Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MODULE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MODULE

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Accelerated De-mining Program: Mozambique

International Mission Name: United Nations Accelerated De-mining Program: Mozambique (UNADP)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Mozambique

Mission Date: 1 May 1994 - Present

Mission Mandate:

The government of Mozambique and the United Nations Development Program (UNDP) created the United Nations Accelerated Demining Program (UNADP). The mandate of the UNADP is to develop an indigenous mine clearance capability in Mozambique.

From 1976 to 1992 Mozambique was embroiled in a bitter civil war. On 4 October 1992, the Mozambique government and the Mozambique National Resistance (RENAMO) signed a General Peace Agreement. This was followed in early 1993 by a United Nations deployment of peacekeepers and civilians whose tasks included supervision of the peace agreement, demobilizing soldiers and guerrillas, and providing humanitarian assistance. The United Nations Operation in Mozambique (ONUMOZ) also initiated the first demining program for Mozambique.

RENAMO and the government are estimated to have laid about 1 million mines during the civil war. Few maps were kept of where these mines were laid. An estimated 562 square kilometres of the country are affected by mines and unexploded ordnance. Initial mine clearance by ONUMOZ was designed to clear major roads and allow the delivery of humanitarian aid and the return of refugees and internally displaced persons. ONUMOZ also created a programme to train demining technicians and supervisors. In May 1994 the United Nations Office for Humanitarian Assistance Coordination (UNOHAC), created by the UN Security Council as the humanitarian component of ONUMOZ, took over this task, hoping to train 450 Mozambicans by the end of 1994.

When ONUMOZ was terminated on 31 January 1995, the Mozambique government, working with the UN Department of Humanitarian Affairs, created an Accelerated Demining Program (UNADP). The program had a staff of about 500 Mozambicans. In 1995, the Mozambique government created the National Demining Commission to coordinate landmine-related activities. In 1999, the name was changed to the National Demining Institute (IND).

Despite the demining activities, mines remain a serious problem in Mozambique. The United States State Department reported that between 1992 and 1998 landmines created 10,000 victims in the country. In 1987, 43 percent were women and children who had encountered mines while getting water, planting fields and herding animals. The rate of deaths dropped to 25 per year in 2000; however, the floods of February/March 2000 and February/March 2001 shifted landmines, some as far as 20 km from their original locations. Fishermen were catching mines in their nets.

In 1999, the Director of the IND indicated that a survey had identified 791 mined areas and another 1374 suspected areas. These are integrated into a National Mine Action Plan, which itself is a part of the National Mine Action Strategy. The UN ADP is not, however, part of the national program.

International support for the UNADP has involved both military and non-governmental organizations. Militarily, Australia, Canada and New Zealand have sent engineers to Mozambique. New Zealand contributes two military engineers to the UNADP, one as Chief Technical Advisor and one as Training Technical Advisor. Australia withdrew its last two soldiers in early 2002 after an eight-year contribution to the UNADP.

The UNADP had 10 platoons totaling 450 deminers, 15 supervisors, four survey teams, an Explosive Ordnance Disposal team, and demining instructors. The emphasis of the UNADP is on training a fully-developed local mine clearing capability. Since 1992, over 54,000 mines have been removed from 10,570 hectares of land, 7718 kms of road and 1824 kms of power lines.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MODULE)

Name: MODULE

Date: 12 March 1999 - 15 May 2000

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada has been an active participant in the demining effort in Mozambique. The Canadian International Demining Centre, with support from the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA), conducted a survey, the results of which were released in June 2001. A further survey was conducted due to the floods of 2001.

CIDA has also been supporting an integrated mine action project of the Canadian Auto Workers and Co-operation Canada Mozambique. CIDA and the CAW have each provided $1.25 million over three years.

The Canadian Forces have also participated in CIDA’s efforts. In early 1998, at the request of the UNDP, CIDA asked the CF to provide three personnel to the UN ADP for a one-year period. After a reconnaissance was conducted to determine what manner of activity was expected, the Minister of National Defence approved the request in late October 1998.

On 18 March 1999, the tasking order for Operation MODULE was promulgated. One engineer captain, one field engineer warrant officer and one geomatics technician warrant officer were tasked on a one-year posting, under the name Task Force Mozambique. The captain arrived in Mozambique on 11 April while the warrant officers arrived several weeks later.

Once in Mozambique, all three taught courses related to demining and the associated use of computer technology, as well as producing Standing Operating Procedures. The warrant officers also conducted surveys with members of the UN ADP as part of on-the-job training. The captain also visited the mine action centres in Croatia and Kosovo to exchange information and brief these centres on CF activities in Mozambique. After the heavy rains of February and March 2000, the members of Op Module provided information to Canada on the situation in Mozambique, which greatly assisted in the delivery of Canadian humanitarian aid in early March.

The three members of Op Module returned to Canada at staggered intervals, between 31 March and mid-May.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MODULE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MODULE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Programme accéléré de déminage des Nations unies au Mozambique

Nom de la mission internationale: Programme accéléré de déminage des Nations unies au Mozambique (UNADP)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Mozambique

Date: 1 mai 1994 - Présent

Mandat:

Le gouvernement mozambicain et les responsables du Programme des Nations unies pour le développement (PNUD) ont mis sur pied le Programme accéléré de déminage des Nations unies (UNADP). Celui-ci a pour mandat de constituer une capacité mozambicaine de déminage.

De 1976 à 1992, le Mozambique a été plongé dans une terrible guerre civile qui s’est terminée le 4 octobre 1992 après la conclusion d’un Accord général de paix entre le gouvernement mozambicain et la Résistance nationale mozambicaine (RENAMO). Par la suite, au début de 1993, l’ONU a déployé des Casques bleus et des civils pour veiller au respect de l’accord de paix, démobiliser les soldats et les guérilléros et apporter de l’aide humanitaire. L’Opération des Nations unies au Mozambique (ONUMOZ) a également permis d’instaurer le premier programme de déminage pour le Mozambique.

On évalue à environ un million le nombre de mines que la RENAMO et le gouvernement ont posées durant la guerre civile, mais peu de cartes indiquant leurs emplacements ont été gardées. On estime à 562 km²; la superficie du territoire truffé de mines et de munitions non explosées. Le programme initial de déminage de l’ONUMOZ a été établi pour dégager les routes principales et assurer l’aide humanitaire ainsi que le retour des réfugiés et des personnes déplacées. Toujours dans le cadre de l’ONUMOZ, un programme a aussi été créé pour former des techniciens et superviseurs de déminage. En mai 1994, le Bureau des Nations unies pour la coordination de l’aide humanitaire (UNOHAC), la composante humanitaire de l’ONUMOZ créée par le Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU, a pris en charge cette tâche et espérait former 450 Mozambicains avant la fin 1994.

Lorsque l’ONUMOZ s’est achevée le 31 janvier 1995, le gouvernement mozambicain, en collaboration avec le Département des affaires humanitaires de l’ONU, a créé le Programme accéléré de déminage (ADP) auquel ont participé à peu près 500 Mozambicains. En 1995, le gouvernement mozambicain a créé la Commission nationale de déminage pour coordonner les activités relatives aux mines terrestres. Le nom de la Commission a changé en 1999 pour devenir l’Institut national de déminage (IND).

Malgré les efforts de déminage, les mines posent toujours un sérieux problème au Mozambique. Le Département d’État des États-Unis a affirmé qu’entre 1992 et 1998, les mines terrestres ont fait 10 000 victimes dans le pays. En 1987, 43 p. 100 d’entre elles étaient des femmes et des enfants qui étaient allés chercher de l’eau, travaillaient dans les champs ou faisaient paître les animaux. Le taux de décès est tombé à 25 par an en 2000; cependant, les inondations de février-mars 2000 et de février-mars 2001 ont déplacé les mines, certaines jusqu’à 20 km de leur emplacement initial. Même les pêcheurs en trouvaient dans leurs filets.

En 1999, le directeur de l’IND a indiqué qu’un relevé avait révélé la présence de 791 zones qui étaient minées et de 1 374 zones qui, croyait-on, pouvaient l’être. Ces zones sont intégrées au Plan national antimines, qui fait lui-même partie de la Stratégie nationale d’action antimines. L’UNADP, par contre, ne fait pas partie du programme national.

Des organisations militaires et non gouvernementales ont apporté le soutien international à l’UNADP. Sur le plan militaire, l’Australie, le Canada et la Nouvelle-Zélande ont envoyé des ingénieurs au Mozambique. La Nouvelle Zélande a délégué deux ingénieurs militaires : un conseiller technique principal et un conseiller technique en formation. Début 2002, l’Australie a rappelé ses deux derniers soldats après avoir contribué à l'UNADP pendant huit ans.

L’UNADP était formé de 10 pelotons totalisant 450 démineurs, 15 superviseurs, 4 équipes de détection, une équipe de neutralisation des explosifs et munitions et des instructeurs en déminage. L’UNADP met l’accent sur la formation d’une force locale de déminage bien équipée. Depuis 1992, plus de 54 000 mines ont été retirées sur une superficie de 10 570 hectares de terre, sur 7 718 km de route et sur 1 824 km de lignes électriques.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MODULE)

Nom: MODULE

Date: 12 mars 1999 - 15 mai 2000

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Le Canada a participé activement aux efforts de déminage au Mozambique. Le Canadian International Demining Centre, avec l’aide de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI), a fait un relevé dont les résultats ont été publiés en juin 2001. Il y en a eu un autre à la suite des inondations survenues la même année.

L’ACDI a également soutenu un projet intégré d’action antimines des Travailleurs canadiens de l’automobile (TCA) et de Coopération Canada Mozambique. L’ACDI et les TCA ont fourni chacun 1,25 million de dollars sur trois ans.

Les Forces canadiennes ont aussi contribué aux efforts de l’ACDI. Début 1998, à la demande des responsables de l’UNADP, l’ACDI a demandé aux FC de détacher trois personnes auprès de l’UNADP pour un an. Après avoir entrepris une mission de reconnaissance afin de déterminer le genre d’activité à mener, le ministre de la Défense nationale a approuvé la demande à la fin d’octobre 1998.

Le 18 mars 1999, l’ordre d’assignation des fonctions de l’opération Module a été publié. Un capitaine du génie, un adjudant sapeur et un adjudant technicien en géomatique ont été affectés au Mozambique pour une période d’un an sous le nom de Force opérationnelle au Mozambique. Le capitaine est arrivé le 11 avril et les adjudants quelques semaines plus tard.

Au Mozambique, les trois ont donné des cours sur le déminage et sur l’utilisation de l’informatique dans ce domaine, ainsi que sur la rédaction d’instructions permanentes d’opération. Les adjudants ont également procédé à des relevés avec des membres de l’UNADP dans le cadre de la formation en cours d’emploi. Le capitaine s’est rendu aussi aux centres d’action antimines en Croatie et au Kosovo pour échanger de l’information et les tenir au courant des activités des FC au Mozambique. Après les fortes pluies de février et mars 2000, les membres de l’opération Module ont fait rapport sur la situation au Mozambique. Le Canada a répondu promptement en envoyant, au début de mars, de l'aide humanitaire.

Les trois membres de l’opération Module sont rentrés au Canada entre le 31 mars et la mi-mai.