Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ADDITION

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ADDITION

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea

International Mission Name: United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea (UNMEE)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Ethiopia and Eritrea

Mission Date: 12 December 2000 - 31 July 2008

Mission Mandate:

United Nations Security Council Resolution 1312, 31 July 2000; United Nations Security Council Resolution 1320, 15 September 2000

To monitor the UN-established Temporary Security Zone between Ethiopia and Eritrea, and verify the redeployment of Ethiopian forces in Eritrea from positions taken after 06 February 99 which were not under that country's control in May 1998.

On 18 June 2000, after two years of continuous fighting in a border dispute, the African nations of Ethiopia and Eritrea signed a cessation of hostilities agreement following talks led by Algeria and the Organization of African Unity. Included in the agreement was the acceptance by both sides of a Temporary Security Zone to be monitored by United Nations Military Observers (UNMO’s), and patrolled by an impartial UN peacekeeping force. The UN requested that the peacekeepers be provided by the Standby Forces High-Readiness Brigade (SHIRBRIG), a pre-established United Nations multinational military force created in 1996 (a Danish initiative) to provide troops at the start of UN peacekeeping missions for a period of no more than six months.

In July, the Security Council set up the United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea (UNMEE) which consisted of 200 military observers and approximately 4,200 peacekeepers, to maintain liaison with the parties and establish a mechanism for verifying the ceasefire.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ADDITION)

Name: ADDITION

Date: 3 November 2000 - 12 July 2003

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

As part of SHIRBRIG, Canada had been tasked to provide military observers and a mechanized infantry company to the Dutch-led peacekeeping effort.

Under the designation Op ADDITION, Canada provided up to 6 UNMO’s on a rotational basis for the UN effort. Based in Asmara, Eritrea, the operation consisted of four 8-month rotations of 6 officers each, beginning on 03 November 2000 and running until 12 July 2003. On each rotation the senior Canadian officer acted as UNMEE’s Chief Operations Officer.

The primary task of the UNMO’s was to confirm that both sides were sincere in their desire to stop the fighting and accept the presence of a UN peacekeeping contingent, as well as liaising with locals in the region to gain information and assess humanitarian needs.

Op ADDITION marked the first use by the CF of its newly formed Theatre Activation Team (TAT) concept. Based out of CFB Kingston, Ontario, the TAT assisted in establishing the military and diplomatic groundwork between the UN, Ethiopian, and Eritrean representatives in Asmara. The team included an advance party of engineering troops who began arriving in country on 5 December 2000,to prepare the Canadian camps for the upcoming deployment of Canadian peacekeepers to the region.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ADDITION

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ADDITION

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission des Nations unies en Éthiopie et en Érythrée

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission des Nations unies en Éthiopie et en Érythrée (MINUEE)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Éthiopie et Érythrée

Date: 12 décembre 2000 - 31 juillet 2008

Mandat de la mission:

Résolution 1312 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 31 juillet 2000; Résolution 1320 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 15 septembre 2000

Contrôler la zone de sécurité provisoire aménagée par l’ONU entre l’Éthiopie et l’Érythrée, et vérifier le redéploiement des forces éthiopiennes en Érythrée à partir de positions prises après le 6 février 1999 et qui n’étaient pas sous le contrôle érythréen en mai 1998.

Le 18 juin 2000, après deux années de combat continu à cause d’un litige frontalier, l’Éthiopie et l’Érythrée ont signé un accord de cessation des hostilités à la suite de pourparlers dirigés par l’Algérie et l’Organisation de l’unité africaine. L’accord prévoyait également la création d’une zone de sécurité provisoire qui serait contrôlée par des observateurs militaires des Nations unies (UNMO) et patrouillée par une force impartiale de maintien de la paix de l’ONU. L’ONU a exigé que les Casques bleus soient envoyés de la Brigade d’intervention rapide des forces en attente (BIRFA), une force militaire multinationale préétablie, créée en 1996 par les Nations unies (d’après une initiative danoise) afin de fournir des troupes au commencement des missions de maintien de la paix de l’ONU pour une période qui ne devait pas dépasser six mois.

En juillet, le Conseil de sécurité a créé la Mission des Nations unies en Éthiopie et en Érythrée (MINUEE), composée de 200 observateurs militaires et d’environ 4 200 Casques bleus, pour maintenir les liens avec les belligérants et mettre en œuvre des méthodes de vérification du cessez-le-feu.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ADDITION)

Nom: ADDITION

Date: 3 novembre 2000 - 12 juillet 2003

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Membre de la BIRFA, le Canada devait envoyer des observateurs militaires et une compagnie d’infanterie mécanisée pour participer à la mission de maintien de la paix dirigée par les Néerlandais.

Sous le nom d’opération Addition, le Canada a détaché jusqu’à six UNMO, à tour de rôle, pour participer aux efforts de l’ONU. À partir d’Asmara, en Érythrée, l’opération a consisté en quatre rotations de huit mois à raison de six officiers à la fois. Elle s'est déroulée du 3 novembre 2000 au 12 juillet 2003. À chaque rotation, l’officier supérieur canadien était le chef des opérations de la MINUEE.

La tâche principale des UNMO était de confirmer que les deux parties étaient sincères dans leur volonté de cesser le combat et dans leur acceptation du contingent onusien de maintien de la paix, et d’établir des liens avec les habitants de la région pour en obtenir de l’information et évaluer les besoins humanitaires.

L’opération Addition a marqué la première mise en pratique par les FC de leur nouveau concept d’équipe d’activation dans le théâtre (EAT). Travaillant à partir de la BFC Kingston, en Ontario, l’EAT a aidé à préparer le terrain militaire et diplomatique, à Asmara, pour les représentants onusiens, éthiopiens et érythréens. L’équipe était formée d’un détachement précurseur de troupes du génie qui avaient commencé à arriver dans le pays le 5 décembre 2000 pour préparer les camps canadiens en vue du déploiement des soldats canadiens de la paix dans la région.