Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation CROCODILE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Information

International Operation Name: Mission de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en République démocratique du Congo (MONUSCO) – (United Nations Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo)

International Mission Name: Mission de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en République démocratique du Congo (MONUSCO) – (United Nations Stabilization Mission in the Democratic Republic of the Congo)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Congo

Mission Date: 30 June 2010 - Ongoing

Mission Mandate:

MONUSCO is a follow-on mission that evolved from the United Nations Organization Mission in the Democratic Republic of Congo, better known as the Mission de l’Organisation des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo or MONUC. MONUSCO was created by U.N. Security Council Resolution 1925 of 28 May 2010 in recognition of the fact that the situation in the DRC had matured into a stabilization phase.

MONUSCO has a mandate to monitor implementation of the arms embargo imposed in U.N. Security Council Resolution 1896 of 30 November 2009, and to seize or collect materials that violate the ban. The mission also provides technical and logistical support to national and local elections within the limits of its capacities and resources, but only when asked to do so by DRC authorities.

The new mission has been authorized to use all necessary means to carry out its mandate relating, among other things, to the protection of civilians, humanitarian personnel and human rights defenders under imminent threat of physical violence and to support the Government of the DRC in its stabilization and peace consolidation efforts.

United Nations Security Council Resolution 1258, 6 August 1999
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1279, 30 November 1999
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1291, 24 February 2000 (including Chapter VII provisions)
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1565, 1 October 2004 (Chapter VII).
United Nations Security Council Resolution 1925, 28 May 2010

Canadian Operation

Operation CROCODILE 26 September 1999 - Ongoing

Mission Notes:

The current conflict in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC – formerly Zaire) began in 1994, but its origins run deeper and more linked to events outside the country. Following the civil war in Rwanda, Hutu militaias aimed at regaining power there found refuge in neighbouring countries. When in 1994, Mobutu Sese Seko, the President of Zaire, offered formal Congolese support to these militias, the Congolese rebel leader Laurent Kabila, Paul Kagame of the Rwandan Patriotic Army and Yoweri Museveni of Uganda formed an alliance to unseat the President. The men under Kabila’s command and Kagame’s force were predominantly Tutsi, the Hutus main foe in Rwanda.

After defeating the Mobutu-supported Hutus, the alliance turned towards Mobutu, deposing the dictator in May 1997. Kabila assumed power on 17 May and then decided to expel the forces that helped bring him into power. On 2 August 1998, Kabila attacked the Rwandan forces in eastern DRC. This threatened the Tutsis of the region as they relied upon the Rwandan military to keep hostile armed groups under control. These groups were primarily from other ethnic groups.

Both Kagame and Museveni backed new rebel groups including the Congolese Rally for Democracy (CRD), a Tutsi dominated guerrilla group. Kabila in turn invited Angola, Chad, Namibia and Zimbabwe to assist him. By the end of 1998, the CRD controlled one-third of the DRC. The fighting also brought other ethnic groups into conflict.

International and regional pressure brought all parties to the negotiating table. On 10 July 1999, in Lusaka, Zambia, all nations involved in the conflict and most of the guerrilla groups signed the Lusaka Cease-fire Agreement. A multinational force, controlled by a Joint Military Commission (JMC) and representing the signatories to the agreement, would effect the disarming of all armed groups in the DRC. The UN Security Council on 6 August authorized the deployment of up to 90 UN military liaison officers (UNMLOs) to assist in implementing the accord (Resolution 1258). The UNMLOs deployed in the six nations that were signatories to the Lusaka Agreement. Unfortunately, neither the UNMLOs nor the JMC were able to bring about a stable cease-fire.

As a result, the Security Council decided that greater support was required. On 30 November 1999, Resolution 1279 authorized the Mission de l'Organisation des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo (MONUC). [Note: some UN public statements prior to 30 November refer to the UNMLO mission as MONUC; however, the mission was only identified by the Security Council as MONUC as of 30 November.] A force of 500 unarmed UN Military Observers (UNMOs) were deployed to the DRC. Again, neither MONUC nor the JMC were able to bring stability to the DRC. Almost from the start, each side accused the other of breaking the cease-fire and violating the Lusaka Agreement. Resolution 1291 of 24 February 2000 increased MONUC to 5,537 personnel, including the 500 UNMOs.

Ethnic-based fighting continued in eastern and northeastern DRC. New factions appeared and began fighting. In Ituri, the Hema and Lendu attacked each other, a problem that was to expand in 2003. There was nevertheless one bright spot. By September 2002, the Secretary-General was able to state that foreign troops had withdrawn and that the situation in the DRC had passed beyond the Lusaka Agreement. In early December 2002, the Security Council authorized an expansion of MONUC to 8,700 military personnel, followed by eight Congolese parties signing an agreement in late December to create and operate a transitional government; however, the agreement was of limited value. As the foreign troops withdrew, local warlords began to re-establish themselves throughout the DRC. Through 2002 and 2003, these warlords began attacking each other, renewing the humanitarian problem of displaced persons.

In the Ituri region of northeast DRC this created a significant problem, requiring the intervention of the UN authorized Interim Emergency Multinational Force between June and the end of August 2003. Ugandan troops had increased their presence in the region after they had initially withdrawn. When they withdrew again in May 2003, a power vacuum created a situation of anarchy and violence. In the Kivu region of eastern DRC, two renegade Congolese army commanders fought government forces, with both sides committing human rights violations and atrocities. Three different ethnic groups were involved, including the Banyamulenge ethnic group (of Tutsi origin), whom the rebel commanders were claiming to protect.

On 1 October 2004, the Security Council authorized an increase in MONUC’s strength to 16,700, although by the end of December the actual strength was only 12,600. MONUC was now authorized under Chapter VII to inspect aircraft and transport vehicles using the airfields, border crossings, military bases and ports in North and South Kivu, and in Ituri. MONUC could use all necessary means to carry out its mandate, which included protecting civilians and collecting arms and war materiel in Ituri and Kivu found in violation of international sanctions.

This has had little effect in some regions as the Hema and Lendu militias in Ituri in December 2004 and January 2005 continued fighting but away from the MONUC presence. MONUC’s presence in North Kivu did prevent an armed attack in mid-December 2004, when Paklistani MONUC forces repelled armed attackers infiltrating from Rwanda.

The International Rescue Committee has estimated that 3.3 million people have died in the DRC since June 1998, while the UN estimates that 2.7 million people have become displaced or become refugees. Agreements are signed and then broken, while ethnic-based factional fighting continues to be a grave concern. The transitional government has been unable to disarm these groups and MONUC’s presence and strength cannot encompass every area where violence can occur.

Canadian participation in the DRC began in September 1999. On 26 September a Canadian Forces colonel arrived in Kinshasa to assist in the creation of the headquarters for the 90 UNMLOs. The formal announcement of Canada’s participation was made on 7 October, at which time it was stated that Canada could provide up to ten UNMLOs. The colonel then filled the position of Deputy Chief of Staff, Operations until replaced in early 2000.

Canada continued to fill this position as MONUC expanded. A major was also in theatre working in MONUC headquarters in the position of Staff Officer Operations and Plans. This did not mean that either officer was stuck in this office. In May 2000, the colonel intervened in the fighting between Rwandan and Ugandan forces in eastern DRC that had resulted in significant civilian deaths. The major also traveled often as an UNMO. Up to March 2001, they were the only two Canadians in MONUC; however, at the request of the UN the number was subsequently increased.

On 15 March 2001, four of a group of eight CF officers departed for MONUC. The first four joined the two already in theatre, and filled staff positions at MONUC headquarters.

Task Force Democratic Republic of the Congo (TF DRC) is the Canadian contingent in MONUSCO. Its nine members include staff officers with expertise in fields such as law, information operations and training, and a senior non-commissioned member who handles all national support tasks. The staff officers are divided between MONUSCO Headquarters in Kinshasa and its eastern sector headquarters in Goma.

On 31 December 2010, MONUSCO had troops from 52 nations and police from 25 nations. At that time, mission strength stood at:

• 17,129 military personnel in formed units;

• 714 United Nations Military Observers (UNMOs);

• 1,262 police (including formed units);

• 948 international civilian personnel;

• 2,782 local civilian staff; and

• 599 United Nations Volunteers.

Future reconfigurations of MONUSCO will be determined as the situation evolved on the ground, including: the completion of ongoing military operations in North and South Kivu as well as Orientale provinces; improved government capacity to protect the population effectively; and the consolidation of State authority throughout the territory.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) CROCODILE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en République démocratique du Congo (MONUSCO)

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission de l'Organisation des Nations Unies pour la stabilisation en République démocratique du Congo (MONUSCO)

Organisme responsable: L’Organisation des Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Congo

Date: 1 juillet 2010 - En cours

Mandat:

La MONUSCO est une mission de suivi qui a été formée à partir de la Mission de l’Organisation des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo (MONUC). La MONUSCO a été créée par la résolution 1925 du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU, adoptée le 28 mai 2010 en reconnaissance du fait que la situation en République démocratique du Congo a évolué dans une phase de stabilisation.

La MONUSCO a le mandate de surveiller la mise en œuvre de l’embargo sur les armes imposé par la résolution 1896 du Conseil de sécurité de l’ONU, adoptée le 30 novembre 2009 et de confisquer tout matériel visé par l’interdiction. La mission vise aussi à assurer un soutien technique et logistique aux élections nationales et locales dans les limites de ses capacités et ressources, et ce, à la demande des autorités de la RDC.

La nouvelle Mission a été autorisée à utiliser tous les moyens nécessaires pour s’acquitter de son mandat, à savoir notamment garantir la protection des civils, du personnel humanitaire et des défenseurs des droits de l’homme exposés à une menace imminente de violences physiques, et aider le gouvernement de la RDC à stabiliser et à consolider la paix.

Résolution 1258 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le 6 août 1999
Résolution 1279 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le 30 novembre 1999
Résolution 1291 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le 24 février 2000 (y compris les dispositions du Chapitre VII)
Résolution 1565 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le 1er octobre 2004 (Chapitre VII)
Résolution 1925 du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, le 28 mai 2010

Opération canadienne:

Opération Crocodile À partir du 26 septembre 1999 – En cours

Notes de mission:

Le conflit actuel dans la République démocratique du Congo (RDC – anciennement le Zaïre) a commencé en 1994, mais ses origines sont plus profondes et liées à des événements qui se déroulent à l’extérieur du pays. Après la guerre civile au Rwanda, les milices Hutu qui voulaient regagner le pouvoir là-bas ont trouvé refuge dans les pays avoisinants. Lorsque, en 1994, Mobutu Sese Seko, le président du Zaïre, a offert le soutien officiel du Congo à ces milices, le chef des rebelles congolais, Laurent Kabila, Paul Kagame, de l’Armée patriotique du Rwanda et Yoweri Museveni, de l’Ouganda, ont formé une alliance en vue de renverser le président. Les hommes dirigés par Kabila et la force de Kagame étaient principalement Tutsi, les principaux ennemis des Hutus au Rwanda.

Après avoir défait les Hutus soutenus par Mobutu, l’alliance s’est attaqué à Mobutu, renversant le dictateur en 1997. Kabila, après avoir pris le pouvoir le 17 mai, a décidé d’expulser les forces qui l’avaient aidé. Le 2 août 1998, il a attaqué les forces rwandaises dans l’est de la RDC. Cela a menacé les Tutsis de la région, qui comptaient sur la force militaire rwandaise pour garder le contrôle des groupes armés hostiles. Ces groupes étaient principalement composés de membres d’autres origines ethniques.

Kagame et Museveni ont tous deux appuyé les nouveaux groupes rebelles, y compris le Rassemblement congolais pour la démocratie (RCD), un groupe de guérilla dominé par les Tutsis. À son tour, Kabila a invité l’Angola, le Tchad, la Namibie et le Zimbabwe à l’aider. À la fin de 1998, le RCD contrôlait le tiers de la RDC. Ces luttes ont aussi provoqué des conflits entre d’autres groupes ethniques.

La pression internationale et régionale a forcé toutes les parties à s’asseoir à la table de négociation. Le 10 juillet 1999, à Lusaka, en Zambie, tous les pays parties au conflit et la plupart des groupes de guérilla ont conclu l’Accord du cessez-le-feu de Lusaka. Une force multinationale, contrôlée par une Commission militaire mixte (CMM) et représentant les signataires de l’Accord, devait se charger du désarmement de tous les groupes armés dans la RDC. Le 6 août, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a autorisé le déploiement de 90 membres du personnel de liaison militaire au maximum pour aider à mettre en œuvre l’Accord (résolution 1258). Le personnel de liaison militaire de l’ONU a été déployé dans les six pays signataires de l’Accord de Lusaka. Malheureusement, ni ce déploiement ni la CMM ne sont parvenus à assurer la stabilité du cessez-le-feu.

Le Conseil de sécurité a donc décidé qu’il fallait renforcer le soutien. Le 30 novembre 1999, la résolution 1279 a autorisé la Mission de l'Organisation des Nations Unies en République démocratique du Congo (MONUC). [Note : Certaines déclarations publiques de l’ONU antérieures au 30 novembre donnaient le nom de MONUC à la mission du personnel militaire de liaison des Nations Unies; cependant le Conseil de sécurité ne l’a nommée MONUC qu’à partir du 30 novembre.] L’ONU a déployé une force de 500 OMNU non armés dans la RDC. Encore là, ni la MONUC ni la CMM n’ont pu ramener la stabilité dans la RDC. Presque au début, chaque partie a accusé l’autre de violer le cessez-le-feu et l’Accord de Lusaka. La résolution 1291 du 24 février 2000 a accru le personnel militaire de la MONUC à 5 537 militaires, y compris les 500 OMNU.

Les luttes ethniques ont continué dans l’est et le nord-est de la RDC. De nouvelles factions sont apparues et ont commencé à se battre. En Ituri, les ethnies Hema et Lendu se sont attaquées mutuellement, un problème qui allait s’aggraver en 2003. Malgré tout, il y avait encore de la lumière au bout du tunnel. En septembre 2002, le Secrétaire général pouvait déclarer que les troupes étrangères avaient été retirées et que la situation dans la RDC avait dépassé l’étape de l’Accord de Lusaka. Au début de décembre 2002, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé le renforcement de la MONUC à 8 700 militaires, après quoi huit parties congolaises ont conclu un accord à la fin du mois pour créer et gérer un gouvernement de transition. Cependant, l’Accord avait une valeur limitée. À mesure que les troupes étrangères se retiraient, des seigneurs de guerre locaux ont recommencé à s’établir un peu partout dans la RDC. En 2002 et 2003, ils ont commencé à s’attaquer mutuellement, renouvelant ainsi le problème humanitaire des personnes déplacées.

En Ituri, au nord-est de la RDC, cela a créé un problème important, nécessitant une intervention de l’ONU, qui a autorisé une force multinationale intérimaire d’urgence de juin à la fin d’août 2003. Les troupes de l’Ouganda avaient accru leur présence dans la région après un retrait initial. Lorsqu’elles se sont retirées de nouveau en mai 2003, le vide de pouvoir a créé une situation favorable à l’anarchie et à la violence. Dans la région de Kivu, à l’est de la RDC, deux commandants renégats de l’armée congolaise se sont attaqués aux forces du gouvernement, ce qui a entraîné la violation des droits de l’homme et des atrocités commises par les deux parties. Trois groupes ethniques différents ont été touchés, y compris le groupe Banyamulenge (d’origine Tutsi), que les commandants rebelles prétendaient protéger.

Le 1er octobre 2004, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé le renforcement de la MONUC à 16 700 militaires, mais elle n’était que de 12 600 à la fin de décembre. La MONUC était alors autorisée, en vertu du Chapitre VII, à inspecter les cargaisons des aéronefs et de tout appareil de transport utilisant les terrains d’aviation, aéroports, bases militaires, ports et postes frontière au Nord et au Sud-Kivu et en Ituri. La MONUC pouvait avoir recours à tous les moyens nécessaires pour remplir son mandat, qui comprenait la protection des civils et la collecte d’armes et de matériel de guerre dans les régions d’Ituri et de Kivu en violation des sanctions internationales.

Ces mesures ont eu peu d’effet dans certaines régions dont l’Ituri, où les milices Hema et Lendu ont continué leurs hostilités en décembre 2004 et en janvier 2005, mais toujours en l’absence de la MONUC. La présence de la MONUC dans le nord de Kivu a permis d’empêcher une attaque armée au milieu de décembre 2004, lorsque les forces Paklistani de la MONUC ont repoussé des attaquants armés qui s’infiltraient en RDC à partir du Rwanda.

Le Comité de secours international a estimé à 3,3 millions le nombre de personnes mortes dans la RDC depuis juin 1998, alors que l’ONU évalue à 2,7 millions le nombre de personnes déplacées ou devenues réfugiées. Des accords conclus sont ensuite brisés et les luttes de factions entre les ethnies continuent d’être très préoccupantes. Le gouvernement de transition a été incapable de désarmer ces groupes et la présence et la force de la MONUC ne peuvent couvrir toutes les régions où la violence est susceptible d’éclater.

La participation canadienne en RDC a commencé en septembre 1999. Le 26 septembre, un colonel des Forces Canadiennes est arrivé à Kinshasa pour aider à établir le Quartier général des 90 membres du personnel de liaison de l’ONU. L’annonce officielle de la participation canadienne a été faite le 7 octobre, moment où on a aussi déclaré que le Canada pourrait fournir jusqu’à 10 membres du personnel de liaison de l’ONU. Le colonel a ensuite occupé le poste de chef d’état-major adjoint, Opérations, jusqu’à son remplacement au début de 2000.

Un officier canadien a continué d’occuper ce poste au fil des mesures de renforcement de la MONUC. Un major était aussi sur place pour travailler au Quartier général (QG) de la MONUC comme officier d’état-major, Opérations et plans. L’affectation des deux Canadiens au QG ne signifiait pas qu’ils ne faisaient que du travail administratif. En mai 2000, le colonel est intervenu dans la lutte entre les forces rwandaises et ougandaises à l’est de la RDC, qui avaient causé la mort de nombreux civils. Le major a aussi souvent voyagé comme OMNU. Jusqu’en mars 2001, ces deux hommes étaient les seuls Canadiens participant à la MONUC. Cependant, à la demande de l’ONU, le nombre de participants canadiens a augmenté par la suite.

Le 15 mars 2001, quatre officiers des Forces canadiennes (FC), d’un groupe de huit, ont rejoint les deux hommes déjà en poste à la MONUC et occupé des postes d’état major au Quartier général de la MONUC.

La Force opérationnelle en République démocratique du Congo (FO RDC) constitue le Contingent canadien de la MONUSCO. Elle compte neuf membres dont des officiers d’état-major détenant de l’expertise dans des domaines comme le droit, les opérations d’information et l’instruction et un sous-officier supérieur qui s’occupe de toutes les tâches de soutien national. Les officiers d’état-major sont répartis entre le quartier général de la MONUSCO à Kinshasa et le quartier général du secteur Est, à Goma.

Le 31 décembre 2010, la MONUSCO comptait des militaires provenant de 52 pays et des agents de police de 25 pays. Les effectifs étaient répartis comme suit :
• 17 129 militaires dans des unités formées;

• 714 observateurs militaires de l’ONU;

• 1 262 agents de police;

• 948 employés civils internationaux;

• 2 782 employés civils locaux;

• 599 bénévoles de l’ONU.

Les reconfigurations futures de la MONUSCO seront déterminées par l’évolution de la situation sur le terrain, notamment pour les aspects suivants : fin des opérations militaires en cours dans le Nord-Kivu et le Sud-Kivu ainsi que dans les provinces orientales, meilleures capacités gouvernementales pour protéger la population efficacement et la consolidation l’autorité de l’état dans l’ensemble du territoire.