Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation CANAMIGO

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

CANAMIGO

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation CANAMIGO

International Mission Name: Operation CANAMIGO

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: South America

Location: Venezuela

Mission Date: 11 February 1972 - 11 June 1972

Mandate: Ferry CF-5 aircraft to Venezuela and train Venezuelan Air Force personnel on operating and maintaining the aircraft

Narrative: Starting in 1968 Canada took delivery of the first of 115 F-5 Freedom Fighters, known in Canadian service as the CF-5 (officially the CF-116). Because of force reductions and restructuring, a number of these aircraft were found to be surplus to Canadian requirements. In December 1971, 16 single seat CF-5As and 2 dual seat CF-5Ds, plus two new CF-5Ds were sold to Venezuela.

Part of the sales agreement included the provision that Canada ferry the aircraft to Venezuela and provide training on flying and maintenance to Venezuelan Air Force (VAF) personnel. This became Operation CANAMIGO. The first four aircraft were handed over to the VAF on 11 February 1972 at the Aircraft Maintenance Development Unit at CFB Trenton, where the aircraft had been stored, and promptly took off for Venezuela that day. The official hand-over took place on 16 May. Further flights took place on 12 April and 11 June – eight and six aircraft respectively - with CF-5 qualified pilots from across the Air Force ferrying the aircraft to Venezuela. Eighteen aircraft were ferried in this manner. The two new CF-5D aircraft were flown to Venezuela later, when they came off the production line.

Another aspect of Op CANAMIGO was the training provided to Venezuelan personnel. Twenty-nine technicians and three pilots from the VAF were trained at 434 Squadron at CFB Cold Lake, while 3 pilots and 12 technicians, mainly from 434 Squadron deployed to Venezuela to provide instruction there.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) CANAMIGO

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

CANAMIGO

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: opération CANAMIGO

Nom de la mission internationale: opération CANAMIGO

Mandant: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique du Sud

Lieu: Venezuela

Date: 11 février 1972 - 11 juin 1972

Mandat: Transporter des avions CF-5 au Venezuela et entraîner le personnel de la Force aérienne vénézuélienne en vue de piloter et d'entretenir ces avions.

Notes sur la mission: Dès 1968, le Canada commença à recevoir les premiers de 115 F-5 Freedom Fighter, connu dans les services canadiens comme le CF-5 (ou CF-116 officiellement). En raison de réductions et de restructuration dans les Forces, un certain nombre de ces avions était dorénavant en surplus. On décida, en décembre 1971, de vendre au Venezuela seize CF-5A à un siège, deux CF-5D à deux sièges et deux nouveaux CF-5D.

La convention d’achat stipula que le Canada transporterait les avions au Venezuela et se chargerait d'entraîner le personnel de la Force aérienne vénézuélienne (FAV) (pilotage et entretien). Cette opération fut nommée Opération CANAMIGO. Le 11 février 1972 (la remise officielle eut lieu en fait le 16 mai), les quatre premiers avions furent donnés au FAV lors d’une cérémonie à l’Unité d’entretien spécialisé des aéronefs à la base de Trenton, où ils étaient entreposés, et décollèrent pour le Venezuela la même journée. Huit avions décollèrent le 12 avril et 6 autres le 11 juin. Les deux nouveaux CF-5D suivirent à leur sortie des chaînes de montage.

Vingt-trois techniciens et trois pilotes vénézuéliens furent entraînés au 434e escadron à Cold Lake et trois pilotes et douze techniciens, la plupart venant du 434e escadron, furent déployés au Venezuela.

Haut de la page