Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Nigeria 1968

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Nigeria 1968

International Information

International Operation Name: Nigeria 1968

International Mission Name: Nigeria 1968

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Nigeria

Mission Date: 2 August 1968 - 9 August 1968

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Nigeria 1968)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To transport food aid into and throughout Nigeria on behalf of the International Commission of the Red Cross.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

In July 1967, a secessionist movement in eastern Nigeria (Biafra) declared its independence. The Nigerian Federal Military Government (FMG) quickly moved to bring the secessionist state back under Nigerian control. As a result, the nascent Biafran government found itself isolated and cut off from all food and basic necessities.

On 31 July 1968, the Canadian Government agreed to the provision of two Hercules aircraft to fly to Nigeria with relief supplies in support of the International Commission of the Red Cross (ICRC), and shuttle supplies inside Nigeria if such an agreement could be reached between the ICRC and Nigerian and Biafran authorities. This was unrealistic given that the FMG did not want foreign aircraft to fly into Biafra, possibly giving the break-away state any form of official recognition.

One Hercules from 436 Squadron departed for Lagos on 2 August with 8,000 lbs of medical supplies and 36,000 lbs of dried cod. It arrived in Lagos on 5 August and headed back to Canada that same day, returning to Canada on 9 August.

No shuttle service could be arranged between the ICRC and the FMG, hence the second Hercules never left Canada.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Nigeria 1968

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Nigeria 1968

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Nigeria 1968

Nom de la mission internationale: Nigeria 1968

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Nigeria

Date: 2 août 1968 - 9 août 1968

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Nigeria 1968)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Transporter de l’aide alimentaire vers le Nigeria et à l’intérieur de celui-ci pour le compte du Comité international de la Croix-Rouge.

Historique de la mission:

En juillet 1967, un mouvement sécessionniste de l’Est du Nigeria (Biafra) a déclaré l'indépendance. Le Gouvernement militaire fédéral du Nigeria est intervenu rapidement pour reprendre le contrôle de l’État sécessionniste. En conséquence, le gouvernement naissant du Biafra s’est trouvé isolé et privé de nourriture et autres fournitures essentielles.

Le 31 juillet 1968, le gouvernement du Canada a accepté de fournir deux avions Hercule qui transporteraient des fournitures de secours au Nigeria pour aider le Comité international de la Croix-Rouge (CICR), et pour faire la navette à l’intérieur du Nigeria si le CICR et les autorités nigérianes et biafraises arrivaient à conclure une entente à cet effet. C’était irréaliste, puisque le Gouvernement militaire fédéral ne voulait pas que des avions étrangers volent au Biafra, car cela aurait donné à l’État sécessionniste une forme de reconnaissance officielle.

Un Hercules du 436e Escadron s’est envolé vers Lagos le 2 août, avec à son bord 8000 lbs de fournitures médicales et 36 000 lbs de morue séchée. Il est arrivé à Lagos le 5 août et est reparti pour le Canada le même jour, atterrissant le 9 août.

Comme le CICR et le Gouvernement militaire fédéral n’ont pas pu arriver à une entente sur le service de navette, le second Hercules n’a jamais quitté le Canada.