Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ECLIPSE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ECLIPSE
Photo by MCpl Danielle Bernier, J5PA Combat Camera
Dek'emhare, Eritrea

Members of Reconnaissance Platoon check their equipment
for the day's operations with their new Coyote light
armoured reconnaissance vehicles. The Coyote's excellent
surveillance system lets the soldiers detect, monitor and
record all activity in their area of responsibility by night
and by day, a capability useful to the United Nations
Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea (UNMEE), which is
essentially a monitoring mission. About 540 Canadian
soldiers are currently deployed on Operation ECLIPSE
in support of UNMEE.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea

International Mission Name: United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea (UNMEE)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Ethiopia and Eritrea

Mission Date: 12 December 2000 - 31 July 2008

Mission Mandate:

United Nations Security Council Resolution 1312, 31 July 2000; United Nations Security Council Resolution 1320, 15 September 2000

To monitor the UN-established Temporary Security Zone between Ethiopia and Eritrea, and verify the redeployment of Ethiopian forces in Eritrea from positions taken after 06 February 99 which were not under that country's control in May 1998.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

On 18 June 2000, after two years of continuous fighting in a border dispute, the African nations of Ethiopia and Eritrea signed a cessation of hostilities agreement following talks led by Algeria and the Organization of African Unity. Included in the agreement was the acceptance by both sides of a Temporary Security Zone to be monitored by United Nations Military Observers (UNMO’s), and patrolled by an impartial UN peacekeeping force. The UN requested that the peacekeepers be provided by the Standby Forces High-Readiness Brigade (SHIRBRIG), a pre-established United Nations multinational military force created in 1996 (a Danish initiative) to provide troops at the start of UN peacekeeping missions for a period of no more than six months.

In July, the Security Council set up the United Nations Mission in Ethiopia and Eritrea (UNMEE) which consisted of 200 military observers and approximately 4,200 peacekeepers, to maintain liaison with the parties and establish a mechanism for verifying the ceasefire.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ECLIPSE)

Name: ECLIPSE

Date: 12 December 2000 - 11 June 2001

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

As part of SHIRBRIG, Canada had been tasked to provide military observers and a mechanized infantry company to the Dutch-led peacekeeping effort.

The Canadian military had also agreed to supply a mechanized infantry company group with engineering and logistics support - approximately 450 personnel - for the six-month rotation. Under the CF designation Operation ECLIPSE, the resulting company (the Canadian Task Force East Africa), was formed primarily by the 2nd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment, and from 4 Engineering Support Regiment, both from Gagetown New Brunswick. The Task Force was integrated into a Dutch Royal Marines battalion, with a further eight Canadian Forces’ officers being deployed to serve with SHIRBRIG personnel to form the UNMEE mission headquarters.

Working from Dek’emhare and Tsoreana, Eritrea, as well as Senafe, Ethiopia, Canadian troops were assigned to the Central Sector and tasked to man permanent checkpoints and OP’s, conduct foot and vehicle patrols, perform humanitarian tasks, monitor the withdrawal of Ethiopian and Eritrean forces from the Temporary Security Zone, report any infractions of the peace agreement, and oversee the exchange of prisoners of war, and minefield clearance/information. They would also cover Sector East of the UNMEE area of responsibility (AOR), where from 1 January to 3 March 2001, they enforced the withdrawal of Ethiopian troops until relieved by Kenyan forces.

Canada concluded its duties on 11 June 01 with the last of the Op ECLIPSE troops leaving in July 01.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ECLIPSE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ECLIPSE
Photo par le cplc Danielle Bernier, Caméra de combat J5 AP
Dek'emhare, Eritrea

Des membres du Peloton de reconnaissance vérifient leur
équipement avant de débuter les opérations de la journée
bord de leurs nouveaux véhicules blindés légers de
reconnaissance Coyote. Líexcellent systéme de
surveillance du Coyote permet aux soldats de repérer,
de surveiller et díenregistrer toute activité dans leur
secteur de responsabilité, le jour comme la nuit. Cette
capacité leur est utile dans le cadre de la Mission des
Nations Unies en Éthiopie et Érythrée (MINUEE)
qui se veut principalement une mission de surveillance.
Environ 540 soldats canadiens sont déployés
actuellement dans le cadre de líopération Eclipse,
en appui la MINUEE.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission des Nations unies en Éthiopie et en Érythrée

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission des Nations unies en Éthiopie et en Érythrée (MINUEE)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Éthiopie et Érythrée

Date: 12 décembre 2000 - 31 juillet 2010

Mandat de la mission:

Résolution 1312 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 31 juillet 2000; Résolution 1320 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, 15 septembre 2000

Contrôler la zone de sécurité provisoire aménagée par l’ONU entre l’Éthiopie et l’Érythrée, et vérifier le redéploiement des forces éthiopiennes en Érythrée à partir de positions prises après le 6 février 1999 et qui n’étaient pas sous le contrôle érythréen en mai 1998.

Historique de la mission:

Le 18 juin 2000, après deux années de combat continu à cause d’un litige frontalier, l’Éthiopie et l’Érythrée ont signé un accord de cessation des hostilités à la suite de pourparlers dirigés par l’Algérie et l’Organisation de l’unité africaine. L’accord prévoyait également la création d’une zone de sécurité provisoire qui serait contrôlée par des observateurs militaires des Nations unies (UNMO) et patrouillée par une force impartiale de maintien de la paix de l’ONU. L’ONU a exigé que les Casques bleus soient envoyés de la Brigade d’intervention rapide des forces en attente (BIRFA), une force militaire multinationale préétablie, créée en 1996 par les Nations unies (d’après une initiative danoise) afin de fournir des troupes au commencement des missions de maintien de la paix de l’ONU pour une période qui ne devait pas dépasser six mois.

En juillet, le Conseil de sécurité a créé la Mission des Nations unies en Éthiopie et en Érythrée (MINUEE), composée de 200 observateurs militaires et d’environ 4 200 Casques bleus, pour maintenir les liens avec les belligérants et mettre en œuvre des méthodes de vérification du cessez-le-feu.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ECLIPSE)

Nom: ECLIPSE

Date: 12 décembre 2000 - 11 juin 2001

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Membre de la BIRFA, le Canada devait envoyer des observateurs militaires et une compagnie d’infanterie mécanisée pour participer à la mission de maintien de la paix dirigée par les Néerlandais.

Les forces militaires canadiennes ont également accepté d’envoyer un groupe-compagnie d’infanterie mécanisée avec une équipe de soutien technique et logistique - environ 450 personnes - pour la rotation de six mois. Sous l’appellation FC d’opération Eclipse, la compagnie qui en a découlé (la Force opérationnelle canadienne de l’Afrique de l’Est) était formée principalement du 2e Bataillon du Royal Canadian Regiment et du 4e Régiment d’appui du génie, les deux de Gagetown, au Nouveau-Brunswick. La Force opérationnelle a été intégrée à un bataillon de la Marine royale néerlandaise, avec huit autres officiers des Forces canadiennes déployés pour servir dans les rangs de la BIRFA et former le quartier général de la MINUEE.

Travaillant à partir de Dek’emhare et de Tsoreana, en Érythrée, et de Senafe, en Éthiopie, les troupes canadiennes ont été affectées au Secteur central et devaient assurer une permanence aux points de contrôle et aux postes d’observation, effectuer des patrouilles à pied et des patrouilles motorisées, apporter de l’aide humanitaire, contrôler le retrait des forces éthiopiennes et érythréennes de la zone de sécurité provisoire, rapporter toute violation de l’accord de paix et surveiller les échanges de prisonniers de guerre et les opérations de déminage. Elles étaient aussi responsables du Secteur de l’Est de la zone de responsabilité (AOR) de la MINUEE, d’où, du 1er janvier au 3 mars 2001, elles devaient assurer le retrait des troupes éthiopiennes jusqu’à l'arrivée des forces kényanes de remplacement.

Le Canada a achevé sa mission le 11 juin 2001. Les derniers soldats de l’opération Eclipse sont partis en juillet 2001.