Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation SOLITUDE

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

SOLITUDE

International Information

International Operation Name: Special Representative of the Secretary General in West Africa

International Mission Name: Special Representative of the Secretary General in West Africa (SRSG-WA)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: West Africa

Mission Date: 27 November 2002 - 15 July 2004

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (SOLITUDE)

Name: SOLITUDE

Date: 19 March 2003 - 15 April 2004

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To find a resolution to the border dispute over the Bakassi peninsula, between the West African nations of Nigeria and Cameroon.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

For a number of years relations between neighboring Cameroon and Nigeria have been strained over issues relating to their 1,600-kilometre land boundary, extending from the Lake Chad to the Bakassi peninsula, and their maritime boundary into the Gulf of Guinea. Among the issues involved are rights over oil-rich land and sea reserves and the fate of local populations. Comprised of about 1,000 km2 of mangrove swamp, the Bakassi Peninsula is located on the west coast of Africa, between Nigeria to the northwest and Cameroon to the southeast. About 70,000 people occupy its few habitable areas. The Gulf of Guinea, into which the Bakassi Peninsula extends, includes Africa's richest oil fields.

To ensure an equitable settlement, the matter was referred to the International Court of Justice (ICJ). Weeks before the ICJ judgment was rendered, the UN Secretary General invited president Paul Biya of Cameroon and Olusegun Obasanjo of Nigeria to meet and discuss the implementation of the upcoming judgment. In a joint statement issued on 5 September 2002, both presidents agreed to respect and implement the ICJ decision, and to establish an implementation mechanism.

On 10 October 2002, the ICJ settled the long-standing dispute over the sovereignty of the Bakassi Peninsula by awarding Bakassi to Cameroon. On 23 October, Nigeria announced that it would not recognize the ICJ ruling as the people of Bakassi were largely Nigerian. To prevent a possible conflict from erupting over the Peninsula, the United Nations Secretary General, Kofi Annan, announced on 27 November the creation of a mixed commission under the chairmanship of the Special Representative to the Secretary General (SRSG) West Africa, Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah, to settle the dispute via diplomatic means.

In late January of 2003, both presidents and the Secretary General met in Geneva Switzerland and agreed upon a comprehensive working plan for the withdrawal of civilian administration, military and police forces in the Lake Chad area. As a result of the agreement, the Department of Peacekeeping Operations at the United Nations requested a senior officer of the Canadian Forces to serve in West Africa as Military Advisor and Senior Military Liaison Officer to the SRSG West Africa. This request was made on the behalf of the UN Department of Political Affairs. Canada agreed and sent one officer to Dakar, Senegal in March of 2003 under the operation name Operation SOLITUDE. This tasking was of particular interest to the Canadian government since the target region for the Peace and Security Initiative of Canada's Africa Action Plan was West Africa. By providing the SRSG West Africa with a Senior Military Liaison Officer, Canada believed that it would have a good opportunity to make a significant contribution to the mission, and to gain valuable insight into the workings of the sub-region. The tasking period was for one year.

The mandate of the Mixed Commission was to clearly define the boundary between the two countries; protect the rights of the people of both countries; develop projects to promote joint economic ventures and cross-border cooperation; reactivate the Lake Chad Basin Commission; and oversee the withdrawal of civil administration, military and police forces and transfer of authority in relevant areas along the boundary. The Mixed Commission met every two months, and at its ninth meeting in Yaounde in April 2004, it decided that the process for withdrawal and transfer of authority in the Land Boundary would start on 15 June, and end on 15 July 2004; and that the process of withdrawal and transfer of authority on the Bakassi Peninsula would start on 15 July and be completed by 15 September 2004.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) SOLITUDE

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

SOLITUDE

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Représentant spécial du secrétaire général en Afrique occidentale

Nom de la mission internationale: Représentant spécial du secrétaire général en Afrique occidentale (SRSG-WA)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Afrique occidentale

Date: 27 novembre 2002 - 15 juillet 2004

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (SOLITUDE)

Nom: SOLITUDE

Date: 19 mars 2003 - 15 avril 2004

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: Trouver une solution au litige frontalier sur la péninsule de Bakassi, entre le Nigeria et le Cameroun, en Afrique occidentale.

Historique de la mission:

Pendant plusieurs années, les relations entre le Cameroun et le Nigeria ont été tendues à cause de problèmes associés à leur frontière terrestre de 1 600 kilomètres, qui va du lac Tchad à la péninsule de Bakassi, et à leur frontière maritime dans le golfe de Guinée. Parmi les problèmes soulevés figuraient ceux des droits sur les riches réserves pétrolières terrestres et maritimes et du sort des populations locales. Composée d’environ 1 000 km² de mangrove, la péninsule de Bakassi se trouve sur la côte ouest de l’Afrique, entre le Nigeria au nord-ouest et le Cameroun au sud-est. Environ 70 000 personnes, pour la plupart des Nigérians, occupent les quelques zones habitables. Le golfe de Guinée, qui jouxte la péninsule de Bakassi, compte les champs pétrolifères les plus riches d’Afrique.

Pour arriver à une solution équitable, l’affaire a été soumise à la Cour internationale de justice (CIJ). Des semaines avant que la CIJ ne rende son jugement, le secrétaire général de l’ONU invitait les présidents Paul Biya du Cameroun et Olusegun Obasanjo du Nigeria à une rencontre pour discuter de la mise en œuvre du jugement imminent. Dans une déclaration conjointe du 5 septembre 2002, les deux présidents convenaient de respecter et de mettre en œuvre la décision de la CIJ et d’établir un mécanisme d’application.

Le 10 octobre 2002, la CIJ a statué sur le vieux litige de la souveraineté sur la péninsule de Bakassi en attribuant Bakassi au Cameroun. Le 23 octobre, le Nigeria a annoncé qu’il s’opposait à la décision de la CIJ, arguant que les habitants de Bakassi étaient essentiellement Nigérians. Pour éviter qu’un conflit n’éclate, le secrétaire général des Nations unies, Kofi Annan, a annoncé le 27 novembre la création d’une commission mixte sous le présidence du représentant spécial du secrétaire général (SRSG) en Afrique occidentale, Ahmedou Ould-Abdallah, dont le rôle était de régler le litige par voie diplomatique.

À la fin de janvier 2003, les deux présidents et le Secrétaire général se sont rencontrés à Genève, en Suisse, et se sont mis d’accord sur un plan de travail complet en vue du retrait de l’administration civile et des forces militaires et policières dans la zone du lac Tchad. À la suite de l’entente, le département des Opérations de maintien de la paix des Nations unies a demandé qu’un officier supérieur des Forces canadiennes serve en Afrique occidentale comme conseiller militaire et officier de liaison supérieur pour le SRSG en Afrique occidentale. Cette demande a été faite au nom du département des Affaires politiques de l’ONU. Le Canada a accepté et a envoyé un officier à Dakar, au Sénégal, en mars 2003 (Opération Solitude). Cette tâche était d’un intérêt particulier pour le gouvernement canadien, car la région cible de l’initiative de paix et de sécurité du Plan d’action en Afrique du Canada était l’Afrique occidentale. En affectant auprès du SRSG en Afrique occidentale un officier supérieur de liaison militaire, le Canada croyait qu’il aurait la possibilité d’apporter une contribution utile à la mission et d’acquérir un bone aperçu du fonctionnement de la région. L’affectation devait durer un an.

Le mandat de la commission mixte était de définir clairement la frontière entre les deux pays, de protéger les droits des habitants des deux pays, de développer des projets afin de promouvoir les entreprises économiques mixtes et la collaboration transfrontalière, de relancer la Commission du bassin du lac Tchad et de surveiller le retrait de l’administration civile et des forces militaires et policières, de même que le transfert de l’autorité dans les zones en cause le long de la frontière. La commission mixte s’est réunie tous les deux mois et, à sa neuvième réunion à Yaoundé en avril 2004, elle a décidé que le processus de retrait et de transfert de l’autorité de la frontière terrestre commencerait le 15 juin et se terminerait le 15 juillet 2004 et que le processus de retrait et de transfert de l’autorité de la péninsule de Bakassi commencerait le 15 juillet et se terminerait le 15 septembre 2004.