Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Colombia 1985

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Colombia 1985

International Information

International Operation Name: Colombia 1985

International Mission Name: Colombia 1985

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: South America

Location: Colombia

Mission Date: 1 November 1985 - 30 November 1985

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Colombia 1985)

Canadian Task Force Mission Statement:

To deliver humanitarian assistance to mudslide survivors in Colombia

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In November 1985, the Nevado del Ruiz volcano, located about 100 west of Bogota, Colombia, had been dormant for 140 years. Last erupting in 1845, the top of the volcano was covered in a vast snow field and ice pack. Situated about 50 kilometres east of the volcano was the town of Armero, population 27,000, situated in a valley leading off the volcano’s slopes. The citizens of the town and surrounding villages were aware that the volcano was awakening, having felt rumblings over the past year.

At 3:00 PM on 13 November, Nevado del Ruiz started erupting – with pumice and ash raining down on Armero two hours later. The local Red Cross initiated an evacuation order at 7:00 PM; however, shortly thereafter, the volcanic eruption apparently stopped. The evacuation was halted. With the people of the town snug in their beds, Nevado del Ruiz began discharging lava at 9:00 PM. This melted the vast snow and icefields on the peak and slopes. A storm obscured the top of the volcano, preventing citizens from observing the eruption. The resulting meltwater raced down the valleys off the volcano’s slopes, picking up boulders, mud and debris in its rush – a phenomenon known as a lahar. When it reached the town of Armero two hours later, the lahar was 30 metres high and carrying boulders 10 metres in size. The town was literally swept away, burying over 23,000 people in 3 to 5 metres of mud. The Columbian government asked the United Nations for help.

The Canadian Forces participated in the relief operation by flying one Hercules-load of blankets, medicine and other relief supplies.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Colombie 1985

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Colombie 1985

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Colombie 1985

Nom de la mission internationale: Colombie 1985

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique du Sud

Lieu: Colombie

Date: 1 novembre 1985 - 30 novembre 1985

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Colombie 1985)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Apporter de l’aide humanitaire aux survivants d'une coulée de boue en Colombie

Historique de la mission:

En novembre 1985, le volcan Nevado del Ruiz, situé à environ 100 km à l’ouest de Bogota, en Colombie, était assoupi depuis 140 ans. Depuis sa dernière éruption, en 1845, le sommet du volcan était couvert d’un vaste champ de neige et d’une épaisse couche de glace. à environ 50 kilomètres à l’est du volcan se situait la ville d’Armero, où vivaient 27 000 personnes, dans une vallée menant aux pentes du volcan. Les citoyens de la ville et des villages environnants savaient que le volcan se réveillait, car ils avaient senti des secousses au cours de la dernière année.

À 15 h, le 13 novembre, le Nevado del Ruiz est entré en éruption, et deux heures plus tard, une pluie de ponce et de cendres s’abattait sur Armero. La Croix-Rouge locale a proposé l’évacuation pour 19 h, mais peu après, l’éruption semblait s’être arrêtée. L’évacuation a été suspendue. Quand les gens furent confortablement dans leur lit, à 21 h, le Nevado del Ruiz a commencé à cracher de la lave, qui a fait fondre les vastes champs de neige et de glace à son sommet et sur ses pentes. Une tempête a obscurci le sommet du volcan, empêchant les citoyens d’observer l’éruption. L’eau de fonte qu’elle a générée a donc descendu les vallées à toute vitesse, ramassant des rochers, de la boue et des débris sur son chemin, un phénomène connu sous le non de lahar, ou coulée de boue. Quand le lahar a atteint la ville d’Armero, deux heures plus tard, il était d’une hauteur de 30 mètres et transportait des rochers d’une taille de 10 mètres. La ville a littéralement été balayée; 23 000 personnes ont été enterrées sous 3 à 5 mètres de boue. Le gouvernement de Colombie a demandé l’aide des Nations unies.

Les Forces canadiennes ont participé à l’opération de secours en envoyant un Hercules plein de couvertures, de médicaments et autres fournitures de secours.