Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation RELIEF

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

RELIEF
Canadian area at Mogadishu
Airport in Somalia.

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation RELIEF

International Mission Name: RELIEF

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Somalia

Mission Date: 18 August 1992 - 28 February 1993

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (RELIEF)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To deliver humanitarian aid to Somalia.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Somalia was already suffering from a civil war that had displaced as many as one million people when it was hit by a severe drought in 1991. Agricultural output fell to 30 percent of the norm, and by early 1992 an estimated 1-2 million people were at risk of starving to death. Non-government organizations (NGOs) stepped up their efforts to bring relief, while the United Nations began to take a more active role in trying to bring peace to Somalia and in delivering humanitarian assistance.

After a joint request from the United Nations’ World Food Programme and the International Commission of the Red Cross, the CF sent a reconnaissance team to Kenya and Somalia to evaluate the situation in late August. Upon their return the decision was made to support the request, with the mission, named Operation Relief being authorized on 2 September 1992.

Three CC-130 aircraft were to deploy, one supporting the WFP and one the ICRC. The third aircraft would be a spare. They would operate from Nairobi, Kenya and fly into locations as requested by the NGO coordination center. The operation was to last until 12 December 1992.

The first flights took place on 11 September, with one flight each for the WFP and for the ICRC. Four flights a day were the norm thereafter. They carried a wide variety of food relief including rice, beans, and cooking oil. In October, the Hercules also began airdropping relief into remote areas to assist by the NGOs in convincing the starving to remain where they were, in their villages, rather than leaving and either embarking on a fruitless search for food elsewhere or overwhelming aid agencies in nearby towns.

Although Canadian Hercules aircraft sometimes found themselves in the middle of firefights between the factions vying for control of particular areas, fortunately the crews suffered no casualties.

While deliveries of aid were ongoing, plans were made to airlift Canadian troops, scheduled to participate in the United Nations Operation in Somalia (Canadian name Op Cordon). The troops were to land at Nairobi from whence the CC-130s would fly them to Bossasso. This plan changed with the decision to redeploy the Canadians to Belet Huen and participate in the American-led Unified Task Force (Canadian name Op Deliverance). This delayed the operation, which now started on 28 December 1992. Thereafter, the three Hercules supported not only Op Relief, but also Op Deliverance.

On 30 December the decision was made to extend Op Relief until 31 January 1993. This was further extended one more time, to 28 February 1993, at which time Operation Relief was terminated. The three CC-130 Hercules remained in Nairobi from which they continued to operate in support of Op Deliverance. They also participated in the WFP’s Operation Lifeline Sudan (Canadian name Op Sudan). The totals for Op Relief were 290 flights, 594 passengers and 4100 tons of relief for the World Food Programme and 257 flights, 297 passengers and 3100 tons of relief for the International Commission of the Red Cross. Over 400 air force personnel served in Op Relief.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) RELIEF

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

RELIEF
Secteur canadien à l’aéroport
de Mogadiscio, en Somalie.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération RELIEF

Nom de la mission internationale: RELIEF

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Somalie

Date: 18 août 1992 - 28 février 1993

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (RELIEF)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne : Livrer des fournitures humanitaires en Somalie.

Historique de la mission:

La Somalie était déjà en proie à une guerre civile qui avait déplacé un million de personnes quand elle a été frappée par une grave sécheresse en 1991. La production agricole a diminué de 30 percent, et au début de 1992 environ 1 ou 2 millions de personnes risquaient de mourir de faim. Les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) ont déployé davantage d’efforts pour apporter du secours, alors que les Nations unies ont commencé à jouer un rôle plus actif en essayant de ramener la paix en Somalie et en apportant de l’aide humanitaire.

À la suite d’une demande commune du Programme alimentaire mondial (PAM) des Nations unies et de la Commission internationale de la Croix-Rouge (CICR) à la fin d’août 1992, les FC ont envoyé une équipe de reconnaissance au Kenya et en Somalie pour évaluer la situation. À son retour, on a pris la décision de répondre à la demande, et la mission, nommée Opération RELIEF, a été autorisée le 2 septembre 1992.

Trois avions CC-130 ont été déployés, dont un pour le PAM et un pour la CICR. Le troisième avion servait de relève. Ils étaient basés à Nairobi, au Kenya, et volaient à la demande du centre de coordination des ONG. L’opération devait durer jusqu’au 12 décembre 1992.

Les premiers vols, un pour le PAM et un pour la CICR, ont eu lieu le 11 septembre. Par la suite, il y avait habituellement quatre vols par jour. Ils transportaient une vaste gamme d’aliments de secours comme du riz, des haricots et de l’huile à friture. En octobre, les Hercules ont également commencé à larguer du secours dans les régions éloignées pour aider les ONG à convaincre les affamés de demeurer où ils étaient, dans leurs villages, plutôt que de les quitter et de soit partir en vain à la recherche de nourriture ailleurs, soit submerger les organismes d’aide dans les villes voisines.

Bien que les avions Hercules canadiens se soient parfois trouvés au milieu d'échanges de feu entre factions se disputant le contrôle de secteurs particuliers, heureusement, aucun membre d’équipage n’a été tué ou blessé.

Pendant que les livraisons d’aide continuaient, on planifiait le transport aérien des troupes canadiennes devant participer à l’opération des Nations unies en Somalie (sous le nom canadien Op Cordon). Les troupes devaient atterrir à Nairobi, d’où des CC-130 les transporteraient vers Bossasso. Ce plan a changé quand on a décidé de redéployer les Canadiens à Belet Huen pour se joindre à la Force opérationnelle unifiée dirigée par les États-Unis (sous le nom canadien Op Deliverance). L’opération a donc été remise au 28 décembre 1992. Par la suite, les trois Hercules, en plus de participer à l’opération Relief, appuyaient également l’opération Deliverance.

Le 30 décembre, on a décidé de prolonger l’opération Relief jusqu’au 31 janvier 1993. Puis elle a encore été prolongée jusqu’au 28 février, date à laquelle elle a pris fin. Les trois Hercules CC-130 sont demeurés à Nairobi, d’où ils ont continué à voler dans le cadre de l’Opération Deliverance. Ils ont également participé à l’opération Survie au Soudan du PAM (nom canadien : Op Sudan). Au total, l’Opération Relief a permis d’effectuer 290 vols et de transporter 594 passagers et 4 100 tonnes de secours pour le Programme alimentaire mondial, et d’effectuer 257 vols et de transporter 297 passagers et 3 100 tonnes de secours pour la Commission internationale de la Croix-Rouge. Plus de 400 membres du personnel des forces aériennes ont participé à l’Opération Relief.