Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation UN Commission for Ruanda-Urundi

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

UN Commission for Ruanda-Urundi

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Commission for Ruanda-Urundi

International Mission Name: United Naitons Commission for Ruanda-Urundi (UNCRU)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Ruanda and Urundi

Mission Date: 23 February 1962 - 26 May 1962

Mission Mandate:

The Commission was mandated to:

Mission/Operation Notes:

Ruanda-Urundi had been under Belgian trusteeship since the end of the First World War, having been given the former German colonies in trust by the League of Nations. This trusteeship was confirmed by the United Nations International Trusteeship System in 1946. As African colonies began to gain independence in the 1950s, there was increasing pressure on European nations to grant their trustees full independence. In November 1959, disturbances began between members of the Hutu and Tutsi ethnic groups in Ruanda. At the same time, Belgium announced its policy on the eventual dissolution of its trusteeship.

After a three-person United Nations Commission for Ruanda-Urundi had presented its report on the conditions in the trust territories to the General Assembly in June 1962, the General Assembly created a five-person United Nations Commission for Ruanda-Urundi to oversee the implementation of the transfer of power from Belgium to the two emerging nations. To assist the Commission, technical experts were requested to provide specialist advice in economics, finance, the judiciary, police and military matters. The commission presented its report on 26 May1962, after which it was dissolved.

Canada provided specialist assistance to the Commission in two areas: military and police. Two RCMP officers evaluated the capabilities of the police forces in Ruanda and Urundi, while one Canadian army officer provided advice on the local military forces and on the scheduled Belgian military withdrawal. The Canadian Major was borrowed from the United Nations Organization in Congo on 23 March. With the completion of the Commission, he remained in Ruanda-Urundi to start work for the Secretary-General's Special Representative.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Commission des Nations Unies pour Ruanda-Urundi

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Commission des Nations Unies pour Ruanda-Urundi

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Commission des Nations Unies pour Ruanda-Urundi

Nom de la mission internationale: Commission des Nations Unies pour Ruanda-Urundi (UNCRU)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Rwanda et Urundi

Date: 23 février 1962 - 26 mai 1962

Mandat de la mission:

La commission était chargée:

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

Depuis la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale, le Ruanda-Urundi se trouvait sous la tutelle de la Belgique, à laquelle la Société des Nations avait confié l'administration des anciennes colonies allemandes. Ce mandat a été confirmé en 1946 par le Régime international de tutelle des Nations Unies. Vers la fin des années 50, lorsque les colonies africaines ont commencé à accéder à l'indépendance, des pressions croissantes ont été exercées sur les nations européennes afin qu'il en soit de même pour les colonies placées sous leur tutelle. En novembre 1959, des troubles ont commencé à survenir entre les Hutus et les Tutsis, au Ruanda. Parallèlement, la Belgique a annoncé sa politique devant mener à la dissolution de sa tutelle.

Après qu'une Commission des Nations Unies pour le Ruanda-Urundi composée de trois personnes a eu présenté à l'Assemblée générale son rapport sur les conditions dans les territoires en tutelle en juin 1962, l'Assemblée générale a créé une Commission des Nations Unies pour le Ruanda-Urundi de cinq personnes pour superviser la passation des pouvoirs de la Belgique aux deux nouvelles nations. Afin d'aider la Commission, on a demandé à des experts techniques de fournir des conseils relativement aux questions économiques, financières, judiciaires, policières et militaires. La Commission a présenté son rapport le 26 mai 1962, après quoi elle a été dissoute.

Le Canada a fourni de l’assistance spécialisée à la Commission dans les domaines policier et militaire. Deux officiers de la GRC ont évalué les capacités des forces policières au Ruanda et en Urundi et un officier de l’Armée canadienne a donné des conseils sur les forces militaires locales et sur le retrait prévu des forces belges. Le major canadien a été prêté par l'Organisation des Nations Unies au Congo le 23 mars. Une fois le mandat de la Commission terminé, ce major est demeuré au Ruanda-Urundi afin de travailler pour le compte du Représentant spécial du Secrétaire général.

Haut de la page