Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation International Commissions for Supervision and Control (ICSC)

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

International Commissions for Supervision and Control (ICSC)

International Information

International Operation Name: International Commissions for Supervision and Control (ICSC)

International Mission Name: International Commissions for Supervision and Control (ICSC)

Mandating Organization: Agreement on the Cessation of Hostilities in Vietnam

Region Name: Asia

Location: Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam

Mission Date: 11 August 1954 - 15 June 1974

Mission Mandate:

To implement the terms of the three Geneva Agreements

Mission/Operation Notes:

Prior to the Second World War, the area now defined by the nations of Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam was part of a single French Indochina colony. During the war Vichy France was allowed to maintain symbolic control of the colony until its outright takeover by Japan on 9 March 1945.

During the war, various indigenous groups fought the Japanese, the most prominent being the communist Viet Minh of Vietnam, led by Ho Chi Minh. They had first fought minor guerrilla actions against the French and later major actions against the Japanese in their effort to gain independence for the Vietnamese people. Indeed, when the war ended, it was the Viet Minh who assumed control of Vietnam. But with the support of Britain and the United States, French colonial authority was reasserted over all of Indochina, leading the Viet Minh, Pathet Lao (Laos) and Khmer Rouge (Cambodia) to renew their struggle for independence. Over time, public support for these colonial wars dwindled in France, and following the defeat of the French garrison at Dien Bien Phu in May 1954, the government of France was ready to negotiate its withdrawal from all of Indochina.

The Geneva Agreements on the Cessation of Hostilities in Viet-nam, Laos and Cambodia, signed on 20 and 21 July 1954, were co-sponsored by Great Britain, and the Soviet Union and included China, France and the United States as well. Signing the agreements for the combatants were Cambodia, France, Laos, and the Viet Minh. There was no representative for the southern Vietnamese.

The Geneva conference produced three separate agreements, one for each of Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam. The agreements were similar in outline, but varied in detail, with different goals for each nation. Much to Canada’s surprise, this nation was invited, at the suggestion of China, to be one of three nations whose representatives would ensure the agreements were followed, along with India and Poland.

The headquarters for the three ISCS missions were situated in Hanoi, Vietnam; Phnom Penh, Cambodia and Vientiane, Laos respectively. From these headquarters, reports on progress or violations would be passed to the Geneva Agreements sponsors (Great Britain and the Soviet Union). Reports would also be passed to a Joint Commission of high-level French and North Vietnamese officials who were to decide on a course of action to correct any problems noted in the report, but due to differences between the objectives of the two nations the Joint Commission proved to be of little value.

On the ground in each country there would be fixed and mobile teams to conduct inspections and investigate complaints. Each team would have three or six persons, with equal representation from Canada, India and Poland. Although reports from each team were supposed to be unanimous, minority reports could be submitted. India would also provide the bulk of support forces for the ICSC, as well as the chairman for each of the three commissions. In fact, an Indian was also the chair of each team. Each of the three nations provided military personnel as well as civilian members, in Canada’s case from the Department of External Affairs.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (International Commissions for Supervision and Control (ICSC))

Name: International Commissions for Supervision and Control (ICSC)

Date: 10 August 1954 - 15 June 1974

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement: To implement the terms of the three Geneva Agreements

Because of the short notice given and the intention to start the ICSC on 11 August 1954, Canadian military personnel were hastily pulled together from across the country.

For the Canadian forces, there were in fact three separate ICSC missions, each with the title Military Component, Canadian Delegation - Cambodia/Laos/ Vietnam. Each was normally commanded by a Brigadier-General. The personnel sent to Indochina were sent on one-year tours, except for the military security guards for whom it was six months. Although they were posted to one of the ICSCs, specialist personnel could be moved and were moved on occasion from one ICSC to another. The officers, members of the fixed teams, did not normally move between ICSCs, although they could move between one fixed team and another within an ICSC.

An advance team from Canada’s Canadian Military Mission, Far East, located in Tokyo, Japan, was hastily sent to Laos to arrange logistical aspects such as accommodations, arriving on 10 August. Canadian members for the other ICSCs arrived in early September via Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) North Star aircraft from 426 Squadron. The RCAF sent a North Star every six months to transfer personnel in and out, later using a Yukon aircraft from 437 Squadron.

The conditions of service throughout Indochina were primitive; and apart from the initial success of smoothing the transfer of power as the French withdrew, the work brought more frustration than satisfaction.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) Commissions internationales de surveillance et de contrôle (CISC)

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

Commissions internationales de surveillance et de contrôle (CISC)

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Commissions internationales de surveillance et de contrôle (CISC)

Nom de la mission internationale: Commissions internationales de surveillance et de contrôle (CISC)

Mandat de l'opération: Accord relatif à la cessation des hostilités au Viêtnam

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Cambodge, Laos, Vietnam

Date: 11 août 1954 - 15 juin 1974

Mandat de la mission:

Mettre en œuvre les dispositions des trois Accords de Genève.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Avant la Seconde Guerre mondiale, le territoire couvert actuellement par le Cambodge, le Laos et le Vietnam formait une seule et même colonie française, l'Indochine. Pendant la guerre, le régime français de Vichy a obtenu le privilège de continuer à gouverner symboliquement la colonie jusqu'à ce que les Japonais s’emparent carrément du pouvoir le 9 mars 1945.

Pendant la guerre, divers mouvements nationaux ont combattu les Japonais, le principal étant au Vietnam le Viet Minh d’allégeance communiste, dirigé par Ho Chi Minh. Ce groupe avait d’abord mené des actions de guérilla mineures contre les Français, puis des offensives de grande envergure contre les Japonais, afin d’obtenir l’indépendance pour son peuple. En fait, à la fin de la guerre, c'est le Viet Minh qui contrôlait le Vietnam. Mais avec l'appui de la Grande-Bretagne et des États-Unis, l'autorité de la France sur sa colonie a été réaffirmée dans l'ensemble de l'Indochine, ce qui a amené le Viet Minh, le Pathet Lao (Laos) et les Khmers rouges à reprendre leur lutte pour l'indépendance. Avec le temps, le soutien du public à l'égard de ces guerres coloniales a diminué en France et, après la défaite de la garnison française à Dien Bien Phu en mai 1954, le gouvernement de la France était disposé à négocier le retrait de ses troupes de l'Indochine.

Les Accords de Genève sur la cessation des hostilités au Vietnam, au Laos et au Cambodge, parrainés conjointement par la Grande-Bretagne et l’Union soviétique, ont été ratifiés les 20 et 21 juillet 1954; ils incluaient aussi la Chine, la France et les États Unis. Les parties signataires pour les belligérants étaient le Cambodge, la France, le Laos et le Viet Minh. Il n’y avait aucun représentant du gouvernement sud vietnamien.

La conférence de Genève a donné lieu à trois accords distincts, s’appliquant respectivement au Cambodge, au Laos et au Vietnam. Les accords étaient comparables en gros, mais les détails variaient, et les objectifs différaient selon le pays. À la grande surprise des autorités canadiennes, le Canada a été proposé par la Chine pour faire partie du trio, avec l’Inde et la Pologne, chargé de déléguer des représentants pour assurer le respect des accords.

Les trois missions de la CISC avaient respectivement leur quartier général à Hanoi (Vietnam), à Phnom Penh (Cambodge) et à Vientiane (Laos). À partir de ces endroits, les délégués faisaient rapport sur les progrès ou les violations aux deux pays parrainant les Accords de Genève (Grande-Bretagne et Union soviétique). Il fallait aussi soumettre les rapports à une commission mixte composée de fonctionnaires français et nord vietnamiens de haut niveau, laquelle devait décider des mesures à prendre pour remédier aux éventuels problèmes évoqués dans les rapports. Mais, en raison des objectifs divergents des deux nations en cause, la Commission mixte ne s’est guère révélée utile.

Sur le terrain, dans chacun des trois pays, des équipes stationnaires et mobiles mèneraient des inspections et enquêteraient sur les plaintes reçues. Chaque équipe compterait trois ou six personnes, selon une représentation égale pour le Canada, l’Inde et la Pologne. Les équipes étaient censées adresser des rapports unanimes, mais on pouvait aussi soumettre des rapports minoritaires. Par ailleurs, l’Inde devait fournir la majorité du personnel de soutien de la CISC, de même que le président de chacune des trois commissions. En fait, toutes les équipes étaient présidées par un Indien. Chacun des trois pays devait également fournir à la fois des militaires et du personnel civil qui, dans le cas du Canada, provenait du ministère des Affaires étrangères.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (Commissions internationales de surveillance et de contrôle (CISC))

Nom: Commissions internationales de surveillance et de contrôle (CISC)

Date: 10 août 1954 - 15 juin 1974

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne :

Mettre en œuvre les dispositions des trois Accords de Genève.

Étant donné le bref préavis donné et le fait que la CISC devait en principe amorcer ses travaux le 11 août 1954, il a fallu dénicher à la hâte des militaires un peu partout au pays.

En ce qui concerne les Forces canadiennes, il y a eu en fait trois missions distinctes auprès de la CISC; chacune d’elles, commandée habituellement par un brigadier général, était désignée sous le titre de Composante militaire, délégation canadienne – Cambodge/Laos/vietnam. Les membres du personnel étaient envoyés en Indochine pour des affectations d’un an, sauf les gardes de sécurité militaires, qui devaient y servir pendant six mois. Bien qu’affectés spécifiquement à l'une des trois commissions, les spécialistes pouvaient être mutés, et on les transférait à l’occasion d’une commission à une autre. En règle générale, les officiers, rattachés aux équipes stationnaires, ne changeaient pas de commission d’appartenance; toutefois, on pouvait les muter d’une équipe stationnaire à une autre au sein d’une même commission.

Le Canada a ensuite envoyé à la hâte au Laos une équipe de reconnaissance formée à partir de la Mission militaire canadienne en Extrême Orient basée à Tokyo, au Japon, pour s’occuper des aspects logistiques comme l’hébergement; l’équipe est arrivée sur place le 10 août. Les membres canadiens des autres CISC sont arrivés au début de septembre à bord d’un appareil North Star du 426e Escadron de l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC). Par la suite, l'ARC a envoyé un North Star tous les six mois en Indochine pour y amener du personnel et en ramener, utilisant ensuite un Yukon du 437e Escadron à cette même fin.

Les conditions de service un peu partout en Indochine étaient pénibles. À part le succès initial pour ce qui est d'avoir facilité le transfert de pouvoir à mesure que les Français se retiraient, le travail a suscité plus de frustration que de satisfaction.