Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PELI PELI

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PELI PELI

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation PELI PELI

International Mission Name: Operation PELI PELI

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Congo

Mission Date: 2 November 1967 - 20 November 1967

Mission Mandate:

To evacuate mercenaries and their supporters from the Congo at the request of the International Red Cross.

Mission/Operation Notes:

When the UN left the Congo in June 1964, the country was far from secure. The UN had hardly departed when the Simba rebels attempted to create their own state in eastern Congo. The Congolese military was an ineffective entity, wracked with patronage and nepotism. Moise Tshombe, former secessionist leader of Katanga and now newly installed Prime Minister, hired mercenaries to lead the army in putting down the Simbas. These mercenaries included “Mad Mike” Hoare, Robert Denard and Jean Schramme, a Belgian plantation owner who had lived 23 years in the Congo. After the Simbas were defeated, many of the mercenaries remained in the country on the government payroll, assuring the control of eastern Congo. For his efforts, Tshombe was first removed as Prime Minister and then charged and convicted for treason.

On 5 July 1967, Schramme, his mercenaries and supporters staged an uprising. With Schramme marching on the city of Bukavu in Kivu Province, the Congolese army fled. Schramme’s goals were to have President Mobutu restore democracy, annul the treason conviction of ex-Prime Minister Tshombe and appoint Tshombe to the Cabinet. Mobutu rejected the demands. Schramme subsequently defeated the few attacks mounted against him; however, as military pressure built up against him, he realized he would eventually face defeat. In October 1967, the International Red Cross was able to negotiate an agreement with Schramme and Mobutu whereby the white mercenaries would be flown to Malta and his Congolese supporters would be flown to Zambia. At the time Schramme’s forces were being pushed out of Congo and into Rwanda.

The Red Cross had asked a number of countries to provide aircraft, including Great Britain, the United States and Canada - for two aircraft. With countries coming on-side, the Red Cross reduced its request of Canada to one aircraft. Throughout the early period of November, Mobutu kept changing his mind as to whether he would allow the evacuation. In the end, the Red Cross withdrew from its efforts while Mobutu talked privately with a number of countries. The evacuation did eventually take place in mid-November.

On 2 November, the Department of External Affairs advised Canadian Forces Headquarters (CFHQ) that the International Red Cross had approached various countries on 31 October to arrange military transport for an estimated 900 Katangans -Schramme supporters- and between 400 and 500 women and children. Canadian Forces Headquarters issued an order on 2 November for Operation PELI PELI. Two Hercules (one each from 435 and 436 squadrons) were placed on 24-hour notice to move, as were a rifle company from the Royal 22e Régiment, ten in-flight security teams (each team with one Sergeant and 4 men), and ten medical orderlies. The expectation was that the operation could occur as early as 5 November.

Late on November 7th, the R22eR company was cancelled and only one aircraft, from 436 Squadron, was tasked. One in-flight protection party and two medical assistants would also deploy. Hercules No. 10310, including two aircrews, a seven person servicing crew, the security team and the medical personnel - a total of 29 personnel- was in Ascension Island by 11 November where they awaited instructions.

With the withdrawal of the Red Cross from the operation on 17 November Canadian Forces Headquarters considered the return of the Hercules, which was also recommended by the Canadian attaché in Kinshasa. CFHQ agreed to the suggestion and ordered the Hercules home on 18 November. On the 20th it arrived back in Ottawa.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PELI PELI

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PELI PELI

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération PELI PELI

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération PELI PELI

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Congo

Date: 2 novembre 1967 - 20 novembre 1967

Mandat de la mission:

évacuer du Congo les mercenaires et leurs partisans à la demande de la Croix Rouge internationale.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Quand les troupes de l’ONU ont quitté le Congo en juin 1964, le pays était loin d’être pacifié. Les Casques bleus venaient à peine de partir quand les rebelles Simba ont tenté de créer leur propre état dans l’Est du pays. L’armée congolaise, affaiblie par le favoritisme et le népotisme, se révélait inefficace. Moïse Tshombe, ancien chef sécessionniste du Katanga qui venait d’être intronisé premier ministre, a alors embauché des mercenaires pour diriger l’offensive de l’armée visant à mater la rébellion Simba. Parmi ces mercenaires, il y avait « Mad Mike » Hoare, Robert Denard et Jean Schramme, un planteur belge ayant vécu 23 ans au Congo. Après la défaite du mouvement sécessionniste Simba, beaucoup des mercenaires sont demeurés au Congo à la solde du gouvernement, imposant son contrôle sur l’Est du pays. Subséquemment, Tshombe a été renversé à cause de ses exactions, puis mis en accusation et condamné pour trahison.

Schramme, à la tête de ses mercenaires et partisans, a déclenché une insurrection le 5 juillet 1967. Pendant que les insurgés avançaient vers la ville de Bukavu dans la province de Kivu, les soldats de l’armée congolaise se sont enfuis. Schramme voulait que le président Mobutu rétablisse la démocratie, annule la condamnation pour trahison à l’endroit de l’ex-premier ministre Tshombe et nomme celui ci ministre. Mais Mobutu a rejeté ces exigences. Les mercenaires ont alors repoussé les attaques lancées contre eux; toutefois, à mesure que les militaires accentuaient leurs pressions, Schramme a fini par comprendre qu’il courait à la défaite. En octobre 1967, la Croix Rouge internationale a réussi à négocier une entente avec Schramme et Mobutu consistant à évacuer les mercenaires blancs à Malte et leurs partisans congolais, en Zambie. Au même moment, les troupes de Schramme se faisaient chasser du Congo vers le Rwanda.

La Croix Rouge avait demandé à plusieurs pays de fournir des avions, notamment la Grande-Bretagne, les états-Unis et le Canada, qui était prié de prêter deux appareils. D’autres pays ayant fourni une contribution, la Croix Rouge a réduit sa demande à un appareil. Pendant la première moitié de novembre, Mobutu hésitait constamment à autoriser l’évacuation et revenait sur sa décision. Au bout du compte, la Croix Rouge a renoncé à ses efforts tandis que Mobutu s’est entretenu en privé avec les représentants de divers pays. L’évacuation a finalement eu lieu à la mi-novembre.

Le 2 novembre, le ministère des Affaires étrangères a indiqué au Quartier général des Forces canadiennes (QGFC) que la Croix Rouge internationale avait pris contact avec divers pays le 31 octobre pour organiser l’évacuation par avions militaires d’environ 900 Katangais, soit les partisans de Schramme, et de 400 à 500 femmes et enfants. Le même jour, les FC ont donné un préavis de mouvement de 24 heures touchant deux appareils Hercules (un du 435e Escadron et l’autre du 436e Escadron), ainsi qu’une compagnie de carabiniers du Royal 22e Regiment, 10 équipes de sécurité en vol (comptant chacune 1 sergent et 4 soldats) et 10 préposés aux soins. L’opération, baptisée Peli Peli, pourrait théoriquement avoir lieu dès le 5 novembre.

à la fin de la journée du 7 novembre, l’ordre de déploiement de la compagnie du R22eR a été annulé, et on a affecté à cette mission un seul appareil, celui du 436e Escadron. Une des équipes de protection en vol et deux adjoints médicaux devaient également y participer. L’avion Hercules no 10310, avec à son bord deux équipages, un personnel de service de 7 membres, une équipe de sécurité et du personnel médical, soit 29 personnes au total, s’est rendu à l’île de l’Ascension le 11 novembre, où il a attendu de nouvelles instructions.

La Croix Rouge s’étant désistée le 17 novembre, le Quartier général des FC a envisagé le rappel de l’avion Hercules, mesure qui avait aussi été recommandée par l’attaché canadien à Kinshasa. Le QGFC a accepté la suggestion et ordonné le 18 novembre le retour de l’avion, qui est rentré à Ottawa le surlendemain.

Haut de la page