Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation East Pakistan 1963

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

East Pakistan 1963
Yukon Aircraft of 437 Squadron is being loaded with
tents and blankets for airlift to Dacca, East Pakistan.

International Information

International Operation Name: East Pakistan 1963

International Mission Name: East Pakistan 1963

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: Pakistan

Mission Date: 1 June 1963 - 30 June 1963

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (East Pakistan 1963)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To provide humanitarian aid after a typhoon hit the region.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Bangladesh (known as East Pakistan in 1963) is situated at the top of the Bay of Bengal. Towards Bangladesh the waters of the Bay become shallower because of the silt deposited each year by the Ganges and Brahmaputra Rivers. The two rivers have also created a very low, flat flood plain that forms most of Bangladesh. The Bay of Bengal has two cyclone seasons: May to July, and October to November. In between these cyclone seasons are the monsoons, bringing heavy rains from June through September. Bangladesh is thus very prone to flooding.

Between 20 and 23 May, a cyclone slowly moved up the Bay of Bengal. East Pakistan was flooded through storm surge and rain, with winds destroying many structures that were not flooded. An estimated 22,000 people were killed, while a further 500,000 were left homeless.

In June, a 437 Squadron Yukon left RCAF Station Trenton with 12 ½ tons of supplies. Besides medicine and clothing, the aircraft also carried six tons of equipment required to rebuild the electrical system destroyed by the cyclone.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) East Pakistan 1963

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

East Pakistan 1963
Chargement de tentes et de couvertures à bord
d’un avion Yukon du 437e Escadron, pour
transport aérien jusqu’à Dacca, au Pakistan
oriental.

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: East Pakistan 1963

Nom de la mission internationale: East Pakistan 1963

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Pakistan

Date: 1 juin 1963 - 30 juin 1963

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (East Pakistan 1963)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Apporter de l’aide humanitaire à la suite d’un typhon dans la région.

Historique de la mission :

Le Bangladesh (qui portait le nom de Pakistan oriental en 1963) est situé au nord du golfe du Bengale. La profondeur des eaux du golfe diminue à mesure que l’on approche du Bangladesh en raison du limon déposé chaque année par le Gange et le Brahmapoutre. Les deux fleuves ont également produit une plaine inondable plate et très basse qui forme la plus grande partie du Bangladesh. Le golfe du Bengale a deux saisons des cyclones : de mai à juillet et d’octobre à novembre. Les moussons ont lieu dans l’intervalle : elles amènent de fortes pluies de juin à septembre. Le Bangladesh est donc très susceptible de subir des inondations.

Entre le 20 et le 23 mai, un cyclone a remonté lentement le golfe du Bengale. L’onde de tempête et la pluie ont inondé le Pakistan oriental, et les vents ont détruit de nombreuses structures qui n’avaient pas été inondées. Environ 22 000 personnes ont perdu la vie et 500 000 autres se sont retrouvées sans abri.

En juin, un appareil Yukon du 437e Escadron a quitté la base de l’Aviation royale du Canada de Trenton chargé de 12,5 tonnes d’approvisionnements. Outre des médicaments et des vêtements, l’avion transportait six tonnes de matériel nécessaire à la reconstruction du système électrique détruit par le cyclone.