Volume 3, Part 2: Infantry Regiments

THE WINNIPEG GRENADIERS

The Winnipeg Grenadiers Badge

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


BADGE

Description

A grenade Sable enflamed Gules and Argent.

Symbolism

The grenade, named for its similarity to a pomegranate, was a small bomb composed simply of a hollow iron ball filled with explosive and detonated with a simple fuse. It gave rise to a type of infantryman called a Grenadier who was specially trained and equipped for throwing grenades. The red and white of the flames are the livery colours of the regiment and the official colours of Canada.

Top of Page

MOTTO

ADSUM (Present)

MARCH

"British Grenadiers"

BATTLE HONOURS

The First World War

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; MOUNT SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Ancre Heights; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS, 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; HILL 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; HINDENBURG LINE; Canal du Nord; VALENCIENNES; SAMBRE; FRANCE AND FLANDERS, 1915 18

The Second World War

Hong Kong; SOUTH-EAST ASIA, 1941.

Top of Page

LINEAGE

This Reserve Force regiment originated on 1 April 1908 and incorporates the following regiment and machine gun battalion.

The Winnipeg Grenadiers originated in Morden, Manitoba on 1 April 1908, when the '100th Regiment' was authorized to be formed.1 It was redesignated: '100th "Winnipeg Grenadiers"' on 2 May 1910;2 and 'The Winnipeg Grenadiers' on 12 March 1920.3 On 16 November 1936, it was amalgamated with the '10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' (see below) and redesignated 'The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun)'.5 It was redesignated: '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun)' on 7 November 1940;6 '2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers' on 15 March 1941;7 and 'The Winnipeg Grenadiers' on 28 January 1946.8 It was reduced to nil strength and transferred to the Supplementary Order of Battle on 28 February 1965.9

Notes:

Upon redesignation as The Winnipeg Grenadiers on 12 March 1920 (see above), it was organized as a three battalion regiment with the 1st Battalion (78th Battalion, CEF) on the Non Permanent Active Militia order of battle and a 2nd Battalion (11th Battalion, CEF) and 3rd Battalion (100th Battalion, CEF) on the Reserve order of battle. The reserve units were disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The Winnipeg Grenadiers were disbanded for the purpose of reorganization on 16 August 1920 and reorganized the same day (GO 174/20). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The Winnipeg Grenadiers were disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 15 November 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 161/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The '10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' originated in Winnipeg, Manitoba on 1 June 1919, when the '10th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC' was authorized to be formed.10 It was redesignated the '10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC' on 15 September 1924.11 On 16 November 1936, it was amalgamated with 'The Winnipeg Grenadiers', as above.

Notes:

The 10th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC was authorized a Reserve order of battle counterpart on 1 June 1919 (GO 104/20). The reserve unit was disbanded on 14 December 1936 (GO 3/37).

The 10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC was disbanded for the purpose of amalgamation on 15 November 1936 and reorganized the next day (GO 161/36). This change was administrative and does not affect the lineage of the regiment.

The perpetuation of the 10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC (1919-1936) was assigned to The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun) (GO 76/37).

Perpetuations

'11th', '78th' and '100th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF'

Headquarters Location

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Top of Page

OPERATIONAL HISTORY

The First World War

Details from the 100th "Winnipeg Grenadiers" were placed on active service on 6 August 1914 for local protection duties.12

The 11th Battalion, which was authorized on 10 August 1914 as the '11th Battalion, CEF',13 embarked for Great Britain on 30 September 1914.14 It was redesignated '11th Reserve Infantry Battalion, CEF' on 29 April 1915, to provide reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field.15 On 4 January 1917, its personnel, along with the personnel of the '100th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF' (see below), were absorbed by a new '11th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.16 The battalion was disbanded on 12 October 1917.17

The 78th Battalion, which was authorized on 10 July 1915 as the '78th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',18 embarked for Great Britain on 20 May 1916.19 It disembarked in France on 13 August 1916, where it fought as part of the 12th Brigade, 4th Canadian Division in France and Flanders until the end of the war.20 The battalion was disbanded on 15 September 1920.21

The 100th Battalion, which was authorized on 22 December 1915 as the '100th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF',22 embarked for Great Britain on 18 September 1916.23 It provided reinforcements to the Canadian Corps in the field until 20 January 1917, when its personnel were absorbed by the '11th Reserve Battalion, CEF'.24 The battalion was disbanded on 1 September 1917.25

The Second World War

The regiment mobilized 'The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun), CASF' for active service on 1 September 1939.26 It was redesignated: '1st Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun), CASF' on 7 November 1940.27 and '1st Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers, CASF' on 15 March 1941.28 It served in Jamaica and Bermuda on garrison duty from May 1940 to October 1941.29 On 27 October 1941 it embarked for Hong Kong, where it was destroyed while fighting in defence of the colony.30 The unit was reconstituted on 10 January 1942.31 It served in Canada in a home defence role as part of the Prince Rupert Defences, 8th Canadian Division32 and took part in the expedition to Kiska, Alaska as a component of the 13th Canadian Infantry Brigade Group, serving there from 16 August 1943 to 22 December 1943.33 It embarked for Great Britain on 25 May 1944.34 On 1 November 1944, it was absorbed by the '3rd Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, CASF' and designated '3rd Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, Type A (Winnipeg Grenadiers), CASF'.35 On 5 July 1945, it was converted and redesignated 'No. 10 Canadian Repatriation Depot, Type "T"'.36 The depot was disbanded on 28 January 1946.37

REGIMENTAL COLOUR

The Winnipeg Grenadiers

CAMP FLAG

No camp flag recorded.


1 GO 58/08. Formed from eight newly authorized infantry companies: 'A' and 'B Company' at Morden, 'C Company' at Manitou, 'D Company' at Carmen, 'E Company' at Roland, 'F Company' at Pilot Mound, 'G Company' at Cartwright, and 'H Company' at Boissevain / Formé de huit compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées : « A » et « B Company » à Morden, « C Company » à Manitou, « D Company » à Carmen, « E Company » à Roland, « F Company » à Pilot Mound, « G Company » à Cartwright, et « H Company » à Boissevain. The organization of the regiment, while authorized, was held in abeyance until 1910 / L'organisation du régiment, bien qu'autorisé, demeura en suspens jusqu'en 1910.

2 GO 57/10.

3 MO 60/20.

4 GO 47/19.

5 GO 161/36.

6 GO 42/41.

7 GO 92/41.

8 GO 400/45.

9 SD 1 Letter No. 64/60; and/et Letter, Western Command 2001-3/1 (G), 18 Oct 65.

10 GO 47/19; and/et GO 1/20.

11 GO 117/24.

12 GO 163/14.

13 PC 2067, 6 August 1914, and/et memorandum Preliminary Instructions for Mobn. War 1914, BGen V.A.S. Williams, Adjutant-General, Canadian Militia to O.Cs. Divisions and Districts, 10 August 1914, reprinted in Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa), 1938), pp. 37-39.

14 Ibid., pp. 113 and/et 116.

15 Shorncliffe Camp Order 450/15.

16 CRO 198/17.

17 GO 82/18.

18 GO 103a/15.

19 CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

20 War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 78th Battalion, 13 August 1916/13 août 1916, LAC/BAC, RG9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4943, File/dossier 453.

21 GO 149/20.

22 GO 151/15.

23 CEF Sailing List, vol. V.

24 CRO 271/17.

25 GO 82/18.

26 GO 135/39.

27 GO 42/41.

28 GO 92/41.

29 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1: Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 181. The main body served in Jamaica, while "A" Detachment" of the regiment served in Bermuda until 31 August 1940 / Le gros des troupes servit en Jamaïque alors que le « "A" Detachment » du régiment servit aux Bermudes jusqu'au 31 août 1940.

30 Brereton, Greenhous, "C" Force to Hong Kong - Canadian Catastrophe 1941-1945 (Toronto, 1997), passim.

31 Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-64)The Winnipeg Grenadiers, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 9.

32 Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1: Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 539.

33 Ibid, pp. 502-505. Upon landing, the Japanese were found to have previously evacuated the island / Lors du débarquement, l'on découvrit que les Japonais avaient déjà quitté l'île.

34 Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-64)The Winnipeg Grenadiers, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 9.

35 GO 78/45.

36 GO 43/46. It was amalgamated with 'Headquarters, 3rd Canadian Infantry Training Regiment' and '3rd Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion' / Il se fusionna avec le « Headquarters, 3rd Canadian Infantry Training Regiment » et le « 3rd Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion ».

37 GO 85/46.

Footnotes notice: This content is provided as it appears in the originating document and cannot be altered. Some notes reference annotation in only one of the official languages, and therefore numbers may not match in the content you are viewing. For clarification, we invite you to check the corresponding footnote in the French page.

Tome 3, Partie 2 : Régiments d'infanterie

THE WINNIPEG GRENADIERS

Insigne de The Winnipeg Grenadiers

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


INSIGNE

Description

Une grenade sable enflammée de gueules et d'argent.

Symbolisme

La grenade, nommée ainsi à cause de sa ressemblance avec la pomme grenade, est une petite bombe composée d'une boule de fer creuse remplie d'explosifs et détonée par un simple fusible. Elle est à la origine de l'appellation de grenadier, lequel est un fantassin spécialement formé et équipé pour lancer des grenades. Le rouge et le blanc sont les couleurs officielles du régiment et du Canada.

Haut de la page

DEVISE

ADSUM (Présent)

MARCHE

« British Grenadiers »

Haut de la page

HONNEURS DE BATAILLE

Première Guerre mondiale

YPRES, 1915, '17; FESTUBERT, 1915; MONT-SORREL; SOMME, 1916; Crête d'Ancre; Ancre, 1916; ARRAS 1917, '18; Vimy, 1917; CÔTE 70; Passchendaele; AMIENS; Scarpe, 1918; Drocourt-Quéant; LIGNE HINDENBURG; Canal du Nord; VALENCIENNES; SAMBRE; FRANCE ET FLANDRES, 1915 18.

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Hong-Kong; SUD-EST ASIATIQUE, 1941.

LIGNÉE

Ce régiment de la Force de réserve vit le jour le 1er avril 1908 et regroupe le régiment et bataillon de mitrailleuse suivants.

Le régiment vit le jour à Morden, au Manitoba, le 1er avril 1908, lorsque le « 100th Regiment » fut autorisé.1 Il fut rebaptisé : « 100th "Winnipeg Grenadiers" » le 2 mai 1910;2 et « The Winnipeg Grenadiers » le 12 mars 1920.3 Le 6 novembre 1936, il se fusionna avec le « 10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » (voir ci-dessous), et fut rebaptisé « The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun) ».5 Il fut rebaptisé : « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun) » le 7 novembre 1940;6 « 2nd (Reserve) Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers » le 15 mars 1941;7 et «The Winnipeg Grenadiers » le 28 janvier 1946.8 Il fut réduit à des effectifs nuls et transféré à l'Ordre de bataille supplémentaire le 28 février 1965.9

Notes :

Lorsqu'il fut rebaptisé le « The Winnipeg Grenadiers », le 12 mars 1920 (voir ci-dessus), il fut organisé en tant que régiment à trois bataillons. Le 1er Bataillon (78th Battalion, CEF) faisait partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Milice active non permanente tandis que le 2e Bataillon (11th Battalion, CEF) et le 3e Bataillon (100th Battalion, CEF) faisaient partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve. Les unités de réserve furent dissoutes le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « The Winnipeg Grenadiers » fut dissous en vue de la réorganisation du 16 août 1920 et réorganisé la même journée (GO 174/20). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « The Winnipeg Grenadiers» fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 15 novembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 161/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

Le « 10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » vit le jour à Winnipeg, au Manitoba, le 1er juin 1919, lorsque la « 10th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC » fut autorisée.10 Elle fut rebaptisée « 10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » le 15 septembre 1924.11 Le 16 novembre 1936, il se fusionna avec « The Winnipeg Grenadiers », tel que décrit au paragraphe précédent.

Notes:

La « 10th Machine Gun Brigade, CMGC » fit partie de l'ordre de bataille de la Réserve à compter du 1er juin 1919 (GO 104/20). L'unité de réserve fut dissoute le 14 décembre 1936 (GO 3/37).

Le « 10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » fut dissous en vue de l'incorporation du 15 novembre 1936 et réorganisé le lendemain (GO 161/36). Il s'agit de changements administratifs qui n'influent pas sur la lignée du régiment.

La perpétuation du « 10th Machine Gun Battalion, CMGC » du 1919 à 1936 fut transférée au « The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun) » (GO 76/37).

Perpétuations

« 11th », « 78th » et « 100th "Overseas" Battalion(s), CEF »

Site du Quartier général

Winnipeg, Manitoba

Haut de la page

HISTORIQUE OPÉRATIONNEL

Première Guerre mondiale

Des détachements du « 100th "Winnipeg Grenadiers" » furent mobilisés pour le service actif le 6 août 1914, pour fournir des services locaux de protection.12

Le « 11th Battalion », autorisé le 10 août 1914 sous l'appellation de « 11th Battalion, CEF »,13 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 30 septembre 1914.14 Il fut rebaptisé « 11th Reserve Infantry Battalion, CEF » le 29 avril 1915, fournissant des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne.15 Le 4 janvier 1917, son personnel, et le personnel du « 100th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF » (voir ci-dessous), furent incorporé au sein d'un nouveau « 11th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».16 Le bataillon fut dissous le 12 octobre 1917.17

Le « 78th Battalion », autorisé le 10 juillet 1915 sous l'appellation de « 78th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,18 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 20 mai 1916.19 Il débarqua en France le 13 août 1916, où il servit en tant que composante de la 12e brigade d'infanterie, de la 4e division canadienne en France et dans les Flandres jusqu'à la fin de la guerre.20 Le bataillon fut dissous le 15 septembre 1920.21

Le « 100th Battalion », autorisé le 22 décembre 1915 sous l'appellation de « 100th "Overseas" Battalion, CEF »,22 s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 18 septembre 1916.23 Il fournit des renforts au Corps d'armée canadien en campagne jusqu'au 20 janvier 1917, lorsque son personnel passa au « 11th Reserve Battalion, CEF ».24 Le bataillon fut dissous le 1er septembre 1917.25

Seconde Guerre mondiale

Le régiment mobilisa le «The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun), CASF » pour le service actif le 1er septembre 1939.26 Il fut rebaptisé : « 1st Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers (Machine Gun), CASF » le 7 novembre 1940;27 et « 1st Battalion, The Winnipeg Grenadiers, CASF » le 15 mars 1941.28 Il servit aux Bermudes et en Jamaïque, exerçant des tâches de garnison, de mai 1940 à octobre 1941.29 Le 27 octobre 1941, il s'embarqua pour Hong Kong, où il fut détruit en combattant pour la défense de la colonie.30 L'unité fut reconstituée le 10 janvier 1942.31 Elle servit au Canada dans un rôle de défense territoriale, en tant que composante des Défenses de Prince-Rupert, de la 8e division canadienne32 et participa à l'expédition à Kiska, en Alaska en tant que composante du 13e groupe brigade d'infanterie canadienne, servant du 16 août 1943 au 22 décembre 1943.33 Il s'embarqua pour la Grande-Bretagne le 25 mai 1944.34 Le 1er novembre 1944, il fut absorbé par le « 3rd Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, CASF » et baptisé « 3rd Canadian Infantry Training Battalion, Type A (Winnipeg Grenadiers), CIC, CASF ».35 Le 5 juillet 1945, il fut converti et rebaptisé « No. 10 Canadian Repatriation Depot, Type T, CIC, CASF ».36 Le dépôt fut dissous le 28 janvier 1946.37

Haut de la page

DRAPEAU CONSACRÉ

The Winnipeg Grenadiers

DRAPEAU DE CAMP

Aucun drapeau de camp autorisé.


1. GO 58/08. Formed from eight newly authorized infantry companies: 'A' and 'B Company' at Morden, 'C Company' at Manitou, 'D Company' at Carmen, 'E Company' at Roland, 'F Company' at Pilot Mound, 'G Company' at Cartwright, and 'H Company' at Boissevain / Formé de huit compagnies d'infanterie nouvellement autorisées : « A » et « B Company » à Morden, « C Company » à Manitou, « D Company » à Carmen, « E Company » à Roland, « F Company » à Pilot Mound, « G Company » à Cartwright, et « H Company » à Boissevain. The organization of the regiment, while authorized, was held in abeyance until 1910 / L'organisation du régiment, bien qu'autorisé, demeura en suspens jusqu'en 1910.

2. GO 57/10.

3. MO 60/20.

4. GO 47/19.

5. GO 161/36.

6. GO 42/41.

7. GO 92/41.

8. GO 400/45.

9. SD 1 Letter No. 64/60; and/et Letter, Western Command 2001-3/1 (G), 18 Oct 65.

10. GO 47/19; and/et GO 1/20.

11. GO 117/24.

12. GO 163/14.

13. PC 2067, 6 August 1914, and/et memorandum Preliminary Instructions for Mobn. War 1914, BGen V.A.S. Williams, Adjutant-General, Canadian Militia to O.Cs. Divisions and Districts, 10 August 1914, reprinted in Colonel A.F. Duguid, Official History of the Canadian Forces in the Great War, 1914-1919, vol. 1 - Appendices (Ottawa), 1938), pp. 37-39.

14. Ibid., pp. 113 and/et 116.

15. Shorncliffe Camp Order 450/15.

16. CRO 198/17.

17. GO 82/18.

18. GO 103a/15.

19. CEF Sailing List, vol. IV.

20. War Diary/Journaux de guerre, 78th Battalion, 13 August 1916/13 août 1916, LAC/BAC, RG9/GE 9, Series III-D-3, Vol. 4943, File/dossier 453.

21. GO 149/20.

22. GO 151/15.

23. CEF Sailing List, vol. V.

24. CRO 271/17.

25. GO 82/18.

26. GO 135/39.

27. GO 42/41.

28. GO 92/41.

29. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1: Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 181. The main body served in Jamaica, while "A" Detachment" of the regiment served in Bermuda until 31 August 1940 / Le gros des troupes servit en Jamaïque alors que le « "A" Detachment » du régiment servit aux Bermudes jusqu'au 31 août 1940.

30. Brereton, Greenhous, "C" Force to Hong Kong - Canadian Catastrophe 1941-1945 (Toronto, 1997), passim.

31. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-64)The Winnipeg Grenadiers, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 9.

32. Colonel C.P. Stacey, Official History of the Canadian Army in the Second World War, Volume 1: Six Years of War (Ottawa, 1955), p. 539.

33. Ibid, pp. 502-505. Upon landing, the Japanese were found to have previously evacuated the island / Lors du débarquement, l'on découvrit que les Japonais avaient déjà quitté l'île.

34. Document Collection/Collection de documents 92/252, (3-6-64)The Winnipeg Grenadiers, Box/boîte 38, Folder/chemise 9.

35. GO 78/45.

36. GO 43/46. It was amalgamated with 'Headquarters, 3rd Canadian Infantry Training Regiment' and '3rd Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion' / Il se fusionna avec le « Headquarters, 3rd Canadian Infantry Training Regiment » et le « 3rd Canadian Infantry Depot Battalion ».

37. GO 85/46.

Avis sur les notes en bas de page : Le texte contenu dans cette page est fourni tel qu’il figure dans le document d’origine et il ne peut être modifié. Comme certaines notes font référence à des annotations qui n’existent que dans une seule des deux langues officielles, il se peut que les numéros ne correspondent pas dans le contenu que vous visionnez. Aux fins de clarification, nous vous invitons à vérifier la note en bas de page correspondante dans la page en anglais.