Canadian Forces Career Information

'Do more with your MUSIC' cover page

Do more with your MUSIC.

The following document is available for downloading or viewing:

For more information on accessing this file, please visit our help page.


Consider a career with the Canadian Forces.

Music and the military have a long and distinguished history. Almost as long as there have been armies, there have been musicians leading the way forward. Although the role of military musicians has changed considerably, they are still a vital and highly visible part of the Canadian Forces.

As a musician in the Canadian Forces, you will play a wide array of engagements and ceremonies ranging from intimate dinners and chamber concerts, to concert hall and stadium events, across Canada and around the world. Of course, top quality instruments and equipment as well as individual practice facilities are provided.

The Canadian Forces enrolls accomplished musicians, who often hold performance degrees or diplomas from Canada’s top colleges, conservatories and universities. Musicians with the Canadian Forces may perform as section instrumentalists, section leaders or soloists, and may also lead or conduct various ensembles, in a wide variety of musical styles:

Do more with your CAREER.

All Canadian Forces bands are administered, managed and directed by the musicians. You are hired as a musician, but opportunities to explore and expand your music career are practically limitless:

There are many opportunities for professional development throughout your career, from music and computer courses to language and management studies. You are paid your salary plus expenses during all courses and training.

Get more from your PROFESSION.

You have the freedom to concentrate on your music, with the security of a regular salary and generous benefits. What other gig can make this promise?

Are you ready for more?

Blind auditions are held around the country on a regular basis to select the best candidate for the available positions. Once you pass the audition and all the admission requirements are complete, you will be offered a job.

Canadian Forces musicians receive specialized training, including military band drill, band administration, and operations.

There is a reason we are the largest employer of professional musicians in Canada.

If you would like to discuss a music career with the Canadian Forces, you can contact the Directorate of History and Heritage – Music at www.cmp-cpm.forces.gc.ca/dhh-dhp/musi/index-eng.asp or by calling 1-866-991-0422.

For additional information on the Canadian Forces in general, you can also contact a Canadian Forces Recruiting Centre, visit www.forces.ca or call 1-800-856-8488.

Information de carrière des Forces canadiennes

La page couverture d'En avant la MUSIQUE!

En avant la MUSIQUE!

Le document qui suit peut être visualisé ou téléchargé :

Pour plus d'information sur comment accéder ce fichier, veuillez consulter notre page d'aide.


Pourquoi ne pas envisager faire carrière au sein des Forces canadiennes?

La musique et les forces armées partagent une longue et riche histoire. Depuis qu’il existe des armées, il y a presque toujours eu des musiciens pour leur ouvrir la marche. Bien que le rôle des musiciens militaires ait changé considérablement, ces derniers demeurent une partie essentielle et particulièrement visible des Forces canadiennes.

À titre de musicien des Forces canadiennes, vous participerez à une myriade d’activités et de cérémonies allant de soupers intimes et de prestations de musique de chambre à des événements d'envergure dans des salles de concert et dans des stades, partout au Canada et dans le monde. Évidemment, des instruments et du matériel professionels ainsi que des salles de répétition individuelles vous sont fournis.

Les Forces canadiennes enrôlent des musiciens de haut calibre qui détiennent souvent des diplômes en interprétation des meilleurs collèges, conservatoires ou universités du Canada. Les musiciens des Forces canadiennes peuvent se produire à titre d'instrumentistes de section, de chefs de section ou de solistes, et peuvent aussi diriger divers ensembles, et ce dans divers styles musicaux :

Poussez plus loin votre CARRIÈRE.

Toutes les musiques des Forces canadiennes sont administrées, gérées et dirigées par les musiciens. On vous embauche à titre d’instrumentiste, mais les possibilités d’explorer et d'élargir votre carrière musicale sont practiquement sans limite :

Il existe de nombreuses possibilités de perfectionnement professionnel allant de cours de musique et d’informatique à des études en langues et en gestion. Lorsque vous suivez un cours ou que vous êtes en formation vous recevez votre salaire et toutes les dépenses inhérentes sont payées.

Retirez davantage de votre PROFESSION.

Vous avez toute la liberté de vous concentrer sur votre musique, tout en étant assuré de recevoir une salaire fixe et d’excellents avantages sociaux. Quel autre emploi dans le domaine musical en promet autant?

Êtes-vous prêt à en obtenir davantage?

Des auditions à l’aveugle se tiennent régulièrement partout au pays pour choisir les meilleurs candidats en vue de combler les postes vacants. Lorsque vous aurez réussi l'audition et que toutes les exigences d'admission seront satifaites, un emploi vous sera offert.

Les musiciens des Forces canadiennes reçoivent un entraînement spécialisé, portant notamment sur des exercices de musique militaire, sur l’administration d’une musique et sur les opérations.

Voici pourquoi nous sommes l'employeur de musiciens professionnels le plus important au Canada.

Si vous souhaitez discuter des possibilités d’emplois en musique au sein des Forces canadiennes, vous pouvez communiquer avec la Direction - Histoire et patrimoine Musique à www.cmp-cpm.forces.gc.ca/dhh-dhp/musi/index-fra.asp ou téléphoner au 1-866-991-0422.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les Forces canadiennes en général, vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Centre de recrutement des Forces canadiennes, visiter le site www.forces.ca ou téléphoner au 1-800-856-8488.