Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Nigeria 1969

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Nigeria 1969

International Information

International Operation Name: Nigeria 1969

International Mission Name: Nigeria 1969

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Nigeria

Mission Date: 1 November 1969 - 15 November 1969

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Nigeria 1969)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To provide a ship that could be used as a neutral location for peace talks between the Government of Nigeria and the secessionist leaders.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

By October 1969 the civil war in Nigeria had been ongoing for two years. Various efforts had been made to end the conflict, all without success. At the United Nations, the Canadian representative was approached about Canada providing a ship on which the negotiations could be held. General Gowan of the Nigerian government had not rejected the idea and General Ojukwu of the Biafran government had given his informal agreement. The concept was that separate helicopters would pick up the leaders daily and fly them to a ship that would serve as a neutral setting, remaining outside Nigerian territorial waters.

On 27 October, a message to this effect was sent from New York to External Affairs in Ottawa. This was the brought to the attention of the Chief of the Defence Staff who agreed to the proposal. The Minister of National Defence approved the concept on 10 November. The ship would be either HMCS Provider, Protector or Cape Scott, or possibly two or more destroyers. At least three helicopters would also be needed.

Although the plan was approved, it is unknown what further steps were taken in planning for this mission. It is also unknown what caused the mission to be cancelled.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Nigeria 1969

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Nigeria 1969

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Nigeria 1969

Nom de la mission internationale: Nigeria 1969

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Nigeria

Date: 1 novembre 1969 - 15 novembre 1969

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Nigeria 1969)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Fournir un navire pouvantêtre utilisé comme lieu neutre de négociation de paix entre le Gouvernement du Nigeria et les chefs sécessionnistes du Biafra.

Historique de la mission:

Nonobstant les efforts constants pour mettre fin au conflit, la guerre civile au Nigeria, qui en octobre 1969 était déjà vieille de deux ans, se continuait. Aux Nations unies, le représentant canadien fut approché avec une demande pour que le Canada fournisse un navire sur lequel on pourrait tenir des négotiations. Le général Gowan, du gouvernement nigérian, n'a pas rejeté l’idée; et le général Ojukwu, du gouvernement biafrais, a signifié un accord informel. Le concept suggéré était que deux hélicoptères différents prennent les chefs chaque jour et les transportent sur un navire devant servir de site neutre pour les discussions tout eu demeurant au-delà des eaux territoriales du Nigeria.

À cet effet, un message fut envoyé par New York aux Affaires étrangères à Ottawa le 27 octobre. La proposition fut portée à l’attention du chef d’état-major de la Défense, qui l'a agréée. Le ministre de la Défense nationale l’a approuvée le 10 novembre. On envisageait d'utiliser soit le NCSM Provider, soit le Protector or le Cape Scott, ou peut-être des destroyers. Au moins trois hélicoptères seraient aussi nécessaire à l’opération.

Bien que nous sachions que la mission a été approuvée, nous ne pouvonsêtre certains des étapes suivantes ni de ce qui a causé son annulation.