Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation ATHENA

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

ATHENA
Photo: Sgt Frank Hudec, Canadian Forces Combat Camera
Kabul, Afghanistan

Canadian troops prepare to leave Kabul International
Airport in LAV III (Light Armoured Vehicles) after
arriving on a CC-130 Hercules transport aircraft.
The soldiers are part of Operation ATHENA, Canada's
contribution to the International Security Assistance Force
(ISAF)

International Information

International Operation Name: International Security Assistance Force

International Mission Name: International Security Assistance Force (ISAF)

Mandating Organization: Agreement on Provisional Arrangements in Afghanistan (Bonn Agreement)

Region Name: Asia

Location: Afghanistan

Mission Date: 5 December 2001 - Present

Mission Mandate: ISAF's primary role is to support the Government of Afghanistan (GOA) in providing and maintaining a secure environment in order to facilitate the re-building of Afghanistan

Mission/Operation Notes:

The Soviet invasion of Afghanistan in 1979 and the resistance it provoked began a period of continuous civil war, and even the Soviets’ departure in 1988 did little to resolve the situation. Warlords and militia leaders who had worked together to oust the Soviet-backed regime now jostled for power, sometimes switching allegiances in breathtakingly short spans of time. By 2001 the Taliban had gained control of 80 percent of the country, and although by everyone’s accounting they could be described as religious fundamentalists there was nevertheless hope that they might bring stability to the country. However, the Taliban were also providing shelter to (and helping to train) the terrorists of Al Qaeda, led by Osama bin Laden, and when they refused to hand over bin Laden after the terrorist attacks of 11 September 2001, the United Nations and NATO backed efforts to unseat this terrorist-supporting regime. The resulting military operation, named Operation ENDURING FREEDOM, was part of the greater “Campaign Against Terrorism”.

The United Nations had actually been involved in providing aid to Afghanistan and its refugees since before the Soviet departure. In addition, UN representatives had been attempting to reconcile the various groups within the country and provide a stable government and peace. With the American-led attack upon the Taliban, the possibility for reconciliation increased among those who were opposed to the regime, and in December 2001, a number of prominent Afghans met in Bonn, Germany under the auspices of the United Nations. On 5 December they signed the Agreement on Provisional Arrangements in Afghanistan Pending the Re-establishment of Permanent Government Institutions, known as the Bonn Agreement, witnessed by the Special Representative of the Secretary-General for Afghanistan. The Agreement created an Afghan Interim Authority, composed of 30 members, who would govern the country. Their goal was to create within six months the conditions for a Transitional Authority that would lead to a Loya Jirga (the traditional Afghan Grand Council) in two years. The Interim Authority was inaugurated in Kabul on 22 December 2001, with the Loya Jirga taking place in June 2002.

The Afghan Interim Authority knew that they would face a daunting task, having to not only rebuild the entire economy and infrastructure of the country but also to re-establish the tools of government, all the while reconciling independent-minded warlords and defeating the Taliban who still remained a power in Afghanistan. On 4 January 2002 the AIA signed a Military Technical Agreement with the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF).

ISAF is an ad-hoc organization, composed mainly of NATO members, formed to provide assistance to the AIA. Under the offer of the United Kingdom to organize and lead ISAF, on 10 January 2002 Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, New Zealand, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and the United Kingdom signed a joint Memorandum of Understanding in London, formalising their contributions to the force. Belgium signed the Memorandum later while Bulgaria agreed to contribute personnel. On 14 March, the Czech Republic signed the Memorandum, offering to contribute a military field hospital.

Although not a United Nations operation, ISAF operates under a UN mandate issued under a Chapter VII Security Council Resolution 1386 of 20 December 2001. The mandate has been expanded and altered three times, under Resolutions 1413, 23 May 2002, 1444, 27 November 2002 and 1510, 13 October 2003, all of which were Chapter VII mandates. These mandates authorized ISAF to support the AIA, the ATA and the Government of Afghanistan. The initial mandates were for the area around Kabul; however, this was expanded in Resolution 1510, which allowed ISAF to operate in any area of Afghanistan at the request of Afghani authorities.

Pending the arrival of ISAF forces - the first of the 5,000 arrived in Kabul on 1 January 2002 -- British troops already in Afghanistan provided an interim force. Among the tasks ISAF performed were providing security in Kabul, disposing of munitions, training the new Afghan National Army, and disarming the various militia groups. Patrols of Kabul were conducted with the Kabul City Police. On a political level, ISAF worked closely with the Afghani authorities and the United Nations Assistance Mission to Afghanistan (see separate entry).

ISAF also collaborated with non-governmental organisations and United Nations relief agencies to coordinate, provide, and protect humanitarian operations, infrastructure repair, and emergency relief following natural disasters like the 25 March 2002 earthquake in the North. Its support to the Afghan authorities was designed to allow the Afghans to take the lead and develop their own institutions and capabilities as quickly as possible. Joint patrols were conducted with the Afghan military and Kabul City Police, but when it came to raids and other operations where force was involved, ISAF supported, rather than led, to reaffirm the fact that its goal was to assist, not supplant, local authority. After 23 years of civil war, and in a city with over 3.5 million people, many of whom were displaced and living in shanty towns and refugee camps, this was not an easy task. In December 2003, the North Atlantic Council authorised NATO’s Supreme Allied Commander to expand the mission to include a German-led Provincial Reconstruction Team in Kunduz. Similar teams in other areas would follow. Initially ISAF was led by the United Kingdom, followed by Turkey and then jointly by German and the Netherlands. Canada assumed command of ISAF in February 2004.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (ATHENA)

Name: ATHENA

Date: 14 May 2003 - Present

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

ISAF's primary role is to support the Government of Afghanistan (GOA) in providing and maintaining a secure environment in order to facilitate the re-building of Afghanistan

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada joined the campaign against terror and participated in Operation ENDURING FREEDOM under the Canadian Operation APOLLO, and it wished to maintain its presence in Afghanistan after the latter’s termination. Accordingly, on 12 February 2003 the Minister of National Defence announced that Canada would participate in ISAF, operating in the southern and western sectors of Kabul that included both rural and urban districts as well as the “Arab” quarter. Under the name Operation ATHENA, a two-thousand strong battle group would deploy beginning in August. The CDS operation order was issued on 14 May 2003, and shortly thereafter a Theatre Activation Team was despatched to set up the camp and the facilities required for the main contingent. The last member of the TAF returned to Canada on 8 August.

The battle group formed around the 3rd Battalion, The Royal Canadian Regiment, and subsequently the 3rd Battalion, Royal 22e Régiment, which deployed in January 2004. Each battle group included an armoured reconnaissance squadron, a health services support company, and engineers - all supported by a national control element and a national support element that included a 200-person base in the Arabian Gulf.

The battle groups conducted a multitude of tasks. They patrolled the streets of Kabul in their area of responsibility, often with the Kabul City police, 3 R22R alone conducting over 3,800 patrols and manning over 880 checkpoints in six months. The Field Engineer Squadrons built explosives demolition ranges where they destroyed seized ammunition. In terms of humanitarian assistance, they rebuilt and repaired schools, orphanages, and public utilities, and helped secure the donation of much-needed equipment and supplies for these initiatives as well as for the Kabul police.

Canada reduced its commitment to ISAF to seven hundred, all ranks, in August 2004 in order to provide the army with a pause from the high operational tempo. Instead of a full battle group, the next three rotations would be built around an armoured reconnaissance squadron and an infantry company, supported by a health services support company, and national control and national support elements. Some of the rotations also had an engineer squadron attached. The infantry companies provided a quick reaction force for ISAF, escorted convoys and conducted foot and mounted patrols in their sector of Kabul. The recce squadrons served as the Kabul Multinational Brigade's armoured reconnaissance squadron, providing intelligence-gathering and support observation to ISAF and conducting mounted patrols alone and in support of other ISAF forces. These operations netted both known terrorists and foreign nationals.

Op ATHENA saw the introduction of new equipment into the Canadian Forces. Four Sperwer Unmanned Aerial Vehicles were bought and used to provide a reconnaissance capability. Over 1100 Mercedes Gelaende Class (G-Class) wagons were purchased to replace the older Volkswagen Iltis, one hundred of which were sent to Op Athena. The G-Wagons featured improved armoured protection against small arms fire, mines, and improvised explosive devices. Op ATHENA also saw the first major deployment of the LAV III armoured vehicle. The Nyala mine clearance vehicle also deployed on this operation. In addition, two explosive-sniffing dogs were acquired in mid-2005 to provide an explosives detection capability as a result of improvised explosive devices being found in Kabul.

Canadian officers have held a number of senior appointments in ISAF. On 17 July 2003, Brigadier-General P.J. Devlin assumed command of the Kabul Multinational Brigade, the operational headquarters for ISAF. Major-General A. Leslie was Deputy Commander of ISAF for six months beginning in June 2003, while Lieutenant-General R. Hillier commanded ISAF from 9 February to 8 August 2004. Lieutenant-General Hillier’s command coincided with the North Atlantic Council expanding ISAF’s mandate in February 2004 to other parts of the country.

The first Op ATHENA series officially ended on 18 October 2005 after a provincial reconstruction team in Kandahar stood up under the name Operation ARCHER and operated under the Campaign Against Terrorism rather than ISAF. The last Canadian assets were removed from Kabul’s Camp Julien on 29 November and the camp was then turned over to the Afghan Ministry of Defence and to German forces. Overall, about 7,000 personnel served in this phase of Operation ATHENA.

On 31 July 2006, ISAF assumed control of operations in six southern provinces of Afghanistan. These included the Canadian area of control around Kandahar. Accordingly, most of the personnel of Op ARCHER now came under a renewed Op ATHENA, as the mission had reverted to ISAF. However, the rotation numbers for the subsequent deployments continued from the Op ARCHER series and not from the previous Op ATHENA numbers.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) ATHENA

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

ATHENA
Photo : Sgt Frank Hudec, Caméra de combat des
Forces canadiennes
Kaboul (Afghanistan)

Des soldats canadiens se préparent à quitter l’aéroport
international de Kaboul dans des véhicules blindés
légers (VBL) III, après leur arrivée à bord d’un avion
de transport CC 130 Hercules. Les soldats participent
à l’opération ATHENA, la contribution du Canada
à la Force internationale d’assistance à
la sécurité (FIAS).

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Force internationale d'assistance à la sécurité

Nom de la mission internationale: Force internationale d'assistance à la sécurité (FIAS)

Mandat de l'opération: Agreement on Provisional Arrangements in Afghanistan (Bonn Agreement)

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Afghanistan

Date: 5 décembre 2001 - Présent

Mandat de la mission:

Le rôle principal de la FIAS consiste à aider le gouvernement de l’Afghanistan à rétablir et à maintenir la sécurité pour faciliter la reconstruction du pays.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

La résistance des Afghans contre les Soviétiques qui avaient envahi leur pays en 1979 a donné lieu à une longue période de guerre civile continuelle, et même le départ des troupes soviétiques en 1988 n’a guère aidé à régler la situation. Les seigneurs de la guerre et les chefs de milice qui avaient coopéré pour abattre le régime mis en place par les Soviétiques se disputaient maintenant le pouvoir, changeant parfois d’allégeance du jour au lendemain. En 2001, les talibans avaient conquis 80 p. 100 du territoire et, même s’ils étaient d’après tous les témoignages des intégristes religieux, on espérait qu'ils parviennent à stabiliser le pays. Hélas, les talibans donnaient également asile aux terroristes du mouvement Al Qaïda, dirigé par Oussama ben Laden (et les aidaient à s'entraîner); comme ils refusaient de remettre Ben Laden aux Américains après les attentats terroristes du 11 septembre 2001, l’ONU et l’OTAN ont appuyé leurs adversaires pour renverser ce régime favorable au terrorisme. L’opération militaire qui s'est ensuivie et qui a été baptisée Enduring Freedom s’inscrivait dans une « campagne contre le terrorisme » plus vaste.

L’ONU avait en fait commencé à fournir une aide humanitaire à l’Afghanistan et à ses réfugiés avant même le départ des Soviétiques. De plus, des représentants de l’ONU avaient essayé de réconcilier les divers camps belligérants dans le pays, d’instaurer un gouvernement stable et de rétablir la paix. L’offensive de la coalition nationale menée par les Américains ayant réussi à renverser le régime taliban, les perspectives de réconciliation entre les diverses factions qui s’étaient opposées à eux paraissaient bien meilleures, si bien qu’en décembre 2001, plusieurs Afghans éminents se sont rencontrés à Bonn, en Allemagne, sous les auspices des Nations Unies. Le 5 décembre, ils ont ratifié l’Accord définissant les arrangements provisoires applicables en Afghanistan en attendant le rétablissement d’institutions étatiques permanentes, appelé Accord de Bonn, en présence du représentant spécial du Secrétaire général pour l’Afghanistan. L’accord prévoyait la mise sur pied d’une autorité intérimaire afghane composée de 30 membres pour gouverner le pays. Celle-ci avait pour tâche principale d’instaurer en l’espace de six mois les conditions nécessaires à la convocation d’une Loya Jirga (grand conseil traditionnel) d’ici deux ans. L’autorité intérimaire est entrée en fonction à Kaboul le 22 décembre 2001, tandis que l’assemblée Loya Jirga s’est réunie en juin 2002.

Les membres de l’autorité intérimaire afghane étaient conscients des énormes défis à relever, puisqu’il fallait non seulement rebâtir l’ensemble de l’économie et des infrastructures, mais aussi rétablir les leviers du gouvernement, tout en réconciliant les seigneurs de la guerre farouchement indépendants et en battant les talibans encore très puissants en Afghanistan. Le 4 janvier 2002, l’autorité intérimaire afghane a conclu un accord technique militaire avec la Force internationale d’assistance à la sécurité (FIAS).

La FIAS est un organisme ad hoc composé surtout de membres de l’OTAN et chargé de prêter assistance à l’autorité intérimaire afghane. Le Royaume-Uni ayant offert d’organiser et de diriger la FIAS, le 10 janvier 2002, ce pays ainsi que l’Autriche, le Danemark, la Finlande, la France, l’Allemagne, la Grèce, l’Italie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, les Pays-Bas, la Norvège, le Portugal, la Roumanie, l’Espagne, la Suède et la Turquie ont ratifié conjointement un protocole d’entente à Londres qui officialisait leur contribution respective à cette force. La Belgique a signé le protocole plus tard, tandis que la Bulgarie a accepté de fournir des militaires. Le 14 mars, la République tchèque a elle aussi signé le protocole, offrant de fournir un hôpital militaire de campagne.

Même s’il ne s’agit pas d’une mission des Nations Unies, la FIAS agit suivant un mandat de l’ONU confié en vertu de la résolution 1386 adoptée par le Conseil de sécurité le 20 décembre 2001 (aux termes du Chapitre VII de la Charte). Ce mandat a été élargi et modifié à trois reprises, par les résolutions 1413 (23 mai 2002), 1444 (27 novembre 2002) et 1510 (13 octobre 2003), chaque fois en fonction du Chapitre VII de la Charte. Ces mandats autorisaient la FIAS à assister l’autorité intérimaire afghane, le gouvernement de l’Afghanistan et l’autorité transitoire afghane (ATA). Le mandat initial s’appliquait à la région autour de Kaboul; toutefois, la résolution 1510 est venue l’élargir, ce qui a permis à la FIAS de mener des opérations n’importe où en Afghanistan à la demande des autorités afghanes.

Avant l’arrivée des 5 000 membres de la FIAS, dont les premiers sont parvenus à Kaboul le 1er janvier 2002, des soldats britanniques qui se trouvaient déjà en Afghanistan ont servi de force intérimaire. Parmi ses fonctions, la FIAS s’occupait d’assurer la sécurité à Kaboul, de neutraliser les munitions, de former les soldats de la nouvelle Armée nationale afghane et de désarmer les diverses milices. Ses membres patrouillaient à Kaboul en compagnie des policiers de la ville. Au niveau politique, les responsables de la FIAS collaboraient étroitement avec les autorités afghanes et la Mission d'assistance des Nations Unies en Afghanistan (voir le texte distinct).

La FIAS a aussi collaboré avec des organisations non gouvernementales et les organismes de secours des Nations Unies pour coordonner, assurer et protéger les activités d’aide humanitaire, les travaux de réparation des infrastructures ainsi que la distribution des secours à la suite de catastrophes naturelles comme le tremblement de terre ayant frappé le Nord du pays le 25 mars 2002. Le soutien qu’elle offrait aux autorités afghanes visait à permettre aux Afghans de s’autogouverner le plus vite possible et d’établir eux mêmes les capacités et les institutions requises. Ses membres faisaient des patrouilles aux côtés des militaires afghans et des policiers de Kaboul, mais pour les raids et les autres opérations impliquant le recours à la force, la FIAS se contentait de fournir un appui au lieu d’assumer un rôle dirigeant, pour souligner que sa fonction était d’assister et non de remplacer les autorités locales. Après 23 ans de guerre civile, dans une ville de plus de 3,5 millions d’habitants, dont beaucoup de personnes déplacées vivant dans des bidonvilles et des camps de réfugiés, ce n’était pas une mince affaire. En décembre 2003, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a autorisé le Commandant suprême allié de l’OTAN à élargir la mission en y intégrant une équipe de reconstruction provinciale sous direction allemande à Kunduz. D’autres équipes semblables allaient être mises sur pied dans d’autres régions. Au départ, la FIAS a été dirigée par le Royaume-Uni, puis par la Turquie et ensuite par l’Allemagne et les Pays Bas conjointement. Le Canada en a pris les commandes en février 2004.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (ATHENA)

Nom: ATHENA

Date: 14 mai 2003 - Présent

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Le rôle principal de la FIAS consiste à aider le gouvernement de l’Afghanistan à rétablir et à maintenir la sécurité pour faciliter la reconstruction du pays.

Historique de la mission:

Le Canada s’est joint à la campagne contre le terrorisme et a participé à l’opération Enduring Freedom sous le nom canadien d’opération Apollo, et il voulait maintenir sa présence en Afghanistan une fois celle ci terminée. Par conséquent, le 12 février 2003, le ministre de la Défense nationale a annoncé la participation du Canada à la FIAS. Ses militaires seraient à l’œuvre dans les secteurs sud et ouest de Kaboul incluant à la fois des zones rurales et des districts urbains, ainsi que le quartier « arabe ». Sous le nom d’opération Athena, un groupement tactique de 2 000 membres allait entreprendre son déploiement en août. L’ordre d’opération a été émis par le CEMD le 14 mai 2003 et, peu après, les FC ont envoyé une équipe d’activation dans le théâtre (EAT) pour aménager le campement et les installations nécessaires au contingent principal. Le dernier membre de l'EAT est rentré au Canada le 8 août.

Le groupement tactique a été formé à partir du 3e Bataillon, The Royal Canadian Regiment, puis du 3e Bataillon, Royal 22e Régiment, qui a pris la relève en janvier 2004. Chaque groupement tactique comprenait un escadron de reconnaissance blindé, une compagnie de soutien des services de santé et une section du génie, toutes ces unités étant appuyées par un élément de contrôle national et un élément de soutien national, dont une base de 200 personnes dans le golfe Arabo Persique.

Les groupements tactiques exécutaient une multitude de tâches. Leurs membres patrouillaient dans les rues de Kaboul dans leur zone de responsabilité, souvent en compagnie de policiers de Kaboul; ainsi, le 3 R22eR a à lui seul effectué plus de 3 800 patrouilles et assuré la surveillance à plus de 880 postes de contrôle en l’espace de 6 mois. Les escadrons du génie ont aménagé des aires d’élimination d’explosifs où ils détruisaient les munitions saisies. En ce qui concerne l’aide humanitaire, ils ont reconstruit et réparé des écoles, des orphelinats et des installations de services publics et contribué à protéger l’équipement et les fournitures indispensables donnés à l’appui des ces initiatives ou destinés à la police de Kaboul.

En août 2004, le Canada a réduit sa contribution à la FIAS, celle ci ayant été ramenée à 700 militaires de tous grades, afin d’accorder un répit à l’armée à la suite d’opérations menées à une cadence intensive. Au lieu d’un groupement tactique complet, pour les trois rotations suivantes, le contingent se limiterait à un escadron de reconnaissance blindé et une compagnie d’infanterie, appuyés par une compagnie de soutien des services de santé ainsi qu’un élément de contrôle national et un élément de soutien national. Pour certaines des rotations, un escadron du génie a été ajouté. La FIAS avait recours aux membres des compagnies d’infanterie pour assurer des interventions rapides, escorter les convois et effectuer des patrouilles à pied et motorisées dans leur secteur respectif à Kaboul. Les escadrons de reconnaissance, intégrés à l’escadron de reconnaissance blindé de la Brigade multinationale de Kaboul, recueillaient des renseignements et faisaient des observations pour la FIAS, en plus de mener des patrouilles motorisées, tant individuellement qu’avec d’autres soldats de la FIAS. Ces opérations visaient à la fois les terroristes connus et les étrangers.

Les Forces canadiennes ont utilisé de nouveaux équipements au cours de l’opération Athena. Quatre véhicules aériens sans pilote Sperwer ont en effet été achetés pour servir à des missions de reconnaissance. Les FC ont acheté aussi plus de 1 100 G-Wagon fabriqués par Mercedes pour remplacer les vieux véhicules Iltis de marque Volkswagen; une centaine d’entre eux ont été utilisés pour l’opération Athena. Les G-Wagon offraient un meilleur blindage protecteur contre les tirs d’armes légères, les mines et les dispositifs explosifs de circonstance. C’est aussi durant l’opération Athena que les FC ont pour la première fois déployé en grand nombre des véhicules blindés légers (VBL) III. On s’est également servi de véhicules de déminage Nyala. En outre, deux chiens renifleurs d’explosifs, acquis au milieu de 2005, sont venus aider à la détection des explosifs, après la découverte à Kaboul de dispositifs explosifs de circonstance.

Des officiers canadiens ont occupé un certain nombre de postes supérieurs dans la FIAS. Ainsi, le 17 juillet 2003, le Brigadier-général P.J. Devlin a pris le commandement de la Brigade multinationale de Kaboul, le quartier général opérationnel de la FIAS. Pour sa part, le Major général A. Leslie a été commandant adjoint de la FIAS pendant six mois à partir de juin 2003, tandis que le Lieutenant général R. Hillier a commandé la FIAS du 9 février au 8 août 2004. Durant le mandant du Lieutenant général Hillier, le Conseil de l’Atlantique Nord a élargi la portée de la FIAS en février 2004 pour englober d’autres régions du pays.

La première étape de l’Op Athena a pris officiellement fin le 18 octobre 2005 après la mise sur pied d’une équipe de reconstruction provinciale à Kandahar dans le cadre de l’opération Archer et après l’intégration de celle ci à la Campagne contre le terrorisme plutôt qu'à la FIAS. Les dernières ressources canadiennes ont été retirées du Camp Julien le 29 novembre et le camp a été remis au ministère de la Défense afghan et aux forces allemandes. En tout, 7 000 personnes environ ont participé à cette phase de l’opération Athena.

Le 31 juillet 2006, la FIAS a assumé le contrôle des opérations dans six provinces du Sud de l’Afghanistan. Celles ci comprenaient la zone de contrôle canadienne dans les environs de Kandahar. Par conséquent, la majorité du personnel affecté au sein de l’Op Archer relevait maintenant de l’Op Athena renouvelée, la mission ayant été rétrocédée à la FIAS. Cependant, on a continué à recourir aux rotations de l’Op Archer pour les déploiements subséquents et non à celles de l’Op Athena.