18.

28 GO 124/39; et/and GO 135/39.

29 GO 44/41.

30 GO 44/41; GO 42/41; et/and GO 125/39.

31 GO 337/43.

32 GO 155/41.

33 GO 132/42.

34 GO 248/42.

35 GO 455/42.

36 GO 106/43.

37 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officiel de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six Années de guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 557.

38 Jacques Castonguay, Les Voltigeurs de Québec - Premier régiment canadien-français, (Québec, 1987), p. 360.

39 Ibid, pp. 361 à 374.

40 GO 89/44.

41 GO 124/39; et/and GO 135/39.

42 GO 44/41.

43 GO 147/42.

44 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officiel de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six Années de guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 557; et/and Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-61) Les Voltigeurs de Québec, boîte/Box 38, chemise/Folder 6.

45 GO 92/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

LES VOLTIGEURS DE QUÉBEC

Insigne des Voltigeurs de Québec

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Les armes de Salaberry (Parti, à dextre coupé au 1 d'or au lion de gueules, au 2 d'or à deux vaches passantes l'une sur l'autre de gueules accornées, colletées et clarinées d'azur; à senestre de gueules à une croix d'argent pommettée d'or, à la bordure d'azur chargée de huit flanchis d'or) entourées d'un anneau de sinople liséré d'argent et inscrit VOLTIGEURS DE QUEBEC en lettres du même, le tout brochant en abîme sur la croix de l'Ordre de Saint-Louis d'argent, sommé de la couronne royale au naturel et accompagné en pointe d'un listel d'argent inscrit de la devise en lettres de gueules.

Symbolisme

La couronne représente le service au souverain. Les Voltigeurs canadiens (1812-1815), commandés par le lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel d'Irumberry de Salaberry, furent constitués en tant qu'unité régulière temporaire de l'Armée britannique pour servir pendant la guerre de 1812, et s'étaient acquis la réputation d'avoir repoussé à maintes reprises les forces américaines supérieures en nombre. Son fils, le lieutenant-colonel Charles René-Léonidas de Salaberry, fut le premier commandant du régiment à sa création en 1862. L'insigne, sur lequel figurent les armoiries et la devise « FORCE À SUPERBE MERCY À FOIBLE » de la famille d'Irumberry de Salaberry, a été adopté en 1892 en reconnaissance des services rendus par cette famille à l'armée du Canada et au régiment. L'Ordre de Saint-Louis, institué en 1693 par le roi de France Louis XIV, était une distinction honorifique importante en Nouvelle-France. « VOLTIGEURS DE QUÉBEC » est une variante du nom du régiment.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

FORCE À SUPERBE MERCY À FOIBLE (Violence aux forts, pitié aux faibles)

MARCHE

Les Voltigeurs de Québec

ALLIANCE

Armée britannique

The Yorkshire Regiment

AFFILIATION

NCSM Ville de Québec

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Guerre de 1812

DÉFENSE DU CANADA – 1812-1815 – DEFENCE OF CANADA; CHÂTEAUGUAY; CRYSLER’S FARM

Distinction honorifique

Distinction honorifique non blasonnable DÉFENSE DU CANADA – 1812-1815 – DEFENCE OF CANADA

Rébellion du Nord-Ouest

CANADA DU NORD-OUEST, 1885.

Première Guerre mondiale

MONT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; ARRAS, 1917; CÔTE 70; YPRES, 1917; AMIENS.

Distinction honorifique

L'insigne de la Seconde Guerre mondiale du Royal 22e Régiment pour avoir renforcé de façon significative le régiment pendant la campagne d'Italie.

Haut de la page

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 7 mars 1862 et regroupe les régiments suivants.

Les Voltigeurs de Québec virent le jour à Québec, au Québec, le 7 mars 1862, lorsque le « The 9th Battalion Volunteer Militia Rifles, Canada (or "Voltigeurs of Québec") » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 9th Regiment "Voltigeurs de Québec" » le 8 mai 1900;2 « Les Voltigeurs de Québec » le 29 mars 1920;3 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Les Voltigeurs de Québec » le 10 mai 1941;4 « Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Reserve) » le 15 septembre 1944;5 et « Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Motor) » le 1er avril 1946.6 Le 1er septembre 1954, il se fusionna avec « Le Régiment de Québec » (voir ci-dessous) et fut rebaptisé « Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Mitrailleuses) ».7 Il fut rebaptisé « Les Voltigeurs de Québec » le 11 avril 1958.8 Le 22 février 1965, il se fusionna avec le « The Royal Rifles of Canada ».9 Ces deux régiments cessent leur fusion le 1er novembre 1966.10

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé Les Voltigeurs de Québec, le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (41st Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (aucune désignation CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve.

Le 15 juin 1920, le 1er Bataillon fut rebaptisé 1er Bataillon (57th Battalion, CEF) (GO 95/20). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Les Voltigeurs de Québec furent dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er octobre 1920 et réorganisés la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses) vit le jour à Saint-Ambroise, au Québec, le 9 avril 1869, lorsque le « The Provisional Battalion of "Quebec" » fut autorisé.11 Il fut rebaptisé : « 87th "Quebec" Battalion of Infantry » le 27 mai 1881;12 « 87th Quebec Regiment » le 8 mai 1900;13 « Le Régiment de Québec » le 29 mars 1920;14 « Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses) » le 15 décembre 1936;15 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses) » le 18 mars 1942;16 et « Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses) » le 22 décembre 1945.17 Le 1er septembre 1954, il se fusionna avec « Les Voltigeurs de Québec (Motor) », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé Le Régiment de Québec, le 29 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à deux bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le Régiment de Québec fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 1er octobre 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 232/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment

Perpétuations

« 6e Bataillon de la Milice d’élite incorporée », « Corps provincial d’infanterie légère (Voltigeurs canadiens) », « 1er Bataillon de la Ville de Québec (1812-1815) », « 2e Bataillon de la Ville de Québec (1812-1815) », « Division de Beauport (1812-1815) », « 57th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Québec, Québec

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPERATIONNEL

Raids des Fenians

Les « Voltigeurs of Quebec » furent mobilisés le 8 mars 1866. Le bataillon fut retiré du service actif le 31 mars 1866.18

Première Guerre mondiale

Le « 9th Regiment "Voltigeurs de Québec" » fut mobilisé pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.22

Des détachements du « 87th Quebec Regiment » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.23

Le « 57th Battalion », autorisé le 20 avril 1915 sous l'appellation de « 57th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,24 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 2 juin 1916.25 Son personnel passa au « 69th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF » le 8 juin 1916, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.26 Le bataillon fut dissous le 11 avril 1918.27

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Des détachements de Les Voltigeurs de Québec furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « Les Voltigeurs de Québec, CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.28 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.29 Des détachements du régiment furent mobilisés une nouvelle fois pour le service le 1er janvier 1941, sous l'appellation de « Details of 1st (Reserve) Battalion, Les Voltigeurs de Québec ».30 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 5 avril 1941.31

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, Les Voltigeurs de Québec, CASF » pour le service actif le 10 mai 1941.32 Il fut converti en régiment blindé et fut rebaptisé « 24th Army Tank Battalion (Les Voltigeurs de Québec), CAC, CASF » le 26 janvier 1942.33 Il fut rebaptisé : « 24th Reconnaissance Battalion (Les Voltigeurs de Québec), CAC, CASF » le 22 mai 1942;34 et « 24th Reconnaissance Regiment (Les Voltigeurs de Québec), CAC, CASF » le 8 juin 1942.35 Le 16 janvier 1943, il fut reconverti en régiment d'infanterie et fut rebaptisé « 1st Battalion, Les Voltigeurs de Québec, CASF ».36 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la 17e brigade d'infanterie, de la 7e division canadienne.37 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande Bretagne le 23 juillet 1943,38 où il fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.39 Le bataillon outre-mer fut dissous le 1er novembre 1943.40

Des détachements de Le Régiment de Québec furent mobilisés pour le service le 26 août 1939 et furent mis en service actif le 1er septembre 1939, sous l'appellation de « Le Régiment de Québec (Mitrailleuses), CASF (Details) », fournissant des services locaux de protection.41 Les détachements mobilisés pour le service actif furent dissous le 31 décembre 1940.42

Subséquemment, le régiment mobilisa le « 1st Battalion, Le Régiment de Québec, CASF » pour le service actif le 18 mars 1942.43 Il servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante de la 15e brigade d'infanterie, de la 7e division canadienne et à Terre-Neuve exerçant des tâches de garnison.44 Le bataillon fut dissous le 22 décembre 1945.45

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

Les régiments de voltigeurs n'ont pas de drapeaux consacrés. Ils peuvent blasonner leurs honneurs de bataille sur les articles propres d'unité telles que les insignes de coiffure ou les plaques de baudriers.

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Les Voltigeurs de Québec


1 MGO 7 Mar 62. Formé de six compagnies indépendantes de voltigeurs autorisées selon les dates suivantes :« No. 1 Company » (The 3rd Volunteer Rifle Company of Quebec, 6 décembre 1861); « No. 2 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 13 février 1862); « No. 3 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 22 janvier 1862); « No. 4 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 28 février 1862); « No. 5 Company » (The Highland Volunteer Rifle Company of Quebec, 7 mars 1862); et « No. 6 Company » (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 7 mars 1862) /Formed from six independent rifle companies authorized on the following dates: 'No. 1 Company' (The 3rd Volunteer Rifle Company of Quebec, 6 December 1861); 'No. 2 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 13 February 1862); 'No. 3 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 22 January 1862); 'No. 4 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 28 February 1862); 'No. 5 Company' (The Highland Volunteer Militia Rifle Company of Quebec, 7 March 1862); and 'No. 6 Company' (Volunteer Militia Rifle Company, at Quebec, 7 March 1862).

2 MO 105/1900.

3 MO 96/20.

4 GO 42/41; et/and GO 155/41.

5 GO 402/44.

6 GO 115/46.

7 CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 420/55.

8 CAO 76-3, Pt 'B', Supp Issue No. 596/58.

9 SD 1 Letter No. 64/66; et/and Message, QUECOM G 3564, 221800Z SEP 65. OGC du Commandement du Québec voulait recommander un titre d'unité au QGFC / GOC Quebec Command was to recommend a unit title, to CFHQ.

10 CFOO/OOFC 66/13.

11 MGO 9 Apr 69. Formé de quatre compagnies indépendantes d'infanterie autorisées selon les dates suivantes : « No. 1 Company » (Infantry Company at Charlesbourg, 18 décembre 1868); « No. 2 Company » (Infantry Company at Ancienne Lorette, 8 janvier 1868); « No. 3 Company » (Infantry Company at St. Ambroise, 6 février 1869); and « No. 4 Company » (Infantry Company at Ste. Foye, 6 février 1869) /Formed from four independent infantry companies authorized on the following dates: « No. 1 Company » (Infantry Company at Charlesbourg, 18 December 1868); « No. 2 Company » (Infantry Company at Ancienne Lorette, 8 January 1868); « No. 3 Company » (Infantry Company at St. Ambroise, 6 February 1869); and « No. 4 Company » (Infantry Company at Ste. Foye, 6 February 1869).

12 MGO 12/81.

13 MO 105/1900.

14 MO 96/20.

15 GO 204/36.

16 GO 42/41; et/and GO 147/42.

17 GO 92/46; et/and GO 400/45.

18 MGO 1 June 66; et/and MGO 22 June 66.

19 MGO 8/85.

20 General Sir Frederick Middleton, Suppression of the Rebellion in the North West Territories of Canada 1885, (Toronto, 1948), p. 42.

21 MGO 16/85.

22 GO 142/14.

23 GO 163/14.

24 GO 103a/15.

25 CEF Sailing List, vol. III. L'unité envoya également un contingent de renforts outre-mer le 21 juillet 1915 /The unit also sent a reinforcing draft overseas on 21 July 1915.

26 Edwin Pye Papers, Summary of History of C.E.F. Units - 57th Battalion, Collection de documents/Document Collection 672, séries/Series IV, boîte/Box 12, chemise/Folder 57.

27 GO 82/18.

28 GO 124/39; et/and GO 135/39.

29 GO 44/41.

30 GO 44/41; GO 42/41; et/and GO 125/39.

31 GO 337/43.

32 GO 155/41.

33 GO 132/42.

34 GO 248/42.

35 GO 455/42.

36 GO 106/43.

37 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officiel de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six Années de guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 557.

38 Jacques Castonguay, Les Voltigeurs de Québec - Premier régiment canadien-français, (Québec, 1987), p. 360.

37 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officiel de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six Années de guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 557.

38 Jacques Castonguay, Les Voltigeurs de Québec - Premier régiment canadien-français, (Québec, 1987), p. 360.

39 Ibid, pp. 361 à 374.

40 GO 89/44.

41 GO 124/39; et/and GO 135/39.

42 GO 44/41.

43 GO 147/42.

44 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Histoire officiel de la participation de l'Armée canadienne à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, Volume 1, Six Années de guerre (Ottawa, 1955), p. 557; et/and Collection de documents/Document Collection 92/252, (3-6-61) Les Voltigeurs de Québec, boîte/Box 38, chemise/Folder 6.

45 GO 92/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.