The Directorate of History and Heritage (DHH) provides for, administers and maintains the Accredited CF Museum system and policies for the Canadian Forces (CF).

The CF museum system is the collective term for the grouping of CF museums under the supervision of the Staff Officer, Museums and Historical Collections (DHH 5).

Each official CF museum (and unaccredited unit/base historical collection) is an independent, self-financed, non-public fund (NPF) institution operating under the authority and direction of its supporting commander.

Common Agenda

The purpose of any museum or historical collection is to preserve, protect, display, and interpret a segment of our cultural heritage. No one institution can do everything, and it is important for all museums to share a"common agenda" to ensure that all aspects of our history are covered in a balanced manner, and that untoward competition does not cripple a worthy endeavour.

It is CF museum policy to encourage contact among all museums, whether operated by the CF or by civilian agencies, to promote the preservation of military artefacts and to cooperate for the good of all CF museum policy.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Musées

La Direction - Histoire et patrimoine (DHP 5) fournit, administre et maintient le réseau et la politique des musées militaires accrédité des Forces canadiennes (FC) .

Le réseau des musées des FC est le terme collectif qui regroupe les musées des FC sous la supervision de l'Officier d'état-major, Musées et collections historiques (DHP 5).

Chaque musée officiel des FC (ainsi que les collections historiques des unités et des bases non accréditées) est une institution autonome, auto-financée et non publique, oeuvrant sous la direction du commandant qui en a la responsabilité.

Objectifs communs

L'objectif d'un musée ou d'une collection historique consiste à préserver, à protéger, à exposer et à interpréter un segment de notre patrimoine culturel. Aucune institution ne peut tout faire et il importe que tous les musées partagent des « objectifs communs » pour s'assurer que tous les aspects de notre histoire soient traités de manière équilibrée et éviter qu'une concurrence malencontreuse ne paralyse une entreprise valable.

La politique des musées des FC vise à favoriser les contacts entre tous les musées, qu'ils soient exploités par les FC ou par des organismes civils, afin de promouvoir la conservation des artéfacts militaires et de collaborer pour le bien de l'ensemble des musées des FC.

Foire aux questions (FAQ)