Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Peru 1991

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Peru 1991

International Information

International Operation Name: Peru 1991

International Mission Name: Peru 1991

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: South America

Location: Peru

Mission Date: 24 June 1991 - 27 June 1991


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Peru 1991)

Canadian Task Force Mission Statement:

To deliver medical supplies and equipment to Peru to help combat a cholera outbreak and epidemic.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In January 1991, cholera began to sicken people in the village of Chancay, 60 kilometres from Lima, Peru. In the first four months of the year, cholera had spread up and down the Peruvian coast, killing more than 1,100 and making over 150,000 ill. By the end of 1992, almost every Central and South American nation had been affected.

To combat the epidemic, the Canadian government gave $500,000 in medical help to Peru and authorized a CF mission. On 24 June 1991, a CC-130 Hercules from 435 Squadron in Edmonton departed for Lima Peru, stopping enroute in Mexico and Ecuador. The aircraft was loaded with 14 tonnes of medical supplies and equipment that had been collected over four months by the Peruvian-Albertan Solidarity Association from hospitals and clinics in Alberta and Saskatchewan. The aid was destined for use by the Cayetano Heredia Hospital in Lima where it would be used to treat infected people in the shanty towns of Lima.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Pérou 1991

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Pérou 1991

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Pérou 1991

Nom de la mission internationale: Pérou 1991

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Amérique du Sud

Lieu: Pérou

Date: 24 juin 1991 - 27 juin 1991


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Pérou 1991)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Livrer de l’équipement et des fournitures médicales au Pérou pour aider à combattre une épidémie de choléra.

Historique de la mission:

En janvier 1991, des habitants du village de Chancay, situé à 60 kilomètres de Lima, au Pérou, ont contracté le choléra. Au cours des quatre premiers mois de l’année, le choléra s’est propagé le long de la côte péruvienne, tuant plus de 1 100 personnes et en infectant plus de 150 000 autres. À la fin de 1992, la quasi-totalité des pays d’Amérique centrale et d’Amérique du Sud avaient été touchés.

Pour combattre l’épidémie, le gouvernement canadien a accordé au Pérou une aide médicale d’une valeur de 500 000 $ et donné le feu vert pour une mission des FC. Le 24 juin 1991, un appareil CC130 Hercules du 435e Escadron, basé à Edmonton, s’est envolé pour Lima, faisant escale en chemin au Mexique et en Équateur. L’avion transportait 14 tonnes d’équipement et de fournitures médicales que l’association de solidarité Pérou Alberta avait recueillis en l’espace de quatre mois dans les hôpitaux et les cliniques de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan. Ce matériel médical était destiné à l’hôpital Cayetano Heredia, à Lima, où il servirait à soigner les habitants des bidonvilles de Lima atteints de la maladie.