Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation CROCODILE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

CROCODILE
MCpl Robert Bottrill, Canadian Forces Combat Camera

Major Louis Xenos is greeted by villagers from a small
island community on the Congo River near the city of
Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of Congo as members
of the United Nations travel along the Congo River
in a fact-finding mission to gather information from
the local population during Operation
CROCODILE on June 9, 2007.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Observer Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo

International Mission Name: United Nations Observer Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (MONUC)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Congo

Mission Date: 30 November 1999 - 30 June 2010

Mission Mandate:

United Nations Security Council Resolution 1258, 6 August 1999; United Nations Security Council Resolution 1279, 30 November 1999; United Nations Security Council Resolution 1291, 24 February 2000 (including Chapter VII provisions); United Nations Security Council Resolution 1565, 1 October 2004 (Chapter VII)

The current conflict in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC - formerly Zaire) began in 1994, but its origins run deeper and are linked to events outside the country. Following the civil war in Rwanda, Hutu militias aimed at regaining power there found refuge in neighbouring countries. When in 1994, Mobutu Sese Seko, the President of Zaire, offered formal Congolese support to these militias, the Congolese rebel leader Laurent Kabila, Paul Kagame of the Rwandan Patriotic Army and Yoweri Museveni of Uganda formed an alliance to unseat the President. The men under Kabila’s command and Kagame’s force were predominantly Tutsi, the Hutus main foe in Rwanda.

After defeating the Mobutu-supported Hutus, the alliance turned towards Mobutu, deposing the dictator in May 1997. Kabila assumed power on 17 May and then decided to expel the forces that helped bring him into power. On 2 August 1998, Kabila attacked the Rwandan forces in eastern DRC. This threatened the Tutsis of the region as they relied upon the Rwandan military to keep hostile armed groups under control.

Both Kagame and Museveni backed new rebel groups including the Congolese Rally for Democracy (CRD), a Tutsi dominated guerrilla group. Kabila in turn invited Angola, Chad, Namibia and Zimbabwe to assist him. By the end of 1998, the CRD controlled one-third of the DRC. The fighting also brought other ethnic groups into conflict.

International and regional pressure brought all parties to the negotiating table. On 10 July 1999, in Lusaka, Zambia, all nations involved in the conflict and most of the guerrilla groups signed the Lusaka Cease-fire Agreement. A multinational force, controlled by a Joint Military Commission (JMC) and representing the signatories to the agreement, would effect the disarming of all armed groups in the DRC. The UN Security Council on 6 August authorized the deployment of up to 90 UN military liaison officers (UNMLOs) to assist in implementing the accord (Resolution 1258). The UNMLOs deployed in the six nations that were signatories to the Lusaka Agreement. Unfortunately, neither the UNMLOs nor the JMC were able to bring about a stable cease-fire.

As a result, the Security Council decided that greater support was required. On 30 November 1999, Resolution 1279 authorized the Mission de l'Organisation des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo (MONUC). [Note: some UN public statements prior to 30 November refer to the UNMLO mission as MONUC; however, the mission was only identified by the Security Council as MONUC as of 30 November.] A force of 500 unarmed UN Military Observers (UNMOs) were deployed to the DRC. Again, neither MONUC nor the JMC were able to bring stability to the DRC. Almost from the start, each side accused the other of breaking the cease-fire and violating the Lusaka Agreement. Resolution 1291 of 24 February 2000 increased MONUC to 5,537 personnel, including the 500 UNMOs.

Ethnic-based fighting continued in eastern and northeastern DRC. New factions appeared and began fighting. In Ituri, the Hema and Lendu attacked each other, a problem that was to expand in 2003. There was nevertheless one bright spot. By September 2002, the Secretary-General was able to state that foreign troops had withdrawn and that the situation in the DRC had passed beyond the Lusaka Agreement. In early December 2002, the Security Council authorized an expansion of MONUC to 8,700 military personnel, followed by eight Congolese parties signing an agreement in late December to create and operate a transitional government; however, the agreement was of limited value. As the foreign troops withdrew, local warlords began to re-establish themselves throughout the DRC. Through 2002 and 2003, these warlords began attacking each other, renewing the humanitarian problem of displaced persons.

In the Ituri region of northeast DRC this created a significant problem, requiring the intervention of the UN authorized Interim Emergency Multinational Force between June and the end of August 2003. Ugandan troops had increased their presence in the region after they had initially withdrawn. When they withdrew again in May 2003, a power vacuum created a situation of anarchy and violence. In the Kivu region of eastern DRC, two renegade Congolese army commanders fought government forces, with both sides committing human rights violations and atrocities. Three different ethnic groups were involved, including the Banyamulenge ethnic group (of Tutsi origin), whom the rebel commanders were claiming to protect.

On 1 October 2004, the Security Council authorized an increase in MONUC’s strength to 16,700, although by the end of December the actual strength was only 12,600. MONUC was now authorized under Chapter VII to inspect aircraft and transport vehicles using the airfields, border crossings, military bases and ports in North and South Kivu, and in Ituri. MONUC could use all necessary means to carry out its mandate, which included protecting civilians and collecting arms and war materiel in Ituri and Kivu found in violation of international sanctions.

This has had little effect in some regions, as the Hema and Lendu militias in Ituri continued fighting but away from the MONUC presence. MONUC’s presence in North Kivu did prevent an armed attack in mid-December 2004, when Pakistani MONUC forces repelled armed attackers infiltrating from Rwanda.

The International Rescue Committee has estimated that 3.3 million people have died in the DRC since June 1998, while the UN estimates that 2.7 million people have become displaced or become refugees. Agreements are signed and then broken, while ethnic-based factional fighting continues to be a grave concern. The transitional government has been unable to disarm these groups and MONUC’s presence and strength cannot encompass every area where violence can occur.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (CROCODILE)

Name: CROCODILE

Date: 26 September 1999 - Present

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian participation in the DRC began in September 1999. On 26 September a Canadian Forces colonel arrived in Kinshasa to assist in the creation of the headquarters for the 90 UNMLOs. The formal announcement of Canada’s participation was made on 7 October, at which time it was stated that Canada could provide up to ten UNMLOs. The colonel then filled the position of Deputy Chief of Staff, Operations until replaced in early 2000.

Canada continued to fill this position as MONUC expanded. A major was also in theatre working in MONUC headquarters in the position of Staff Officer Operations and Plans. In May 2000, the colonel intervened in the fighting between Rwandan and Ugandan forces in eastern DRC that had resulted in significant civilian deaths. The major also traveled often as an UNMO. Up to March 2001, they were the only two Canadians in MONUC; however, at the request of the UN the number was subsequently increased.

On 15 March 2001, four of a group of eight CF officers departed for MONUC. The first four joined the two already in theatre, and filled staff positions at MONUC headquarters. The next four filled UNMO positions. The first two officers in-theatre then returned to Canada.

Although the numbers vary between MONUC and regional headquarters, five Canadian officers are often based in the main headquarters in Kinshasa where they assist in the training of UMNOs and staff officers, work with demobilizing combatants, and producing MONUC information for distribution throughout the DRC. In the field the Canadian officers assist in the coordination of UNMO operations from regional headquarters, while occasionally conducting patrols themselves.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) CROCODILE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

CROCODILE
Cplc Robert Bottrill, Caméra de combat des Forces canadiennes

Le major Louis Xenos est accueilli par des habitants
d’une petite collectivité insulaire située dans le fleuve
Congo, près de la ville de Kinshasa (République
démocratique du Congo), tandis que des membres des
Nations Unies se déplacent sur la rive du fleuve, le
9 juin 2007, au cours d’une mission d’information
visant à réunir des renseignements sur la population
locale, dans le cadre de l’opération Crocodile.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission de l'Organisation des Nations unies en République démocratique du Congo

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission de l'Organisation des Nations unies en République démocratique du Congo (MONUC)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Congo

Date: 30 novembre 1999 - 30 juin 2010

Mandat de la mission:

Résolution 1258 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 6 août 1999; Résolution 1279 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 30 novembre 1999; Résolution 1291 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 24 février 2000 (y compris les dispositions du Chapitre VII); Résolution 1565 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 1er octobre 2004 (Chapitre VII)

Le conflit actuel dans la République démocratique du Congo (RDC – anciennement le Zaïre) a commencé en 1994, mais ses origines sont plus profondes et liées à des événements qui se déroulent à l’extérieur du pays. Après la guerre civile au Rwanda, les milices hutus qui voulaient regagner le pouvoir là-bas ont trouvé refuge dans les pays avoisinants. Lorsque, en 1994, Mobutu Sese Seko, le président du Zaïre, a offert le soutien officiel du Congo à ces milices, le chef des rebelles congolais, Laurent Kabila, Paul Kagame, de l’Armée patriotique du Rwanda et Yoweri Museveni, de l’Ouganda, ont formé une alliance en vue de renverser le président. Les hommes dirigés par Kabila et la force de Kagame étaient principalement Tutsi, les principaux ennemis des Hutus au Rwanda.

Après avoir défait les Hutus soutenus par Mobutu, l’alliance s’est attaqué à Mobutu, renversant le dictateur en 1997. Kabila, après avoir pris le pouvoir le 17 mai, a décidé d’expulser les forces qui l’avaient aidé. Le 2 août 1998, il a attaqué les forces rwandaises dans l’est de la RDC. Cela a menacé les Tutsis de la région, qui comptaient sur la force militaire rwandaise pour garder le contrôle des groupes armés hostiles.

Kagame et Museveni ont tous deux appuyé les nouveaux groupes rebelles, y compris le Rassemblement congolais pour la démocratie (RCD), un groupe de guérilla dominé par les Tutsis. à son tour, Kabila a invité l’Angola, le Tchad, la Namibie et le Zimbabwe à l’aider. à la fin de 1998, le RCD contrôlait le tiers de la RDC. Ces luttes ont aussi provoqué des conflits entre d’autres groupes ethniques.

La pression internationale et régionale a forcé toutes les parties à s’asseoir à la table de négociation. Le 10 juillet 1999, à Lusaka, en Zambie, tous les pays parties au conflit et la plupart des groupes de guérilla ont conclu l’Accord du cessez-le-feu de Lusaka. Une force multinationale, contrôlée par une Commission militaire mixte (CMM) et représentant les signataires de l’Accord, devait se charger du désarmement de tous les groupes armés dans la RDC. Le 6 août, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies a autorisé le déploiement de 90 membres du personnel de liaison militaire, au maximum, pour aider à mettre en œuvre l’Accord (résolution 1258). Le personnel de liaison militaire de l’ONU a été déployé dans les six pays signataires de l’Accord de Lusaka. Malheureusement, ni ce déploiement ni la CMM ne sont parvenus à assurer un vrai cessez-le-feu.

Le Conseil de sécurité a donc décidé qu’il fallait accroître le soutien. Le 30 novembre 1999, la résolution 1279 a autorisé la Mission de l'Organisation des Nations unies en République démocratique du Congo (MONUC). [Note : Certaines déclarations publiques de l’ONU antérieures au 30 novembre donnaient le nom de MONUC à la mission du personnel militaire de liaison des Nations unies; cependant, le Conseil de sécurité ne l’a nommée MONUC qu’à partir du 30 novembre.] L’ONU a déployé une force de 500 OMNU non armés dans la RDC. Encore là, ni la MONUC ni la CMM n’ont pu ramener la stabilité dans la RDC. Dès le début, chaque partie a accusé l’autre de violer le cessez-le-feu et l’Accord de Lusaka. La résolution 1291 du 24 février 2000 a accru le personnel militaire de la MONUC à 5 537 militaires, y compris les 500 OMNU.

Les heurts entre ethnies ont continué dans l’est et le nord-est de la RDC. De nouvelles factions sont apparues et ont commencé à se battre. En Ituri, les ethnies Hema et Lendu se sont attaquées mutuellement, un problème qui allait s’aggraver en 2003. Malgré tout, il y avait encore de la lumière au bout du tunnel. En septembre 2002, le Secrétaire général pouvait déclarer que les troupes étrangères avaient été retirées et que la situation dans la RDC avait dépassé l’étape de l’Accord de Lusaka. Au début de décembre 2002, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé le renforcement de la MONUC à 8700 militaires, après quoi huit parties congolaises ont conclu un accord à la fin du mois pour créer et gérer un gouvernement de transition. Cependant, l’Accord avait une valeur limitée. à mesure que les troupes étrangères se retiraient, des seigneurs de guerre locaux ont recommencé à s’établir un peu partout dans la RDC. En 2002 et 2003, ils ont commencé à s’attaquer mutuellement, alimentant le problème des personnes déplacées.

En Ituri, au nord-est de la RDC, cela a créé une situation difficile, nécessitant une intervention de l’ONU, qui a autorisé une force multinationale intérimaire d’urgence de juin à la fin d’août 2003. Les troupes de l’Ouganda avaient augmenté leur présence dans la région après un retrait initial. Lorsqu’elles se sont retirées de nouveau en mai 2003, le vide de pouvoir a créé une situation favorable à l’anarchie et à la violence. Dans la région de Kivu, à l’est de la RDC, deux commandants renégats de l’armée congolaise se sont attaqués aux forces du gouvernement, entraînant des violations des droits de l’homme et des atrocités, commises par les deux parties. Trois groupes ethniques différents ont été touchés, y compris le groupe Banyamulenge (d’origine Tutsi) que les commandants rebelles prétendaient protéger.

Le 1er octobre 2004, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé le renforcement de la MONUC à 16 700 militaires, mais elle n’était que de 12 600 à la fin de décembre. La MONUC était alors autorisée, en vertu du Chapitre VII, à inspecter les cargaisons des aéronefs et de tout appareil de transport utilisant les terrains d’aviation, aéroports, bases militaires, ports et postes frontière au Nord et au Sud-Kivu et en Ituri. La MONUC pouvait avoir recours à tous les moyens nécessaires pour remplir son mandat, y compris la protection des civils et la collecte d’armes et de matériel de guerre dans les régions d’Ituri et de Kivu en violation des sanctions internationales.

Ces mesures ont eu peu d’effet dans certaines régions dont l’Ituri, où les milices Hema et Lendu ont continué les hostilités, mais toujours en l’absence de la MONUC. La présence de la MONUC dans le nord de Kivu a permis d’empêcher une attaque armée au milieu de décembre 2004, lorsque les forces Pakistani de la MONUC ont repoussé des attaquants armés qui s’infiltraient en RDC à partir du Rwanda.

Le Comité de secours international a estimé à 3,3 millions le nombre de personnes mortes dans la RDC depuis juin 1998, alors que l’ONU évalue à 2,7 millions le nombre de personnes déplacées ou devenues réfugiées. Des accords conclus sont ensuite brisés et les luttes interethniques continuent d’être préoccupantes. Le gouvernement de transition a été incapable de désarmer ces groupes et la MONUC ne peut paraître dans toutes les régions où la violence est susceptible d’éclater.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (CROCODILE)

Nom: CROCODILE

Date: 26 septembre 1999 - Présent

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

La participation canadienne en RDC a commencé en septembre 1999. Le 26 septembre, un colonel des Forces canadiennes est arrivé à Kinshasa pour aider à établir le Quartier général des 90 membres du personnel de liaison de l’ONU. L’annonce officielle de la participation canadienne a été faite le 7 octobre, moment où il a été déclaré que le Canada pourrait fournir jusqu’à 10 membres du personnel de liaison de l’ONU. Le colonel a ensuite occupé le poste de chef d’état-major adjoint, Opérations, jusqu’à son remplacement au début de 2000.

Un officier canadien a continué d’occuper ce poste au fil du renforcement de la MONUC. Un major était aussi sur place pour travailler au Quartier général de la MONUC comme officier d’état-major, Opérations et plans. En mai 2000, le colonel est intervenu dans la lutte entre les forces rwandaises et ougandaises à l’est de la RDC, qui avaient causé la mort de nombreux civils. Le major a souvent voyagé comme OMNU. Jusqu’en mars 2001, ces deux hommes étaient les seuls Canadiens actifs dans la MONUC. Cependant, à la demande de l’ONU, le nombre de participants canadiens a augmenté par la suite.

Le 15 mars 2001, quatre officiers des Forces canadiennes, d’un groupe de huit, ont rejoint les deux hommes déjà en poste et occupé des postes d’état-major au Quartier général de la MONUC. Les quatre autres ont occupé des postes d’OMNU. Deux militaires ont pu revenir au pays. La contribution des FC est demeurée à huit et est restée la même depuis, avec des variations mineures.

Même si les effectifs de la MONUC et des quartiers généraux régionaux varient, cinq officiers canadiens sont souvent en poste au QG principal à Kinsasha, où ils aident à entraîner les OMNU et les officiers d’état-major, travaillent avec les combattants démobilisés et préparent de l’information pour la MONUC diffusée un peu partout dans la RDC. Sur le terrain, les officiers canadiens aident à coordonner les opérations des OMNU à partir des quartiers généraux régionaux, tout en effectuant des patrouilles à l’occasion.