Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Chile 1960

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Chile 1960

International Information

International Operation Name: Chile 1960

International Mission Name: Chile 1960

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: South America

Location: Chile

Mission Date: 26 May 1960 - 12 June 1960

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Chile 1960)

Canadian Task Force Mission Statement:

To airlift relief supplies to Chile and transport them within the country after a major earthquake.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Chile sits astride the Andean trench, a subduction zone where the Nazca plate slides under the South American plate. The Andes mountains, the second highest mountain range in the world, have been pushed up as a result of this activity, making Chile susceptible to frequent and powerful earthquakes. The Great Valparaiso earthquake of 1906 was a magnitude 8.6, the 1939 Chilean earthquake was an 8.3 while that in 1985 measured 7.8.

The most powerful earthquake ever recorded worldwide occurred on 22 May 1960. It measured 9.5, killed over 2000 people and left 2 million homeless. The tsunami generated by the earthquake destroyed large areas of coastal Chile and crossed the Pacific Ocean, killing 61 in Hawaii, 138 in Japan and 32 in the Philippines. A dormant Andean volcano, Cordon Caulle began erupting 2 days after the magnitude 9.5 earthquake.

Canada responded to the international aid effort by placing 426 Squadron on stand-by on 26 May in preparation for delivering relief supplies, and then being placed at the disposal of the Chilean Disaster Relief Committee in Santiago. On 28 May, two North Stars departed RCAF Station Trenton, each with 5 tons of supplies. The two aircraft arrived in Santiago on 31 May, to be met by the Canadian Minister of External Affairs, Howard Green, who was on a trip to South America when the earthquake struck. Three more North Stars followed on 31 May and 1 June.

Upon arrival in Santiago, the original two aircraft flew to Puerto Montt on 1 June, loaded with relief supplies. On the return trip, one aircraft loaded 96 youths and two priests into the aircraft for the trip to Santiago. The next day both aircraft flew to Antofagasta in northern Chile where they loaded bedding and blankets donated by the local people. On the 3rd, more supplies were delivered to Puerto Montt.

At this stage, the United States Air Force announced that they would be withdrawing most of their transport aircraft from Chile, as a result of the Gary Powers U-2 incident. Although the Canadian North Stars had not been intended to stay in Chile for any lengthy period, the presence of Minister Green provided authorization to extend the mission in Chile to cover the shortfall.

All five aircraft conducted at least one flight within Chile. Puerto Montt was the most common destination in the disaster zone, although the town of Victoria was also supplied. One of the flights to Victoria delivered a complete 30-bed hospital with its own operating room and electrical generator.

By 11 June, the last North Star left Santiago for the return trip to Canada. Over the course of the operation, 426 Squadron made 17 flights within the country, airlifted 25 tons of medical and relief supplies from Canada to Chile and a further 82 tons within Chile. They also airlifted some 400 people from the disaster area to Santiago.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Chili 1960

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Chili 1960

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Chili 1960

Nom de la mission internationale: Chili 1960

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique du Sud

Lieu: Chili

Date: 26 mai 1960 - 12 juin 1960

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Chili 1960)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Transporter des fournitures de secours au Chili par avion après un séisme majeur.

Historique de la mission:

Le Chili est situé dans la fosse des Andes, une zone de subduction où la plaque de Nazca glisse sous la plaque sud-américaine. La Cordillère des Andes, la deuxième plus haute chaîne de montagnes au monde, a été formée en conséquence de cette activité. Le grand séisme de Valparaiso de 1906 était d’une magnitude de 8,6, celui de 1939 était de 8,3, et celui de 1985, de 7,8.

Le séisme le plus puissant au monde s’est produit le 22 mai 1960. Il était d’une magnitude de 9,5, tuant plus de 2 000 personnes et en laissant 2 millions sans abri. Le tsunami causé par le tremblement de terre a détruit de vastes zones de la côte du Chili et a traversé l’océan Pacifique, causant 61 morts à Hawaii, 138 au Japon et 32 aux Philippines. Le Cordon Caulle, un volcan en sommeil des Andes, est entré en éruption deux jours après le tremblement de terre.

Le Canada s’est joint aux opérations de secours internationales en mettant le 426e Escadron en disponibilité, le 26 mai, en vue de livrer des fournitures de secours, puis l’a mis à la disposition du Comité chilien de secours aux sinistrés, à Santiago. Le 28 mai, deux North Star se sont envolés de la base de l’ARC à Trenton, avec chacun 5 tonnes de fournitures. Les deux avions sont arrivés à Santiago le 31 mai, et ont été accueillis par le ministre canadien des Affaires extérieures, M. Howard Green, qui était en voyage en Amérique du Sud quand le séisme a frappé. Trois autres North Star ont suivi, le 31 mai et le 1er juin.

À leur arrivée à Santiago, les deux premiers avions se sont envolés vers Puerto Montt, le 1er juin, chargés de fournitures de secours. Pour le voyage de retour vers Santiago, un des avions avait à son bord 96 jeunes et deux prêtres. Le lendemain, les deux avions se sont rendus à Antofagasta, au nord du Chili, où ils sont chargé de la literie et des couvertures donnés par la population locale. Le 3, ils ont livré davantage de fournitures à Puerto Montt.

À ce moment-là, la United States Air Force a annoncé qu’elle retirait la plupart de ses avions de transport du Chili, à la suite de l’incident du U-2 de Gary Powers. Même si les North Star canadiens ne devaient pas rester au Chili pour une période prolongée, le ministre Green, présent au Chili, a autorisé la prolongation de la mission au Chili pour compenser ce retrait.

Les cinq avions ont effectué au moins un vol à l’intérieur du Chili. Puerto Montt était la destination la plus fréquente dans la zone sinistrée, mais la ville de Victoria a également reçu des fournitures. Un des vols pour Victoria a livré un hôpital complet de 30 lits comportant une salle d’opération et une génératrice électrique.

Le 11 juin, le dernier North Star a quitté Santiago pour retourner au Canada. Pendant l’opération, le 426e Escadron a effectué 17 vols à l’intérieur du pays, et a transporté 25 tonnes de fournitures du Canada au Chili et 82 autres tonnes à l’intérieur du Chili. Ils ont également transporté quelque 400 personnes entre la zone sinistrée et Santiago.