Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation LIANE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

LIANE

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Mission in Liberia

International Mission Name: United Nations Mission in Liberia (UNMIL)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Liberia

Mission Date: 19 September 2003 - Present

Mission Mandate: United Nations Security Council Resolution 1509, 19 September 2003

The United Nations Mission in Liberia (UNMIL) was created by Security Council Resolution 1509 on 19 September 2003, as a Chapter VII operation. UNMIL’s mandate includes a long list of duties, but can be summarized as supporting:

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Liberia, a small poor West African nation, was founded by freed African-American slaves. The descendants of these freemen form about 5 percent of the country’s population, which includes at least 16 indigenous ethnic groups, but it was the Americo-Liberians who maintained power until 1980, when Master Sergeant Samuel Doe staged a bloody coup. This began a period of violence that lasted until 2003 and saw more than 200,000 civilians killed, more than 900,000 seeking refuge in neighbouring countries, children forced to serve as soldiers, and ever-increasing levels of human rights abuses, corruption and ethnic tension.

One coup attempt against Doe failed in November 1985. Another led by Charles Taylor from the territory of the Ivory Coast, began in 1989 and precipitated a seven-year-long civil war which itself served as an impetus for entirely new guerrilla groups to form. A cease-fire was finally arranged in August 1996, but fighting erupted again in August 1999 when the Liberians United for Reconciliation and Democracy (LURD) and the Movement for Democracy in Liberia (MODEL) spearheaded attacks against the government. In June 2003, with assistance from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) a truce appeared to be holding. After considerable international pressure, Charles Taylor finally stepped down. West African mediators called for a UN-led peacekeeping mission. The Security Council authorized the UN Mission in Liberia (UNMIL) on 19 September 2003.

UNMIL was not the first UN mission in Liberia. In 1993, the UN Observer Mission in Liberia (UNOMIL) was tasked to support the ECOWAS Military Observer group (ECOMOG) in implementing the 1993 Cotonou Peace Agreement, which took until 1996 to implement.

At the time that UNMIL was created there were 3500 ECOWAS Mission in Liberia (ECOMIL) troops in Liberia. Composed of soldiers from eight West African countries, ECOMIL was not prepared to run a UN mission of 15,000 troops. The Stand-by High-Readiness Brigade (SHIRBRIG) was requested to provide a headquarters component for UNMIL during the transition from ECOMIL to UNMIL. The SHIRBRIG personnel would augment the UN Interim Headquarters until the main UN force headquarters arrived, which was tentatively scheduled for 1 November 2003. SHIRBRIG would then leave Liberia around 6 November.

(SHIRBRIG is composed of nine full participant European nations and Canada. Five other European nations are also participants, while five other nations, including one each from Africa, Asia and South American are observers.)

SHIRBRIG was scheduled to provide 35 personnel across the spectrum of headquarters responsibilities. The personnel rendezvoused in Copenhagen before deploying to Monrovia, the Liberian capital, on 23 September. They then began transferring responsibility from ECOMIL to the UN, with the UN taking full responsibility for peacekeeping on 1 October.

Despite the peace agreement, tension in Monrovia remained high and fighting broke out on 1 October, when the UN was blamed for allowing LURD leader Sekou Conneh into the city, an event that sparked rock throwing and then escalated. The fighting stopped within a day. Disagreements between LURD and the Liberian interim leader, Gyude Bryant, also resulted in interference with UN humanitarian operations, a clear hint that events could become violent.

ECOMIL troops were rehatted (given blue berets) on 1 October 2003. Troops from other nations arrived slowly, but by February 2004, UNMIL had reached its authorized strength and disarmament and reintegration programmes were well underway.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (LIANE)

Name: LIANE

Date: 18 September 2003 - 21 November 2003

In September 2003, four Canadian personnel deployed with the SHIRBRIG headquarters under the Canadian mission name of Operation LIANE. After conducting in-clearances and mission planning the four personnel deployed to Monrovia, Liberia on 23 September. Two officers (a lieutenant-colonel and a captain) filled the positions of G1 and G3 Plans (Administration and Operational Plans). Two non-commissioned members provided security assistance.

After setting up the headquarters and later turning over responsibilities to the UNMIL permanent headquarters, the lieutenant-colonel returned to Copenhagen on 3 November. The remaining three Canadians remained in Liberia at the request of UNMIL and finished their duties on 14 November. They were back in Canada on 21 November.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) LIANE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

LIANE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission des Nations unies au Libéria

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission des Nations unies au Libéria (MINUL)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Libéria

Date: 19 septembre 2003 - Présent

Mandat de la mission: Résolution 1509 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies (19 septembre 2003)

La Mission des Nations unies au Libéria (MINUL) a été créée par la résolution 1509 du Conseil de sécurité le 19 septembre 2003, une opération en vertu du chapitre VII. Le mandat de la MINUL comprenait une longue liste de tâches qui peuvent se résumer ainsi espace :

Historique de la mission:

Le Libéria, un petit pays pauvre de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, a été fondé par les esclaves afro-américains libérés. Leurs descendants constituent environ cinq pour cent de la population du pays, qui regroupe au moins 16 groupes ethniques indigènes. Les Américano-Libériens ont gardé le pouvoir jusqu’en 1980, quand le sergent capitaine Samuel Doe a pris le pouvoir par un coup d’état sanglant. C’est alors qu’a commencé une période de violence qui s’est poursuivie jusqu’en 2003, pendant laquelle plus de 200 000 civils ont été tués et plus de 900 000 autres ont cherché refuge dans les pays voisins. Des enfants ont été enrôlés de force et la gravité des violations des droits de la personne, de la corruption et des tensions ethniques n’a cessé d’augmenter.

En novembre 1985, un coup d’état contre Doe a échoué. En 1989, un autre coup d’état, dirigé par Charles Taylor à partir de la Côte d’Ivoire, a précipité le pays dans une guerre civile de sept ans dont ont émergé de nouveaux groupes de guérilla. En août 1996, on a convenu d’un cessez-le-feu, mais les affrontements ont repris en août 1999, lorsque le Liberians United for Reconciliation and Democracy (LURD – Libériens unis pour la réconciliation et la démocratie) et le Movement for Democracy in Liberia (MODEL – Mouvement pour la démocratie au Libéria) ont lancé des attaques contre le gouvernement. En juin 2003, avec l’aide la Communauté économique des États de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (CEDEAO), on a réussi à établir une trêve qui semblait tenir. Devant les pressions internationales considérables, Charles Taylor a enfin cédé la place. Les médiateurs ouest-africains ont demandé aux Nations Unies de mettre en œuvre une mission de maintien de la paix. Le 19 septembre 2003, le Conseil de sécurité a donné le feu vert à la MINUL.

La MINUL n’était pas la première mission des Nations unies au Libéria. En 1993, la Mission d’observation des Nations unies au Libéria (MONUL) était chargée d’aider le Groupe d’observateurs militaires de la CEDEAO (ECOMOG) dans la mise en œuvre de l’Accord de paix de Cotonou de 1993, ce qui n’a pu être accompli avant 1996.

Au moment de la création de la MINUL, 3 500 soldats étaient déployés au Libéria dans le cadre de la Mission de la CEDEAO au Libéria (ECOMIL). Regroupant des soldats de huit pays de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, l’ECOMIL n’était pas en mesure de diriger une mission des Nations unies de 15 000 militaires. On a demandé à la Brigade multinationale d'intervention rapide des forces en attente des Nations unies (BIRFA) d’installer le quartier général de la MINUL pendant la transition entre l’ECOMIL et la MINUL. Le personnel de la BIRFA s’ajoutait à celui du quartier général temporaire des Nations unies jusqu’à l’arrivée du personnel du quartier général de la MINUL, qui était prévu le 1er novembre 2003. La BIRFA quitterait ensuite le Libéria vers le 6 novembre.

(Neuf pays européens et le Canada participent à part entière à la BIRFA. Cinq autres pays européens y prennent également part, alors que cinq pays d’autres continents, dont un d’Afrique, un d’Asie et un d’Amérique du Sud, tiennent le rôle d’observateurs.)

La BIRFA devait fournir 35 militaires de manière à couvrir l’ensemble des postes d’un quartier général. Le personnel s’est regroupé à Copenhague avant de se déployer à Monrovia le 23 septembre. Il a alors entamé le transfert des responsabilités de l’ECOMIL aux Nations unies, qui devaient prendre en charge tout le maintien de la paix le 1er octobre.

Malgré l’accord de paix, les tensions étaient élevées à Monrovia. Les affrontements ont éclaté le 1er octobre, quand les Nations unies ont été pointées du doigt pour avoir laissé le dirigeant du LURD, Sekou Conneh, entrer dans la ville, ce qui a provoqué des tirs de pierres, puis des combats plus violents. Ces combats n’ont toutefois duré qu’une journée. Les désaccords entre le LURD et le dirigeant intérimaire du Libéria, Gyude Bryant, ont aussi interféré avec les opérations humanitaires des Nations unies, ce qui laissait présager une vague de violence.

Le 1er octobre 2003, les militaires de l’ECOMIL ont reçu des bérets bleus. Les militaires d’autres pays ont commencé à arriver peu à peu, et la MINUL a atteint ses effectifs autorisés en février 2004. Les programmes de désarmement et de réintégration suivaient leur cours.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (LIANE)

Nom: LIANE

Date: 18 septembre 2003 - 21 novembre 2003

En septembre 2003, quatre militaires canadiens ont été déployés au quartier général de la BIRFA dans le cadre d'une mission canadienne nommée Opération Liane. Après avoir réglé les formalités d’arrivée et planifié la mission, ces militaires se sont rendus à Monrovia, au Libéria, le 23 septembre. Deux officiers (un lieutenant-colonel et un capitaine) ont occupé les postes de G1 et de G3 (administration et plans opérationnels), alors que deux militaires du rang assuraient la sécurité.

Après la mise en place du quartier général, le lieutenant-colonel a cédé ses responsabilités au quartier général permanent de la MINUL, puis est retourné à Copenhague le 3 novembre. Les trois autres Canadiens sont restés au Libéria et ont occupé leurs postes jusqu’au 14 novembre, à la demande de la MINUL. Le 21 novembre, ils étaient de retour au Canada.