Research

DHH Archives and Library

DHH has a number of historical resources available for research in our Reading Room but which are not yet available Online (For those that are, please consult our Histories). The Reading Room maintains a comprehensive listing of finding aids, guides, lists and other research tools to assist members of the Canadian Armed Forces and the Dept. of National Defence, and the general public in their research on Canada’s military history. Some of the major resources are (click on the link for a description):

DHH Library

The DHH Library contains approximately 15,000 books and 450 periodicals which collectively enable research and promote a greater understanding of Canadian military history.

This collection includes Official histories of allied and enemy forces, general histories, campaign histories and some technical works, as well as numerous Canadian and British regimental histories. Some bound runs of periodicals are held. There is an extensive collection of officers’ lists and printed regulations and administrative orders, mostly Canadian, for example: Admiralty Fleet Orders, Militia Orders, General Orders, Canadian Army Orders, Air Force Administrative Orders, etc. It also contains numerous documents on peacekeeping.

Access: The Library collection is accessible to the public from DHH's Public Reading Room.

Circulation: Certain documents can be borrowed/loaned through inter-library loan services.

Top of Page

Fonds Database Records

The Fonds Database Records consist of archival fonds and collections, including all records received since 1 January 1995. Fonds Database Records also ties together older related material held by DHH and its predecessors in the Document Collection, the Kardex Collection, or other collections described below. Fonds Database Records includes records with substantive historical information emanating from the First World War, the Second World War, the Korean War, the Cold War, peacekeeping missions, operations and exercises, and the development of the Canadian Armed Forces. There are records on the Canadian Army, the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) and the Royal Canadian Navy (RCN) as well as the unified Canadian Armed Forces.

As of 1 January 1995, the fonds database was established for all records newly acquired at DHH. The fonds database replaced item-level card cataloguing and implemented the Canadian Rules for Archival Description (RAD). Utilizing the principle of Respect des Fonds for both new acquisitions and records held in older collections at DHH, the database highlights the relationships among the records and provides context. As of 1 May 2013 the database contained 745 fonds, 114 collections and 793 series level descriptions received since 1995, and including all pre-1995 fonds and collections with finding aids. All finding aids are available in both hard copy and electronic format. None of the databases maintained by the Archives are online. However, they are available to the public in the Reading Room.

There are also approximately 730 fonds level and 550 series level descriptions available on Archeion, the online database of descriptions of records located in archives across Ontario. The following link will guide you to these resources:

Top of Page

Document Collection

The Document Collection includes documents, reports and narratives received between 1971 and 1994. It is largely composed of individual items, and includes publicity announcements, journal articles, conference papers, interview transcriptions, memoirs, among other types of documents. The periods and topics covered include the Second World War, the Korean War, the Cold War, peacekeeping missions, operations and exercises, and the development of the Canadian Armed Forces. The collection was closed to new acquisitions on 31 December 1994.

There is a card catalogue to the collection, which was created based on the Library of Congress and U.S. Air University Library cataloguing systems. It has been completely digitized and is available in PDF format in the Reading Room.

Top of Page

Kardex Collection

The Kardex Collection includes papers from the former Army Historical and the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) Historical Sections. The bulk of the material dates from 1939 to 1964, with some earlier and later material. It includes files generated by Canadian Military Headquarters and 1st Canadian Army Headquarters during the Second World War. Also includes operational and administrative files of Air Force Overseas Headquarters in London, UK during the Second World War. There are also post Second World War records, including policy and operational papers related to the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), participation in the Korean War, the development of the North American Air Defence Command (NORAD), civil defence planning and Canadian peacekeeping activities under the United Nations and other auspices. They are filed according to the Directorate Kardex classification system. The Collection was closed to new acquisitions in 1971.

There is a card catalogue to the collection. It has been completely digitized and is available in PDF format in the Reading Room. A part of the collection has been transferred to Library and Archives Canada (LAC). Transfer lists are available. There are also finding aids to part of the RCAF Historical Section papers (the 181 series). All lists and finding aids are available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Naval Historian's Collection

The Naval Historian’s collection is also known as the Naval Kardex collection and the Royal Canadian Navy (RCN) Naval Historical Section fonds (81/520). It includes a large collection of reference files compiled by the Naval Historical Section during the 1950s and kept up-to-date until 1965-66. It was arranged by the old RCN file numbers and catalogued in a separate Kardex. Most of the documents cover the period of E.C. Russell’s tenure as Naval Historian during 1952-1966, and there is also material collected by the first Naval Historian, Dr. Gilbert Tucker, during the Second World War. The material documents the history of the RCN from the First World War up to the 1960s, with the Second World War as the predominant topic.

In addition to the card catalogue, a complete copy of the catalogue is available in PDF format in the Reading Room. There are also finding aids to the collection. These are available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Annual Historical Reports (AHRs)

Annual Historical Reports (AHRs) are submitted by regulation each year by every active Canadian Armed Forces unit. There are approximately 575 units currently submitting reports. The AHR provides an historical summary of the unit's activities for the calendar year ending December 31. An AHR consists of a covering letter, a narrative account of unit activities for the year with information on unit administration and personnel, plus annexes. They are written in French or in English. Some AHRs include photographs, newspaper clippings and/or other items related to the unit’s activities.

At present the Archives does not have the AHRs database online. However, it is available to the public in the Reading Room. A finding aid is also available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Permanent Reference Files (PRF)

The Permanent Reference Files (PRFs) are working files created for Canadian bases in Canada and abroad, Canadian units, Canadian ships, squadrons of the Royal Canadian Air Force and Canadian Armed Forces, and aircraft types, both Canadian and foreign. They include booklets, newspaper clippings, photographs, articles, press releases and similar ephemeral materials. A finding aid is available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Biographical Files

The Biographical Files are open working files for many Canadian servicemen and civilians of all ranks and professions, and for some selected foreigners. They include press releases, information sheets, articles, newspaper clippings, photographs and various other documents. A finding aid is available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Card Collections

The Biographical Files are supplemented by a number of card collections of Second World War honours and awards, casualties, prisoners of war, etc. for Canadian personnel. There are also card files of Canadians who served in the British flying services during the First World War and for those Royal Canadian Navy personnel who received honours and awards during 1941-1960. Finding aids and a guide are available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Steiger Materials

The late Alfred G. Steiger’s (1900-1972) material is a collection of documents in the German language which originated in Germany during the Second World War. Many are translated into English. They include: documents relating to research on specific aspects of the First World War; lists of documents held in other archives; and some secondary published material about German military history in general. A finding aid is available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Public Record Office (PROs)

The Public Record Office (PROs) material are documents that were photocopied in London UK for research on the Royal Canadian Air Force and Royal Canadian Navy official histories. They include records of the British Admiralty and related bodies concerning all aspects of the organization and operations of the Royal Navy and associated naval forces, as well as records of the Air Ministry, the Royal Air Force and related bodies on the development of military aviation and the aviation component of the armed forces. A finding aid is available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Top of Page

Pamphlet Collection

The Pamphlet Collection is a small collection of training pamphlets of Canadian and British origin (FN Series). A finding aid is available in both hard copy and electronic format.

Recherche

Section Archives et bibliothèque de la DHP

La DHP met un certain nombre de ressources historiques à la disposition des chercheurs dans sa salle de lecture; ces documents ne sont pas encore disponibles en ligne (pour consulter ceux qui le sont, veuillez cliquer sur le lien Histoires). Dans la salle de lecture, on trouve une liste exhaustive à jour des outils de recherche, des guides, des listes de documents et des autres ressources visant à aider les membres des Forces armées canadiennes et le personnel du ministère de la Défense nationale ainsi que le grand public dans leurs recherches sur l’histoire militaire du Canada. Les ressources les plus importantes comprennent les suivantes (cliquez sur le lien pour obtenir une description):

La bibliothèque de la DHP

La collection de la bibliothèque de la DHP comprend environ 15 000 livres et 450 périodiques qui facilitent la recherche et permettent de mieux comprendre l'histoire militaire du Canada.

La collection inclut les histoires officielles des forces alliées et des forces ennemies, des histoires générales, des histoires de campagnes et quelques études techniques, ainsi que de nombreuses histoires de régiments canadiens et britanniques. Elle compte en outre quelques reliures de périodiques. On trouve aussi à la bibliothèque une importante collection de listes d'officiers ainsi que de règlements et d'ordres administratifs imprimés, pour la plupart canadiens, notamment les Ordres de l'Amirauté (Admiralty Fleet Orders), les Ordres de la milice, les Ordres généraux, les Ordres de l'Armée canadienne, et les Ordres administratifs de l'Aviation. Enfin, la collection regroupe de nombreux documents concernant le maintien de la paix.

Accès : Tous les documents de la bibliothèque sont mis à la disposition du public dans la salle de lecture de la DHP.

Circulation : Il est possible d'emprunter certains documents en passant par le service de prêts entre bibliothèques.

Haut de la page

Les dossiers de la base de données des fonds

Les dossiers de la base de données des fonds consistent en des fonds et des collections d’archives, notamment tous les dossiers reçus depuis le 1er janvier 1995. Ils regroupent aussi des documents connexes plus anciens que détenaient la DHP et ses prédécesseurs dans la collection de documents, la collection du Kardex ou d’autres collections décrites ci-dessous. Les dossiers de la base de données des fonds englobent des documents contenant des renseignements historiques essentiels qui se rapportent à la Première et à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, à la guerre de Corée, à la guerre froide, aux missions de maintien de la paix, aux opérations et aux exercices ainsi qu’au développement des Forces armées canadiennes. On y trouve des dossiers sur l’Armée canadienne, l’Aviation royale canadienne (ARC) et la Marine royale canadienne (MRC), et sur les Forces armées canadiennes unifiées.

Le 1er janvier 1995, on a établi la base de données des fonds afin de regrouper tous les dossiers nouvellement acquis par la DHP. Cette base de données a remplacé le catalogage des fiches d’articles et respecte les Règles de description des documents d’archives (RDDA) propres au Canada. Se fondant sur le principe du respect des fonds en ce qui concerne à la fois les nouvelles acquisitions et les dossiers détenus dans des collections plus anciennes de la DHP, la base de données met en évidence les liens entre les dossiers et fournit le contexte dans lequel ils s’inscrivent. Au 1er mai 2013, la base de données contenait 745 fonds, 114 collections et 793 descriptions de séries reçus depuis 1995, ainsi que tous les fonds et collections datant d’avant 1995 et assortis d’outils de recherche. Tous les outils de recherche existent en version imprimée et en version électronique. Aucune des bases de données des Archives n’est en ligne. Toutefois, le public peut les consulter dans la salle de lecture de la DHP.

On trouve aussi environ 730 descriptions de fonds et 550 descriptions de séries dans Archeion, la base de données en ligne de descriptions de dossiers d’archives à l’échelle de l’Ontario. Le lien suivant mène à ces ressources :

Haut de la page

La collection des documents

La collection de documents inclut des documents, des rapports et des récits reçus de 1971 à 1994. Elle se compose en grande partie d’articles individuels et comprend notamment des annonces publicitaires, des articles de revue, des documents de conférence, des transcriptions d’entrevues et des mémoires. Les périodes et événements visés par cette collection sont la Seconde Guerre mondiale, la guerre de Corée, la guerre froide, les missions de maintien de la paix, les opérations et les exercices ainsi que le développement des Forces armées canadiennes. La collection n’intègre plus de nouvelles acquisitions depuis le 31 décembre 1994.

Il existe un catalogue sur fiches pour cette collection, lequel est fondé sur les systèmes de catalogage de la Library of Congress et de la U.S. Air University Library. Le catalogue a été entièrement numérisé et peut être consulté en format PDF dans la salle de lecture.

Haut de la page

La collection du Kardex

La collection du Kardex contient des documents provenant des anciennes sections historiques de l’Armée et de l’Aviation royale canadienne (ARC). La majeure partie des documents datent des années 1939 à 1964, certains étant antérieurs et d’autres, postérieurs à ces années. On trouve notamment dans cette collection des dossiers produits par le Quartier général de l’Armée canadienne et le Quartier général de la 1re Armée canadienne au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. La collection comprend également des dossiers opérationnels et administratifs produits au Quartier général outre-mer de l’Aviation, à Londres (R.-U.), au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Il y a aussi des dossiers postérieurs à la Seconde Guerre mondiale, notamment des documents d’orientation et des documents opérationnels concernant l’Organisation du Traité de l’Atlantique Nord (OTAN), la participation à la guerre de Corée, la mise sur pied du Commandement de la défense aérienne de l’Amérique du Nord (NORAD), la planification de la protection civile et les activités canadiennes de maintien de la paix sous l’égide des Nations Unies et d’autres organisations. Ces dossiers sont classés conformément au système de classification du Kardex au sein de la Direction. On ne verse plus de nouveaux documents dans la collection depuis 1971.

Il existe un catalogue sur fiches se rapportant à la collection. Il a été entièrement numérisé et peut être consulté en format PDF dans la salle de lecture. Une partie de la collection a été transférée à Bibliothèque et Archives Canada (BAC). Il est possible d’obtenir les listes de transferts. Il y a aussi des outils de recherche pour une partie des documents de la Section historique de l’ARC (série 181). Les listes et les outils de recherche existent tous en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

La collection de l'historien de la Marine

La collection de l’historien de la Marine est aussi connue sous le nom de « collection Kardex de la Marine » et de « fonds de la Section historique de la Marine royale du Canada » (MRC) (81/520). Il s’agit d’une vaste collection de documents de référence compilés par la Section historique de la Marine au cours des années 50 et tenus à jour jusqu’en 1965-1966. Les documents ont été classés selon les anciens numéros de dossier de la MRC et catalogués dans un Kardex distinct. La plupart des documents datent de la période au cours de laquelle E.C. Russell a exercé les fonctions d’historien de la Marine (1952‑1966). On trouve également des documents recueillis par le premier historien de la Marine, M. Gilbert Tucker, Ph. D., au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Les documents relatent l’histoire de la MRC, de la Première Guerre mondiale aux années 60, la Seconde Guerre mondiale étant le sujet prédominant.

En plus du catalogue sur fiches, il existe une copie complète du catalogue en format PDF dans la salle de lecture. Il y a aussi des outils de recherche se rapportant à la collection, qui peuvent être consultés en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

Les rapports historiques annuels (RHA)

Les rapports historiques annuels (RHA) sont obligatoirement soumis annuellement par chacune des unités actives des Forces armées canadiennes. Présentement, environ 575 unités présentent un rapport. Le RHA fournit un résumé rétrospectif des activités de l’unité au cours de l’année civile se terminant le 31 décembre. Il comprend une lettre d’accompagnement, un compte rendu descriptif des activités de l’unité pendant l’année, y compris de l’information sur l’administration et le personnel de l’unité, ainsi que des annexes. Les RHA sont rédigés en français ou en anglais. Certains contiennent des photographies, des coupures de presse et/ou d’autres éléments liés aux activités de l’unité.

À l’heure actuelle, la base de données des RHA n’est pas en ligne. Toutefois, le public peut la consulter dans la salle de lecture. Il existe aussi un outil de recherche en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

Les dossiers de référence permanents (DRP)

Les dossiers de référence permanents (DRP) sont des dossiers de travail constitués au sujet des bases canadiennes au Canada et à l’étranger, des unités et des navires canadiens, des escadrons de l'Aviation royale canadienne et des Forces armées canadiennes, ainsi que des types d'aéronefs, tant canadiens qu'étrangers. Ils comprennent des cahiers d'information, des coupures de presse, des photographies, des articles, des communiqués et divers documents éphémères du même genre. Il existe un outil de recherche s’y rapportant, en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

Les dossiers biographiques

Il s'agit de dossiers de travail, ouverts à la consultation, portant sur de nombreux militaires et civils canadiens de tous grades et professions, ainsi que sur certains étrangers. Les dossiers biographiques comprennent des communiqués, des fiches de renseignements, des articles, des coupures de presse, des photographies et divers autres documents. Il existe un outil de recherche s’y rapportant, en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

Les collections de fiches

Les dossiers biographiques sont complétés par un certain nombre de collections de fiches sur les décorations et distinctions honorifiques, les pertes, les prisonniers de guerre, etc., de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, concernant le personnel canadien. Il y a aussi des fichiers portant sur les Canadiens qui ont servi dans les services aériens britanniques durant la Première Guerre mondiale et les membres de la Marine royale canadienne qui ont reçu des décorations et des distinctions honorifiques entre 1941 et 1960. Il existe des outils de recherche et un guide, en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

Les documents Steiger

Cette collection de documents en allemand a été constituée par le regretté Alfred G. Steiger (1900-1972) en Allemagne durant la Seconde Guerre mondiale. De nombreux documents ont été traduits en anglais. On trouve notamment dans cette collection des documents relatifs aux recherches effectuées sur certains aspects de la Première Guerre mondiale, des listes de documents versés dans d'autres archives et certains documents secondaires publiés sur l'histoire militaire allemande en général. Il existe un outil de recherche en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

Les documents du Public Record Office (PRO)

Cette collection contient des documents du Public Record Office photocopiés à Londres (R.-U.) aux fins de recherche sur l'histoire officielle de l'Aviation royale canadienne et de la Marine royale canadienne. Elle comprend des dossiers de l’Amirauté britannique et d’organismes connexes concernant tous les aspects de l’organisation et des opérations de la Royal Navy et des forces navales s’y rattachant, ainsi que des dossiers du ministère de l’Air (Air Ministry), de la Royal Air Force et d’organismes connexes sur le développement de l’aviation militaire et de la composante aérienne des forces armées. Il existe un outil de recherche en version imprimée et en version électronique.

Haut de la page

La collections de brochures

Il s’agit d’une petite collection de brochures concernant l'instruction, d'origine canadienne et britannique (série FN). Il existe un outil de recherche en version imprimée et en version électronique.