Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Observer Team Nigeria

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Observer Team Nigeria

International Information

International Operation Name: Observer Team Nigeria

International Mission Name: Observer Team Nigeria (OTN)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Africa

Location: Nigeria

Mission Date: 15 September 1968 - 28 February 1970

Mission Mandate:

To investigate, at the invitation of the Nigerian government, allegations of genocide and war crimes, as they were brought to the attention of the observers.

Mission/Operation Notes:

In July 1967, war broke out between the Federation of Nigeria and the secessionist state of Biafra following the latter’s assertion of its independence on 30 May 1967. Following initial Biafran successes, Nigerian forces gradually fought their way back into Biafra and, on 15 January 1970, the latter surrendered.

From the outset, Biafran authorities alleged that the Nigerian military was guilty of serious human rights abuses and perhaps even genocide. Images of starving Biafran children produced an international outcry, and as a result of these protests the Nigerian government invited Britain, Canada, Poland, Sweden, the United Nations, and the Organization of African Unity (OAU) to despatch observers to ascertain and report on the validity of Biafran allegations. All agreed, with Canada choosing to send one observer provided he had complete freedom of movement and to report everything he saw.

The observer groups comprised representatives from all participants, but while the UN and OAU members submitted individual reports, the British, Canadian, Polish, and Swedish observers tried to achieve consensus in their reporting; minority reports were nevertheless acceptable when they could not. Despite widespread suspicions that their work would be obstructed, the observer groups by and large were free to travel where they needed to, and although they reported evidence of “unprovoked and inexcusable killings” - not uncommon in such conflicts -- there was no evidence that the Nigerian forces had been or were engaged in genocide.

The first Canadian observer, Major General W.A. Milroy, arrived in Nigeria on 17 September 1968 and was immediately persuaded that the Canadian contingent should be increased. Two officers were soon sent to join him. They were replaced after six months, and that tour length became the norm until the last two Canadians left in February 1970, when the cease-fire had taken effect and a peace agreement had been reached.

Top of Page

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Équipe d'observateurs au Nigeria

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Équipe d'observateurs au Nigeria

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Équipe d'observateurs au Nigeria

Nom de la mission internationale: Équipe d'observateurs au Nigeria (EON)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Afrique

Lieu: Nigeria

Date: 15 septembre 1968 - 28 février 1970

Mandat de la mission:

À l’invitation du gouvernement du Nigeria, enquêter sur les allégations de génocide et de crimes de guerre portées à l’attention des observateurs.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération:

En juillet 1967, une guerre civile a éclaté entre la Fédération de Nigéria et l’État sécessionniste du Biafra, qui venait de proclamer son indépendance le 30 mai. Après des succès initiaux pour les rebelles, les troupes nigérianes ont peu à peu reconquis le Biafra, jusqu’à la capitulation de l’armée sécessionniste le 15 janvier 1970.

Dès le départ, les autorités biafraises ont prétendu que les militaires nigérians avaient commis des crimes graves contre les droits de la personne et peut-être même un génocide. Les images d’enfants mourrant de faim ont provoqué un tollé universel; à la suite de ces protestations, le gouvernement nigérian a invité la Grande-Bretagne, le Canada, la Pologne, la Suède, les Nations Unies et l’Organisation de l’unité africaine (OUA) à envoyer sur place des observateurs pour vérifier le bien-fondé des allégations et faire rapport à ce sujet. Tous ces pays et organismes ont accepté l’invitation, le Canada ayant décidé d’envoyer un observateur, à condition que celui-ci bénéficie d’une liberté totale de mouvements et puisse signaler toutes ses constatations.

Les groupes d’observateurs comprenaient des représentants de chaque pays ou organisme participant, mais alors que les délégués de l’ONU et de l’OUA présentaient leurs rapports individuellement, les observateurs anglais, canadiens, polonais et suédois essayaient d’en arriver à un consensus; en cas d’impossibilité, ils pouvaient néanmoins soumettre des rapports minoritaires. Malgré la crainte générale qu’on ne fasse obstacle à leur travail, les groupes d’observateurs étaient dans l’ensemble libres d’aller partout où c’était nécessaire et, en dépit des cas patents signalés de « tueries non provoquées et inexcusables », excès courants dans ce genre de conflit, ils n’ont trouvé aucune preuve que les troupes nigérianes avaient perpétré ou étaient en train de perpétrer un génocide.

Le premier observateur canadien, le Major général W.A. Milroy, arrivé au Nigeria le 17 septembre 1968, a immédiatement conclu qu’il fallait augmenter la représentation canadienne; on a donc envoyé peu après deux autres officiers, qui ont été remplacés au bout de six mois. Cette durée d’affectation est devenue la norme jusqu'au départ des deux derniers observateurs canadiens en février 1970, une fois le cessez-le-feu entré en vigueur et un accord de paix conclu.

Haut de la page