Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MATADOR

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MATADOR

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Transition Assistance Group Namibia

International Mission Name: United Nations Transition Assistance Group Namibia (UNTAG)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Namibia

Mission Date: 16 February 1989 - 21 March 1990

Mission Mandate:

UNTAG was established in accordance with Resolution 632 (1989) of 16 February 1989, to assist the Special Representative of the Secretary-General to ensure the early independence of Namibia through free and fair elections under the supervision and control of the United Nations. UNTAG was also to help the Special Representative to ensure that: all hostile acts were ended; troops were confined to base, and, in the case of the South Africans, ultimately withdrawn from Namibia; all discriminatory laws were repealed, political prisoners were released, Namibian refugees were permitted to return, intimidation of any kind was prevented, and law and order were impartially maintained.

Mission/Operation Notes:

After the First World War, the German colony of South-West Africa, which had been captured by the then Union of South Africa, became a mandate of the League of Nations, the mandate authority being delegated to South Africa. After the Second World War, South Africa made repeated requests of the United Nations to be allowed to annex the territory. At the same time, South Africa refused to place the territory under United Nations Trusteeship. South Africa agreed in 1975 to work towards granting Namibia independence, an agreement being reached on 10 April 1978; however, it took a further ten years (16 February 1989) before a means was found to implement the agreement. To a large degree, it was the actions of the South West Africa People’s Organization (SWAPO) and their guerrilla campaign that forced South Africa’s hand. The UN had recognized SWAPO as the legitimate voice of the people of Namibia. At the height of the conflict, South Africa had deployed over 30,000 troops into Namibia.

The United Nations Transition Assistance Group (UNTAG) had been proposed in the 1978 agreement. When finally implemented in February 1989 it was assumed that UNTAG could be in place by 1 April, but delays in obtaining Security Council approval and firm financing pushed that date back, so that only 291 observers were in place by that date. The first infantry battalion began to arrive two weeks later, and it was not until 1 May that the entire force of 4,493 was deployed. (Besides the 300 observers, the major components were three infantry battalions, two logistics units, and engineer, signals, and medical units, as well as a medium helicopter and medium air transport unit.)

UNTAG was fundamentally a political mission aimed at producing conditions that would allow for free and fair elections in Namibia. It had three separate components, drawn from twenty-two countries. The 1500-strong civilian component’s main tasks were to oversee the return of refugees and to prepare for the elections. The role of the police component, which included one hundred members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, was to ensure that the South West Africa Police, an organization with a heavy South African influence, fulfilled their duties in an efficient, professional and non-partisan manner.

The military force’s role was to monitor the cease-fire and the withdrawal of South African forces, confine SWAPO military forces to bases, and maintain some degree of surveillance of Namibia’s borders. As SWAPO’s bases were outside Namibia, mainly in Angola, UNTAG personnel were also required to operate in that country. There had already been violations of the cease-fire when the UNTAG infantry battalion arrived, as SWAPO personnel had crossed the border overnight to engage South African military force and the South West Africa Police. Lacking both vehicles and communications equipment, the UNTAG observers who were first in the area could do very little to monitor these events, but once the full military contingent was in place there was relatively good progress. South Africa worked hard to meet the schedule: the South West African Territorial force was demobilised by 27 May, while its military force achieved their mandated withdrawal by 24 June.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MATADOR)

Name: MATADOR

Date: 14 March 1989 - 21 March 1990

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada’s participation in UNTAG dated back to the five-nation contact group that attempted to mediate a South African withdrawal from South West Africa throughout the 1980s. Once negotiations bore fruit, however, the Canadian military contribution, designated Operation MIRADOR, was assembled very quickly. Following official notification from the UN on 10 February 1989, the advance party was in place in Namibia on 14 March, while the main contingent would follow in April. It comprised several new units specific to the tasking. Three were created on 11 April 1989: a Canadian Contingent United Nations Transition Group (CCUNTAG) was formed as the headquarters, supported by the Canadian Element UNTAG, and 89 Canadian Logistics Unit (89 CLU). A fourth unit, 89 Canadian Air Transport Unit (89 CATU) was formed on 24 May 1989 to meet the UN’s requirement for medium airlift.

The main Op MATADOR contingent began to gather at CFB Petawawa on 20 March. Although 89 CLU would be formed primarily from 2 Service Battalion, support personnel came from across Canada and the unit would include nineteen reservists. Sixteen of the 253-strong contingent would serve for one year; the rest would have six month rotations. They and their lighter equipment were airlifted to Namibia by 436 and 437 Squadrons between 12 April and 7 May; heavier equipment (80 sea containers, 47 vehicles, and 600 tonnes of other cargo) was shipped on two merchant vessels, arriving at Walvis Bay on 4 May, whence it was transferred by rail to Windhoek.

With its main base in Windhoek, the capital, and a detachment at Ketmanshoop (500 km to the south), 89 CLU supported all military, police, and civilian UNTAG personnel in the southern half of Namibia. Co-operating with the Poles, 89 CLU established a major warehousing system and then ensured timely delivery of supplies to a far-flung network of units and locations. It also provided first- and second-line maintenance for the mission’s vehicles. Ten military police served with the UN’s 71-strong MP contingent, which operated throughout the territory, while individual Canadians filled staff positions at UNTAG HQ, including the chief liaison officer between UNTAG and the South African Defence Force. 89 CATU, formed from 429 Squadron, provided two CC-130 Hercules aircraft to transport personnel and supplies to northern Namibia and Angola. Supported by the Polish logistics company and a ten-person MP detachment (four were Canadian), 89 CATU operated from Grootfontein, 500 km north of Windhoek, in May and June 1989, when it was replaced by a Spanish detachment.

September 1989 saw the first rotation of Canadian personnel, with a contingent based on 1 Service Battalion (Calgary) replacing that provided by 2 Service Battalion. They would remain until mid-January 1990, when UNTAG began to draw down. The last of the 600 Canadians to serve on Operation MATADOR departed when the UN mission itself closed on 21 March 1990. It had been a success: free and fair elections, with heavy turnout and no reports of violence, were held between 7 and 11 November and the transfer of power that followed proceeded smoothly.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MATADOR

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MATADOR

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Groupe d'assistance des Nations Unies pour la période de transition en Namibie

Nom de la mission internationale: Groupe d'assistance des Nations Unies pour la période de transition en Namibie (UNTAG)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Namibie

Date: 16 février 1989 - 21 mars 1990

Mandat de la mission:

Le Groupe d’assistance des Nations Unies pour la période de transition (GANUPT), établi conformément à la résolution 632 (1989) adoptée le 16 février 1989, avait pour mandat d’aider le Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général à réaliser rapidement l’indépendance de la Namibie grâce à des élections libres et honnêtes, sous la supervision et le contrôle des Nations Unies. Ce groupe devait également conjuguer ses efforts à ceux du Représentant spécial pour s’assurer que toutes les hostilités avaient cessé, que les troupes étaient confinées dans leurs bases et, dans le cas des troupes sud-africaines, qu'elles se retireraient en fin de compte de la Namibie, que toutes les lois discriminatoires étaient abrogées, les prisonniers politiques, relâchés et les réfugiés namibiens, autorisés à rentrer chez eux, que tout acte d’intimidation.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Après la Première Guerre mondiale, la colonie allemande du Sud Ouest africain, conquise par les troupes sud africaines, a été placée sous l’égide de la Société des Nations, qui a confié à l’Afrique du Sud le mandat de la gouverner. À la suite de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, l’Afrique du Sud a demandé à plusieurs reprises à l’ONU l’autorisation d’annexer ce territoire. Parallèlement, les autorités sud africaines refusaient de mettre le territoire sous la tutelle des Nations Unies. L’Afrique du Sud a finalement accepté en 1975 d’œuvrer en faveur de l’indépendance de la Namibie, suivant un accord conclu le 10 avril 1978; toutefois, il a fallu encore 10 ans pour que les parties parviennent à s’entendre sur la façon d’appliquer l’accord (16 février 1989). Dans une large mesure, ce sont les actions de l’Organisation du peuple du Sud Ouest africain (SWAPO) et sa campagne de guérilla qui ont contraint l’Afrique du Sud à abdiquer. L’ONU a alors reconnu la SWAPO comme représentante légitime du peuple namibien. Au point culminant du conflit, plus de 30 000 militaires sud africains occupaient la Namibie.

L’accord de 1978 avait déjà proposé la création du Groupe d’assistance des Nations Unies pour la période de transition (GANUPT). Quand l’accord est enfin entré en vigueur en février 1989, on présumait que cette mission arriverait dans le pays avant le 1er avril, mais des retards pour obtenir l’aval du Conseil de sécurité et les crédits nécessaires ont repoussé l’échéance, de sorte que seulement 291 observateurs se trouvaient sur place à cette date. Le premier bataillon d’infanterie a commencé à arriver deux semaines plus tard, et c'est seulement le 1er mai que l'ensemble du contingent de 4 493 membres a été déployé. (En plus des 300 observateurs, il comprenait principalement trois bataillons d’infanterie, deux unités de logistique, des unités du génie et des transmissions et des unités médicales, ainsi qu’une unité d’hélicoptères moyens et une unité de transport aérien de taille moyenne.)

Il s’agissait fondamentalement d’une mission politique visant à instaurer les conditions indispensables à la tenue d’élections libres et démocratiques en Namibie. Le GANUPT comportait trois composantes distinctes, dont les éléments provenaient de 22 pays. Les tâches des 1 500 membres de la composante civile consistaient à superviser le retour des réfugiés et à préparer les élections. Quant au corps de police, qui regroupait cent agents de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada, il était chargé de veiller à ce que les policiers locaux, très marqués culturellement par l’influence de l’Afrique du Sud, exercent leurs fonctions de manière efficace, professionnelle et non partisane.

Les membres du contingent militaire devaient pour leur part surveiller l’application du cessez le feu et le retrait des troupes sud africaines, confiner les troupes de la SWAPO dans leurs bases et assurer une certaine surveillance aux frontières. Étant donné que les bases de la SWAPO se trouvaient en dehors de la Namibie et surtout en Angola, les membres du GANUPT devaient aussi travailler dans ce pays. Il y avait déjà eu des violations du cessez le feu avant l’arrivée du bataillon d’infanterie, des troupes de la SWAPO ayant franchi de nuit la frontière pour attaquer des soldats sud africains et des agents du corps de police du Sud-Ouest africain. Faute de véhicules et de moyens de communication, les observateurs du GANUPT, qui étaient les premiers rendus dans la région, n’ont pas pu faire grand chose pour contrôler la situation, mais une fois le contingent militaire déployé au complet, la situation s’est améliorée progressivement. L’Afrique du Sud a fait de gros efforts pour respecter l’échéancier : les membres de la force territoriale du Sud Ouest africain ont été démobilisés le 27 mai, tandis que les militaires sud africains ont achevé leur retrait obligatoire le 24 juin.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MATADOR)

Nom: MATADOR

Date: 14 mars 1989 - 21 mars 1990

Historique de la mission:

La participation du Canada au GANUPT remonte à la mise sur pied d’un groupe de contact réunissant cinq pays qui, tout au long des années 80, a tenté de négocier le retrait des Sud Africains hors de la Namibie. Après l’aboutissement des négociations, on a rassemblé très vite le contingent militaire canadien, déployé sous le nom d’opération Mirador. Une fois l’avis officiel transmis par l’ONU le 10 février 1989, le détachement précurseur est arrivé en Namibie le 14 mars, suivie en avril par le gros des troupes, qui comprenait plusieurs nouvelles unités créées spécifiquement pour cette mission. Trois d’entre elles ont été mises sur pied le 11 avril 1989 : le contingent canadien du Groupe d’assistance des Nations Unies pour la période de transition, qui servait de quartier général et était appuyé par l’élément canadien rattaché au GANUPT, et la 89e Unité de logistique du Canada (89 U Log C). On a aussi formé le 24 mai suivant la 89e Unité canadienne de transport aérien (89 UCTA) pour répondre aux besoins de l’ONU en matière de transport aérien moyen.

Le noyau principal du contingent affecté à l’opération Matador a commencé à se rassembler à la BFC Petawawa le 20 mars. La 89 U Log C devait se composer surtout de membres du 2e Bataillon des services, mais le personnel de soutien provenait d’un peu partout au Canada, et l’unité devait inclure 19 réservistes. Seize des 253 soldats du contingent serviraient pendant un an, et les autres, par rotation de 6 mois. Ces militaires et leur équipement léger ont été amenés en Namibie à bord d'avions du 436e et du 437e Escadron entre le 12 avril et le 7 mai; quant à l’équipement plus lourd (80 conteneurs maritimes, 47 véhicules et 600 tonnes de marchandises diverses), on l’a expédié sur deux navires marchands, qui sont arrivés à Walvis Bay le 4 mai, d’où il a été transporté par train jusqu’à Windhoek.

Depuis sa base principale située dans la capitale, Windhoek, et un poste secondaire à Ketmanshoop (500 km au sud), la 89 U Log C fournissait un soutien à l’ensemble des militaires, policiers et civils du GANUPT dans la partie sud de la Namibie. En collaboration avec les Polonais, cette unité, après avoir mis sur pied un système d’entreposage majeur, s’est employée à livrer ponctuellement les marchandises à un réseau étendu d’unités et d’emplacements. Elle assurait également l’entretien de premier et de deuxième échelon des véhicules de la mission. Il y avait 10 policiers militaires canadiens parmi les 71 membres du contingent de la PM de l’ONU qui devait couvrir l’ensemble du territoire, tandis que des Canadiens ont occupé divers postes d’état major au QG GANUPT, dont celui d’officier de liaison principal entre le GANUPT et les Forces armées sud africaines. La 89 UCTA, issue du 429e Escadron, a fourni deux avions CC130 Hercules servant à transporter du personnel et des marchandises dans le Nord de la Namibie et en Angola. Appuyée par la compagnie de logistique polonaise et un détachement de la PM de 10 membres (dont 4 Canadiens), la 89 UCTA était basée en mai et en juin 1989 à Grootfontein, à 500 km au nord de Windhoek; un détachement espagnol est alors venu la remplacer.

La première rotation du personnel canadien s’est produite en septembre 1989, quand un contingent rattaché au 1er Bataillon des services (Calgary) a pris la relève du contingent provenant du 2e Bataillon des services. Ces militaires canadiens sont demeurés en Namibie jusqu’à la mi janvier 1990, quand a débuté le retrait du GANUPT. Les derniers des 600 militaires canadiens ayant participé à l’opération Matador sont partis lorsqu'on a mis fin aux activités de la mission le 21 mars 1990. Cette mission de l’ONU avait été couronnée de succès : elle avait permis la tenue, entre le 7 et le 11 novembre, d’élections libres et équitables, marquées par un fort taux de participation et sans le moindre incident violent, et le transfert subséquent des pouvoirs s’était fait en douceur.