Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ASSURANCE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ASSURANCE
Photo by Cpl Peter Redden

The first 50 Canadian soldiers board a Canadian
Forces Hercules aircraft at the old Entebbe airport
in Uganda near the end of Op ASSURANCE.

International Information

International Operation Name: African Great Lakes Multinational Force

International Mission Name: African Great Lakes Multinational Force (AGLMF-Z)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Rwanda and Zaire

Mission Date: 15 November 1996 - 4 January 1997

Mission Mandate:

Facilitate the immediate return of humanitarian organizations and the effective delivery by civilian relief organizations of humanitarian aid to alleviate the immediate suffering of displaced persons, refugees and civilians at risk in eastern Zaire facilitate the voluntary, orderly repatriation of refugees by the United Nations High Commissioner for refugees as well as the voluntary return of displaced persons

Mission/Operation Notes:

After the Rwandan genocide, more than one million ethnic Hutu refugees were living in camps in the eastern part of the Democratic Republic of Congo (then called Zaire). The refugees included armed Hutu militiamen as well as former Rwandan soldiers who had taken part in the genocide of an estimated 800,000 ethnic Tutsi and moderate Hutus. These militiamen and former soldiers were using the Congo as both a refuge and a launching pad for raids into Rwanda.

In October 1996, Laurent Kabila's Alliance of Democratic Forces for the Liberation of Congo, with support from the Rwandan Army, began a military campaign against the refugee camps, where most of the victims were women and children. Despite extensive media attention and calls for help, major nations were slow in responding. For its part, on 9 November 1996 the United Nations Security Council authorized the Secretary-General to look at the possibility of creating a multi-national force for humanitarian purposes. Subsequently, Security Council Resolution 1080 (15 November) authorized such a force under Chapter VII of the Charter, to terminate on 31 March 1997, or sooner if the Secretary-General so recommended. The force's mandate was to:

By this time a mass exodus of refugees was already underway, with 600,000 reported as having returned to Rwanda by 19 November. The need for a multinational force with a Chapter VII mandate was now open to question, as the delivery of relief to the repatriated refugees now appeared to be the primary concern. Still, there were over 500,000 refugees either unaccounted for or still en-route home who probably needed assistance.

An ad-hoc Steering Group, chaired by Canada, met in New York City on 21 November, with further planning taking place in Stuttgart, Germany on 22 and 23 November, Canada having volunteered to take the lead in the multinational force. Options ranged from the status quo to deploying a 10,000-man security force. Further planning continued so that by 30 November a headquarters was set up in Entebbe, Uganda, with detachments later created in four other locations in the area. Reconnaissance flights by the United States and Great Britain suggested that by the first week of December events had overtaken plans and that both parts of the multinational force's mandate had been accomplished without its actually having deployed in any strength. As a result, on 13 December the proposal was made to the Security Council that the mission be terminated as of 31 December, to which the Council agreed.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ASSURANCE)

Name: ASSURANCE

Date: 2 November 1996 - 31 December 1996

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

On 9 November, as a result of Security Council Resolution 1078 and a Canadian decision to aid the refugees, The Deputy Chief of the Defence Staff (DCDS) issued a warning order for a potential humanitarian mission in eastern Zaire, the mission to be named Operation ASSURANCE. The response was planned to consist of the Disaster Assistance Response Team with one rifle company for security, three CC-130 Hercules, an airlift control element and supporting personnel. The DCDS order for the operation was issued on 15 November with a reconnaissance team, supported by one Hercules, arriving in Kigali on the 17th to determine what the requirements were for the mission.

One more Hercules transporting equipment arrived in Kigali on the 17th, and two Hercules in Nairobi, Kenya. A rented Russian Antonov AN-124 as well as other CF transport aircraft arrived in the days that followed. On 30 November, the order was given to deploy forward and commence operations when ready. Between 30 November and 30 December, the three Hercules assigned to Op ASSURANCE made 32 flights - four to Mwanza and seven to Kigoma in Tanzania, and 21 to Kigali in Rwanda. In addition, three Hercules were enroute to Op ASSURANCE each day bringing in supplies, although this was reduced to two after 22 December. The Antonov flew shuttle runs between Trenton and Africa until 23 December. In total, 354 persons served in Africa on Op ASSURANCE.

With the Security Council decision of 13 December to end the mission, members of the Canadian Forces began to return to Canada, the first group arriving on 17 December. By 21 December, there were only 44 Canadians left in theatre. On 29 December, the order was issued that Op ASSURANCE was to terminate on 31 December. All remaining personnel left on that date.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ASSURANCE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ASSURANCE
Photo : Cpl Peter Redden

Les 50 premiers soldats canadiens montent à bord
d’un appareil Hercules des Forces canadiennes au
vieil aéroport d’Entebbe, en Ouganda, vers la fin
de l’Op ASSURANCE.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force multinationale des grands lacs africains

Nom de la mission internationale: Force multinationale des grands lacs africains (AGLMF-Z)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Rwanda et Zaïre

Date: 15 novembre 1996 - 4 janvier 1997

Mandat de la mission:

Faciliter le retour immédiat des organismes humanitaires et une livraison efficace de l’aide humanitaire fournie par les organisations de secours civiles afin de soulager rapidement la souffrance des personnes déplacées, des réfugiés et des civils en danger dans l’Est du Zaïre. Faciliter le rapatriement volontaire et ordonné des réfugiés sous les auspices du Haut Commissariat des Nations Unies pour les réfugiés ainsi que le retour volontaire des personnes déplacées.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

À la suite du génocide rwandais, plus d’un million de personnes de l’ethnie hutue ont trouvé refuge dans des camps de l’Est de la République démocratique du Congo (alors appelée Zaïre). Or, il y avait parmi les réfugiés des miliciens hutus armés ainsi que d’anciens soldats rwandais ayant participé au génocide lors duquel ont péri environ 800 000 Tutsis et Hutus modérés. Ces miliciens et anciens soldats se servaient du Congo à la fois comme asile et rampe de lancement pour faire des raids au Rwanda.

En octobre 1996, l’Alliance des forces démocratiques pour la libération du Congo dirigée par Laurent Kabila, avec l’appui de l’armée rwandaise, a mené une offensive militaire contre les camps de réfugiés, faisant surtout comme victimes des femmes et des enfants. Malgré l'importante couverture médiatique et les appels au secours, les grandes nations ont été lentes à réagir. Pour sa part, le 9 novembre 1996, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a autorisé le Secrétaire général à examiner la possibilité d’établir une force multinationale à des fins humanitaires. Par la suite, les membres du Conseil de sécurité ont adopté la résolution 1080 (15 novembre) permettant le déploiement d’une telle force en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte, mission qui se terminerait en principe le 31 mars 1997, ou plus tôt advenant une recommandation en ce sens du Secrétaire général. Cette force multinationale avait pour mandat de :

On assistait alors à un exode massif de réfugiés, au point que 600 000 personnes étaient déjà revenues au Rwanda le 19 novembre d’après les rapports. L’utilité d’une force multinationale avec un mandat relevant du Chapitre VII de la Charte semblait à présent discutable, puisque la fourniture de secours aux réfugiés rapatriés était apparemment devenue la principale priorité. Néanmoins, il restait plus de 500 000 réfugiés non comptabilisés ou en chemin qui avaient probablement besoin d’assistance.

Notre pays ayant offert de diriger la force multinationale, un groupe directeur spécial présidé par le Canada s’est réuni à New York le 21 novembre, puis il y a eu des séances de planification supplémentaires à Stuttgart, en Allemagne, les deux jours suivants. Les options envisagées allaient du statu quo au déploiement d’une force de sécurité de 10 000 soldats. La planification s’est poursuivie, si bien que le 30 novembre, on a mis sur pied un quartier général à Entebbe, en Ouganda, en plus d'établir par la suite des détachements à quatre autres endroits dans la région. Mais les vols de reconnaissance effectués par les avions américains et britanniques ont montré qu'à la première semaine de décembre, l’évolution de la situation avait rendu les plans caducs, puisque les deux volets du mandat de la force multinationale étaient déjà réalisés sans que celle ci ait eu à se déployer massivement. Par conséquent, le 13 décembre, le Conseil de sécurité a approuvé une proposition visant à mettre un terme à la mission le 31 décembre.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ASSURANCE)

Nom: ASSURANCE

Date: 2 novembre 1996 - 31 décembre 1996

Historique de la mission:

Le 9 novembre, par suite de l’adoption de la résolution 1078 par le Conseil de sécurité et à la décision du gouvernement canadien de porter secours aux réfugiés, le Sous chef d’état major de la Défense (SCEMD) a émis un ordre d’avertissement en vue d’une possible mission humanitaire dans l’Est du Zaïre, baptisée opération Assurance. Il s’agissait d’envoyer sur place l’équipe d’intervention en cas de catastrophe (EICC) protégée par une compagnie de carabiniers et appuyée par trois appareils CC130 Hercules, un élément de contrôle de l’aérotransport et du personnel de soutien. L’ordre d’opération émis le 15 novembre par le SCEMD prévoyait l’arrivée à Kigali le 17 d’une équipe de reconnaissance avec un avion Hercules pour déterminer les exigences de la mission.

Le 17 novembre, trois autres appareils Hercules transportant de l’équipement sont arrivés sur le théâtre d’opérations, un à Kigali et deux à Nairobi, au Kenya. Un appareil russe Antonov AN 124 affrété de même que d’autres avions de transport des FC sont arrivés dans les jours suivants. Le 30 novembre, les troupes ont reçu l’ordre de se déployer à l’avant et d’entreprendre leur travail dès qu’elles seraient prêtes. Entre le 30 novembre et le 30 décembre, les trois avions Hercules affectés à l’opération Assurance ont effectué 32 vols, soit 4 et 7 respectivement vers Mwanza et Kigoma, en Tanzanie, et 21 vers Kigali, au Rwanda. De plus, trois autres avions Hercules apportaient quotidiennement des provisions sur le théâtre d’opérations, bien que leur nombre ait été réduit à deux après le 22 décembre. L’appareil Antonov a fait la navette entre Trenton et l’Afrique jusqu’au 23 décembre. En tout, 354 militaires ont servi en Afrique dans le cadre de l’opération Assurance.

Après que le Conseil de sécurité a eu décidé le 13 décembre de mettre fin à la mission, des troupes canadiennes ont commencé à rentrer au Canada, le premier groupe arrivant le 17 décembre. Le 21 décembre, il ne restait plus que 44 Canadiens dans le théâtre d’opérations. Le 29, les autorités ont donné l’ordre de mettre un terme à la mission le 31 décembre. Tous les militaires restants sont repartis à cette date.