Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation SCULPTURE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

SCULPTURE
Photo:MCpl Paul MacGregor Canadian
Forces Combat Camera

LCol Rod Matheson, a member of International
Military Advisory Training Team (IMATT),
poses with recruits of the Republic of Sierra
Leone Armed Forces (RSLAF) during a visit
of their camp.

International Information

International Operation Name: International Military Assistance and Training Team

International Mission Name: International Military Assistance and Training Team (IMATT)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Sierra Leone

Mission Date: 7 February 2000 - Present

Mission Mandate:

IMATT (SL) will assist with the transformation of the Republic of Sierra Leone Armed Forces (RSLAF) into a self-sustaining, democratically accountable and affordable force in order that it can meet Sierra Leone's defence missions and tasks and to facilitate the phased disengagement and withdrawal of IMATT (SL).

Mission/Operation Notes:

In 1991, the Revolutionary United Front (RUF) began a civil war against the Government of Sierra Leone. A peace accord was signed in 1996, but fell apart in 1997. With the renewal of the civil war, West African states sent a military force to combat the RUF. The United Nations Security Council created the United Nations Assistance Mission in Sierra Leone (UNAMSIL) to ensure the terms of the peace agreement signed in Lome on 7 July 1999 remained in force. This included the disarmament of the RUF and the disarmament, demobilization and reintegration of all forces. On 7 February 2000 the United Nations Security Council passed Resolution 1289 that called for the Government of Sierra Leone to create a professional and accountable armed forces and national police (paragraph 20).

In April and May 2000, UN peacekeepers under UNAMSIL came under attack by rebel forces. The United Kingdom sent 1500 troops to evacuate its citizens and to support UNAMSIL. This intervention turned the tide and the rebels began to give ground and returned to the negotiation table. After the armed intervention, British troops stayed to train the Republic of Sierra Leone Armed Forces (RSLAF) so these forces could disarm the rebels themselves. This process in effect created a new RSLAF, as members of both the old military and the RUF would be integrated with the RUF and other rebels forming about 15 percent of the new service.

The British Army Short Term Training Team, under the name Operation Basilica (start 15 June), provided basic military training to the RSLAF and was terminated in September 2001 when it was judged that the RSLAF had sufficient trained soldiers (about 8500) to perform its tasks. At the same time, the UK organized the International Military Advisory and Training Team (IMATT), also known as the International Military Assistance Training Team, which had a much broader mandate.

IMATT's mandate is: IMATT (SL) will assist with the transformation of the Republic of Sierra Leone Armed Forces (RSLAF) into a self-sustaining, democratically accountable and affordable force in order that it can meet Sierra Leone's defence missions and tasks and to facilitate the phased disengagement and withdrawal of IMATT (SL). What this means is that IMATT conducts a wide range of training of the RSLAF. Basic training is provided to recruits while more specialised courses in logistics, communications, command control are offered to others. IMATT's task included more than just training. There is the need to instil a professional military culture - removing links between officers and politicians - as well as instituting a system of civilian oversight of the military. The IMATT efforts are done in conjunction with the RSLAF. IMATT personnel are employed in the Ministry of Defence, RSLAF headquarters and in advisory and executive posts in sub-units.

Great Britain has provided the vast majority of personnel for IMATT. Canada has provided the next largest contingent, with Bermuda, Ghana, Jamaica, Nigeria, Senegal, the United States among the nations that have also provided personnel. The strength of IMATT peaked in September 2001 at more than 600, mainly to provide short-term training to create the basis of a professional army. The number has been decreasing since then, to about 115 in February 2006.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (SCULPTURE)

Name: SCULPTURE

Date: 6 November 2000 - Present

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada's participation in IMATT came about through a request from the United Kingdom. Approval was granted on 4 July 2000 and the operations order issued on 6 November. The first Canadian personnel left Canada on 24 November, arriving in Sierra Leone on the 26th. This group consisted of ten individuals, both officers and senior non-commissioned members.

Initially, the members were restricted to operating in the area of the Freetown peninsula; however, as the situation in Sierra Leone stabilized, the Canadians were allowed greater freedom of movement. They now operate throughout the country, performing in a variety of roles that have included helping the Sierra Leone Navy maintain its patrol boats, and providing guidance to RSLAF instructors at the Battle Schools, as well as teaching the instructors. The work with the navy has paid dividends as the Sierra Leone Navy has been able to interdict fishing vessels illegally fishing in Sierra Leone’s waters, a situation that was previously not being controlled.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) SCULPTURE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

SCULPTURE
Cplc Paul MacGregor,
Caméra de combat des Forces canadiennes

Le Lcol Rod Matheson, membre de l’Équipe militaire
internationale consultative en matière d’instruction
(IMATT), photographié avec des recrues des Forces
armées de la République de Sierra Leone (RSLAF)
au cours d’une visite de leur camp.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Équipe internationale d'assistance et d'entraînement militaire

Nom de la mission internationale: Équipe internationale d'assistance et d'entraînement militaire (IMATT)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Sierra Leone

Date: 7 février 2000 - Présent

Mandat de la mission:

L’IMATT-SL aidera à la transformation des Forces armées de la République de Sierra Leone (RSLAF) en une force autosuffisante, démocratiquement justiciable et abordable pour qu’elle puisse se charger des missions et des tâches de défense de la Sierra Leone et pour faciliter le désengagement et le retrait graduels de l’IMATT-SL.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En 1991, le Front révolutionnaire uni (FRU) a entrepris une guerre civile contre le gouvernement de la Sierra Leone. Un accord de paix a été signé en 1996, mais est tombé à l’eau en 1997. Avec la reprise de la guerre, plusieurs États ouest-africains ont envoyé une force militaire afin de combattre le FRU. Le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a créé la Mission des Nations Unies en Sierra Leone (MINUSIL) afin de garantir que les conditions de l’accord de paix signé à Lome le 7 juillet 1999 demeureraient en vigueur. Celles-ci comprenaient notamment le désarmement du FRU ainsi que le désarmement, la démobilisation et la réintégration de toutes les forces. Le 7 février 2000, le Conseil de sécurité des Nations Unies a adopté la résolution 1289 exigeant que le gouvernement de la Sierra Leone mette sur pied une force de police et des forces armées nationales professionnelles et responsables (paragraphe 20).

En avril et mai 2000, les soldats de la paix des Nations Unies servant dans le cadre de la MINUSIL ont été attaqués par les forces rebelles. Le Royaume-Uni a envoyé 1 500 soldats pour évacuer ses citoyens et appuyer la MINUSIL. Cette intervention a renversé la situation : les rebelles ont commencé à céder du terrain et ont fini par retourner à la table de négociation. Après l’intervention armée, les troupes britanniques sont restées dans la région afin d’entraîner les RSLAF de sorte qu’elles puissent désarmer elles-mêmes les rebelles. En fait, ce processus a entraîné la création de nouvelles RSLAF, puisque les membres des anciennes forces et du FRU ont été intégrés, le FRU et les autres rebelles constituant environ 15 p. 100 de la nouvelle armée.

La British Army Short Term Training Team, surnommée Opération Basilica (débutant le 15 juin), fournissait de l’instruction militaire de base aux RSLAF. On y a mis fin en septembre 2001 lorsqu’on a jugé que les RSLAF disposaient d’un nombre assez élevé de soldats entraînés (approximativement 8 500) pour exécuter les tâches confiées. Parallèlement, le Royaume-Uni a mis sur pied l’Équipe militaire internationale consultative en matière d’instruction (IMATT), dont le mandat était beaucoup plus vaste.

Le mandat de l’IMATT consiste à aider à la transformation des Forces armées de la République de Sierra Leone (RSLAF) en une force autosuffisante, démocratiquement justiciable et abordable pour qu’elle puisse se charger des missions et des tâches de défense de la Sierra Leone et pour faciliter le désengagement et le retrait graduels de l’IMATT-SL. Cela signifie que l’IMATT donne un entraînement très diversifié aux RSLAF. L’instruction de base est fournie aux recrues tandis que des cours spécialisés (logistique, communication et commandement et contrôle) sont offerts aux autres soldats. Mais la tâche de l’IMATT ne s’arrête pas là. L’Équipe doit aussi inculquer une culture militaire professionnelle - pour rompre les liens entre officiers et politiciens - ainsi qu’instituer un système de surveillance civile des forces militaires. L’IMATT mène ses initiatives de concert avec les RSLAF. Son personnel est employé au ministère de la Défense (MOD), au quartier général des RSLAF, ainsi que dans des postes de consultation et de direction dans les sous-unités.

La Grande-Bretagne fournit la grande majorité du personnel à l’IMATT. Le Canada a envoyé le deuxième plus important contingent, et les Bermudes, le Ghana, la Jamaïque, le Nigeria, le Sénégal et les États-Unies ont eux aussi affecté du personnel à la mission. L’effectif de l’IMATT a atteint son maximum en septembre 2001, avec plus de 600 membres, principalement chargés d’assurer un entraînement à court terme afin d’établir la base d’une armée professionnelle. Depuis, le nombre de membres de l’IMATT a décru pour s’établir à environ 115 en février 2006.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (SCULPTURE)

Nom: SCULPTURE

Date: 6 novembre 2000 - Présent

Historique de la mission:

La participation canadienne à l’IMATT a fait suite à une demande présentée par le Royaume-Uni. L’approbation a été donnée le 4 juillet 2000 et l’ordre d’opération, émis le 6 novembre. Les premiers membres du personnel canadien ont quitté le Canada le 24 novembre et ils sont arrivés en Sierra Leone le 26. Ce groupe comprenait 10 personnes, tant des officiers que des militaires du rang supérieurs.

Au début, les membres de l’Équipe étaient tenus de demeurer dans la région de la péninsule de Freetown. Toutefois, à mesure que la situation en Sierra Leone s’est stabilisée, les Canadiens se sont vu accorder une plus grande liberté de mouvement. Ils servent maintenant dans l’ensemble du pays en remplissant toute une gamme de rôles, notamment en aidant la Marine de la Sierra Leone à maintenir ses navires de patrouille et en fournissant des conseils aux instructeurs des RSLAF dans les écoles de combat ainsi qu’en leur enseignant. Le travail auprès de la Marine a porté ses fruits, celle-ci étant maintenant en mesure d’interdire la pêche illégale dans les eaux de la Sierra Leone, situation qu’elle ne pouvait maîtriser auparavant.