Details/Information for Canadian Forces (CF) Operation MAGNET II

CF Overseas Operations have most often operated within the construct of an international mandate. As such, the International Information is presented first in order to provide the context of the Canadian Operation (displayed second). Eventually, all rotations associated with the particular Canadian operation will also be displayed.

MAGNET II

International Information

International Operation Name: Operation MAGNET II

International Mission Name: Operation MAGNET II

Mandating Organization: Government of Canada

Region Name: Asia

Location: Vietnam

Mission Date: 1 July 1979 - 1 January 1981

Mission Mandate:

To assist Canada Employment and Immigration Commission and Department (CEICD) in the movement and processing of Vietnamese refugees from South East Asia to Canada.

Mission/Operation Notes:

After the fall of Saigon in 1975, significant numbers of Indochinese (predominately Vietnamese, Laotian and Kampuchean) citizens fled the region for fear of retribution from the new Communist regimes. The result was a refugee crisis that garnered world attention, prompting Canada to launch Operation MAGNET in November 1978, where the CF assisted in transporting and processing 604 refugees from Malaysia who had arrived on the freighter Hai Hong.

The flow of Indochinese refugees, however, continued to grow through 1978-79 to the point where the Malaysian government closed its ports to the 'boat people' and threatened to shoot any caught trying to escape from ship to shore.

Top of Page


Canadian Forces (CF) Information (MAGNET II)

CF Mission/Operation Notes:

Canada, now under the leadership of Progressive Conservative Prime Minister Joe Clark, once again agreed to accept refugees from the region as part of an overall policy change which called for upwards of 50,000 refugees to be allowed into Canada by the end of 1980. The Clark government called upon the CF to once again provide support to this initiative, assisting the Canada Employment and Immigration Commission and Department (CEICD) by using its experience from 1978's Op MAGNET. Op MAGNET II began on 01 July 1979.

Op MAGNET II was a significantly expanded version of its predecessor, with the Longue Pointe Barracks of CFB Montreal and the Griesbach Barracks of CFB Edmonton tasked to accommodate a flow of over 2,000 refugees per month, with the first flights arriving in Montreal on 08 August 1979 and in Edmonton on 14 Aug 1979. Eleven of these flights were carried out by CC-137 (Boeing 707) aircraft from 437 Transport Squadron, CFB Trenton (with crews augmented by personnel from CFB Shearwater), who flew refugees from Malaysia to Canada via Hong Kong, Tokyo and USAFB Elmendorf, Alaska. These flights would bring in over 15,000 refugees to Canada by late 1979, including Nguyen Kien Ahn, a Vietnamese woman who gave birth on a CC-137 en route from Japan to Alaska and who promptly named her new-born daughter Johanne Nicole Joan Ahn after the CF flight attendants and nurse who helped with the delivery.

CFB Edmonton, whose Griesbach Garrison was augmented by 68 additional personnel, received its last refugee on 22 August 1980 and was officially removed from Op MAGNET II on 12 September 1980, by which time it had accepted approximately 21,456 refugees. CFB Montreal's Longue Pointe Garrison, staffed with personnel from CFB Montreal's Medical Company, 2 Field Ambulance (CFB Petewawa), 5 Field Ambulance (CFB Valcartier) and personnel from CFB Saint-Jean, continued receiving refugees until the operations end-date of 01 January 1981. By this time, Op MAGNET II had received and welcomed into Canada over 32,000 refugees from Indochina.

Renseignements/information pour l'opération des Forces canadiennes (FC) MAGNET II

Les opérations internationale des FC ont le plus souvent fonctionné sous un mandat international. L'information internationale est présentée afin de fournir le contexte de l'opération canadienne (placée en second). Toutes les rotations liées à l'une opération canadienne particulière seront éventuellement mises en ligne.

MAGNET II

Information internationale

Nom de l'opération internationale: Opération MAGNET II

Nom de la mission internationale: Opération MAGNET II

Mandat de l'opération: Gouvernement du Canada

Région géographique: Asie

Lieu: Vietnam

Date: 1 juillet 1979 - 1 janvier 1981

Mandat de la mission :

Aider à transporter de la Malaisie au Canada des réfugiés vietnamiens se trouvant à bord du navire de charge Hai Hong et à traiter leurs demandes.

Notes sur la mission ou l'opération :

Après la chute de Saïgon en 1975, un grand nombre d’Indochinois (surtout des Vietnamiens, des Laotiens et des Kampuchéens) ont fui la région par peur de représailles de la part des nouveaux régimes communistes. Il en a résulté une crise des réfugiés qui a retenu l’attention du monde entier et qui a amené le Canada à lancer en novembre 1978 l’opération Magnet, au cours de laquelle les Forces canadiennes ont aidé à transporter 604 réfugiés arrivés en Malaisie à bord du navire de charge Hai Hong et à traiter leurs demandes.

Au cours de 1978 et 1979, le flot de réfugiés a continué de grossir, au point où le gouvernement malaisien a décidé de fermer ses ports aux « réfugiés de la mer » et menacé de tirer sur quiconque tenterait de gagner la rive à partir d’un navire.

Haut de la page


Renseignements de l'opération des FC (MAGNET II)

Enoncé de mission de la Force opérationnelle canadienne:

Aider le ministère et la Commission de l’emploi et de l’immigration du Canada (MCEIC) à transporter des réfugiés vietnamiens de l’Asie du Sud-Est au Canada et à traiter leurs demandes.

Historique de la mission :

Le Canada, alors dirigé par le premier ministre conservateur Joe Clark, a accepté de nouveau d’accueillir des réfugiés de la région à la suite d’une réorientation stratégique globale qui a permis, jusqu’à la fin de 1980, à plus de 50 000 réfugiés d’entrer au Canada. Le gouvernement Clark a fait appel aux Forces canadiennes pour qu’elles fournissent encore une fois de l'assistance dans le cadre de cette initiative, en faisant profiter le MCEIC de l’expérience qu’elles avaient acquise lors de l’opération Magnet de 1978. L’opération Magnet II a débuté le 1er juillet 1979.

L’opération Magnet II avait beaucoup plus d’ampleur que la précédente : les casernes de Longue-Pointe de la Base des Forces canadiennes (BFC) Montréal et celles de Griesbach de la BFC Edmonton ont été chargées d’héberger plus de 2 000 réfugiés par mois. Les premiers vols sont arrivés à Montréal le 8 août 1979 et à Edmonton le 14 août. Onze de ces vols ont été effectués par des CC-137 (Boeing 707) du 437e Escadron de transport de la BFC Trenton, avec l’appui de membres du personnel de la BFC Shearwater. Les appareils ont transporté les réfugiés de la Malaisie au Canada via Hong Kong, Tokyo et la base aérienne américaine d’Elmendorf, en Alaska. à la fin de 1979, plus de 15 000 réfugiés avaient été transportés, dont Nguyen Kien Ahn, une Vietnamienne qui a accouché à bord d’un CC-137 ayant quitté le Japon à destination de l’Alaska. Elle s’est empressée d’appeler son bébé Johanne Nicole Joan Ahn en hommage aux agentes de bord et à l’infirmière des Forces canadiennes qui l’avaient aidée à accoucher.

La BFC Edmonton, où l’effectif de la garnison de Griesbach s'était accru de 68 personnes, a reçu son dernier réfugié le 22 août 1980 et a été retirée officiellement de l’opération Magnet II le 12 septembre 1980, après avoir accueilli environ 21 456 réfugiés. La garnison Longue-Pointe de la BFC Montréal, dont l’effectif avait été renforcé par du personnel de la compagnie médicale de cette même BFC, de la 2e Ambulance de campagne (BFC Petewawa), de la 5e Ambulance de campagne (BFC Valcartier) et de la BFC Saint-Jean, a continué à recevoir des réfugiés jusqu’à la fin des opérations, soit le 1er janvier 1981. Plus de 32 000 réfugiés indochinois ont été accueillis au Canada dans le cadre de l’opération Magnet II.