Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Uganda 1972

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Uganda 1972

International Information

International Operation Name: Uganda 1972

International Mission Name: Uganda 1972

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Africa

Location: Uganda

Mission Date: 1 October 1972 - 30 October 1972

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (Uganda 1972)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To evacuate to Canada Asian-Ugandans being expelled by Idi Amin.

Mission Notes:

Idi Amin took power in Uganda following a military coup in January 1971. On 4 August 1972, he announced that the country’s 80,000 Asians had 90 days to leave the country. This was amended two days later so that only those Asians who did not have Ugandan citizenship would be expelled. This still amounted to an estimated 60,000 people, most of whom had British citizenship and were mainly third-generation Ugandans brought to the country by the former British colonial regime. They were told that they could leave with only that which they could carry and would not be compensated for homes, businesses and possessions left behind. The expulsion order took Britain by surprise: it had been taking in about one thousand Asian-Ugandans a year, but accepting sixty thousand at one time was beyond its capacity - there was a risk of serious domestic problems.

In the face of the humanitarian crisis created by the expulsion, Canada agreed to accept 4,400 Asian-Ugandans into Canada. The lead agency would be the Department of Manpower and Immigration. The Canadian Forces would assist by providing accommodation, food services, medical facilities and transportation upon the arrival of the refugees in Canada.

With one week’s notice, the Longue Pointe detachment of CFB Montreal was converted into a reception centre. As the refugees arrived on Air Canada, CP Air and Pacific Western flights, they were transported to Longue Pointe. The gymnasium became a reception centre, while three old barracks became a temporary hospital, a press centre and clothing store.

A group of 20 military cooks from Gagetown, London, Montreal, Petawawa and Valcartier quickly learned the intricacies of cooking Asian meals, as well as the different food requirements of Hindus, Muslims and Sikhs. A medical unit from 5e Groupement de Combat provided a small hospital, and acted as liaison with two Montreal hospitals that had volunteered their assistance if required. They also inoculated all Asians as they arrived as a precaution against various diseases, including smallpox, which had been reported in Uganda. Even casual visitors to the reception centre were inoculated.

After flights lasting about 19 hours, on arrival at Longue Pointe the refugees were treated to a hot meal, given inoculations and informed as to what would happen to them next. Most stayed no more than two days at Longue Pointe, as Manpower and Immigration personnel worked quickly to find places in Canada to stay based upon their education and previous employment. Airline and railway personnel maintained offices at the reception centre, while the CF provided transport to Dorval airport or Windsor Station.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Ouganda 1972

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Ouganda 1972

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Ouganda 1972

Nom de la mission internationale: Ouganda 1972

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Ouganda

Date: 1 octobre 1972 - 30 octobre 1972

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Ouganda 1972)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne: Évacuer au Canada des Ougandais d’origine asiatique expulsés par Idi Amin.

Historique de la mission:

En janvier 1971, Idi Amin a accédé au pouvoir en Ouganda à la suite d’un coup d’État militaire. Le 4 août 1972, il a annoncé que les 80 000 Asiatiques habitant le pays avaient 90 jours pour partir. La décision a été modifiée deux jours plus tard pour s’appliquer seulement aux Asiatiques qui ne détenaient pas la citoyenneté ougandaise. Environ 60 000 personnes étaient toujours menacées d’expulsion. La plupart d’entre elles détenaient la citoyenneté britannique et étaient des Ougandais de la troisième génération arrivés à l’époque de l’ancien régime colonial britannique. Ils ont été informés qu’ils ne pouvaient emmener que ce qu’ils pouvaient transporter avec eux et qu’ils ne seraient pas dédommagés pour les maisons, commerces et autres biens qu’ils abandonneraient. L’ordre d’expulsion a pris la Grande Bretagne au dépourvu : elle acceptait un millier d’Ougandais d’origine asiatique par année, mais n’avait pas la capacité d’en accueillir 60 000 à la fois étant donné le risque de problèmes intérieurs.

Devant la crise humanitaire engendrée par l’expulsion, le Canada a accepté d’accueillir 4 400 Ougandais d’origine asiatique. Le ministère de la Main-d’œuvre et de l’Immigration était l'organisme responsable. Les Forces canadiennes devaient prêter leur assistance en fournissant de l’hébergement, des services alimentaires, des installations médicales et en transportant les réfugiés à leur arrivée au Canada.

Avec un préavis d’une semaine, le détachement de Longue Pointe de la base des forces canadiennes de Montréal a été converti en centre d’accueil. Au fur et à mesure que les réfugiés arrivaient à bord de vols d’Air Canada, de CP Air et de Pacific Western, ils étaient transportés à Longue Pointe. Le gymnase a fait office de centre d’accueil, et trois vieilles casernes ont servi d’hôpital temporaire, de centre de presse et de magasin de vêtements.

Un groupe de 20 cuisiniers militaires de Gagetown, London, Montréal, Petawawa et Valcartier s’est rapidement familiarisé avec les subtilités de la cuisine asiatique et avec les exigences alimentaires des hindous, des musulmans et des sikhs. Une unité médicale du 5e Groupement de Combat a fourni un petit hôpital et a assuré la liaison avec deux hôpitaux de Montréal qui avaient proposé leur aide au cas où cela s’avérerait nécessaire. Par mesure de précaution, les réfugiés ont également été vaccinés dès leur arrivée contre diverses maladies, dont la variole, signalées en Ouganda. Même les visiteurs occasionnels du centre d’accueil ont été vaccinés.

À leur arrivée à Longue Pointe après des vols d’environ 19 heures, les réfugiés ont eu droit à un repas chaud. Ils ont également été vaccinés et informés de ce qui les attendait ensuite. La plupart des réfugiés sont restés deux jours ou moins à Longue Pointe. Le personnel du ministère de la Main-d’œuvre et de l’Immigration a travaillé rapidement pour leur trouver des endroits où s’installer au Canada en fonction de leur scolarité et de leurs emplois précédents. Des compagnies aériennes et ferroviaires avaient des bureaux au centre d’accueil, et les Forces canadiennes fournissaient le transport jusqu’à l’aéroport de Dorval ou la gare Windsor.