Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PRESERVE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PRESERVE

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation PRESERVE

International Mission Name: Operation PRESERVE

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Ethiopia

Mission Date: 2 August 1991 - 12 December 1991

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (PRESERVE)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To airlift food and other relief supplies from Djibouti to distribution centres within Ethiopia.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Going into a fourth year of drought, the harvest in Ethiopia for 1991 threatened to be even worse than that of 1985. The UN requested Canada’s assistance in getting relief supplies to isolated areas such as the northern and central highlands and the Ogaden desert. In July 1991 the CF sent a Hercules with a recce team to Ethiopia to see if the CF could contribute in this potential humanitarian disaster. Approval for assistance to the UN’s World Food Programme was given on 2 August under the name Operation PRESERVE.

Op Preserve would consist of a team of 60 personnel - aircrew, groundcrew, signalers and air movements personnel - and three CF Hercules, operating out of Djibouti on the Horn of Africa. The Hercs came from CFB Edmonton and CFB Trenton. Personnel came from 426, 429, 435 and 436 Squadrons, and other bases across Canada.

Aircraft and personnel began operations on 12 August. Two aircraft would be operational at any one time, the third being rotated for maintenance. The flights would start in Djibouti, leaving about 5:00 AM. They went to four different airfields throughout Ethiopia (Dire Dawa , Gode, Kabridar and Makale), with a total of six to eight flights being conducted daily to mainly gravel fields. Such wear and tear increased the burden on maintenance staff, while the lack of automated equipment meant that cargo normally 360 to 400 sacks of grain each weighing about 50 kilograms - had to be unloaded by hand.

Weekly support flights arrived from Lahr. Besides mail, supplies and parts for the Hercs, the flights also brought replacement personnel. Due to the high flying rate during the initial period, the initial contingent was rotated out at the start of September 1991. Thereafter the rotations were on a monthly basis. Scheduled to last until 12 November, the deployment was later extended to 12 December when in mid-October, the Canadian Embassy in Addis Ababa identified the need for another month of airlift. This was approved by 29 October.

The last flights for Op Preserve were conducted on 11 December. By that time the three CF Hercs had delivered over 33 million tons of grain and food aid, almost one half of the total aid delivered. Over 240 personnel participated in the operation.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PRESERVE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PRESERVE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération PRESERVE

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération PRESERVE

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Éthiopie

Date: 2 août 1991 - 12 décembre 1991

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (PRESERVE)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Transporter par air de la nourriture et d'autres approvisionnements de secours de Djibouti vers des centres de distribution à l’intérieur de l’Éthiopie.

Historique de la mission:

Une quatrième année de sécheresses'annonçant en Éthiopie, les récoltes de 1991 menaçaient d’être encore plus catastrophiques que celles de 1985. Les Nations unies ont demandé l’aide du Canada pour acheminer des secours dans les régions isolées telles que les hautes terres du centre et du sud et le désert d’Ogaden. En juillet 1991, les FC ont envoyé en Éthiopie un Hercules avec une équipe de reconnaissance pour voir si elles pouvaient soulager cette catastrophe humanitaire potentielle. Le 2 août, l’Opération PRESERVE a été autorisée pour assister le Programme alimentaire mondial des Nations unies.

Pour cette opération, une équipe de 60 personnes a été formée: équipages d’avion, personnel de piste, radios et logisticiens, ainsi que trois Hercules des FC basés à Djibouti sur la Corne de l’Afrique. Ces appareils venaient des BFC d’Edmonton et de Trenton. Le personnel appartenait aux 426e, 429e, 435e et 436e escadrons et à d’autres bases de tout le Canada.

Les avions et le personnel ont commencé les opérations le 12 août. Deux appareils étaient opérationnels en permanence, le troisième effectuant une rotation pour la maintenance. Les avions décollaient de Djibouti, quittant la base vers 5 heures du matin. Ils se dirigeaient vers quatre aérodromes situés dans toute l’Éthiopie (Dire Dawa, Gode, Kabridar et Makale), effectuant de six à huit vols par jour et atterrissant surtout sur des pistes de gravier, ce qui endommageait les avions et compliquait le travail du personnel d’entretien. De plus, le manque d’équipement de manutention forçait le déchargement à la main d'une cargaison qui comptait généralement de 360 à 400 sacs de céréales pesant chacun 50 kg.

Des vols de soutien arrivaient toutes les semaines de Lahr. En plus du courrier, de l’approvisionnement et des pièces de rechange pour les Hercules, ces avions convoyaient également le personnel de remplacement. En raison du nombre élevé de vols pendant la période initiale, le premier contingent a été remplacé au début de septembre 1991. Par la suite, les rotations sont devenues mensuelles. Prévu pour durer jusqu’au 12 novembre, le déploiement a été prolongé jusqu’au 12 décembre, après que l’ambassade du Canada à Addis-Abeba eût estimé qu’un mois supplémentaire de transport aérien serait nécessaire. Cette prolongation a été approuvée le 29 octobre.

Les derniers vols de l’Opération Preserve ont été effectués le 11 décembre. À cette date, les trois Hercules des FC avaient livré plus de 33 millions de tonnes de céréales et d’aide alimentaire, près de la moitié de toute l’aide acheminée. Plus de 240 membres du personnel ont participé à l’opération.