Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation FOODLIFT AFRICA

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (FOODLIFT AFRICA)

Name: Operation FOODLIFT AFRICA

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Mandate: To transport humanitarian aid to locations in West Africa at the request of the United Nations.

Region Name: Africa

Location: Nigeria

Mission Date: 1 July 1973 - 12 August 1973

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

As a result of drought in West Africa, millions of people were threatened by starvation in an area covering Chad in the west, through Mali, Niger, Upper Volta, and Senegal, to Mauritania in the east. 11 million people were at risk. As a result, the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organization made an urgent request for famine relief. Canada agreed to provide one Hercules for the month of July.

The initial Canadian response was one Hercules from 436 Squadron. It was soon flying one long trip from Lagos, Nigeria, where relief supplies were being unloaded from merchant vessels, to Dirkou or Arlit, and then another shorter trip to Agadez or Tahoua. On 11 July, two more Hercules, these from 435 Squadron, arrived, with all three aircraft carrying out a routine of two flights each a day for a total of 120 tons daily.

The conditions were harsh, with dust storms daily and high heat – 120 degrees – but it was a dry heat! Bird strikes were common, as were goats and camels on the gravel runways. Dry milk, seed grain and sorghum were the main food supplies delivered.

On 25 July, the original Hercules aircraft left, taking with it the crew of the original detachment. A further appeal from Nigeria, through the UN, extended the operation to 12 August. Fresh crews arrived on 2 August flying from Kano in northern Nigeria, into Maradi and Tahoua with grain for the dying cattle. In 44 days, the three aircraft conducted 133 flights and delivered 2,675 tons of supplies.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) FOODLIFT AFRICA

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (FOODLIFT AFRICA)

Nom : Opération FOODLIFT AFRICA

Mandat de l'opération : Gouvernement du Canada

Mandat : Transporter de l’aide humanitaire en Afrique occidentale à la demande des Nations Unies.

Région géographique : Afrique

Lieu : Nigéria

Date : 1 juillet 1973 - 12 août 1973

Notes sur la mission :

Une famine causée par une sécheresse en Afrique occidentale menaçait 11 millions de personnes vivant dans une région couvrant le Tchad à l’est, le Mali, le Niger, le Burkina Faso, le Sénégal et la Mauritanie à l’ouest. Devant la situation, l’Organisation des Nations Unies pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture a lancé un appel urgent pour porter secours aux affamés. Le Canada a accepté de fournir un Hercules pour le mois de juillet.

Le Canada a tout d’abord envoyé un Hercules du 436e Escadron. L’avion a décollé de Lagos, au Nigéria, où des secours arrivés par navires marchands avaient été chargés à son bord, et a entamé un long vol vers Dirkou ou Arlit. De là, il s’est envolé vers Agadez ou Tahoua, des destinations plus proches. Deux autres Hercules, du 435e Escadron cette fois-ci, sont arrivés le 11 juillet. Les trois avions ont effectué deux vols quotidiens chacun, transportant pour 120 tonnes de secours par jour.

Les conditions étaient difficiles : tempêtes de poussière quotidiennes et température élevée (120 degrés, mais il s’agissait de chaleur sèche!). Des impacts d’oiseaux se produisaient fréquemment et il était courant de voir des chèvres et des chameaux sur les pistes non bétonnées. Les avions ont surtout transporté du lait en poudre, des grains de semence et du sorgho.

Le Hercules qui était arrivé en premier est reparti le 25 juillet avec son équipage. Une autre demande du Nigéria aux Nations Unies a prolongé l’opération jusqu’au 12 août. Le 2 août, de nouveaux équipages en provenance de Kano ont apporté du grain pour nourrir le bétail qui se mourait dans le nord du Nigéria, à Maradi et à Tahoua. En 44 jours, les trois avions ont effectué 133 vols et apporté 2 675 tonnes d’approvisionnements.