Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation PRUDENCE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

PRUDENCE
On our picture, Master Warrant Officer Léo Losier
chief radio operator for MINURCA is proceeding
to the installation of radios at the Gabon contingent
Headquarters.

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Mission in the Central African Republic

International Mission Name: United Nations Mission in the Central African Republic (MINURCA)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Central African Republic

Mission Date: 15 April 1998 - 22 October 1999

Mission Mandate:

Security Council Resolution 1159 (1998) of March 1998; terminated with UNSCR 1271 on 22 Oct 1999.

In 1996, the Central African Republic was shaken by a politico-military crisis, punctuated by three successive mutinies by elements of the Armed Forces. The crisis stemmed to a large extent from widespread public discontent over social and economic problems exacerbated by non-payment of salaries by the Government. Concerned by the situation and its implications for the region, and in view of the request of President Ange-Felix Patasse, the Nineteenth Summit Meeting of Heads of State and Government of France and Africa, held in December 1996, asked the Presidents of Gabon, Burkina Faso, Chad, and Mali to visit Bangui and mediate a truce between the forces loyal to Present Patasse and the rebels. After prolonged intensive negotiations, the parties signed the Bangui Agreements on 25 January 1997, which contained the necessary elements for a comprehensive settlement including an inter-African force in the Central African Republic (MISAB). Formed on 31 January 1997, MISAB’s mandate was aimed at restoring peace and security by monitoring the implementation of the Bangui Agreements and conducting operations to disarm the former rebels, the militia and all other unlawfully armed individuals.

On 8 February 1997, MISAB was deployed in Bangui, comprising a total of some 800 troops from Burkina Faso, Chad, Gabon and Mali, and later from Senegal and Togo, under the military command of Gabon and with the logistical and financial support of France. Acting under Chapter 7 of the United Nations Charter, members of the MISAB and those providing logistical support were authorized to ensure the security and freedom of movement of their personnel.

In November 1997, the Secretary-General made recommendations on further international support after the mandate of MISAB was due to expire. Although the Member States participating in MISAB were willing to continue to assist the Central African Republic in consolidating the peace, they did not have the capacity to do so alone, as France was preparing to withdraw all its troops, and consequently its logistical support from the mission by mid-April 1998. The Secretary-General subsequently recommended the establishment and deployment of another peacekeeping operation authorized by the international community. Under UNSCR 1159 (1998) the United Nations Mission in the Central African Republic (MINURCA) came into effect from 15 April 1998.

On 22 October 1999, the Security Council adopted Resolution 1271 by which it decided to terminate the mandate of MINURCA. In the same resolution it was decided to explore the possibility of maintaining a United Nations political presence after the withdrawal of MINURCA. On 15 February 2000, MINURCA was superseded by the United Nations Peace-building Office in the Central African Republic (BONUCA).

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (PRUDENCE)

Name: PRUDENCE

Date: 15 April 1998 - 21 December 1999

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To assist the government of the Central African Republic to maintain peace, security, freedom of movement and to assist in protecting key installations in the capital city of Bangui; to supervise, control storage, and monitor a disarmament program; to ensure freedom of movement for United Nations (UN) personnel and protect UN property; to assist with the training of a national police force, and to support future national elections.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

The initial Canadian contribution to MINURCA was forty-five personnel under the designation Operation PRUDENCE. Deploying on 15 April 1998, the main role for the Canadians was to support the mission’s communications system and the Canadian contingent incorporated a communications detachment, as well as support personnel and staff officers. The Canadian contingent was expanded in October 1998 to provide extra signals personnel to support national elections planned for the end of 1998. Four rotations of personnel were provided by 5 Canadian Mechanized Brigade Group, out of CFB Valcartier, Quebec, and one rotation by 1 Canadian Division Headquarters and Signals Regiment, out of CFB Kingston, Ontario. By late 1999 MINURCA was deemed to have been successful and the UN peacekeeping contingents began planning their departures from the mission. The Canadian mission was closed out in December 1999.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) PRUDENCE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

PRUDENCE
Sur notre photo, l'adjudant-maître Léo Losier
opérateur-chef de la MINURCA procède à
l'intallation de radios au Quartier général
du contingent gabonais.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Mission des Nations unies en République centrafricaine

Nom de la mission internationale: Mission des Nations unies en République centrafricaine (MINURCA)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: publique centrafricaine

Date: 15 avril 1998 - 22 octobre 1999

Mandat de la mission:

Conseil de sécurité, résolution 1159 de mars 1998; se termine avec la résolution 1271, adoptée par le Conseil de sécurité le 22 octobre 1999.

En 1996, la République centrafricaine a été secouée par une crise politico-militaire, ponctuée par trois mutineries successives d’éléments des forces armées. Cette crise résultait dans une large mesure du mécontentement généralisé lié aux problèmes sociaux et politiques, exacerbé par le fait que le gouvernement ne versait pas les salaires. Préoccupés par la situation et ses conséquences pour la région, et à la demande du président Ange-Félix Patassé, les participants à la 19e Conférence au sommet des chefs d’état de la France et de l’Afrique, tenue en décembre 1996, ont demandé aux présidents du Gabon, du Burkina Faso, du Tchad et du Mali de se rendre à Bangui et d’aider les forces loyales au président Patassé et les rebelles à négocier une trêve. Le 25 janvier 1997, après des négociations intenses et prolongées, les parties ont conclu les Accords de Bangui, qui contenaient les éléments nécessaires au règlement complet des conflits, y compris la Mission interafricaine de surveillance des Accords de Bangui (MISAB) en République centrafricaine. Créée le 31 juillet 1997, la MISAB avait pour mandat de restaurer la paix et la sécurité en surveillant l’application des Accords de Bangui et en dirigeant les opérations de désarmement des anciens rebelles, de la milice et de toutes les autres personnes armées illégalement.

Le 8 février 1997, dans le cadre de la MISAB, on a déployé à Bangui quelque 800 soldats en provenance du Burkina Faso, du Tchad, du Gabon et du Mali et, plus tard, du Sénégal et du Togo, sous le commandement militaire du Gabon et avec l’appui logistique et financier de la France. Agissant en vertu du Chapitre VII de la Charte des Nations unies, les membres de la MISAB et les responsables du soutien logistique étaient autorisés à assurer la sécurité et la liberté de mouvement de leur personnel.

En novembre 1997, le secrétaire général a formulé des recommandations sur la prolongation du soutien international au-delà de la date d’expiration du mandat de la MISAB. Même si les états participant à la MISAB étaient disposés à continuer d’aider la République centrafricaine à consolider la paix, ils n’avaient pas la capacité de le faire sans la France, qui se préparait à retirer toutes ses troupes et, par conséquent, son soutien logistique, à partir d’avril 1998. Le sécretaire général a donc recommandé l’établissement et le déploiement d’une autre opération de maintien de la paix autorisée par la communauté internationale. En vertu de la résolution 1159 (1998) du Conseil de sécurité des Nations unies, la Mission des Nations unies en République centrafricaine (MINURCA) a vu le jour le 15 avril 1998.

Le 22 octobre 1999, le Conseil de sécurité a adopté la résolution 1271, par laquelle il décidait de mettre fin au mandat de la MINURCA. Dans la même résolution, il a été décidé d’explorer la possibilité de maintenir la présence politique des Nations unies après le retrait de la MINURCA. Le 15 février 2000, la MINURCA a été remplacée par le Bureau des Nations unies en République centrafricaine (BONUCA).

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (PRUDENCE)

Nom: PRUDENCE

Date: 15 avril 1998 - 21 décembre 1999

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Aider le gouvernement de la République centrafricaine à maintenir la paix, la sécurité et la liberté de mouvement et à protéger les installations clés dans la capitale de Bangui; superviser et contrôler le stockage de toutes les armes récupérées dans le cadre de l'opération de désarmement; assurer la liberté de mouvement au personnel des Nations unies et protéger les biens de l’ONU; apporter une aide dans le cadre d’un programme de formation de la police nationale et soutenir les futures élections générales.

Historique de la mission:

Le contingent canadien de la MINURCA comptait initialement 45 personnes rassemblées dans le cadre de l’Opération Prudence. Déployé le 15 avril 1998, il avait comme rôle principal d’appuyer le système de communication de la mission et comportait un détachement chargé des communications, ainsi que du personnel de soutien et des officiers d’état-major. En octobre 1998, le contingent canadien a vu croître ses effectifs affectés aux transmissions afin de soutenir les élections générales planifiées pour la fin de 1998. Il y a eu quatre rotations de personnel par le 5e Groupe-brigade mécanisé du Canada, de la Base des Forces canadiennes à Valcartier, Québec, et une rotation par le Quartier général et Régiment de transmissions de la 1re Division du Canada, de la BFC Kingston en Ontario. à la fin de 1999, la MINURCA avait rempli son mandat et les forces du maintien de la paix de l’ONU ont commencé à planifier leur départ. La mission canadienne s’est terminée en décembre 1999.