Directorate of History and Heritage

Welcome to the Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH) website of the Department of National Defence. DHH was founded in 1996, following the amalgamation of the National Defence History Directorate and the Directorate of Military Traditions and Heritage. The roots of our organization go all the way back to the First World War.

Even in the early stages of the Internet, the usefulness of this remarkable communication tool was obvious. From the very beginning, our vision was to make the DHH website an essential tool for Canadian researchers. We have established three goals in this regard: to keep our internal and external audiences informed about the various functions performed by DHH; to make available a maximum number of archives as well as works that have been published by our predecessors, but that are no longer available in book stores; and to provide any other relevant information. Anyone comparing what was available in 1996 with what is offered today will see a world of difference, not only in the quantity, but also in the quality of the information online, which is frequently updated.

DHH serves the Canadian people and the Canadian Forces. DHH enjoys significant credibility in Canada and around the world. The current site, which will more than meet people’s expectations, will add to that credibility with its reliability and the type of information it provides.

The War of 1812

Remembrance Day


Victoria Cross

Today in Canadian Military History

  • 20/10/1690
    Quebec withstands Admiral William Phips’s armada consisting of 2,300 men (16-24 Oct).
  • 20/10/1871
    The first units of Canada's permanent force (now the Regular Force) are organized with the establishment of "A'; and "B'; Batteries of the Regiment of Canadian Artillery in Kingston and Quebec City respectively.
  • 20/10/1923
    The Northwest Territories and Yukon Radio System is officially opened and manned by personnel from the Canadian Corps of Signals.
  • 20/10/1940
    HMS Windflower, the first corvette built in Canada, is commissioned into the Royal Navy with a Canadian crew. She is turned over to the Royal Canadian Navy in 1941.

Direction - Histoire et patrimoine

Bienvenue. Vous venez d’atteindre le site Internet de la Direction – Histoire et patrimoine (DHP) de la Défense nationale. La DHP a été constituée en 1996, par suite de la fusion du Service historique de la Défense nationale et de la Direction des traditions et du patrimoine militaires. Les racines de notre organisation remontent en fait à la Première Guerre mondiale.

Dès les premiers balbutiements de ce remarquable outil de communication qu’est le Web, nous avons reconnu son utilité. Notre vision, dès le départ, a donc consisté à faire en sorte que le site de la DHP soit essentiel aux chercheurs canadiens. Pour ce faire, nous avons visé trois objectifs : informer le public interne et externe des différentes fonctions exercées à la DHP; rendre accessibles un maximum d’archives ainsi que d’ouvrages qui ont été publiés par nos prédécesseurs, mais qui ne sont plus vendus en librairie; fournir toute autre information pertinente. Quiconque comparerait ce qui était offert en 1996 avec ce qui est accessible aujourd’hui y verrait une différence marquée, aussi bien par la quantité que par la qualité des renseignements présentés, lesquels sont fréquemment mis à jour.

La DHP travaille pour le public canadien et les Forces canadiennes. Elle jouit d’une grande crédibilité au Canada et dans le monde. Le présent site, qui saura combler bien des attentes, ajoutera à cette crédibilité par son sérieux et la nature de l’information qu’il fournit.

Op HONOUR

Ressources concernant le comportement sexuel inapproprié

L’identification des victimes de guerre


Bannières commémorative


La Croix de Victoria

Aujourd'hui dans l'histoire militaire canadienne

  • 20/10/1690
    Québec repousse une armada composée de 2 300 hommes mené par l'amiral William Phips (16-24 Oct).
  • 20/10/1871
    Les premières unités de la Force permanente du Canada (aujourd'hui la Force régulière) sont mises sur pied avec l'établissement des batteries «A» et «B» du «Regiment of Canadian Artillery» à Kingston et à Québec respectivement.
  • 20/10/1923
    Le réseau radiophonique des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Yukon est officiellement inauguré et pourvu d'effectifs venant du Corps des transmissions du Canada.
  • 20/10/1940
    Le navire de Sa Majesté Windflower, première corvette construite au Canada, est mis en service dans la «Royal Navy» avec un équipage canadien. Le navire est confié à la Marine royale du Canada en 1941.