Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation CONNECTION (I)

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

CONNECTION (I)

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation CONNECTION (I)

International Mission Name: Operation CONNECTION (I)

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Kenya

Mission Date: 17 November 1997 - 15 May 1998

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (CONNECTION (I))

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To gain insight into the operations of a Canadian non-governmental organization in foreign countries, by providing a CF officer to work with CARE Canada.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In April 1996, during Exercise Collaborative Effort, CARE Canada proposed that a Canadian Forces officer be attached to their organization. The aim would be for the CF to gain an insight into the duties and responsibilities of Canadian non-governmental organizations in foreign countries. Later in 1996, approval was given for this attachment, given the name Operation CONNECTION.

The first CF officer was attached to CARE Canada as of 17 November 1997. As part of this attachment, the captain deployed to Kenya to first work on CARE's emergency flood relief efforts in the Garissa district, and then in Dadaab on the refugee assistance project. This deployment lasted from 1 February to 1 May, with the periods before and after Kenya being spent in CARE's head office. The attachment to CARE Canada ended on 15 May 1998.

The next rotation involved a deployment to Albania. The captain started her employment with CARE Canada on 14 March 1999, deploying to Albania on 19 April. The primary task was aiding in the Kosovo refugee crisis. This field tour ended in early August, and the tour with CARE on 9 September.

The final rotation with CARE was again to Kenya. The tour with CARE started on 27 November 2000, with the captain arriving in Kenya on12 January 2001. The tasks included working with the Community Initiative for Child Survival in Siaya project and assisting in enhancing the capacities of village health communities. The officer returned in late April and the attachment ended on 27 May.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) CONNECTION (I)

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

CONNECTION (I)

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Operation CONNECTION (I)

Nom de la mission internationale: Operation CONNECTION (I)

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Kenya

Date: 17 novembre 1997 - 15 mai 1998

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (CONNECTION (I))

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Se familiariser avec les opérations d’une organisation canadienne non-gouvernementale dans les pays étrangers en envoyant un officier des FC travailler avec CARE Canada.

Historique de la mission:

Afin de donner aux Forces canadiennes une idée des tâches et responsabilités d’une organisation canadienne non-gouvernementale, CARE Canada proposa, lors de Exercise Collaborative Effort en avril 1996, qu’un officier des FC soit attaché à leur organisation. Plus tard en 1996, le projet a été approuvé et nommé Operation CONNECTION.

Le premier officier des FC a été attaché à CARE Canada dès le 17 novembre 1997. Le capitaine était déployé au Kenya afin d’aider CARE dans son effort d'assistance pour inondation dans le district de Garissa et ensuite pour travailler sur le projet d’assistance aux réfugiés au Dadaab. Le déploiement a débuté le 1er février et s'est terminé le 1er mai. Avant et après le temps passé au Kenya, l’officier a travaillé au Bureau principal de CARE. La première rotation avec CARE Canada s'est terminée officiellement le 15 mai 1998.

La rotation suivante incluait un déploiement en Albanie. Le capitaine a débuté son déploiement avec CARE Canada le 14 mars 1999, voyageant en Albanie le 19 avril. La tâche principale était d’aider les réfugiés de la crise au Kosovo. Le déploiement en Albanie s'est terminé au début d’août et la tournée avec CARE, le 9 septembre.

La rotation finale avec CARE a été déployée au Kenya. La tournée avec CARE a débuté le 27 novembre 2000, le capitaine arrivant au Kenya le 12 janvier 2001. Ses tâches incluaient le travail avec le projet Community Initiative for Child Survival in Siaya, ainsi que l'assistance au rehaussement des capacités des communautés de médecine du village. L’officier a terminé son tour au Kenya vers la fin d’avril et sa tournée avec CARE le 27 mai 2001.