Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation India & Pakistan 1947

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

Operation India & Pakistan 1947

International Information

International Operation Name: India - Pakistan 1947

International Mission Name: India & Pakistan 1947

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: India and Pakistan

Mission Date: 14 October 1947 - 14 November 1947

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (India & Pakistan 1947)

Canadian Task Force Name Mission Statement:

To deliver penicillin, supplied by the Canadian Red Cross, to India and Pakistan.

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

At midnight, 15 August 1947, India and Pakistan received their independence from Great Britain, with predominantly Hindu areas becoming part of India and predominantly Muslim areas becoming part of Pakistan. The process was marred by the outbreak of communal violence and a mass relocation of peoples. An estimated 3.5 million Hindus and Sikhs fled Pakistan for India, while an estimated 5 million Muslims fled India for Pakistan.

Concerned with the casualties due to both disease and violence, the Canadian Red Cross donated penicillin to its sister organizations in India and Pakistan. The penicillin was flown to the United Kingdom by Trans Canada Airlines, whence it was loaded into an RCAF aircraft.

On 14 October, RCAF Dakota KN 665 left the United Kingdom carrying 139 cases of penicillin. After stopping in Karachi, Pakistan, where it off-loaded 47 cases, it flew on to New Delhi, India, where 92 cases were off-loaded. Once this was completed, the aircraft and crew remained in India to assist the Canadian High Commissioner. Flights were made in various parts of the new nation to observe road and rail conditions and to monitor refugee movements. The crew also drew up plans in case Canadian citizens needed to be evacuated by air because of the violence. Having completed the work for the High Commissioner, the aircraft and crew returned to the United Kingdom on 10 November, arriving on the 14th.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) l'Inde et le Pakistan, 1947

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

l'Inde et le Pakistan, 1947

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: India - Pakistan 1947

Nom de la mission internationale: India - Pakistan 1947

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Inde et Pakistan

Date: 14 octobre 1947 - 14 novembre 1947

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (l'Inde et le Pakistan, 1947)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Livrer de la pénicilline fournie par la Croix-Rouge canadienne à l’Inde et au Pakistan.

Historique de la mission :

À minuit le 15 août 1947, l’Inde et le Pakistan ont obtenu leur indépendance de la Grande-Bretagne; les régions à prédominance hindoue sont passées à l’Inde et celles à prédominance musulmane, au Pakistan. Le processus a été assombri par une flambée de violence intercommunautaire et un déplacement massif de populations. Selon les estimations, 3,5 millions d’hindous et de sikhs ont fui le Pakistan pour l’Inde, tandis que 5 millions de musulmans ont fui l’Inde pour le Pakistan.

Inquiète du nombre de victimes dues tant à la maladie qu'à la violence, la Croix-Rouge canadienne a fait don de pénicilline à ses organisations sœurs en Inde et au Pakistan. La pénicilline a été transportée jusqu’au Royaume-Uni par Trans-Canada Airlines, puis chargée à bord d'un appareil de l’Aviation royale du Canada (ARC).

Le 14 octobre, un Dakota KN 665 de l’ARC a quitté le Royaume-Uni avec 139 caisses de pénicilline à bord. Après un arrêt à Karachi, au Pakistan, où il a déchargé 47 caisses, il a poursuivi sa route vers New Delhi, en Inde, où il a déposé 92 caisses. L’avion et l’équipage sont ensuite restés en Inde pour aider le Haut commissaire du Canada. Des vols ont été effectués dans diverses régions du nouveau pays pour connaître l’état des routes et des voies ferrées et surveiller les mouvements de réfugiés. L’équipage a également dressé des plans pour évacuer les citoyens canadiens par voie aérienne en cas de violence. Une fois terminé le travail pour le Haut-commissaire, l’avion et l’équipage sont repartis le 10 novembre pour le Royaume-Uni, où ils sont arrivés le 14.