Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PASTEL

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PASTEL

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Angola Verification Mission II

International Mission Name: United Nations Angola Verification Mission II (UNAVEM II)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Angola

Mission Date: 30 May 1991 - 8 February 1995

Mission Mandate:

United Nations Security Council Resolutions 696, 30 May 1991; and modified by Resolutions 747, 24 March 1992; 804, 20 January 1993; 811, 12 March 1993, 834, 1 June 1993, 952, 27 October 1994 and 966, 8 December 1994.

Mission/Operation Notes:

Portugal began its colonization of Angola in 1575, when it established a permanent base at Luanda. Throughout the centuries, Portugal used the territory that became Angola as a source of natural resources, including slaves. In 1961, inspired by uprisings in other African colonies, Angolans rose in a revolt that was crushed by the Portuguese army. Many revolutionaries fled to neighbouring countries where they started their own revolutionary movements, advocating Angolan independence.

While there were many groups created, with more splinter groups forming over time, there were three main independence groups. The first independence movement to be formed was the Marxist-influenced Movimento Popular de Libertacao de Angola, (MPLA - Popular Movement for the Liberation of Angola). It had its headquarters in Zambia and had its greatest influence among educated Angolans. The second group was the Frente Nacional para a Libertacao de Angola (FNLA - National Liberation Front of Angola), formed in 1962 by Holden Roberto. Based in Congo, it had contacts in both western and communist countries, but had its greatest support from the Organization of African Unity. The third group was the Uniao Nacional para a Independencia Total de Angola (UNITA - National Union for the Total Independence of Angola) formed in 1966 by Jonas Savimbi.

These three groups waged a guerrilla war against the Portuguese authorities, forcing that country to keep over 50,000 troops in Angola in the early 1970s. In part because of the cost of the liberation struggles in the Portuguese colonies, a group of Portuguese army officers overthrew the dictatorship, installing a military regime that quickly converted Portugal into a democracy. The military government agreed to Angolan independence, turning the country over to a coalition of the three major liberation movements. This coalition rapidly disintegrated and a civil war resulted. The MPLA remained as the government of Angola, while the other two groups again waged a guerrilla war.

The Marxist MPLA received the backing of the Soviet Union, through Cuba, while UNITA received support from South Africa. By the late 1980s, UNITA was in control of large areas of the country, having fought the 40,000 Cubans and the MPLA forces to a standstill. The FNLA had suffered a serious defeat in 1975 from which it never recovered. In December 1988, after negotiations between Angola, Cuba, South Africa and the United States, an agreement was reached whereby the Cuban forces would withdraw from Angola.

UNAVEM II was established by Security Council Resolution 696 (1991) of 30 May 1991 with a mandate to verify the arrangements agreed to by the Angolan parties for the monitoring of the cease-fire, and for the monitoring of the Angolan police during the cease-fire period. The mandate was modified on 24 March 1992, when the Security Council, through Resolution 747, decided to enlarge the mandate of UNAVEM II to include observation and verification of the presidential and legislative elections in Angola. When the cease-fire was violated in October 1992 UNAVEM II's mandate was adjusted, in accordance with Security Council Resolutions 804 of 20 January 1993, 811 of 12 March 1993 and 834 of 1 June 1993. These Resolutions sought to help the two sides reach agreements on completing the peace process and, at the same time, to broker and help implement cease-fires at the national or local level. A new peace agreement was reached on 20 November 1994 through the Lusaka Protocol. The Security Council, through Resolution 952 of 27 October 1994 and Resolution 966 of 8 December 1994, authorized UNAVEM II to verify the initial stages of the peace agreement. In February 1995, the Security Council set up a new mission -- UNAVEM III -- to monitor and verify the implementation of the Lusaka Protocol.

The United Nations Security Council created the UN Angola Verification Mission I (UNAVEM I) to monitor the Cuban withdrawal, which was completed by May 1991. While this was ongoing, the international community put pressure on the MPLA and UNITA to reach a settlement. Negotiations started in April 1990 with Portugal acting as a mediator and the Soviet Union and United States as observers. An agreement, the Bicesse Accords, was signed in Lisbon, Portugal, on 31 May 1991.

A cease-fire came into effect on 15 May 1991, with a letter from the president of Angola to the UN Secretary-General arriving two days later. The letter, requesting UN participation in verifying the implementation of the Bicesse Accords, was not unexpected, and the Secretary-General had a plan in place for UN participation. On 30 May, the Security Council, through Resolution 696, created UNAVEM II, with an expectation that it would be required until 30 November 1992. Up to 350 unarmed military monitors plus civilian police and military medical personnel were authorized, with the first arriving in Angola on 2 June.

The UNAVEM II military observers were to assist monitoring groups formed of equal numbers of MPLA and UNITA representatives. The observers deployed to 46 assembly areas where the MPLA and UNITA forces were to gather and have their numbers and weapons counted before being demobilized. Observers were also stationed at several critical areas - airports, border posts and harbours. They would investigate and attempt to resolve violations of the cease-fire, as well as use their good offices to resolve problems between the MPLA and UNITA members of the monitoring groups.

Almost from the start, it was the UNMOs who took the lead in conducting the monitoring groups’ duties. They also found themselves providing food to MPLA and UNITA forces as neither organization had the capabilities to support the troops once they were in the assembly areas.

Due to mistrust and misunderstandings, and compounded by logistical difficulties, the MPLA and UNITA forces did not assemble as rapidly as scheduled. By October 1991, this part of the plan was seriously behind schedule. Both sides were also cheating on the agreement, turning in old or irreparable weapons, and hiding newer ones around the country.

Despite this, there were no major violations of the cease-fire and a request was made of the UN in December 1991 to provide technical assistance for the planned elections and to provide observers to ensure the election was free and fair. After negotiations and creation of a plan by the Secretary-General, the Security Council authorized the election observers in Resolution 747 of 24 March 1992.

The vote was scheduled for 29 and 30 September 1992. UNAVEM II military personnel assisted in the deployment and operations of the election observers, while also accelerating the demobilization process in the period before the election. On 1 October, the Secretary-General’s Special Representative declared the elections free and fair. President José Eduardo dos Santos of the MPLA was declared the winner, with UNITA’s Jonas Savimbi almost immediately rejecting the results as obtained by fraud. Tensions increased throughout October, resulting in heavy fighting in the capital Luanda on 31 October and the deaths of two UNMOs killed by UNITA forces.

Initially, local cease-fires were arranged and some stability was maintained, but by 21 January 1993, the Secretary-General reported that Angola had returned to a state of civil war. UNAVEM II teams in the field were threatened by this violence, and eventually all were evacuated. The Security Council, through Resolution 804, changed UNAVEM II’s mandate so that its personnel were concentrated in Luanda and working towards a cease-fire. By this time, only a skeleton crew remained as the UNAVEM II contingent.

In November 1994, with UNITA on the verge of defeat, Savimbi signed another agreement. The UN sent troops for UNAVEM III. Despite all international efforts, Savimbi broke all cease-fires and agreements he signed. Angola remained in a state of civil war until 2002, at which time he was killed by government forces. UNITA subsequently signed a cease-fire that appears to be holding.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (PASTEL)

Name: PASTEL

Date: 31 May 1991 - 31 May 1993

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

Canada’s participation in UNAVEM II was initiated by a request from the Secretary-General. On 14 June 1991, the tasking order was issued for Operation PASTEL, as the Canadian Forces participation was called. The CF would send fifteen military observers who would deploy on 21 June. Each observer was posted for one year to the Canadian Contingent UNAVEM (CCUNAVEM). While the UN requested the UNMOs be sent as soon as possible, the situation on the ground only allowed 11 personnel to deploy by the end of June. The remaining four did not deploy until early September.

The initial groups of Canadian UNMOs found themselves waiting to be deployed. Some made themselves indispensable at UNAVEM headquarters, helping to straighten out the initial obstacles. A Portuguese-speaking major became Military Assistant to the Chief Military Observer, expanding the job to that beyond simply a personal assistant.

Once the initial hurdles were overcome, two Canadians were tasked to serve in UNAVEM headquarters in Luanda. The CCUNAVEM Commander led the UN operations in south-central Angola with half of the remaining officers in this area. The remainder were scattered throughout the country. Canadian officers filled the position of Operations Officer in three of the six regional headquarters, a key position that recognized the capabilities of the Canadians.

Rotation of the first set of Canadian observers began in June 1992 and lasted through August. Fourteen officers arrived in the second contingent, with one major being extended for continued employment at UNAVEM headquarters. As with the first contingent, the Canadians were scattered throughout the country and again filled key positions in regional headquarters.

With the commencement of fighting on 31 October 1992, the Canadians were able to remain safe. They were, however, cut off from most of the outside world. While most other UN contingents began removing their forces, Canada, Egypt and Senegal remained at full strength to assist the UN in restoring order. The initial operations during the fighting were to get the airport at Luanda opened for evacuation and relief flights, while in other areas, attempts were made at arranging local cease-fires.

With the restoration of order in most of Angola by the end of November 1992, the Canadian UNMOs were redeployed, filling even more regional headquarters positions. With the renewal of fighting, UNAVEM personnel reverted to finding shelter, unable to influence either side. During the fighting in mid-January 1993, five Canadians were under fire for at least 24 hours. UNAVEM posts were again evacuated, with some Canadians leaving the country, but on normally scheduled periods of leave and not because of the fighting. Over several weeks, all remaining Canadians were evacuated to Luanda.

As a result of the fighting and the evident desire of both sides not to reach a negotiated case-fire, Canada decided that its personnel would not remain in theatre beyond 31 January. Evacuation, however, would take a matter of weeks. The last Canadian officer was withdrawn on 31 May 1993. Overall twenty-nine, Canadian officers served in UNAVEM II, with one being there from the start of the mission until evacuation in February 1993.

The end of Canadian participation in UNAVEM did not mean the end of the deployment for some of the Canadian officers. Nine Canadians who remained in theatre on 4 February, but unemployed with the reduction of UNAVEM personnel, indicated that they would volunteer to serve in the new UN mission being created in Mozambique (ONUMOZ). This was gratefully accepted by the Secretary-General, and all nine were deployed to ONUMOZ by 12 February 1993.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PASTEL

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PASTEL

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission de vérification des Nations unies en Angola II

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission de vérification des Nations unies en Angola II (UNAVEM II)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Angola

Date: 30 mai 1991 - 8 février 1995

Mandat de la mission:

Résolution 696 (30 mai 1991) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies, modifiée par les résolutions 747 (24 mars 1992), 804 (20 janvier 1993), 811 (12 mars 1993), 834 (1 juin 1993), 952 (27 octobre 1994) et 966 (8 décembre 1994).

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Le Portugal a commencé à coloniser l’Angola en 1575, moment où il établit une base permanente à Luanda. Pendant des siècles, le Portugal a exploité le territoire, une source de ressources naturelles, dont les esclaves. En 1961, inspirés par le soulèvement d’autres colonies africaines, les Angolais se sont révoltés, mais l’armée portugaise a vite repris le contrôle. De nombreux révolutionnaires ont fui vers les pays voisins où ils ont lancé des mouvements révolutionnaires en faveur de l’indépendance angolaise.

Même si de nombreux groupes voyaient le jour et que les groupuscules se multipliaient, trois mouvements pour l’indépendance dominaient la scène. Le premier mouvement formé, Movimento Popular de Libertacao de Angola (MPLA - Mouvement populaire de libération de l’Angola), s’inspirait du marxisme. Son quartier général se trouvait en Zambie et c’était chez les Angolais éduqués qu’il avait le plus d’influence. Le deuxième mouvement, le Frente Nacional para a Libertacao de Angola (FNLA - Front national de libération de l’Angola), a été lancé en 1962 par Holden Roberto. Installé au Congo, il avait des relations tant dans les pays occidentaux que communistes, mais son plus important soutien lui venait de l’Organisation de l’unité africaine. Le troisième, l’Uniao Nacional para a Independencia Total de Angola (UNITA - Union nationale pour l'indépendance totale de l'Angola), a été formé en 1966 par Jonas Savimbi.

Ces trois groupes ont lancé une guérilla contre les autorités portugaises, ce qui les forçait à garder plus de 50 000 militaires en Angola au début des années 1970. En partie à cause des coûts des conflits de libération, un groupe d’officiers de l’armée portugaise a renversé la dictature pour installer un régime militaire qui a rapidement transformé le Portugal en pays démocratique. Le gouvernement militaire a accepté l’indépendance de l'Angola et a donné le pouvoir à une coalition des trois principaux mouvements de libération. Toutefois, cette coalition s’est vite désintégrée, ce qui a ouvert la voie à la guerre civile. Le MPLA est resté à la tête du gouvernement de l’Angola, pendant que les deux autres groupes retournaient à la guérilla.

Le MPLA marxiste a reçu l’appui de l’Union soviétique, par l’intermédiaire de Cuba, alors que l’UNITA a été soutenu par l’Afrique du Sud. Vers la fin des années 1980, après avoir combattu les 40 000 soldats cubains et les forces du MPLA, l’UNITA tenait de grandes régions du pays. Le FNLA a subi une grave défaite en 1975, dont il ne s’est jamais relevé. En décembre 1988, après les négociations entre l’Angola, Cuba, l’Afrique du Sud et les états-Unis, une entente a été conclue sur le retrait des forces cubaines de l’Angola.

L’UNAVEM II a été créée en vertu de la résolution 696 (30 mai 1991) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies avec pour mandat de vérifier les ententes convenues par les parties angolaises en vue de la surveillance du cessez-le-feu et de la surveillance de la police angolaise pendant le cessez-le-feu. Le 24 mars 1992, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 747 pour élargir le mandat de l’UNAVEM II, en y incluant l’observation et la vérification des élections législatives et présidentielles en Angola. Quand on a fait fi du cessez-le-feu en octobre 1992, le mandat de l’UNAVEM II a été modifié conformément aux résolutions 804 (20 janvier 1993), 811 (12 mars 1993) et 834 (1er juin 1993) du Conseil de sécurité. Ces résolutions visaient à la fois à aider les deux parties à trouver un terrain d’entente pour poursuivre le processus de paix et à négocier la mise en œuvre du cessez-le-feu au niveau national et local. Un nouvel accord de paix a été conclu le 20 novembre 1994 avec le Protocole de Lukasa. Par les résolutions 952 (27 octobre 1994) et 966 (8 décembre 1994), le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé l’UNAVEM II à surveiller le déroulement des étapes initiales de l’accord de paix. En février 1995, le Conseil de sécurité a lancé une nouvelle mission - UNAVEM III - la surveillance et la vérification de la mise en œuvre du Protocole de Lukasa.

Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies a créé la Mission de vérification des Nations unies en Angola I (UNAVEM I) pour surveiller le retrait des Cubains, qui s’est terminé en mai 1991. Entre-temps, la communauté internationale faisait pression sur le MPLA et l’UNITA pour qu’ils trouvent un terrain d’entente. Les négociations ont commencé en avril 1990. Le Portugal agissait en qualité de médiateur et l’Union soviétique et les états-Unis étaient observateurs. Les Accords de Bicesse ont été signés le 31 mai 1991 à Lisbonne.

Le cessez-le-feu est entré en vigueur le 15 mai 1991. Deux jours plus tard, le président de l’Angola a adressé une lettre au secrétaire général des Nations unies. Dans cette lettre, il demandait aux Nations unies de participer à la surveillance de la mise en œuvre des Accords de Bicesse, comme on s’y attendait. En fait, le secrétaire général avait déjà un plan pour la participation des Nations unies. Le 30 mai, par l’adoption de la résolution 696, le Conseil de sécurité a créé l’UNAVEM II. On prévoyait que la mission serait déployée jusqu’au 30 novembre 1992. On a autorisé le déploiement de jusqu’à 350 observateurs militaires non armés, ainsi que de policiers civils et de personnel médical militaire en Angola, les premiers arrivant le 2 juin.

Les observateurs militaires de l’UNAVEM II étaient chargés d’aider les groupes de surveillance constitués d’un nombre égal de représentants du MPLA et de l’UNITA. Les observateurs ont été déployés sur 46 lieux de rassemblement où les forces du MPLA et de l’UNITA devaient se réunir pour être dénombrées et pour rendre leurs armes avant démobilisation. Les observateurs étaient aussi stationnés à des endroits stratégiques, comme les aéroports, les postes frontaliers et les ports. Ils devaient enquêter sur les violations du cessez-le-feu et tenter d’apporter des solutions, en plus d’utiliser leurs bons offices pour résoudre les problèmes entre les membres du MPLA et de l’UNITA dans les groupes de surveillance.

Dès le début, les observateurs militaires des Nations unies ont dirigé les activités des groupes de surveillance. Ils ont également nourri les forces du MPLA et de l’UNITA, car aucune de ces organisations n’avaient la capacité de soutenir les soldats qui se rendaient aux lieux de rassemblement.

En raison du manque de confiance et de malentendus, en plus des problèmes logistiques, les forces du MPLA et de l’UNITA ne se sont pas rassemblées aussi vite que prévu. En octobre 1991, cette partie du plan accusait un important retard. En outre, les deux parties trichaient sur les termes de l’entente, en rendant de vieilles armes ou des armes irréparables, alors qu’elles cachaient les plus récentes.

Malgré tout, il n’y a pas eu de violation grave du cessez-le-feu et, en décembre 1991, on a demandé aux Nations unies de fournir une aide technique dans le cadre des élections prévues, de même que des observateurs pour veiller à ce que les élections soient libres et équitables. à la suite de négociations et de la préparation d’un plan par le secrétaire général, le Conseil de sécurité a autorisé le déploiement d’observateurs électoraux par l’adoption de la résolution 747 du 24 mars 1992.

Le vote était prévu les 29 et 30 septembre 1992. Le personnel militaire de l’UNAVEM II a aidé au déploiement et au travail des observateurs d’élections, tout en accélérant le processus de démobilisation avant les élections. Le 1er octobre, le représentant spécial du secrétaire général a déclaré que les élections avaient été libres et équitables. Le président José Eduardo dos Santos du MPLA a été élu, mais Jonas Savimbi de l’UNITA a presque immédiatement rejeté les résultats en alléguant qu’ils avaient été obtenus frauduleusement. Les tensions se sont accrues pendant le mois d’octobre et, le 31 octobre, les affrontements ont éclaté à Luanda, la capitale. Deux observateurs militaires des Nations unies sont morts du fait de l’UNITA.

Pendant un temps, on a convenu de cessez-le-feu locaux et une certaine stabilité a ainsi pu être maintenue, mais le 21 janvier 1993, le secrétaire général a indiqué que l’Angola était de nouveau plongé dans la guerre civile. Les équipes de l’UNAVEM II, menacées par ces actes de violence, ont éventuellement été évacuées. Avec sa résolution 804, le Conseil de sécurité a modifié le mandat de l’UNAVEM II afin que son personnel soit installé à Luanda et concentre ses efforts à rétablir le cessez-le-feu. Il ne restait plus qu’un squelette de ce qu’avait été le contingent de l’UNAVEM II.

En novembre 1994, alors que l’UNITA était sur le point d’être défait, Savimbi a signé une autre entente. Les Nations unies ont alors envoyé des militaires dans le cadre de l’UNAVEM III. Malgré tous les efforts internationaux, Savimbi n’a pas respecté les cessez-le-feu et les ententes qu’il a conclues. La guerre civile a fait rage en Angola jusqu’en 2002, au moment où Savimbi a été abattu par les forces du gouvernement. L’UNITA a alors signé un cessez-le-feu qui tient apparemment toujours.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (PASTEL)

Nom: PASTEL

Date: 31 mai 1991 - 31 mai 1993

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

La participation du Canada à l’UNAVEM II a commencé à la suite d’une demande du Secrétaire général. Le 14 juin 1991, on a donné l’ordre de mission de l’opération des Forces canadiennes (opération Pastel). Les FC allaient déployer 15 observateurs militaires le 21 juin. Chaque observateur était affecté au contingent canadien de l’UNAVEM (CCUNAVEM) pendant un an. Même si les Nations unies demandaient que les observateurs militaires des Nations unies arrivent sur place le plus vite possible, seulement 11 observateurs ont pu être déployés avant la fin de juin, en raison de la situation sur le terrain. Les quatre autres ne sont arrivés qu’au début de septembre.

Les premiers observateurs militaires canadiens ont été forcés d’attendre avant de se rendre sur le terrain. Entre temps, certains d’entre eux sont devenus indispensables au quartier général de l’UNAVEM, parce qu’ils aidaient à régler les problèmes de démarrage. Un major parlant le portugais est devenu conseiller militaire du Chef des observateurs militaires, ce qui a accru son travail au-delà de celui d’un simple adjoint.

Une fois les obstacles initiaux écartés, deux Canadiens ont été affectés au quartier général de l’UNAVEM à Luanda. Le commandant du CCUNAVEM a dirigé les opérations des Nations unies au centre-sud de l’Angola avec la moitié des officiers restants dans la région. Les autres ont été dispersés dans le pays. Les officiers canadiens ont servi d’officiers des opérations dans trois des six états-majors régionaux, un poste clé où leurs compétences ont été mises en évidence.

Le remplacement du premier groupe d’observateurs canadiens a commencé en juin 1992 et s’est terminé en août. Quatorze officiers sont arrivés avec le deuxième contingent et un major est resté au quartier général de l’UNAVEM pour un mandat prolongé. Comme dans le premier contingent, les Canadiens étaient dispersés dans le pays et occupaient des postes clés dans les états-majors régionaux.

Malgré la reprise des combats le 31 octobre 1992, la sécurité des Canadiens n'a pas été compromise. Ils ont cependant été coupés du reste du monde. Même si la plupart des contingents des Nations unies ont vu diminuer leurs forces, le Canada, l’égypte et le Sénégal ont maintenu tous leurs effectifs pour aider les Nations unies à rétablir l’ordre. Les opérations initiales pendant les combats consistaient à ouvrir l’aéroport de Luanda pour les vols d’évacuation et de secours, alors que, dans les autres régions, on tentait de négocier des cessez-le-feu locaux.

Avec le rétablissement de l’ordre sur presque tout le territoire de l’Angola à la fin de novembre 1992, les observateurs militaires canadiens ont été redéployés, occupant ainsi davantage de postes dans les états-majors régionaux. à la reprise des affrontements, le personnel de l’UNAVEM a dû trouver refuge, car il était incapable d’influencer l’une ou l’autre des parties. Lors des combats de la mi-janvier 1993, cinq Canadiens ont été sous le feu pendant au moins 24 heures. Les positions de l’UNAVEM ont une fois de plus été évacuées et certains Canadiens ont quitté le pays pour leur période de congés normale, et non pas en raison des affrontements. L’évacuation des Canadiens restants vers Luanda a pris plusieurs semaines.

à cause des combats et du désir évident des deux parties d'en découdre, le gouvernement du Canada a décidé que son personnel ne resterait pas sur les lieux après le 31 janvier. Cependant, l’évacuation exigerait des semaines entières. Le dernier officier canadien est parti le 31 mai 1993. En tout, 29 officiers canadiens ont été affectés à l’UNAVEM II, et un d’entre eux était là du début de la mission jusqu’à l’évacuation en février 1993.

Pour certains officiers canadiens, la fin de la participation canadienne à l’UNAVEM n'a pas signifié la fin de leur déploiement. Parmi les Canadiens sans affectation (en raison de la réduction du personnel de l’UNAVEM) qui étaient encore sur les lieux le 4 février, neuf se sont portés volontaires pour servir dans le cadre de la nouvelle mission des Nations unies au Mozambique (ONUMOZ). Reconnaissant, le Secrétaire général a accepté et le 12 février 1993, ils avaient tous été dépêchés à l’ONUMOZ.