Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Mozambique 2000

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Mozambique 2000

International Information

International Operation Name: Mozambique 2000

International Mission Name: Mozambique 2000

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Mozambique

Mission/Operation Notes:

On 9 February 2000, heavy rains started in southern Mozambique and northern South Africa. Mozambique bore the full brunt of the storm, with tens of thousands having to flee their homes in the capital, Maputo. Thousands more were left homeless in Gaza province, in the middle of the country. To make matters worse, as the storm moved west, it brought Botswana 75 percent of its normal rainfall in three days. Most of Botswana drains eastward, through Mozambique, raising the water levels there even more. The Limpopo River burst its banks. The lack of fresh water generated dysentery outbreaks in parts of Mozambique. The United Nations recognized that there was a potential crisis.

While the rains eased off and appeared to bring some respite, worse was to come. On 22 February, Cyclone Elise hit Mozambique near the centre of the country, just north of the area already hit by flooding. Over the next week, the heavy rainfall from the cyclone created massive flooding in most of the country, with the water having risen four to eight metres in some areas. Aid agencies estimated that over 100,000 people needed to be evacuated, while many more were in urgent need of aid. But the rain kept falling, and did not stop until mid-March.

International aid was available from the outset, the priority being to move people to higher ground and feed them there, but the scale of the disaster was simply too great for the agencies already in situ to deal with.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Mozambique 2000)

Mission Date: 7 March 2000 - 11 March 2000

Mission Mandate:

To deliver humanitarian effort for flood victims in Mozambique

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In Canada, the government announced $11.6 million in aid, of which $10 million was for longer-term relief and reconstruction. The Canadian Red Cross launched an appeal to the public. The Canadian Forces had been producing updated maps based on RADARSAT images for use by aid agencies and government organizations. The production of the maps had been started in mid-February and detailed the extent of the flooding.

These maps were of value to the three Canadian Forces personnel who were in Mozambique. They had deployed in April 1999 to provide assistance to the UN Accelerated De-Mining Program. That work was temporarily suspended because of the flooding. They now concentrated on assisting the UN aid efforts and the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) representative in Maputo.

On 7 March, the Minister of National Defence approved a request from CIDA for two CC-150 Airbus flights to transport aid to Mozambique. On 10 March, the two aircraft departed 8 Wing Trenton with 20,000 kilograms of supplies each. They arrived in Maputo the next day.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Mozambique 2000

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Mozambique 2000

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mozambique 2000

Nom de la mission internationale: Mozambique 2000

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Mozambique

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Le 9 février 2000, des pluies diluviennes ont commencé à s’abattre sur la partie sud du Mozambique et le Nord de la République sud-africaine. C’est le Mozambique qui a essuyé le plus gros de la tempête, des dizaines de milliers de personnes ayant dû fuir leur foyer dans la capitale, Maputo. Des milliers d’autres se sont retrouvées sans abri dans la province de Gaza, au centre du pays. Pour empirer les choses, en se déplaçant vers l’ouest, la tempête avait déversé sur le Botswana 75 p. 100 des précipitations annuelles normales en l’espace de trois jours. Or, la plupart des cours d’eau du Botswana coulent ensuite vers l’est à travers le Mozambique, si bien que les niveaux d’eau se sont élevés encore plus. Le fleuve Limpopo en crue est sorti de ses berges. Le manque d’eau potable causait des poussées de dysenterie dans certaines régions du Mozambique. Les Nations Unies ont reconnu qu’une crise menaçait.

La diminution des pluies laissait espérer un répit, mais le pire restait à venir. Le 22 février, le cyclone Elise a frappé le Mozambique près du centre du pays, juste au nord de la zone déjà touchée par les inondations. Au cours de la semaine suivante, les fortes pluies dans le sillage du cyclone ont inondé massivement la plus grande partie du pays, l’eau grimpant de quatre à huit mètres à certains endroits. Selon les estimations des organismes d’aide humanitaire, il fallait évacuer plus de 100 000 personnes, tandis qu’une foule d'autres avaient besoin de secours d’urgence. Mais la pluie continuait à tomber et elle n'a finalement cessé qu’à la mi mars.

L’aide internationale étant disponible dès le départ, la priorité consistait à amener les gens sur des terres plus élevées et à les nourrir; mais vu l’ampleur de la catastrophe, les organismes d’aide humanitaire déjà sur place ne suffisaient pas à la tâche.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Mozambique 2000)

Date: 7 mars 2000 - 11 mars 2000

Mandat de la mission:

Livrer des secours humanitaires aux victimes d’inondations au Mozambique

Historique de la mission:

Le gouvernement canadien a alors annoncé une aide financière de 11,6 millions de dollars, dont 10 millions de dollars serviraient pour les secours à long terme et la reconstruction. La Croix Rouge canadienne a aussi lancé un appel à la générosité de la population. Quant aux Forces canadiennes, elles ont mis à jour des cartes à partir d’images RADARSAT, à l'intention des agences d’aide humanitaire et des organismes gouvernementaux. Ces cartes, qu’on a commencé à produire au milieu de février, montraient clairement l’étendue des inondations.

Les cartes ont été utiles aux trois militaires canadiens présents au Mozambique. Ils avaient été envoyés dans ce pays en avril 1999 pour contribuer à la réalisation du programme accéléré de déminage de l’ONU. Leur travail a été temporairement suspendu en raison des inondations. À présent, ils aidaient à distribuer les secours fournis par l’ONU et prêtaient leur concours au représentant de l’Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) à Maputo.

Le 7 mars, le ministre de la Défense nationale a approuvé une demande de l’ACDI en autorisant l’envoi de deux avions CC-150 Airbus pour acheminer des secours au Mozambique. Le 10 mars, les deux appareils ont quitté la 8e Escadre Trenton, transportant chacun 20 000 kg de matériel jusqu’à Maputo, où ils sont arrivés le lendemain.