Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation LEGATION

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.


International Information

International Operation Name: Operation LEGATION

International Mission Name: Operation LEGATION

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Zaire

Mission Date: 2 November 1996 - 6 December 1996

Mission Mandate:

To provide VIP transport services for the UN Special Envoy to the Great Lakes Region of Central Africa.

Mission/Operation Notes:

After the Rwandan genocide, more than one million ethnic Hutu refugees were living in camps in the eastern part of the Democratic Republic of Congo (then called Zaire). The refugees included armed Hutu militiamen and former Rwandan soldiers who had taken part in the genocide of an estimated 800,000 ethnic Tutsi and moderate Hutus. These militiamen and former soldiers were using Congo as both a refuge and a launching pad for raids into Rwanda.

In October 1996, Laurent Kabila's Alliance of Democratic Forces for the Liberation of Congo, with support from the Rwandan Army, began a military campaign against the refugee camps, where most of the victims were women and children.

Despite widespread publicity, major nations were slow in responding to the crisis. In the interim, the UN Secretary-General appointed a Canadian diplomat, Raymond Chrétien, as his Special Envoy to the Great Lakes Region in October 1996. Having been Canadian Ambassador to Zaire from 1978 to 1981, and accredited to Burundi, Rwanda and the Republic of Congo, he was familiar with the area. Chretien's role was to assess the crisis and examine a range of options to defuse it. What he found was that 600,000 refugees had already rushed back to Rwanda, another 400,000 were in Zaire and 200,000 were unaccounted for, at least according to UN figures. By the time a report was ready and a UN force authorized, the crisis was over.

Top of Page

Canadian Forces (CF) Information (LEGATION)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The Canadian Forces were involved in two ways in the refugee crisis in the Great Lakes region of Africa. Humanitarian aid flights were conducted under the name Operation ASSURANCE. Assistance was also provided to Special Envoy Chretien. On 2 November 1996, the Minister of National Defence authorized CF support to the Special Envoy through the provision of aircraft to transport him as required. This was given the name Operation LEGATION.

A CP-144 Challenger aircraft from 412 Squadron was tasked with this duty. The crew and aircraft ferried Ambassador Chretien to various capitals in Africa, especially around the Great Lakes region. Because of the frequency of travel, there were several crews for the aircraft, plus ground crew.

Op LEGATION's strength was increased by one CC-130 Hercules and various personnel when the Strategic Reconnaissance Team for the planned Op ASSURANCE arrived in Rwanda and Uganda. On 20 November, as Canada was considering whether to go ahead with a full-scale humanitarian mission under Op ASSURANCE, the decision was made that the Op LEGATION personnel would also act as the in-theatre support for the advance units of Op ASSURANCE. As a result, the Op LEGATION establishment was now three CC-130 Hercules and required personnel, and an airlift control element. The primary mission of Op LEGATION remained supporting the Ambassador.

On 6 December, with Op ASSURANCE now functioning, the duties of the Op LEGATION team were transferred to Op ASSURANCE. Accordingly, Op LEGATION was terminated.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) LEGATION

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

LEGATION

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération LEGATION

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération LEGATION

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Zaïre

Date: 2 novembre 1996 - 6 décembre 1996

Mandat de la mission:

Assurer le transport de l’Envoyé spécial de l’ONU dans la région des Grands Lacs centrafricains.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Après le génocide au Rwanda, plus d’un million de réfugiés de l’ethnie hutu habitaient des camps situés dans la partie est de la République démocratique du Congo (alors appelée Zaïre). Parmi les réfugiés, il y avait des miliciens hutus armés et d’anciens soldats rwandais qui avaient contribué au génocide lors duquel avaient péri quelque 800 000 Tutsis et Hutus modérés. Ces miliciens et ex-soldats utilisaient le Congo à la fois comme refuge et comme tremplin pour effectuer des raids au Rwanda.

En octobre 1996, l’Alliance des forces démocratiques pour la libération du Congo, dirigée par Laurent Kabila, avec l’appui de l’armée rwandaise, a lancé une campagne militaire contre les camps de réfugiés, faisant des victimes surtout parmi les femmes et les enfants.

Malgré le battage médiatique, les principaux pays ont été lents à réagir. Dans l’intervalle, en octobre 1996, le Secrétaire général de l’ONU a nommé le diplomate canadien Raymond Chrétien envoyé spécial dans la région des Grands Lacs. M. Chrétien, qui avait été ambassadeur au Zaïre de 1978 à 1981 et qui était accrédité en tant que diplomate au Burundi, au Rwanda et dans la République du Congé, connaissait très bien la région. Son rôle consistait à évaluer la gravité de la crise et à examiner diverses possibilités pour la désamorcer. Selon ses constatations, 600 000 réfugiés s’étaient déjà empressés de rentrer au Rwanda, tandis qu’il en restait encore 400 000 au Zaïre et 200 000 autres qui n’étaient pas comptabilisés, du moins dans les chiffres de l’ONU. Mais lorsque son rapport a été prêt et que l’ONU a autorisé l’envoi de troupes, la crise s’était déjà résorbée.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (LEGATION)

Historique de la mission :

Les Forces canadiennes sont intervenues de deux façons dans la crise des réfugiés touchant la région des Grands Lacs africains, notamment en livrant par avion des secours humanitaires dans le cadre de l’opération Assurance. Elles ont aussi prêté assistance à l’envoyé spécial, Raymond Chrétien. Le 2 novembre 1996, le ministre de la Défense nationale a autorisé les FC à assister l’Envoyé spécial en lui fournissant un avion pour ses déplacements. Cette tâche a été appelée opération Legation.

C’est un avion CP144 Challenger du 412e Escadron qui a été chargé de cette mission. L’appareil et son équipage ont amené l’ambassadeur Chrétien dans diverses capitales d’Afrique, en particulier autour de la région des Grands Lacs. Étant donné la fréquence des déplacements, il a fallu recourir à plusieurs équipages, en plus du personnel de piste.

Dans le cadre de l’opération Legation, on a ajouté un appareil CC130 Hercules et du personnel dans diverses spécialités lors de l’arrivée au Rwanda et en Ouganda de l’équipe de reconnaissance stratégique venue préparer l’opération Assurance. Le 20 novembre, alors qu’elles tentaient de déterminer si une mission humanitaire à grande échelle s’imposait dans le cadre de l’opération Assurance, les autorités canadiennes ont décidé que le personnel affecté à l’opération Legation appuierait également dans le théâtre les unités avancées de l’opération Assurance. Par conséquent, on disposait à présent pour l’opération Legation de trois avions CC130 Hercules avec le personnel requis et d’un élément de contrôle du transport aérien. Le but principal de cette opération consistait encore à fournir un appui à l’ambassadeur pour ses déplacements.

Le 6 décembre, l’opération Legation a pris fin quand ses tâches ont été transférées à l’opération Assurance, désormais en cours.