Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation DECIMAL

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

DECIMAL

International Information

International Operation Name: United Nations Office for the Coordination for Humanitarian / Mine Awareness and Clearance Training

International Mission Name: United Nations Office for the Coordination for Humanitarian / Mine Awareness and Clearance Training (UNOCA / MACTP)

Mandating Organization: United Nations

Region Name: Asia

Location: Pakistan

Mission Date: 1 February 1989 - Present

Mission Mandate:

The United Nations launched Operation SALAM to assist in the return of refugees to, and the rehabilitation of, Afghanistan. Operation SALAM included a mine awareness training program designed for Afghan de-miners and to provide mine awareness training to returning Afghan refugees

Mission/Operation Notes:

With the Soviet invasion of Afghanistan in 1979, that country soon became home to one of the largest landmine problems in the world: an estimated 10 million mines had been scattered through the country and, more particularly, on the Pakistan-Afghan frontier, the route home for the estimated 6-8 million refugees who had sought safe haven in Pakistan. Dropped or laid mainly by the Soviet Union, these primarily anti-personnel mines had effectively reduced the amount of land under cultivation in Afghanistan by 40 per cent: the farmland was simply too dangerous to work. But Soviet mines were not the only danger: the Mujahideen had scattered anti-tank and anti-vehicle mines in large numbers as well, and neither side had maintained accurate records as to where the mines were located. In February 1989 the Soviet Union withdrew from Afghanistan. The United Nations Good Offices Mission in Afghanistan and Pakistan (UNGOMAP) attempted to return refugees to their home. In this effort, they cooperated with other United Nations agencies and certain non-governmental organisations. As part of this effort, the World Food Program provided 60,000 tons of food to needy Afghans in 1991 alone, while the Food and Agriculture Organization provided 6,800 tons of seeds and more than 500,000 fruit and poplar saplings.

UNOCA also assumed responsibility for the Mine Awareness and Clearance Training Program, which would subsequently become an integral part of Op SALAM. The key objectives of MACTP were to increase awareness among refugees of the dangers they would face from mines as they returned to Afghanistan and to train 15,000 Afghan deminers.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (DECIMAL)

Name: DECIMAL

Date: 17 February 1989 - 31 August 1990

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canadian participation in MACTP began on 10 June 1988 with a request from the UN Secretary General. A two-man reconnaissance team went to Pakistan in December and, following consultations there, recommended that the commitment should be set at twelve, including three female officers to work with local women. They also recommended that the deployment be for four months. These recommendations were accepted, and NDHQ issued its tasking order (under the designation Operation DECIMAL) on 17 February 1989.

Given the unit name of Canadian Contingent MACTP (CC MACTP), the Canadians arrived in Pakistan on 23 March 1989. Operating in Peshawar, the CC MACTP was soon busy in training Afghan Mine Clearance Training Instructors and in mine awareness training. Two all-male teams provided instruction on a Mine Clearance Training Course, while the female members provided technical advice to, and instructed on the Mine Awareness Programme (MAP), mainly to non-governmental organizations. The senior Canadian female officer filled the position of Mine Awareness Program Coordinator.

The term for the first contingent expired on 25 July. The second contingent arrived in Pakistan on 17 July. Progress made during the initial rotation as well as internal MACTP reorganization meant that the mine clearance training and awareness programmes were able to run smoothly, and that persuaded Canada that it would be worthwhile to continue its contribution at least until August 1990.

The third contingent arrived in Islamabad on 20 November 1989, with the outgoing rotation departing on 24 November. The new rotation continued the work of the previous two contingents. They, too, continued to improve the program of instruction and develop new training aids, including a handbook for illiterate people. Taking local cultural imperatives into consideration, two different curricula were also developed, one for men and another for women.

The fourth contingent arrived on 23 March 1990. They continued the work of the previous rotation, but also advanced several other programs, including a “booby-trapped” house for training purposes. They returned to Canada at the end of August 1990, which terminated Op DECIMAL.

Overall, 50 Canadian Forces personnel participated in UNOCA/MACTP.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) DECIMAL

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

DECIMAL

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Office des Nations Unies pour la coordination de l'aide économique et humanit / Instruction déminage

Nom de la mission internationale: Office des Nations Unies pour la coordination de l’aide économique et humanit / Instruction déminage (ONUCA / Instruction déminage)

Mandat de l'opération: Nations Unies

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Pakistan

Date: 1 février 1989 - Présent

Mandat de la mission :

L’Organisation des Nations Unies a lancé l’opération Salam pour faciliter le retour des réfugiés en Afghanistan et la reconstruction du pays. Cette opération incluait un programme de sensibilisation aux dangers des mines à l'intention des démineurs afghans et des réfugiés qui rentraient chez eux.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Après l’invasion de l’Afghanistan par les Soviétiques en 1979, ce pays est vite devenu le plus vaste champ de mines antipersonnel du globe : on estime à 10 millions le nombre de mines disséminées dans l’ensemble du pays, et plus particulièrement le long de la frontière entre le Pakistan et l’Afghanistan, sur le trajet de retour emprunté par les quelque 6 à 8 millions de réfugiés ayant trouvé asile au Pakistan. Ces engins, principalement des mines antipersonnel larguées du haut des airs ou posées directement, surtout par les Soviétiques, avaient eu pour effet de réduire de 40 p. 100 la superficie totale des terres cultivées, étant donné qu’il était devenu trop dangereux d’y travailler. Mais les mines soviétiques n’étaient pas la seule menace, car les moudjahidines avaient eux aussi posé un peu partout un grand nombre de mines antichars et antivéhicules. Or, ni l’un ni l’autre camp n’avait tenu de registres exacts de leur emplacement. En février 1989, l’Union soviétique a retiré ses troupes d’Afghanistan. La Mission de bons offices des Nations Unies en Afghanistan et au Pakistan (UNGOMAP) a alors essayé de rapatrier les réfugiés, collaborant à cette fin avec d’autres organismes des Nations Unies et certaines organisations non gouvernementales. Dans le cadre de ces efforts, le Programme alimentaire mondial a fourni 60 000 tonnes de nourriture à la population affamée en 1991 seulement, tandis que l’Organisation pour l’alimentation et l’agriculture (FAO) a distribué 6 800 tonnes de semences ainsi que plus de 500 000 fruits et pousses de peuplier.

L’ONUCA gérait aussi le Programme de sensibilisation aux mines et de formation au déminage (MATCP), qui allait par la suite devenir un aspect intrinsèque de l’opération Salam. Ce programme visait essentiellement à former 15 000 démineurs afghans et à mieux informer les réfugiés des dangers liés aux mines auxquels ils auraient à faire face en revenant chez eux.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (DECIMAL)

Nom: DECIMAL

Date: 17 février 1989 - 31 août 1990

Historique de la mission :

Le Canada a commencé à participer au MACTP le 10 juin 1988, quand le Secrétaire général de l’ONU lui a adressé une demande en ce sens. En décembre, les FC ont envoyé au Pakistan un tandem de reconnaissance qui, après des consultations sur place, a recommandé d’affecter à cette mission un contingent de 12 personnes, dont 3 officiers de sexe féminin appelés à travailler auprès des Afghanes. Le rapport de reconnaissance recommandait également que le déploiement dure quatre mois. Ces recommandations ayant été acceptées, le QGDN a émis le 17 février 1989 les ordres d’assignation des tâches (sous la désignation opération Decimal).

Le premier contingent canadien affecté au MACTP (CC MACTP) est arrivé au Pakistan le 23 mars 1989. Établi à Peshawar, il a bientôt entrepris de former les instructeurs en déminage afghans et de donner une formation sur la sensibilisation aux dangers des mines. Deux équipes d’instructeurs tous de sexe masculin donnaient le cours de déminage, tandis que les instructrices fournissaient des conseils techniques et enseignaient les façons de reconnaître les mines, surtout au personnel des organisations non gouvernementales. La militaire canadienne de grade supérieur assumait le rôle de coordonnatrice du programme de sensibilisation aux mines.

La période de service du premier contingent a pris fin le 25 juillet, et le deuxième contingent est arrivé au Pakistan le 17 juillet. Grâce aux progrès accomplis durant la rotation initiale et à la réorganisation interne du MACTP, les activités de formation sur le déminage et de sensibilisation aux mines allaient bon train, ce qui a convaincu le gouvernement canadien de maintenir sa contribution au moins jusqu’en août 1990.

Le troisième contingent est arrivé à Islamabad le 20 novembre 1989, tandis que celui qui venait de terminer sa période de rotation a quitté les lieux le 24 novembre. La nouvelle équipe a poursuivi le travail des deux contingents précédents. Elle a continué elle aussi à améliorer le programme d’enseignement et à mettre au point du nouveau matériel de formation, dont un manuel destiné aux illettrés. On a aussi préparé deux programmes d’enseignement différents tenant compte des particularités culturelles, un pour les hommes et l’autre pour les femmes.

Le quatrième contingent est arrivé au Pakistan le 23 mars 1990. En plus de poursuivre sur la lancée des équipes antérieures, il a innové de plusieurs façons, entre autres en aménageant une maison « piégée » aux fins d’entraînement. L’équipe est rentrée au Canada à la fin d’août 1990, mettant ainsi un terme à l’opération Decimal.

En tout, 50 membres des Forces canadiennes ont participé à la mission ONUCA/MATCP.