Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation Guam 1975

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Operation Guam 1975

International Information

International Operation Name: Guam 1975

International Mission Name: Guam 1975

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: Guam

Mission Date: 4 May 1975 - 7 May 1975

Mission Mandate:

To fly from Guam, Vietnamese refugees boat people accepted for entry into Canada

Mission/Operation Notes:

With the fall of South Vietnam in April 1975, refugees by the thousands fled the country. The boat people, as they were known, began arriving in states along the south-east Asian coast. In response to requests from these Asian nations, western countries began a program to accept these refugees.

On 4 May, 437 Squadron received a warning that they might be tasked to fly Vietnamese refugees from Guam to Canada. That same evening, a Boeing with two crews aboard flew to Ottawa to pick up Immigration personnel and medical supplies, then departed for Honolulu. On arrival in Honolulu, the first crew left the aircrew for a mandatory rest, while the second crew flew on to Guam. Here, the crew rested while the aircraft was refueled and the refugees embarked. The aircraft then flew to Montreal, via Honolulu, returning to Trenton less than 2 ½ days after departing.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Guam 1975

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Guam 1975

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Guam 1975

Nom de la mission internationale: Guam 1975

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Guam

Date: 4 mai 1975 - 7 mai 1975

Mandat de la mission:

Amener au Canada par avion depuis Guam les réfugiés de la mer vietnamiens que le gouvernement canadien avait accepté d’accueillir.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

La chute du régime sud-vietnamien en avril 1975 a entraîné l’exode de milliers de personnes. Les « réfugiés de la mer », comme on les a surnommés, se sont mis à affluer le long des côtes d’Asie du Sud Est. À la demande des États asiatiques touchés, les pays occidentaux ont établi un programme d’accueil pour ces réfugiés.

Le 4 mai 1975, on a averti le 437e Escadron qu’il pourrait être appelé à transporter des réfugiés vietnamiens de Guam au Canada. Le soir même, un appareil Boeing avec à son bord deux équipages s’est rendu à Ottawa pour prendre des fonctionnaires de l’immigration et des fournitures médicales, puis a gagné Honolulu. À cet endroit, le premier équipage est descendu afin de prendre un repos obligatoire, et l’avion a poursuivi sa route jusqu’à Guam, où le second équipage s’est reposé pendant qu’on procédait au ravitaillement en carburant et à l’embarquement des réfugiés. L’avion est revenu ensuite à Montréal via Honolulu, arrivant finalement à Trenton moins de deux jours et demi après son départ.