Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation CHABANEL

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

CHABANEL

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation CHABANEL

International Mission Name: Operation CHABANEL

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Mission Date: 10 April 2006 - 22 May 2006

Mission Mandate: To assist the Royal Canadian Mounted Police in intercepting a drug shipment in the South Atlantic

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (CHABANEL)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The Canadian Forces and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) have a long history of joint participation in drug and contraband interdiction operations. Over the course of a year and a half, the RCMP developed the opportunity to intercept a shipment of drugs bound for North America. The CF was requested to assist in what would become Operation CHABANEL.

On 10 April, HMCS Fredericton put to sea with RCMP officers embarked. Refueling at sea, the ship conducted a high speed transit to Dakar, Senegal, arriving on 18 April. The ship quickly refueled, sailed and met the RCMP-chartered vessel “Stalker” that would be involved in the operation.

The Stalker would be undercover and meet a supplying ship off the west coast of Africa. The ship would then receive the drugs. HMCS Fredericton would act as command and logistics platform, as well as providing armed assistance if anything went wrong during the transfer.

Delays forced the two ships to enter different ports to refuel, with HMCS Fredericton entering Tema, Ghana on 1 May. Different ports were chosen to maintain operational security. On 10 May after further delays caused by bad weather, the Stalker met the supply vessel - a problem-free transfer of the drugs, 22.5 tons of hashish, took place. The Stalker then headed towards HMCS Fredericton, and offloaded the drugs onto HMC Ship.

With the transfer complete, HMCS Fredericton refueled at Dakar on 17 May and then conducted another high speed transit to allow the RCMP to continue the Canadian part of the operation. The ship arrived in Halifax harbour very late on 22 May, offloading the hashish. The RCMP then used the drugs in a sting operation on 2 June that resulted in the immediate arrest of three people.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) CHABANEL

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

CHABANEL

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération CHABANEL

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération CHABANEL

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Date: 10 avril 2006 - 22 mai 2006

Mandat de la mission:

Prêter main-forte à la Gendarmerie royale du Canada pour intercepter une cargaison de drogue dans l’Atlantique Sud.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (CHABANEL)

Historique de la mission:

Les Forces canadiennes et la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) collaborent depuis longtemps dans le cadre d’opérations de lutte contre le trafic des stupéfiants et la contrebande. Au cours d’une année et demie, la GRC s’est organisée pour intercepter une cargaison de drogue destinée à l’Amérique du Nord. On a demandé aux FC d’apporter leur concours dans le cadre de ce qui devait devenir l’opération Chabanel.

Le 10 avril, le NCSM Fredericton prenait la mer avec, à son bord, des agents de la GRC. En se ravitaillant en mer, le navire a fait route à toute allure vers Dakar, au Sénégal, où il est arrivé le 18 avril. Après un ravitaillement rapide, le navire est reparti pour rencontrer le navire affrété par la GRC, le Stalker, qui devait participer à l’opération.

Le Stalker, un navire d’ « infiltration », devrait rencontrer un navire d’approvisionnement au large de la côte ouest de l’Afrique. Le navire devait prendre livraison des drogues. Le NCSM Fredericton devait servir de plate-forme de commandement et de soutien logistique et fournir une aide armée si quelque chose tournait mal pendant le transfert.

Des retards ont forcé les deux navires à mouiller dans différents ports pour se ravitailler. Le NCSM Fredericton est arrivé à Tema, au Ghana, le 1er mai. Des ports différents ont été choisis pour préserver la sécurité de l’opération. Le 10 mai, après de nouveaux retards causés par le mauvais temps, le Stalker a rencontré le navire d’approvisionnement. Le transfert de la drogue, 22,5 tonnes de hachisch, s’est déroulé sans incident. Le Stalker a ensuite mis le cap en direction du NCSM Fredericton pour transférer la drogue à son bord.

Une fois le transfert complété, le NCSM Fredericton s’est ravitaillé à Dakar le 17 mai avant d’entreprendre une autre traversée à haute vitesse pour permettre à la GRC d’enchaîner avec la partie canadienne de l’opération. Le navire est arrivé au port d’Halifax très tard le 22 mai pour décharger le hachisch. Le 2 juin, la GRC a utilisé la drogue dans une souricière qui a permis d’arrêter trois personnes sur-le-champ.