Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Ethiopia 1985

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Ethiopia 1985

International Information

International Operation Name: Ethiopia 1985

International Mission Name: Ethiopia 1985

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Ethiopia

Mission Date: 16 February 1985 - date unknown

Mission Mandate:

To provide medical personnel and supplies to Ethiopia

Mission/Operation Notes:

Ethiopia faced a humanitarian disaster in 1984 when drought threatened the region’s grain harvest. Indeed, by mid-summer aid agencies were warning that as many as six million people faced the prospect of starvation.

Western governments were nevertheless reluctant to help the Ethiopian regime for fear that the provision of food aid would allow it to continue to purchase weapons to carry on the fight against insurgents in Eritrea and Tigre. However, as the crisis in Ethiopia became more widely and popularly known, a process helped by a series of Live Aid concerts, western governments finally began to assist even when it was clear that Ethiopia was diverting aid and supplies away from its intended recipients.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Ethiopia 1985)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

At the request of the Department of Foreign Affairs, the Canadian Forces despatched a twenty person medical team and thirty tons of relief supplies to Ethiopia on 16 February 1985. [It is not known when the team returned to Canada.]

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Éthiopie 1985

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Éthiopie 1985

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Éthiopie 1985

Nom de la mission internationale: Éthiopie 1985

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Éthiopie

Date: 16 février 1985 - date inconnu

Mandat de la mission:

Fournir du personnel et des approvisionnements médicaux à l’Éthiopie.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En 1984, l’Éthiopie faisait face à une catastrophe, la sécheresse menaçant les récoltes de céréales. Déjà au milieu de l’été, les organismes d’aide faisaient savoir que la famine pourrait toucher jusqu’à 6 000 000 personnes.

Craignant que le fait d’approvisionner le pays en nourriture permette au régime éthiopien de continuer à acheter des armes pour combattre des insurgés en Érythrée et en Tigré, les gouvernements des pays occidentaux hésitaient à fournir de l’aide. Cependant, grâce en partie à une série de concerts Live Aid, la crise a gagné de la notoriété. Les gouvernements occidentaux ont commencé à intervenir même s’il était clair que l’aide et les fournitures ne parvenaient pas aux bénéficiaires visés.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Éthiopie 1985)

Historique de la mission:

À la demande du ministère des Affaires étrangères, les Forces canadiennes ont envoyé en Éthiopie, le 16 février 1985, une équipe médicale composée de 20 personnes, ainsi que 30 tonnes d’approvisionnements de secours. [On ne sait pas quand l’équipe est rentrée au Canada.]