Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Algeria 1980

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Algeria 1980)

Name: Algeria 1980

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Mandate: To airlift clothing for earthquake survivors to Algeria

Region Name: Africa

Location: Algeria

Mission Date: 14 November 1980 - 19 November 1980

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

At 1:00 PM on Friday 10 October 1980, a magnitude 7.3 earthquake struck the city of El Asnam, Algeria, with an estimated 5,000 people killed and 9,000 injured. Over half of the buildings in the city of 150,000 were destroyed and the remainder were seriously damaged.

In Quebec City, an Algerian émigré who had survived the El Asnam earthquake of 1954 realized that the North African winter was fast approaching and that the survivors would require warm clothing. An appeal through a local radio talk show host produced 30 tons of clothing from the residents of Quebec City in two days. The Department of National Defence was approached about transporting the clothes to Algeria, for which approval was given. On 14 November, a CC-130 Hercules from 436 Squadron left Quebec City for Algeria. On 17 November, a Hercules from 435 Squadron followed.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Algérie 1980

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Algérie 1980)

Nom : Algérie 1980

Mandat de l'opération : Gouvernement du Canada

Mandat : Transporter des vêtements aux survivants d’un tremblement de terre en Algérie.

Région géographique : Afrique

Lieu : Algérie

Date : 14 novembre 1980 - 19 novembre 1980

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne :

Se familiariser avec les opérations d’une organisation canadienne non-gouvernementale dans les pays étrangers en envoyant un officier des FC travailler avec CARE Canada.

Notes sur la mission :

Le vendredi 10 octobre 1980 à 13h, un tremblement de terre d’une magnitude de 7,3 frappa la ville de El Asnam en Algérie. La catastrophe tua près de 5000 personnes, en blessa environ 9000 et détruisit ou endommagea gravement tous les bâtiments.

À Québec, un immigrant d’origine algérien, survivant du tremblement de terre d'El Asnam en 1954, sachant que l’hiver nord-africain approchait et que les victimes auraient besoin de vêtements chauds, lança un appel sur les ondes locales et amassa 30 tonnes de vêtements en deux jours, dons des résidants de la ville. Le ministère de la Défense nationale fut approché pour transporter ces vêtements vers l’Algérie. Le 14 novembre, un Hercule CC-130 du 436e escadron décolla de Québec pour l'Algérie, suivi par un autre Hercule, cette fois du 435e escadron, le 17 novembre.