Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Libya 1986

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Libya 1986

International Information

International Operation Name: Libya 1986

International Mission Name: Libya 1986

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Libya

On 4 April 1986, Libyan agents, with the help of two East German women, manufactured a bomb following instructions from the Libyan Embassy in East Berlin. The next day the women crossed into West Berlin, planted the bomb in a discotheque known to be frequented by American soldiers, and left. The bomb detonated at 1:30 AM on 6 April, causing three deaths and over 200 injuries. The next day the Libyan Embassy in East Berlin notified Libyan intelligence headquarters in Tripoli of the mission. This and other messages were intercepted and decoded by the United States government.

In retaliation for this and other attacks organized by Libya, the United States government decided to attack Benghazi and Tripoli on the night of 15/16 April. Over 100 aircraft from the United States Navy and United States Air Force took part in the attack on military targets and terrorist training bases that started at 2:00 AM Libyan time and lasted about 12 minutes. One USAF F-111 was lost, while accurate Libyan casualty figures are not available.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Libya 1986)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

On order, to evacuate Canadian citizens in the wake of the American attacks on the night of 15/16 April 1986.

Mission Date: 17 April 1986 - 20 April 1986

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In the aftermath of the attack, the Canadian government was concerned that foreigners might be targeted in Libya. Accordingly, three CC-130 Hercules from 426 Squadron, on training missions, where held up at CFB Lahr, Germany, pending a possible evacuation of Canadian citizens from Libya. After several days, the aircraft were allowed to continue on their training missions. Although no precise dates have been found, the best estimate is that the dates were in the period 17 to 20 April.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Libye 1986

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Libye 1986

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Libye 1986

Nom de la mission internationale: Libye 1986

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Libye

Le 4 avril, 1986, des agents libyens, avec l’aide de deux femmes venant de l’Allemagne de l'Est, fabriquaient une bombe en suivant des instructions reçues de l’ambassade libyenne à Berlin-Est. Le lendemain, ces femmes traversaient à Berlin-Ouest et placaient la bombe dans une discothèque connue pour sa clientèle américaine. La bombe détonna à 1 h 30 le 6 avril, tuant trois personnes et en blessant plus de 200 autres. Le jour suivant, l’ambassade libyenne à Berlin-Est communiqua les résultats de la mission à l’état-major du renseignement libyen à Tripoli. Ce message et plusieurs autres furent interceptés par les États-Unis.

En représailles pour cette attaque et d'autres actes d'hostilité organisés par le Libye, le gouvernement américain a décidé d'attaquer Benghazi et Tripoli durant les nuits du 15 et 16 août 1986. Plus de 100 avions de l'United States Navy et de l'United States Air Force participèrent à l’attaque de cibles militaires et de bases d’entraînement terroriste à compter de 2 h 00, temps de la Libye, attaque qui dura approximativement douze minutes. La seule perte des Américains fut celle d’un F-111 de l'USAF. Un compte exact des pertes libyennes n’est pas disponible.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Libye 1986)

Date: 17 avril 1986 - 20 avril 1986

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Ordre d'évacuer des citoyens canadiens après l’attaque américaine des nuits du 15 et 16 avril 1986.

Historique de la mission:

Après l’attaque, le gouvernement canadien craignait que les étrangers résidant en Libye pourraient être victimes d'agressions. En conséquence, trois CC-130 Hercules du 426e Escadron, alors en mission d’entraînement, durent rester à la BFC Lahr en Allemagne afin de pouvoir évacuer rapidement les citoyens canadiens en Lybie si besoin était. Après quelques jours, les avions reçurent l’ordre de retourner à leur mission d’entraînement. Aucune date exacte n’est disponible, mais nous estimons que ces opérations prirent place entre le 17 et le 20 avril.